Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ashtons Legal Compares

Value for money

This firm - 87%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 8%
About Right 90%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ashtons Legal and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ashtons Legal performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ashtons Legal and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ashtons Legal compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ashtons Legal offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    767
  • Very Good

    75
  • Average

    7
  • Poor

    6
  • Awful

    32

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Judith

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal.

Judith

January 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

French wills

We have found Ashtons to be efficient and helpful, always keeping us well informed.

Was this review helpful?

Dennis

Dennis

January 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very friendly, helpful and thorough. 100% recommended.

We were advised that there would be a wait for all the advice we needed about our French and British wills and tax. It was worth it as it saved us £000's. Sophie's advice written, by phone and Zoom was thorough, clear and with a friendly and professional manner throughout , It was far more helpful and accurate than that of a different solicitor's firm and 2 professional financial advisers, here and in France. As retired lawyers, but not in these fields, we would fully recommend Sophie and her colleagues to anyone else. Selena and Dennis.

Was this review helpful?

Ann

Matter Type:

Pedestrian Accident

Ann

December 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Worked really hard

Was very clear in getting the information needed. Fantastic firm who are thorough in everything. Explained everything to me so I could understand. Graham Heywood worked really hard to get us a settlement to help our son have a future.

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Lisa

November 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient & Good Communication

We used Ashtons Legal to assist in our property purchase in France having found them through a Place in The Sun website. We received an excellent service from the early enquiry right through to the end purchase. Matthew Cameron answered any concerns we had early on in the first communication from the French agent and worked quickly within the time restraints put upon us from the French owners.
Our experience was extremely smooth and would recommend Ashtons on to any first time buyers abroad.

Was this review helpful?

John

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

John

November 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Speedy and Efficient Conveyancing

We have to thank Andrew Skuse for the sterling job he did getting our sale and purchase completed in good time. We snuck into the reduced Stamp Duty deadline for our purchase which was astonishing considering we entered the fray quite late.
Thank You Andrew.
John and Manuela Young

Was this review helpful?

michaela

Matter Type:

International

michaela

October 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Totally pro while remaining sensitive and humaine.

I must above all say a huge thank you to Sophie Hearle who without her help and hard work, our complicated situation concerning the last will and testament of my late father, the result would have been catastrophic for my mother.
Sophie was more than efficient and professional, she was caring, diplomatic and extremely senative in dealing with a stressful and painful situation.
I can thoroughly recommend Sophie and her legal team to anyone needing help with French/ English law.
Sophie has enabled my mother to have a positive ending to a sad occasion and I will greatly miss speaking to such a lovely person . Thanks again Sophie .

Was this review helpful?

Bob

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Bob

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Undoubtedly the very best

In December last year i was unfortunate enough to be in an accident while looking after a member of the public on the hard shoulder of the M11.
I was recommended to use Ashtons Legal to help me.
The very best recommendation i could have had.
Tom Ranson took on my case. In the early months during my recovery Tom was very patient with me as i struggled with both physical and trauma injuries.
Just one word sums up Tom......."Brilliant".
I honestly believe Tom does not sleep, i was receiving e-mails from Tom as late as 11.30 p.m. and as early as just after 5 a.m, when he says he will do something on a particular day he goes more than the extra mile to get the job done.
I was guided through the whole process and took his advice every step of the way and that proved to be the best advice i could have received.
Tom negotiated a settlement for me that was higher than the original offer and i couldnt be more pleased with the outcome.
I have never had to deal with solicitors before, a scary prospect when you have been injured and not fully able to understand what is going on.
Tom Ranson made this easy for me, taking the time to explain the various stages of my claim and guiding me through the whole process.
My wife and i are vary grateful to Tom and Ashtons legal for looking after us while i recovered.
Thanks Tom
A very professional and first class service received throughout the whole process
Put your trust in this man and Ashtons Legal and you will never be wrong

Was this review helpful?

Elizabeth Harcombe

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal.

Matter Type:

Probate

Elizabeth Harcombe

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent knowledgeable service

To know that the important legal stuff is done properly and to be able to leave it to an such an experienced expert is such a relief. From start to finish , throughout a very difficult period of grief and shock after losing my partner suddenly, Elizabeth Dunn at Ashtons has provided thorough and knowledgeable advice and completely just ‘sorted it all out’ whilst maintaining a sympathetic approach throughout the whole process.
I feel very fortunate that we used Ashtons for conveyancing as well as probate and couldn’t recommend more highly.

Was this review helpful?

Richard Cobbald

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal.

Matter Type:

Wills

Richard Cobbald

October 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Creation of Wills

Jennifer Valentine was extremely professional and flexible on timings. We were excellently advised on our Wills and these were produced efficiently.

Was this review helpful?

Marion

Matter Type:

Horse Riding Injury

Marion

October 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and incredibly helpful

We recently used Tom Ranson to assist in a personal injury claim for a horse riding incident involving a dog. He was incredibly responsive and focused on achieving the best outcome possible despite the situation being slightly unusual. He couldn't have been more helpful and the resulting settlement was far more than expected. He kept us up to date of the case progression throughout and although these kinds of cases can move very slowly, Tom ensured there were no unnecessary delays. If anyone else found themselves in the same situation, we would have no hesitation in recommending Tom's services.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

David

David

October 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

David

I used Steeles Law for the sale of a commercial premises. They were very helpful and efficient throughout the process and were very quick to respond to a late problem just before exchange to get the sale over the line. I would recommend them and will be using them again for my next property.

Was this review helpful?

claire

claire

October 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

claire

Great company. So helpful. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Richard

September 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Richard

I called and spoke with the worst receptionist over a week ago and have yet to have a return call from anyone not even a secretary to discuss why I called. Very rude and unresponsive the receptionist definitely needs further training. I was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

Geoff

Geoff

August 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Geoff

I have engaged the services of Steeles Law for both the preparation and amendment of Wills, the sale of property and registration of a Power of Attorney. In each case, I have found them to be professional, efficient and responsive, with a relaxed and friendly approach to delivering their services and any ongoing advice. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Alicja

Alicja

July 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alicja

A very professional advice with a personalised approach. Great advice, Alistair was extremely helpful at explaining everything, which allowed me to make an informed decision. I have already recommended them and I will continue to do so.

Was this review helpful?

Ashtons Legal are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.

Practice areas

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Driving offences
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment