Solicitor at MLP Law Limited

Gareth Matthews

Solicitor - Partner - Employment & HR

SRA ID: 455447

I am a Partner in MLP Law’s Employment team and for over 10 years has specialised in employment law, primarily advising businesses and senior individuals. I have significant litigation experience, including experience as an advocate in the Employment Tribunal. I also have considerable experience in advising on the employment issues in corporate mergers and acquisition, including the complexities which arise in TUPE transfers. My sector experience is wide ranging, encompassing advice to clients in the hospitality, retail, construction, healthcare, recruitment and manufacturing industries. I provide training to clients and organisations on a variety of key employment topics, such as absence management, disciplinary and grievance processes and employment law updates. I also act as a guest lecturer in employment law at Liverpool Hope University. I have been described by Legal 500 as someone who is ‘very reassuring and does a great job’ and was named Legal Personality of the Year by Downtown in Business. I have also been quoted as an employment law expert in the Manchester Evening News and The Times . I give pragmatic and commercial advice which is tailored to my clients’ business objectives . Prior to joining MLP Law, I spent a number of years working in the employment teams at two international law firms in Manchester. Away from work I am a passionate cricket and football fan and enjoy discovering new music. I am a keen traveller but have had to put plans to become fluent in a foreign language on hold in favour of spending time with family, particularly my two young sons of whom I am incredibly proud.

7 Market Street, Altrincham, Cheshire, Manchester, WA14 1QE

Licensed for 13 years

Practice Areas

Employment

5.0/5 33 Client Reviews 33
  • Employment 100%
33 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    32
  • Very Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Danny
Verified Danny Added 3 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
April 17, 2024 20240417150413

Great Service

5

Great service, very quick and efficient.

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 3 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
March 28, 2024 20240328105648

Employment Settlement Agreement

4

Review carried out over the phone which was ideal for me! Advice was clear and all questions I had were answered clearly

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

A representative from Mlp Law Limited responded to this review on 02 April, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr Michael lloyd
Verified Mr Michael lloyd Added 3 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
March 27, 2024 20240327201608

Settlement agreement

5

Exemplary service and communication fro Gareth throughout.
Specific attention to detail allowed an agreeable amendment to the documents and made sure my future liabilities were not left exposed.

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

A representative from Mlp Law Limited responded to this review on 02 April, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 4 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
March 13, 2024 20240313090503

Gareth did a good job

5

Gareth was efficient in responding and arranging a call so we could discuss the matter. I found his manner and approach straightforward and he was professionally accommodating of my questions. I found the process easier for Gareth's observations and counsel.

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

Was this review helpful? Yes

Damon
Verified Damon Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
December 21, 2023 20231221100831

Employment termination

5

I dealt with Gareth Mathews who was very understanding of my situation and dealt with everything professionally and timely manner I would highly recommend

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Verified Emma Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
October 12, 2023 20231012130235

Settlement Advice

5

I spoke with Gareth on the phone regarding my redundancy settlement, he was really helpful and professional.

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

Was this review helpful? Yes

Claire
Verified Claire Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
October 05, 2023 20231005141628

Exceptional service

5

Dealing with Gareth was a very positive experience. He's a great communicator, efficient and patient. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him or the law firm. I only wish I had found them sooner.

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

Was this review helpful? Yes

Diana dos Santos
Verified Diana dos Santos Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
September 29, 2023 20230929191423

Big help

5

I just have to say a big thank you to Gareth for given me legal advicewhen I was facing redundancy.
Gareth patiently explained every step of the process to me as I am very new in this legal issues.
In summary, I wholeheartedly recommend Gareth to anyone seeking legal advice, especially during challenging times. Thank you, Gareth, for your invaluable support and unwavering patience. I am sincerely grateful for your expertise and kindness.

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hayley
Verified Hayley Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
September 27, 2023 20230927203213

Efficient and friendly service

5

Gareth helped me with a settlement agreement at work and was very clear at explaining the process, and made me feel comfortable. A good personable service. Highly reccommend.

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

Was this review helpful? Yes

Genta
Verified Genta Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Mlp Law Limited
September 27, 2023 20230927130645

Great service

5

Gareth was very prompt with this responses and was great at helping me review my settlement agreement. He was easy to understand, professional, and gave me good advice. I would 100% recommend.

Lawyer named in this review: Gareth Matthews

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Gareth Matthews

I am a Partner in MLP Law’s Employment team and for over 10 years has specialised in employment law, primarily advising businesses and senior individuals. I have significant litigation experience, including experience as an advocate in the Employment Tribunal. I also have considerable experience in advising on the employment issues in corporate mergers and acquisition, including the complexities which arise in TUPE transfers. My sector experience is wide ranging, encompassing advice to clients in the hospitality, retail, construction, healthcare, recruitment and manufacturing industries. I provide training to clients and organisations on a variety of key employment topics, such as absence management, disciplinary and grievance processes and employment law updates. I also act as a guest lecturer in employment law at Liverpool Hope University. I have been described by Legal 500 as someone who is ‘very reassuring and does a great job’ and was named Legal Personality of the Year by Downtown in Business. I have also been quoted as an employment law expert in the Manchester Evening News and The Times . I give pragmatic and commercial advice which is tailored to my clients’ business objectives . Prior to joining MLP Law, I spent a number of years working in the employment teams at two international law firms in Manchester. Away from work I am a passionate cricket and football fan and enjoy discovering new music. I am a keen traveller but have had to put plans to become fluent in a foreign language on hold in favour of spending time with family, particularly my two young sons of whom I am incredibly proud.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Gareth Matthews

Address

MLP Law Limited

7 Market Street

Altrincham

Cheshire

Manchester

WA14 1QE



Phone 01619269969

Website