Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ashtons Legal LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Ashtons Legal LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 7%
About Right 91%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ashtons Legal LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ashtons Legal LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ashtons Legal LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ashtons Legal LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ashtons Legal LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1165
  • Very Good

    111
  • Average

    9
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    46

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Kathryn Warner

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal LLP.

Matter Type:

Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests

Kathryn Warner

April 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent and Professional Service

Thank you Mandy; a difficult time after losing my mum but Amanda helped make the situation clearer and kept me well informed all the way through the process (which took some time, but not because of Mandy!)
She knew the right experts to talk to and made my opinions feel valued and she made her explanations clear and free from jargon
Highly recommend Mandy if you have a difficult medical case and the firm has really good contacts within this industry

Was this review helpful?

kelly

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

kelly

April 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stu

We approached Ashton legal after an accident at Work and Tom was assigned as our solicitor. Tom arranged all expert medical appointments and the healthcare assessment needed for support at home while recovering. He is brilliant, knowledgeable, kind, and had loads of litigation experience. He guided us through the legal processes and documentation from expert reports to court fees. The end result was very successful. We highly recommend Tom at Ashton legal.

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Nick

March 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and reassuring throughout.

Tom's professionalism dealing with a sensitive family issue for us was of great reassurance throughout at this difficult time following the death of my mother in law. We would not hesitate to contact Tom again should we need any form of legal advice or representation. He is an excellent asset to Ashtons and we sincerely wish him all the best in his career.

Was this review helpful?

Linda

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal LLP.

Linda

March 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Not impressed

I felt your service was expensive and poor value. There were delays in sending documents to the notaire in France. There was little new work involved in advising me as this was the same as provided on another occasion

Was this review helpful?

Peter Bowden

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Peter Bowden

March 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will service

I decided to update my Will, and as Grace was already engaged in dealing with my late parent's estate, I asked her to do this for me. Very prompt and professional service.

Was this review helpful?

Richard and Susan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal LLP.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Richard and Susan

March 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of French property

Although we initially thought that we could manage the sale of our French property without professional help, we now realise that it would have been very risky and stressful. A friend recommended Ashtons and after an introductory meeting we were happy to engage them. The process proceeded smoothly and was completed within the three months predicted by the estate agent.

Was this review helpful?

Phil

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Phil

March 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pleasure to deal with

Many thanks Andrew. Once again you acted for us in a totally Professional, efficient and thorough way. Thank you - it’s great to know a Solicitor who you can trust totally.

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Matthew

March 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Accident at work

I cannot thank Ashtons more. Michael Wangermann was so good. His manner was excellent dealing with some members of the family who were not used to this type of process and who were still very upset with the accident. Michael led us through the Inquest and helped with a claim. I would recommend Ashtons to anyone and have already done so.

Was this review helpful?

Hannah

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Hannah

March 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing services

Legal Conveyancing services required for the sale of a leasehold flat in the Greater London Area. Andrew Skuse was approchable and able to communicate effectively with the London Borough on our behalf when our own communication attempts with various departments within Redbridge Council were not successful. Andrew also displayed great empathy and good communication skills with all third parties during this legal process.

Was this review helpful?

claire

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

claire

February 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amazing

Tom as amazing from start to finish, he always kept me updated with what was going on and the next steps to he taken. He was always efficient and polite. Really appreciated his help through some very stressful months, I wish you all the best in the future Tom

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Martin

Matter Type:

International

Martin

March 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Martin

As British citizens living in France we recently asked Ashtons Legal to review our existing wills (drawn up 20 years ago) and, if appropriate, to prepare new wills for us which would take into account our changed circumstances and recent changes in French and British inheritance law. From our very first contact with them members of Ashtons' staff team were friendly, helpful and reassuring. In particular, Chris Cumberbatch (Senior Associate), through correspondence and a video call, was extraordinarily patient with our ignorance and confusion and carefully guided us through the whole process, clarifying issues where necessary and ensuring, at each stage, that the decisions we were making would produce the outcomes we desired. What initially felt overwhelmingly complex and difficult became comparatively simple and even fun. For cross border wills and estate planning we cannot recommend Ashtons Legal highly enough.

Was this review helpful?

Jigna

Matter Type:

Licensing

Jigna

February 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jigna

"Bethanie exemplifies professionalism and expertise in her field. Her knowledge and dedication exceeded my expectations. She went above and beyond by answering calls even outside regular hours, showcasing her hardworking nature. I highly recommend Bethanie for her exceptional service."

Was this review helpful?

Ros

Matter Type:

Wills

Ros

January 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ros

Back in 2004 my husband and I decided to use Ashtons to make our wills, and this proved to be a valuable decision as the solicitor made us aware of various factors which we had not thought of ourselves.
Then years later, in 2021, when my husband had passed on, I enlisted further help with updating my will. And again I received excellent help with that, kindly and sensitively given at a time when it was most needed. They even visited me at home for this.
More recently, in 2023, I felt it was time to sell my property and move nearer to family. So I again approached Ashtons and used their friendly, patient approach to the conveyancing that was
necessary. I am grateful for their skilled and invaluable help with completion of this process.
I would sincerely recommend Ashtons for all legal work.

Ros Smith

Was this review helpful?

Giota

Matter Type:

Trusts

Giota

December 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Giota

My partner and I worked with Ashtons legal when purchasing our house, both for conveyancing with Amy and for arranging a declaration of trust with Grace. Amy has been very prompt in chasing the sellers solicitor, and great with providing us with the necessary documents and answering all our questions/concerns, as well as spotting red flags during the process. Grace has also been great to work with. Our declaration of trust was relatively complex due to the different amounts we each contributed to our deposit and the way we wanted profits to be split if we sell our home. Grace drafted the declaration of trust in a way that exactly reflected our needs and in a relatively short time, well ahead of exchanging. I could not recommend more!

Was this review helpful?

Alex

Alex

December 04, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alex

Very helpful throughout the process 👏

Was this review helpful?

Ashtons Legal LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award-winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Bury St Edmunds, Cambridge, Diss, Ipswich, Leeds and Norwich. We are a broad service firm which employs around 400 people. Our service lines are divided into three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.

Practice areas

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Driving offences
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment