Ashtons Legal

01284 762331

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services.

4.7/5 547 Client Reviews 547 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

547 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    470
  • Very Good
    45
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 17 hours ago Report to admin
September 17, 2020 20200917204938

Will

4

Matter Type: Wills

I received a professional, friendly and efficient service from Grace Hudson when writing my Will.

Solicitor named in this review: Grace Hudson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dave
Verified Dave Added 1 week ago Report to admin
September 10, 2020 20200910144713

Recovery of erroneous payment

5

Matter Type: Mediation

Our accountants did not take responsibility for making a payment from our funds in response to a scam email. Michael provided knowledgeable and practical advice at all stages on the approach to take. The successful outcome was a settlement in excess of what I thought might be possible.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Frape

Was this review helpful? Yes

Simon
Verified Simon Added 1 week ago Report to admin
September 10, 2020 20200910144430

Emily Dixon

5

Matter Type: Flexible Working

Emily did a great job, very helpful and attentive.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Dixon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Natalie
Natalie Added 1 week ago Report to admin
September 08, 2020 20200908095413

Employment Law - Outstanding Service and Advice.

5

Matter Type: UK Employment Laws

From start to finish, Aston's legal delivered outstanding service, precise and professional advice,
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dr Malcolm Walder
Verified Dr Malcolm Walder Added 1 week ago Report to admin
September 07, 2020 20200907105537

Medical claim

5

Matter Type: Medical Negligence

Throughout the process, I have experienced nothing but support and kindness from Julie Crossley and her assistant Paula. They have demonstrated total professionalism with an empathetic human touch.
Apparently, the circumstances of my particular case were medically and legally complicated and having now received 3 voluminous volumes of notes I can appreciate why!
I can only thank them most sincerely for their diligence resulting in a satisfactory outcome and would have no hesitation in recommending Ashton’s should anyone be seeking legal assistance.

Solicitor named in this review: Julie Crossley

Was this review helpful? Yes

Carl
Verified Carl Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 26, 2020 20200826010000

Employment

5

Matter Type: Flexible Working

Carl recommends Ashtons Legal

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Verified Michael Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 26, 2020 20200826010000

Employment

5

Matter Type: Flexible Working

Michael recommends Ashtons Legal

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Sarah Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 24, 2020 20200824142052

Probate

5

Matter Type: Wills

Grace dealt with my mothers estate very efficiently and in less time than we anticipated.
We have used Ashtons for several years and have been delighted with everyone involved.
Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pete Carling
Verified Pete Carling Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 24, 2020 20200824133748

French property legal issues.

5

We were unfortunately presented with extremely complicated legal conundrums regarding estates and property ownership and sales in France.

Sophie and her colleagues resolved all matters within a time-frame that was much better than we expected during times of uncertainty.

Meticulous detailing, thorough knowledge and creative thinking was required to prevent possible failures and ensure successes so we were very pleased indeed with our initial choice of Sophie and Ashtons for the tasks.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert
Verified Robert Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 21, 2020 20200821225153

Sameena Manzar

5

Matter Type: Separation Agreement

It was a pleasure and a priveldge to work with Sameena during my family law case. She was knowledgeable, tenacious, and did everything she could to ensure the best possible outcome for my case. I couldn't recommend Sameena and Ashtons Legal highly enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Sameena Manzar

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Dylan
Dylan Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 29, 2020
Collected on
20200429131035

Dylan

5

Ashtons legal is a fantastic firm I used and in particular Mick Upton, who was my solicitor.
They work to a very professional standard and are very friendly and easy to understand

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robin
Robin Added 7 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 27, 2020
Collected on
20200127121620

Robin

1

My family & business have been using Ashtons Legal through their various guises for decades, most recently for matters regarding commercial property purchase. Unfortunately their levels of service have deteriorated seriously due to their recent staff changes and office move. I know good solicitors who have left Ashtons and it would seem the replacements have not been of a high enough quality. We have experienced substantial delays in replies to queries and a lack of care, professionalism and even basic manners which is not conducive to a good client relationship. Unfortunately despite our many years of working with this firm the time has come for us to find an alternative solicitor. I do hope that the customer care team can take this criticism on board and make changes to their practices.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 27 January, 2020

Hello Robin, I'm sorry you have found our service not to its usual standards. I understand our Commercial Property Partner Ron Clare has been in touch with you to address your concerns and I hope we can come to a satisfactory resolution for you. Kind regards, Dave Richardson - Client Relationship Manager.

ES
ES Added 8 months ago Report to admin
January 11, 2020
Collected on
20200111162959

A client

5

A five star service from a five star organisation. Sophie Hearle and her team were absolutely first class in helping me to deal with my parents estate in France and the UK. A kind, calm, thoughtful and excellent communicator Sophie was faultlessly professional and executed her duties with aplomb and rigour. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Steve Added 11 months ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin
October 03, 2019
Collected on
20191003115059

Steve

1

have dealt with cunningham john,then kester cunningham and now ashtons for years, both business and private.... service has gone to pot.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 27, 2019
Collected on
20190427095454

Chris Giddings

5

Excellent customer service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.


Practice Area

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law and mediation, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000