Ashtons Legal

01284 762331

At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.3/5 128 Customer Reviews 128
Recommended by
258 Verified Clients
like Dawn and S. Dobson
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

128 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    99
  • Very Good
    9
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    15

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
S. Dobson
Verified S. Dobson Added 1 week ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710122712

First class experience

5

Following the death of my widowed brother, who had been resident in France for many years, I contacted Matthew Cameron of Ashtons Legal as, having read several of his articles in a magazine, I felt he was a person who could provide me with much needed advice and assistance on sorting out the French succession aspect, of which I knew very little. He replied immediately saying such cross-border issues were what his firm dealt with constantly and sent detailed information of the likely costs involved. Thereafter my matter was mainly dealt with by his assistant Sarah Morel, who I found to be most professional, extremely competent and very pleasant to deal with. I always felt I could contact her with any query that arose as she was so approachable.

The succession was achieved and the tax paid more or less within the tight timescale, thereby avoiding any extra tax or penalties for late payment.

I was fortunate to find Ashtons in the way I did as I certainly would not have been able to cope with the intricacies of French bureaucracy without them, and I am extremely appreciative of their help during what has been a difficult time for me.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 11 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jean
Jean Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 16, 2019 20190516121605

Excellent service.

5

I was very pleased at the way the solicitor handled my case and how she helped with my needs and concerns. I cannot fault the way she represented me and the outcome of my case was successful.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 May, 2019

Thank you for your five star review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and will share it with Sharon and her team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert
Robert Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 03, 2019 20190503114128

Very poor attention to detail. Not kept informed, have to keep chasing. Mistakes made. I pay for a solicitor but only seem to have contact with a junior.

1

Very poor attention to detail. Not kept informed, have to keep chasing. Mistakes made. I pay for a solicitor but only seem to have contact with a junior.
Every time I try to phone it just ends up going to a short hold voicemail system.
I have had to correct a number of mistakes.
I have used other solicitors where I kept up to date on progress via a website. This is not the case here and I have had to keep chasing for information. Despite having already complained.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 08 May, 2019

We are sorry to read your review Robert. As you are aware, our Client Relationship Manager is in contact with you and is endeavouring to find a resolution.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Valerie
Verified Valerie Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 02, 2019 20190502120311

My experience of Ashtons Legal Customer Service

5

I found all of the staff at the Fornham St Martins office, especially Danielle Williamson and Tracy Wells , to be extremely helpful to me. As a first time seller I found the staff were very reassuring and knowledgeable regarding information requested on my house sale. The Customer Serevice I received was excellent and the staff a credit to Ashtons Legal

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bernard
Bernard Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 01, 2019 20190501232534

Will codicil

5

I have used the services of this firm for something liked thirty years, always in connection with my Will. At all times the person dealing with my affairs has been professional, courteous, efficient and a pleasure to deal with. Many thanks.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 May, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your repeat business is greatly appreciated and we hope to continue working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Celine
Verified Celine Added 3 months ago Report to admin
April 19, 2019 20190419201016

Complain

2

Not up to my expectation, the house purchase has not been followed enough to gather all the informations on time, then it had to be rushed and had to make the decision to loose the house or take a risk on not resolve enquiry

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Verified Sarah Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 22, 2019 20190322175201

Buying a house.

5

Buying my first home was made a lot less stressful but my solicitor who was great!

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 May, 2019

We are delighted to hear that we took some of the stress out of buying your new home. We hope that you are very happy there.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joe
Verified Joe Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 19, 2019 20190319212521

Completely stressful experience, quotes on the website about their services are just outright lies, attention to detail - not at all keeping us informed - only when chased by us!

1

Our experience of Ashton’s solicitors, unfortunately, has been disappointing and frustrating to say the least. Communication has been poor and progress slow, not to mention the often unhelpful and quite frankly rude attitude we have received on a number of occasions from two individual employee’s dealing with our file.
Whilst we understand and appreciate the need to be thorough in the process and that work loads are heavy the time frame in which this process has taken seems to be unduly long. Furthermore the lack of communication, unless contacted by ourselves, has left us in the dark as to the progress and causes of delay which has put us in a difficult position organising our living and financial situation.
Furthermore, one day before our agreed completion date, we received an email (not even the curtesy of a phone call!) to say that an error had been made by Ashton’s and we owe another £999 which needed to be paid immediately before land registration would take place. This of course left us shocked and distressed.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 April, 2019

Hi Joe - Sorry to read that your experience has not been to the expected standard. We have asked for your contact details so we can communicate with you. If you want to drop me a line direct on dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk we can look into this for you and hopefully resolve your issues. Dave Richardson Client Relationship Manager

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kim
Verified Kim Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 19, 2019 20190319091236

Excellent service

5

Absolutely fantastic. I thoroughly recommend Amanda Nudd- so pleased I used Ashtons for the purchase of my house.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 March, 2019

Thank you for the five star rating. We will pass your feedback on to Amanda and the team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mary
Verified Mary Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 19, 2019 20190319044719

House sale

5

Sale of my deceased mother's house including Land Registry submission

Solicitor being reviewed: Naomi Joy Everett

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 March, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Chris
Chris Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 27, 2019
Collected on
20190427095454

Chris Giddings

5

Excellent customer service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Zenobiazera
Zenobiazera Added 9 months ago Report to admin
September 29, 2018
Collected on
20180929204617

Zenobiazera

1

Spent an hour for nothing I didn't already know and paid for the privalage. Ended up dealing with it myself... YouTube rocks!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 03 October, 2018

Hi there. Unfortunately we are unable to identify you from your Google username. We are very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction. Should you wish to discuss this any further, please do not hesitate to contact our Client Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, on dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk. Best wishes. Vicki

Rozy
Rozy Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 02, 2018
Collected on
20180602195035

Rozy Allford

5

Very knowledgable and supportive and went the extra mile to help me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Dawn
Dawn Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 01, 2017
Collected on
20171001061627

Dawn

5

Great law firm and staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 October, 2017

Thank you for the fantastic feedback Dawn.

smoken
smoken Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 26, 2017
Collected on
20170326190322

smoken joe

5

EXCELLENT...ask for Michael...i can't thank them enough. They helped me greatly as they will help you to. FAST and friendly. Full of great advice.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for the five star feedback. We will pass your comments onto Michael and the team.

About This Branch

Description

We realise that when you call us it may well be for specific help at a difficult or stressful time. When you appoint Ashtons Legal for your personal legal needs, you can be sure that we will approach every issue with the utmost care and sensitivity. We will always try to understand what is important to you and offer advice, which will solve all the issues surrounding your needs. Our team includes lawyers who are members of the Law Society Children Panel, the Family Law Panel, and the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners. We also have trained mediators and collaborative family lawyers.


Legal Services
  • Travel rights
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Amputation
  • Redundancy
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Whiplash
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Housing disputes
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Accident At Work
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Child Law
  • Leasehold properties
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Social Services
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Trusts
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Right to Manage
  • Professional trustees
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Planning
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Separation Agreement
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Cycling Accident
  • Child Custody
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Lease Extensions
  • Remortgaging
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Collaborative Law
  • Sports Injury
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Probate
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Injunctions
  • Disputed Wills
  • Tax consultants
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Dog Bite
  • Part Time Workers
  • Against The Council
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Professional Discipline
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Gardening Leave
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Children
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Separation
  • Financial advisors
  • Fatal Accident
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Architects
  • Trusts
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Flexible Working
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Tinnitus
  • Litigation Law
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Medical Negligence
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Wills
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Transfer of title
  • Extending your Lease
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Children Act proceedings
  • MRSA Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Valuers
  • Manual Handling
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Child Abduction
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Pension Law
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Housing Associations
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Military
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Property Disputes
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Serious Injury
  • Elderly care
  • Child contact
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • No Win No Fee
  • Civil partnerships
  • Domestic Violence
  • Accident Abroad
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Taxi offences
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Child Maintenance
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Accountants
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Children's Accident
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Skiing Injury
  • Family Leave
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Fall From Height
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • TUPE
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Professional Negligence
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Barristers
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Housing Management
  • Employment Contracts
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Engineers
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Family Mediation
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Child Access
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Pay Issue
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disputed Probate
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Tax
  • Car Passenger
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Divorce
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Buying at auction
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Second charges
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Right of First Refusal
  • International
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • International Divorce
  • Transfers of equity
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Family law
  • Chronic Pain
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Commercial Leases
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Agency agreements
  • Equestrian property
  • Corporate finance
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Domain Names
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Setting up a business
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Framework agreements
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Planning law
  • Copyright
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Commercial Law
  • In-house training
  • Purchase of development land
  • Construction
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Insurance
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Contract law
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Asset Tracing
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Statutory Demands
  • Corporate Law
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Finance
  • Development loan facilities
  • Intellectual Property
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Franchising
  • Tax
  • Summary Judgment
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Energy
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Environmental policy law
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Employment - business
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Slander
  • Engineering contracts
  • Data Protection
  • Licensing
  • Development plot sales
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Banking
  • Patents
  • GDPR
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Credit Control
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Small businesses
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Farming disputes
  • Competition law
  • Environment
  • Developer disputes
  • Health and Safety
  • Share option schemes
  • Development agreements
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Management buyouts
  • Debt Recovery
  • Mergers and Acquisitions

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000