Ashtons Legal

01284 762331

Also known as - Heslop And Platt

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services.

4.7/5 728 Client Reviews 728 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

728 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    630
  • Very Good
    61
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    26

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Robert
Robert Added 3 days ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 04, 2021 20210504085512

Property dispute

5

Matter Type: Housing disputes

After a trying year Joanna with the help of Tom Hayden have been a source of help comfort and reassurance. Joanna deserves the 5 star accolade

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 30, 2021 20210430082636

Creating LPAs

5

Matter Type: Lasting power of attorney

Jennifer was friendly and professional and gave us sensible advice. We would recommend her.

Solicitor named in this review: Jennifer Valentine

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 27, 2021 20210427091201

Wills and transfer of Land

5

Matter Type: Wills

Octavia was professional, friendly and I would use her again.

Solicitor named in this review: Octavia Stoodley

Was this review helpful? Yes

Edward Steward
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Edward Steward Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 23, 2021 20210423094812

Will

5

Matter Type: Wills

I would use Ashtons Legal again.

Solicitor named in this review: Grace Hudson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane Richardson
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Jane Richardson Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 19, 2021 20210419091402

Rewriting an English Will for a French Resident

5

Matter Type: Wills

I live in France and wanted/needed to rewrite my English Will. With it being impossible to visit the UK to see a solicitor, I anticipated problems but the process was much easier than I had expected. Initial "face to face" contact for verifying identity was necessary, and I met Chris Cumberbatch via Zoom. After that, regular email contact ensured that my queries were answered promptly. Chris gave helpful advice and pointed out potential pitfalls. I was impressed by his professionalism and his understanding of writing an English Will for a French resident.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jamie
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Jamie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 15, 2021 20210415190818

Planning Advice

5

Matter Type: Planning

Great advice and service provided to help move our project forward - would definitely recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Amy Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lyndsey
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Lyndsey Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 23, 2021 20210323074741

Excellent service

5

Matter Type: Divorce

Sarah at Ashtons Legal was a pleasure to deal with, always ensuring I had all the facts and supporting me in making appropriate decisions. A friendly and helpful service and I would highly recommend

Solicitor named in this review: Sarah Lawrence

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter Walker
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Peter Walker Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 18, 2021 20210318155127

Wills

4

Matter Type: Wills

Chris was professional, knowledgable and approachable.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tatyana
Tatyana Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 10, 2021 20210310103235

Mr. A. Skuse - Residential Conveyance

5

I had a very good experience working with Mr. Skuse and his team. Strongly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Y.J.Turner
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Y.J.Turner Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 09, 2021 20210309130249

Probate

5

Matter Type: Probate

I would like to thank Jennifer Valentine and all the staff at Ashtons Legal for all their help and kindness in the sad loss of my late brother. Always there when I needed them.

Solicitor named in this review: Jennifer Valentine

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

James
James Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 26, 2021
Collected on
20210426105204

James

5

Never having any experience of litigation we were a little apprehensive however Amanda put us at ease during our first call .
Every aspect of our claim was explained clearly and concisely when ever we had any questions they were dealt with very promptly .
Amanda was a delight to work with always patient and cheerful
We were delighted with the outcome and would highly recommend Astons to anybody thinking of legal representation
Thank you very much Mandy

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicola
Nicola Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 24, 2021
Collected on
20210424193118

Nicola

5

Fabulous, very helpful, compassionate, caring, supportive and professional. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daniel
Daniel Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 24, 2021
Collected on
20210424145321

Daniel

5

Emily and her colleagues at Ashtons Legal were extremely prompt throughout the process from initial contact to end. Emily was also clear in explaining legal terminology to myself and again was prompt with a couple of follow-up questions I had. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

dane
dane Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 25, 2021
Collected on
20210225115016

dane

5

Very nice professional and personal people who helped me get justice kept in contact with myself all the way through the case even though we are in the middle of a pandemic they would send details of every stage of my case through secure emails they when I won they was very quick to pay out my winnings from my case they understand that for me it wasn't just about the money i wanted the people to except liability for what happened to me and they got that for me i would highly recommend this solicitors again i hope that i won't need to but definitely would if I had to 💯?

Was this review helpful? Yes

ian
ian Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 28, 2021
Collected on
20210128130205

ian

5

Medical misdiagnosis/negligence claim, Kate and Chantae have done a brilliant job bringing my case to a conclusion, thorough, engaged the very best experts to review evidence, explained everything and gave very balanced reviews of where we were, massive thanx.
Cheers
Ian

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 28 January, 2021

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback.

About This Branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.


Practice Area

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law and mediation, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.


Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000