Ashtons Legal

01284 762331

At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.6/5 351 Customer Reviews 351
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

351 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    289
  • Very Good
    32
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    20

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Rodney
Rodney Added 14 hours ago Report to admin
January 28, 2020 20200128133522

Made my case easy

5

Had a motorcycle accident in March 2017 and contacted ashtons to represent me as they were recommended to me by the police.
I have to say that they inspired confidence in me straight away.
I Met with Hanna Clarke and Siobhan Thacker and have dealt with them all the way through I can’t recommend these girls enough they made the whole process easy.
Many thanks you two.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robin
Robin Added 1 day ago Report to admin
January 27, 2020 20200127121540

Serious Deterioration of Service From Ashtons Legal Bury St Edmunds

1

My family & business have been using Ashtons Legal through their various guises for decades, most recently for matters regarding commercial property purchase. Unfortunately their levels of service have deteriorated seriously due to their recent staff changes and office move. I know good solicitors who have left Ashtons and it would seem the replacements have not been of a high enough quality. We have experienced substantial delays in replies to queries and a lack of care, professionalism and even basic manners which is not conducive to a good client relationship. Unfortunately despite our many years of working with this firm the time has come for us to find an alternative solicitor. I do hope that the customer care team can take this criticism on board and make changes to their practices.

Solicitor named in this review: Katie Noble

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 27 January, 2020

Hello Robin, I'm sorry you have found our service not to its usual standards. I understand our Commercial Property Partner Ron Clare has been in touch with you to address your concerns and I hope we can come to a satisfactory resolution for you. Kind regards Dave Richardson Client Relationship Manager

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs Jean Lancaster
Verified Mrs Jean Lancaster Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 20, 2020 20200120142448

Will & Lasting Power of Attorney

5

Very helpful, professional, understanding and knowledgeable. Walked me through the whole process and explained each step in an easy to understand way.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 17, 2020 20200117152200

A pleasure to deal with

5

Chris was professional and knowledgeable, friendly to deal with. I have no hesitation in recommending him.

Solicitor named in this review: Chris Cumberbatch

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nick
Verified Nick Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 15, 2020 20200115101817

Efficient and conscientious service.

5

I've had the pleasure of working with Claire and Sandra at Ashtons Legal for a second time in a year on some stressful employment related matters.
Although I had many questions in both instances, Claire was able to quickly clarify the legal points and more importantly the implications of the issues involved.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Ashtons Legal and indeed, have done several times already.

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Sleep

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thanks very much for the five-star review, Nick! We'll be sure to pass your kind feedback onto Claire and Sandra. We'll look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 13, 2020 20200113153916

French Legal Services

5

The whole process was straight forward. The solicitor (Sophie Hearle), was very friendly, approachable and explained procedures very clearly. She was very clear about the charges incurred and what she needed to do. She achieved the desired result quickly. I would recommend them without hesitation

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for your review! We'' pass your positive feedback onto Sophie. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr & Mrs Enefer
Verified Mr & Mrs Enefer Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 09, 2020 20200109124613

Friendly & Professional

3

We found Ashtons Legal very easy to deal with. Our solicitor was approachable and really listened to what we said and carried out our instructions efficiently. All communication was easy and friendly.

Ashtons Legal are a friendly and professional group of people

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Gould

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mike
Verified Mike Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 09, 2020 20200109000000

Company & Commercial

5

Mike recommends Ashtons Legal

Solicitor named in this review: Mark Watson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Verified Richard Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
January 07, 2020 20200107084418

RB Options

4

Resolution of sale of Share options
As this case is only in its early stage - it is difficult to present on overall review
However, to date service has been very good and professional
Notably, Michael has been directly available, and made every effort to stay in touch, even during holiday periods

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Frape

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, Richard.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Robin
Robin Added 1 day ago Report to admin
January 27, 2020
Collected on
20200127121620

Robin

1

My family & business have been using Ashtons Legal through their various guises for decades, most recently for matters regarding commercial property purchase. Unfortunately their levels of service have deteriorated seriously due to their recent staff changes and office move. I know good solicitors who have left Ashtons and it would seem the replacements have not been of a high enough quality. We have experienced substantial delays in replies to queries and a lack of care, professionalism and even basic manners which is not conducive to a good client relationship. Unfortunately despite our many years of working with this firm the time has come for us to find an alternative solicitor. I do hope that the customer care team can take this criticism on board and make changes to their practices.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 27 January, 2020

Hello Robin, I'm sorry you have found our service not to its usual standards. I understand our Commercial Property Partner Ron Clare has been in touch with you to address your concerns and I hope we can come to a satisfactory resolution for you. Kind regards, Dave Richardson - Client Relationship Manager.

ES
ES Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 11, 2020
Collected on
20200111162959

A client

5

A five star service from a five star organisation. Sophie Hearle and her team were absolutely first class in helping me to deal with my parents estate in France and the UK. A kind, calm, thoughtful and excellent communicator Sophie was faultlessly professional and executed her duties with aplomb and rigour. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Steve Added 3 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
October 03, 2019
Collected on
20191003115059

Steve

1

have dealt with cunningham john,then kester cunningham and now ashtons for years, both business and private.... service has gone to pot.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 27, 2019
Collected on
20190427095454

Chris Giddings

5

Excellent customer service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Zenobiazera
Zenobiazera Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 29, 2018
Collected on
20180929204617

Zenobiazera

1

Spent an hour for nothing I didn't already know and paid for the privalage. Ended up dealing with it myself... YouTube rocks!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 03 October, 2018

Hi there. Unfortunately we are unable to identify you from your Google username. We are very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction. Should you wish to discuss this any further, please do not hesitate to contact our Client Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, on dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk. Best wishes. Vicki

About This Branch

Description

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal Our French-speaking solicitors provide quality, professional and efficient French legal advice in a way which is cost transparent and which exceeds the client's expectations. As a specialist firm, when you contact our office you are guaranteed to deal directly with an English-speaking French law specialist at all times. Our team of solicitors and paralegals have extensive knowledge and experience of French law, including French inheritance law, French property law, French wills and much more. We also have excellent links with many professionals throughout France including lawyers (both notaries and avocats), bankers, accountants and surveyors.


Practice Area

Purchase of residential property: We deal with the purchase of all types of property all over France. Whether you are buying a villa, an apartment or a barn to renovate, and whether the property is 300 years old or not yet built, we know the questions to ask and the enquiries to make. We can also assist with the purchase of land, construction contracts and leaseback purchases. Sale of residential property: We can organise the appointment of an agent and a notary for you and, if required, can assist in negotiations with prospective buyers. We can also arrange the compulsory reports which a seller is required to provide and, where applicable, advise you on your French capital gains tax liability. Transfer of ownership: When a couple divorces, the transfer of their holiday home in France will form part of the divorce settlement. In conjunction with the client's own matrimonial lawyer, we regularly deal with the French aspects of such transfers. Our expertise is also invaluable when unmarried couples separate or friends who have bought a property together decide that one will buy the other out. French wills: Whilst French law, along with EU Regulations, dictates, to a large extent, what happens to a person's assets when they die, it is still useful for there to be a French Will which complements any provisions you may have made in the UK. This simplifies the administration of the deceased's French estate and therefore reduces costs in the long run. Estate planning: There are various ways in which the owner of a property in France can seek to minimise inheritance tax and / or ensure the surviving spouse is protected in the event of the death of his / her wife or husband; contact us for a review of your current position. Succession advice: It is crucial to take specialist, independent legal advice at the time of purchase so as to consider the various ownership options before completing the purchase of a property in France; succession advice forms an integral part of our services. Disputes & litigation: If you have a dispute with an individual or a company in France or wish to take legal action against someone, we can introduce you to a specialist French lawyer (an Avocat) who will represent you; we work alongside the French Avocat to ensure your interests are protected and your goals achieved. Financial issues & debt recovery: We regularly assist English speaking clients who are experiencing financial difficulty in relation to their French mortgage. We also act for UK based individuals and companies seeking to place a charge over a French property to secure repayment of debt. Probate and estate administration: Working in conjunction with the notary in France we can guide English speaking clients through the formalities which are required in France when a partner or family member dies. Power of Attorney: If it is inconvenient or impossible for you to travel to France to sign legal documentation, we can arrange for you to sign a Power of Attorney in the UK. We can also arrange, if required, the legalisation of the Power by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.


Legal Services
  • Accountants
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Transfers of equity
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Housing disputes
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Tax consultants
  • TUPE
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Accident At Work
  • International Divorce
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Chronic Pain
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Pay Issue
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Trusts
  • Transfer of title
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Serious Injury
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Professional Negligence
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Dental Negligence
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Pension Law
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Children
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Elderly care
  • Buying at auction
  • Stress at Work
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Car Passenger
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Tax
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Car Accident
  • Medical Negligence
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Child Law
  • Property Disputes
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Financial advisors
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Military
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • IT professionals
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Insurance brokers
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Second charges
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Redundancy
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Extending your Lease
  • Civil partnerships
  • Probate
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Child Custody
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Sports Injury
  • Injunctions
  • Housing Associations
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Travel rights
  • Family Mediation
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Child Maintenance
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Tinnitus
  • Surveyors
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Domestic Violence
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Divorce
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family law
  • Disputed Wills
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Injunctions
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Litigation Law
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Whiplash
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Professional trustees
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Professional Discipline
  • No Win No Fee
  • Valuers
  • Wills
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Child contact
  • Engineers
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Planning
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Child Abduction
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Lease Extensions
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Trusts
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Separation Agreement
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Fall From Height
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Family Leave
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Dog Bite
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Leasehold properties
  • Amputation
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cycling Accident
  • Barristers
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Disputed Probate
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Separation
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Architects
  • International
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Taxi offences
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Part Time Workers
  • Child Access
  • Children's Accident
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Senior Executives
  • Accident Abroad
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Financial Matters
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Repossessions
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Social Services
  • MRSA Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Environmental policy law
  • GDPR
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Purchase of development land
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Insurance
  • Corporate Law
  • Tax
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Framework agreements
  • Planning law
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Franchising
  • Environment
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Engineering contracts
  • Commercial Law
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Asset Tracing
  • Setting up a business
  • Mediation
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Slander
  • Commercial Leases
  • Statutory Demands
  • Construction
  • Development plot sales
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Management buyouts
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Farming disputes
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Employment - business
  • Small businesses
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Health and Safety
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Equestrian property
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Copyright
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Data Protection
  • Credit Control
  • Domain Names
  • Competition law
  • Development loan facilities
  • Development agreements
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Finance
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Developer disputes
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Rights of way issues
  • In-house training
  • Agency agreements
  • Banking
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Debt Recovery
  • Share option schemes
  • Corporate finance
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Licensing
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Energy
  • Patents
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Intellectual Property
  • Summary Judgment
  • Contract law
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Business structures and joint ventures

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000