Ashtons Legal

01284 762331

Also known as - Heslop And Platt

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services.

4.7/5 680 Client Reviews 680 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

680 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    590
  • Very Good
    55
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    24

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anonymous Added 3 days ago Report to admin
February 25, 2021 20210225143240

Ashtons Legal Service

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Ashtons Legal has handled all of my affairs since 1975 and I have always been happy to know that my interests would always be upheld, and would not hesitate to recommend them.

Solicitor named in this review: Sally-Ann Walsh

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anonymous Added 3 days ago Report to admin
February 25, 2021 20210225140838

Probate

5

Matter Type: Probate

Sally-Ann was professional, efficient, knowledgable and kept me fully aware throughout the process.

Solicitor named in this review: Sally-Ann Walsh

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anonymous Added 3 days ago Report to admin
February 25, 2021 20210225095000

Dealing with legal documents during lockdown

5

Matter Type: Wills

My dealing with this firm started before lockdown but I felt very confident as my family had dealt with Ashtons for several generations. It is uncomfortable dealing with someone you'd never met about very private matters. As time went on I began to feel comfortable and more relaxed and my matters were finally completed during lockdown and I met my solicitor in the carpark, complete with masks and spray to enable us to get final papers signed, I would recommend the firm to friends and family.

Solicitor named in this review: Grace Hudson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Paul Added 4 days ago Report to admin
February 24, 2021 20210224152130

Employment settlement claim

5

Matter Type: Employment Law

From the onset, I was very impressed with Emily’s approachable manner; commitment; knowledge; professionalism and supportive nature. She is meticulous and I found her incredibly responsive to all my queries, and she was always a phone call or email away. I felt reassured that I was in safe hands throughout the process. Emily is a credit to her firm and I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone. I have used Ashtons Legal several times and the service provided is exemplary and second to none. Thank you again.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Dixon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin Davey
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Colin Davey Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 18, 2021 20210218000000

Wills, Trusts & Probate

5

Matter Type: Wills

Colin Davey recommends Ashtons Legal

Solicitor named in this review: Louise Cardwell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr Ian R Mills
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Mr Ian R Mills Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
February 12, 2021 20210212124022

Drawing up of Wills respectively for elderly friend and me

5

Matter Type: Wills

I would rate as "excellent" the initial impression, knowledge, approachability, value for money, services and professionalism of the members of Ashtons Legal in their dealings with my elderly friend and me. They had a clear grasp of the respective situations of my friends and me, clearly explained how they recommended the wills be drawn up and how various aspects of our situations could be covered once the wills were made. The wills were drawn up, signed and witnessed in good time, and my friend and I now have piece of mind.

Solicitor named in this review: Elizabeth Dunn

Was this review helpful? Yes

Neal
Neal Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
February 12, 2021 20210212115100

Excellent Service

5

A very professional, friendly and supportive legal service.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sadie
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Sadie Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
February 12, 2021 20210212000000

Family Law

5

Matter Type: Fixed Fee Divorce

Sadie recommends Ashtons Legal

Solicitor named in this review: Sarah Lawrence

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Andrew Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 27, 2021 20210127133905

Andrew Fulcher

5

Matter Type: Wills

great customer service a very professional and efficient service

Solicitor named in this review: Janette Wand

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anna
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anna Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 26, 2021 20210126141002

Great professional conduct of our matter

5

Matter Type: Professional trustees

Michael assessed the merits of our case against all potential defendants. This was the principal reason for the instruction. We were able to make business decisions accordingly. Excellent and pragmatic advice was received.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Frape

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

dane
dane Added 3 days ago Report to admin
February 25, 2021
Collected on
20210225115016

dane

5

Very nice professional and personal people who helped me get justice kept in contact with myself all the way through the case even though we are in the middle of a pandemic they would send details of every stage of my case through secure emails they when I won they was very quick to pay out my winnings from my case they understand that for me it wasn't just about the money i wanted the people to except liability for what happened to me and they got that for me i would highly recommend this solicitors again i hope that i won't need to but definitely would if I had to 💯?

Was this review helpful? Yes

ian
ian Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 28, 2021
Collected on
20210128130205

ian

5

Medical misdiagnosis/negligence claim, Kate and Chantae have done a brilliant job bringing my case to a conclusion, thorough, engaged the very best experts to review evidence, explained everything and gave very balanced reviews of where we were, massive thanx.
Cheers
Ian

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 28 January, 2021

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback.

Del
Del Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 11, 2021
Collected on
20210111113515

Del

5

We contacted Aston's after a friends recommendation. We had tried four other legal teams, all of which said they couldn't help us and we didn't have a case.

Amanda Cavanagh dealt with our claim. She was absolutely excellent. She kept us informed every step of the way. And handled our case very promptly and professionally. We cannot recommend her enough. And would recommend Aston's to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 11 January, 2021

Thank you for the five star review. I will pass your kind words onto Amanda and the team. Very best wishes.

India
India Added 2 months ago Report to admin
December 16, 2020
Collected on
20201216171400

India

5

Ashtons took me on when I really needed help, and Mandy was particularly amazing. Unfortunately due to certain circumstances with a few different solicitors I did get passed around a few times, but eventually ended back up with Mandy again. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nick
Nick Added 2 months ago Report to admin
December 14, 2020
Collected on
20201214232556

Nick

5

A first class experience from Alan Brown at Astons Legal, swift to react for us when time was limited and would not hesitate to recommend his professional advice and legal services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.


Practice Area

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law and mediation, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.


Regulated By:

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000