Solicitor at Ashtons Legal

Chris Cumberbatch

Solicitor - Senior Associate

SRA ID: 271714

Chris focuses on preventing disputes or unnecessary complications following death, using clear advice and documents that families can rely on in the longer term. Legitimate tax planning forms a part of this, but equally so does the family dynamic. He advises a broad range of clients, from expatriates, farmers and property developers to Suffolk artists and health workers. He has an interest in planning for those looking after a disabled family member, having personal experience of trusts for the disabled. He also speaks French and has worked for a Notaire in Haute Savoie, France as well as for a French property team in a previous firm, so has expertise in handling the requirements of families with assets in Europe and further afield.

The Long Barn, Fornham Business Court, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP31 1SL

Licensed for 18 years

Practice Areas

Charities, Wills, Trusts & Probate

4.7/5 20 Client Reviews 20
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate 83%
  • Family Law 11%
  • Consumer 6%
20 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    15
  • Very Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Jane Richardson
Verified Jane Richardson Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
April 19, 2021 20210419091402

Rewriting an English Will for a French Resident

5

I live in France and wanted/needed to rewrite my English Will. With it being impossible to visit the UK to see a solicitor, I anticipated problems but the process was much easier than I had expected. Initial "face to face" contact for verifying identity was necessary, and I met Chris Cumberbatch via Zoom. After that, regular email contact ensured that my queries were answered promptly. Chris gave helpful advice and pointed out potential pitfalls. I was impressed by his professionalism and his understanding of writing an English Will for a French resident.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian Ralph
Verified Brian Ralph Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
March 18, 2021 20210318161339

The drawing up of my will

4

A will is an extremely important and sensitive document - giving peace of mind and requiring detailed and precise interpretation of wishes and interests. I am happy that the resulting legal documents reflect my wishes and has addressed and resolved any and all my concerns.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter Walker
Verified Peter Walker Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
March 18, 2021 20210318155127

Wills

4

Chris was professional, knowledgable and approachable.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
October 15, 2020 20201015092420

Ashtons Legal

5

I'm extremely happy working with Ashtons in setting up my Will and Power of Attorney. Ashtons are a very professional, approachable and friendly company who I would recommend to anyone.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 October, 2020

Thank you for your brilliant review for Chris and the Lifetime Planning team. We appreciate the lovely feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
July 31, 2020 20200731093408

Excellent and professional service

4

Preparation of a new Will and Lasting Powers of Attorney were carried out efficiently and timely. The solicitor provided a very professional service and responded to my queries in a very helpful manner. I would have no hesitation in using him again should the need arise.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review of Chris. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert & Margaret
Verified Robert & Margaret Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
July 22, 2020 20200722093116

Where there's a Will there's a way

5

Our Wills were/are complicated and Chris Cumberbatch dealt with us in a very calm, approachable and helpful manner. He unravelled the complexity and was very patient explaining and re-explaining the options and outcomes. We cannot recommend Chris highly enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation of Chris. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kathleen Swift
Verified Kathleen Swift Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
July 22, 2020 20200722091107

Professional but Expensive

5

I was recommended to this company by a family member. All aspects of the service I received were very professional. But, compared to Australia where I lived for over 30 years I found the charges particularly powers of attorney very expensive. I would still highly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your great review of Chris. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Douglas Bennington
Verified Douglas Bennington Added 11 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
May 26, 2020 20200526085712

Re-writing our Wills

5

After being advised our existing Wills were almost worthless we were advised to have them re-written.
We enquired with Ashtons Legal, received further advice and agreed to proceed with Ashtons Legal. We are very pleased with our new Wills and LPO. Many thanks to all persons involved, a job well done.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Verified Anthony Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
April 03, 2020 20200403121942

I was very impressed with the ease with which we could achieve our objectives by telephone and email.

5

An excellent service that involved revising our wills, a complex task, that was done
entirely by phone and email as we live in Hampshire making it inconvenient to meet.
It was very easy to develop a close working relationship with Chris who pulled out all
the stops to get the job done before we travelled abroad. I can thoroughly
recommend his services.
Even though it was inconvenient to meet directly with Chris Cumberbatch, as we live
in Hampshire, I was very impressed with the ease with which we could achieve our
objectives by telephone and email. Realising the need to get our wills revised as soon
as practicable Chris worked swiftly to get the job done.
He fully understood our needs and produced the appropriate solution after setting out
various options having analysed our less than straightforward circumstances.
Although we did not meet in person I feel as if I have got to now him and would like
to meet him if I happen to be visiting Bury St Edmunds again.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
April 01, 2020 20200401095812

Friendly and helpful

5

Ashtons Legal provide a great service. They are considerate and do a very professional job. I would highly recommend them.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Chris Cumberbatch

Chris focuses on preventing disputes or unnecessary complications following death, using clear advice and documents that families can rely on in the longer term. Legitimate tax planning forms a part of this, but equally so does the family dynamic. He advises a broad range of clients, from expatriates, farmers and property developers to Suffolk artists and health workers. He has an interest in planning for those looking after a disabled family member, having personal experience of trusts for the disabled. He also speaks French and has worked for a Notaire in Haute Savoie, France as well as for a French property team in a previous firm, so has expertise in handling the requirements of families with assets in Europe and further afield.

Languages Spoken: English, French

Contact Chris Cumberbatch

Address

Ashtons Legal

The Long Barn

Fornham Business Court

Bury St Edmunds

Suffolk



Phone 01284 727064

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

01/10/02

25/11/19

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Partner

Marshall Hatchick

?-2018

Senior Associate

Ashtons Legal

2018-present