Ashtons Legal

01603 703070

Also known as - Heslop And Platt

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services.

4.7/5 728 Client Reviews 728 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

728 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    630
  • Very Good
    61
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    26

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Suzannah
Suzannah Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 29, 2021 20210429144420

Buying a property

5

I cannot thank Carolyn enough for all she has done throughout our purchase (we are still in the process when writing this review) because she has provided us with numerous responses via email, very quickly and is so reassuring to me that I felt it appropriate to leave this feedback here. Like everyone who enters into buying property it can be very stressful and we've had two that have fallen through before this purchase, which in the past 10 months has not been easy. I would absolutely recommend Carolyn specifically.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 28, 2021 20210428082039

Creating a Will

5

Matter Type: Wills

We were very happy with how things went. Would happily recommend,

Solicitor named in this review: Louise Cardwell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Peter Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 23, 2021 20210423100805

New Wills

5

Matter Type: Wills

Despite inevitable complications following the lockdown restrictions. The Will making experience proved to be smoothy and efficiently conducted. The whole process was friendly yet professional.

Solicitor named in this review: Loren Clapham

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anonymous Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
April 08, 2021 20210408110319

Probate

5

Matter Type: Probate

Louisa and Loren were professional, efficient and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

J
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. J Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 30, 2021 20210330095830

Wills

5

Matter Type: Wills

Loren was professional, efficient and knowledgeable.

Solicitor named in this review: Loren Clapham

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tibbs
Tibbs Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 26, 2021 20210326133429

Excellent support and service

5

Matter Type: Employment Law

Emily Dixon has been an excellent support for me during a very difficult time. The legal advice was timely, practical, and reasonable. She provided information and support that was clear and informative to help me make decisions. I really appreciate the professionalism and good range of knowledge, which helped me consider the options before making the appropriate choice.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Dixon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Simon
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Simon Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 22, 2021 20210322111000

Debt Recovery

5

Matter Type: Debt Recovery

The support we received from Ashtons in chasing up payment for some very overdue invoices was brilliant. Leah guided us through each step of the debt recovery process and took care of all the paperwork for us. We are delighted to have received payment in full and wouldn't hesitate to engage their services again in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Leah Newcombe

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rosemary Griffith
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Rosemary Griffith Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 19, 2021 20210319160113

Money successfully retrieved!

5

Matter Type: Debt Recovery

Leah Newcombe has handled all stages of the legal procedure for a debt incurred by one of our customers. She has given great advice and information throughout the process, and has brought the case to a successful conclusion. Leah is an approachable and helpful person to liaise with.

Solicitor named in this review: Leah Newcombe

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen Piper
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Stephen Piper Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 19, 2021 20210319143835

Good friendly service

4

Matter Type: Wills

Ashtons provided a comfortable welcoming environment for us to discuss our wills and our concerns for inheritance. We were given good advice and felt reassured the action agreed was the best fit for our circumstances. We would recommend Loren for my prospective clients.

Solicitor named in this review: Loren Clapham

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 19, 2021 20210319141629

Lasting Powers of Attorney

5

Matter Type: Lasting power of attorney

Vanessa was friendly, efficient and professional when assisting me with an LPA.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Fitt

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Laura
Laura Added 3 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 13, 2021
Collected on
20210413095101

Laura

5

Thank you Ashtons Legal Norwich Team for getting us through to completion!

We were recommended Ashtons Legal by a friend who had excellent service for past conveyancing. I am so glad we had Abby Dalziel working on our conveyancing as we found her to be professional, approachable and proactive. Our house sale turned out to be more complicated than anticipated (due to historic legal work) which meant the conveyancing took longer than expected (with added delays due to the pandemic) but Abby dealt with every issue that came up efficiently and on a number of occasions went above and beyond to resolve the situation.

Abby always explained things clearly therefore, we felt informed to make decisions along the way. We always received calls and replies to emails in a timely manner. We found the team worked well together when covering for leave/holidays without a disruption to service.

We would highly recommend Ashtons Legal and we will use them in future if we ever need a solicitor.

Thank you again,
Laura & Joe Hanslip

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 13 April, 2021

Thank you very much for the lovely feedback. We will pass it on to Abby and the residential property team.

Chris
Chris Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 04, 2021
Collected on
20210304145434

Chris

5

Ashtons Legal have done the conveyancing for multiple purchases and sales of both my own houses as well as buy to let houses. They have always been very quick to respond to any questions I have had and have managed to get complicated purchases through with ease and as always a lot of attention to detail. Claire and her team have always looked after me well and I cannot recommend them enough. Despite it being one of the busiest times for solicitors due to stamp duty breaks, they recently managed to get a purchase done very quickly with no fuss. Thank you to everyone at Ashtons in Norwich.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 March, 2021

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback and five star rating. We will pass this on to Claire and the team.

Christos
Christos Added 6 months ago Report to admin
October 30, 2020
Collected on
20201030120552

Christos

5

Excellent service which made things a lot easy. I highly recommend all staff and especially Carolyn Starling for her understanding and professional services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Karen
Karen Added 6 months ago Report to admin
October 23, 2020
Collected on
20201023170607

Karen

5

Following a recommendation from Shauna Clark, I would highly recommend Ashtons Legal. Claire Beckett - Conveyancing Executive made my purchase a completely stress free experience. Claire and her admin team, Carrie, Abby and Katie kept me informed every step of the way. I received regular emails and telephone calls with updates. As a company I found them to be professional, efficient, friendly and pro-active.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your fantastic review of Claire and the team. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Kem
Kem Added 6 months ago Report to admin
October 14, 2020
Collected on
20201014105014

Kem

5

Absolutely fantastic service, the team were extremely helpful and were able to answer all of my questions and ensured that I was always kept up to date.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you had a fantastic service from the team. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.


Practice Area

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law and mediation, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.


Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000