Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ashtons Legal Compares

Value for money

This firm - 87%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ashtons Legal and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ashtons Legal performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ashtons Legal and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ashtons Legal compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ashtons Legal offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    689
  • Very Good

    68
  • Average

    6
  • Poor

    6
  • Awful

    27

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Jacqueline

Jacqueline

September 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Obtaining my French Pension

I would not have been able to navigate around the French legal system without Anne Hale from Ashton Legal team. Thanks to her patience and knowledge I now have my private French pension in place with Euros arriving monthly into my bank account. She was very thorough and is always cheerful and friendly.

Was this review helpful?

Gary

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Gary

September 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

My consultation was dealt with in a friendly and professional way. It was completed within a tight deadline. I can highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Maria & Aman

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal.

Maria & Aman

September 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amanda Cavanagh

I want to leave this review for this firm but specially for Amanda we’ve been working together for the last five years on my sons case and we finally got the result we wanted however in these five years she has been so professional so friendly and has been with us every step of the way I just wanted to say a huge thanks and for not giving up on my son and I. I wish you all the best. If I could give you more than 5 stars I would.

Was this review helpful?

Judith

Judith

August 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mrs Judith Heaton

Jennifer Valentine was very helpful. Sometimes visiting a Solicitor can be quite daunting but Jennifer made the experience very friendly and easy to understand. A pleasure to work with her.

Was this review helpful?

Geraldine Fuller

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal.

Geraldine Fuller

August 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Parents Estate

I found Ashtons Legal to be very friendly, always responding and giving good advice. With that help I manged to do quite a lot of the easy administration myself. With Elizabeth Dunn being on hand to follow up with the legal side.
During coronorvirus when the 'working from home' was in place, I even had emails evenings and weekends. This is the response we all hope for.
Elizabeth was easy to talk to and showed a caring attitude.
Was always on time with arranged phone calls.
The Ashtons conveyancing team are also very helpful and responsive to any communication.
I would recommend Ashtons Legal without hesitation

Was this review helpful?

Dave

Dave

August 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

First-class service

We were very impressed by both Faye and Tom, who dealt with us very well. They were superb at making dense legal terminology and procedures accessible and we felt consulted and informed at every stage of the process. Our sessions were informal but professional and we are very happy with the choices we have made. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

Brian

Brian

August 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

French property layers

I cannot speak highly enough about the team at Ashton’s who supported us through the process of buying a house in France. From the first introductory call through to the day of completion, they held our hand through the entire process. They were amazingly efficient and supportive. Advice was clear ,well explained and documented. Always on hand and very approachable. They provided us with so much confidence in a process that was completely new to us.
Thanks to everyone who assisted us we could not recommend you more highly.

Was this review helpful?

Roxanne

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal.

Matter Type:

Probate

Roxanne

August 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Roxanne, Suffolk

My Step Dads will was not straight forward, the Executors declined to act. and I had no knowledge of this process. However Janette Wand did indeed wave her magic Wand. She is truly the Mary Poppins of solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

John and Janet

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal.

John and Janet

August 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

French Will making from the UK

A lengthy but well managed process in these difficult Covid times, successfully completed by email and 'phone.

Was this review helpful?

Neil

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal.

Matter Type:

Probate

Neil

August 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great communication

I am very happy with the service I received from Jennifer Valentine. Considerate and respectful with great communication throughout. Jennifer made a difficult and at times an emotional situation in dealing with probate a whole lot easier. Would highly recommend her services.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Vicky

Vicky

May 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Vicky

I cannot fault this company, in particular Amanda Cavanagh, at all. She has been nothing but professional, understanding and compassionate to my Grandfather who she has been representing during what has been a very difficult year due to Covid-19. She has worked tirelessly to keep everything on track and keep us up to date with everything. Would 100% recommend them to anyone in the future and we cannot thank you enough for all you have done!
Our heartfelt thanks
Vicky and Ray

Was this review helpful?

James

James

April 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

James

Never having any experience of litigation we were a little apprehensive however Amanda put us at ease during our first call .
Every aspect of our claim was explained clearly and concisely when ever we had any questions they were dealt with very promptly .
Amanda was a delight to work with always patient and cheerful
We were delighted with the outcome and would highly recommend Astons to anybody thinking of legal representation
Thank you very much Mandy

Was this review helpful?

Nicola

Nicola

April 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nicola

Fabulous, very helpful, compassionate, caring, supportive and professional. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Daniel

April 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Daniel

Emily and her colleagues at Ashtons Legal were extremely prompt throughout the process from initial contact to end. Emily was also clear in explaining legal terminology to myself and again was prompt with a couple of follow-up questions I had. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

dane

dane

February 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

dane

Very nice professional and personal people who helped me get justice kept in contact with myself all the way through the case even though we are in the middle of a pandemic they would send details of every stage of my case through secure emails they when I won they was very quick to pay out my winnings from my case they understand that for me it wasn't just about the money i wanted the people to except liability for what happened to me and they got that for me i would highly recommend this solicitors again i hope that i won't need to but definitely would if I had to 💯?

Was this review helpful?

Ashtons Legal are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.

Practice areas

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Driving offences
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment