Ashtons Legal

01603 703070

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.7/5 478 Customer Reviews 478 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

478 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    405
  • Very Good
    41
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Jo W
Verified Jo W Added 5 days ago Report to admin
July 03, 2020 20200703105153

Great for first time purchase

5

As a first time purchaser how the whole thing worked was new to me. Claire answered all my questions and was really clear about next steps.

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Beckett

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified Mark Added 1 week ago Report to admin
July 01, 2020 20200701142727

Professional and Efficient

5

I recently required advice and after getting in touch with Ashton’s was introduced to Jessica Piper.
Considering this contact was during lockdown, they dealt with my situation with the utmost professionalism and efficiency. Jessica made herself available for a telephone consultation, with contact thereafter via email. My experience was extremely positive and would have no hesitation in recommending Ashton’s and in particular Jessica.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Emma Added 1 week ago Report to admin
June 30, 2020 20200630202310

Excellent service, supportive and friendly team for house sale and purchase

5

Ashtons supported me recently with my house sale and purchase of my new house. They were friendly, supportive and efficient supporting me well throughout the whole process. This hasn’t been an easy time and difficult with the COVID situation and Ashtons have been very supportive throughout and very professional. Thank you for all your support and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 1 week ago Report to admin
June 26, 2020 20200626091759

Selling our house, great service despite the lock-down

5

Claire and her team were the epitome of professionalism, throughout lock-down the whole selling process continued to the point as soon as restrictions were lifted we were ready to formally exchange and complete eight days later. Such a relief in stressful conditions.

Ashtons Conveyancing team have an enviable reputation for no nonsense getting the job done, they didn't disappoint and I'm very grateful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kevin
Verified Kevin Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
June 22, 2020 20200622163638

Service received

5

Excellent service and advice in chasing an overdue account and obtaining full settlement . Leah was brilliant at keeping me informed and would not hesitate to use them again

Solicitor named in this review: Leah Newcombe

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 13, 2020 20200513222724

Settlement Agreement

4

Ashtons provided expert advice within a very short time frame. This enabled me to make an informed decision , which lead to me settling with my Employer.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Verified Steven Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 05, 2020 20200505150947

Redundancy Contract Negotiation

5

My company advised me that I would be made redundant and wanted me to sign a contract to prevent me working in the same industry for 12 months. Ashton's were engaged to review the contract and revised the terms in a number of areas but I finally had to accept the 12 month period. However I am happy with the advice given by Jessica.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rachel
Rachel Added 3 months ago Report to admin
April 02, 2020 20200402134046

Jessica Piper - Impeccable

5

Jess is simply fantastic. A huge asset to Ashtons Legal and I can't thank Jess enough for her support and contribution during a very uncertain time. Thank you again Jess, professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Overall impeccable service.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 17, 2020 20200317141049

My Will

5

Louisa - was very professional and straightforward. She talked me through the process which was easy to understand. I would recommend her.

Solicitor named in this review: Louisa Bradberry

Was this review helpful? Yes

Miss Garner
Verified Miss Garner Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 06, 2020 20200306100215

Great professional service

5

We used Asthons Legal to support us in the purchase of a property (in Jan 2020). They were very efficient, professional and responsive. The whole team were great, but in particular our Conveyancing Executive, Claire Beckett, was excellent and gave us regular updates without prompting, which was really helpful. The whole process was completed in 2-3 months, which meant we were able to get started on the renovation works needed in the property in line with our planned schedule. I would highly recommend, we will be using Asthons Legal again in the near future.

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Beckett

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Lance
Lance Added 10 months ago Report to admin
September 09, 2019
Collected on
20190909190724

Lance

5

Really nice to deal with, reasonable fees

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 10 months ago Report to admin
September 07, 2019
Collected on
20190907205335

James

4

Easily accessible being close to A47, parking can be a little difficult. Staff generally helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie
Julie Added 11 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 02, 2019
Collected on
20190802134949

Julie

1

Didn't listen

Was this review helpful? Yes

sarah
sarah Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 17, 2019
Collected on
20190617062606

sarah

5

excellent service, would 100% recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you for the five star feedback Sarah.

Matt
Matt Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 16, 2019
Collected on
20190616144542

Matt

4

Really reliable and reasonably priced. They did a great job resolving my dispute and I would use them again without a second thought if I was ever in need of any form of mediation again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 25 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal and deals solely with French Law matters. Our French-speaking solicitors provide quality, professional and efficient French legal advice in a way which is cost transparent and which exceeds the client's expectations. As a specialist firm, when you contact our office you are guaranteed to deal directly with an English-speaking French law specialist at all times. Our team of solicitors and paralegals have extensive knowledge and experience of French law, including French inheritance law, French property law, French wills and much more. We also have excellent links with many professionals throughout France including lawyers (both notaries and avocats), bankers, accountants and surveyors.


Practice Area

Purchase of residential property: We deal with the purchase of all types of property all over France. Whether you are buying a villa, an apartment or a barn to renovate, and whether the property is 300 years old or not yet built, we know the questions to ask and the enquiries to make. We can also assist with the purchase of land, construction contracts and leaseback purchases. Sale of residential property: We can organise the appointment of an agent and a notary for you and, if required, can assist in negotiations with prospective buyers. We can also arrange the compulsory reports which a seller is required to provide and, where applicable, advise you on your French capital gains tax liability. Transfer of ownership: When a couple divorces, the transfer of their holiday home in France will form part of the divorce settlement. In conjunction with the client's own matrimonial lawyer, we regularly deal with the French aspects of such transfers. Our expertise is also invaluable when unmarried couples separate or friends who have bought a property together decide that one will buy the other out. French wills: Whilst French law, along with EU Regulations, dictates, to a large extent, what happens to a person's assets when they die, it is still useful for there to be a French Will which complements any provisions you may have made in the UK. This simplifies the administration of the deceased's French estate and therefore reduces costs in the long run. Estate planning: There are various ways in which the owner of a property in France can seek to minimise inheritance tax and / or ensure the surviving spouse is protected in the event of the death of his / her wife or husband; contact us for a review of your current position. Succession advice: It is crucial to take specialist, independent legal advice at the time of purchase so as to consider the various ownership options before completing the purchase of a property in France; succession advice forms an integral part of our services. Disputes & litigation: If you have a dispute with an individual or a company in France or wish to take legal action against someone, we can introduce you to a specialist French lawyer (an Avocat) who will represent you; we work alongside the French Avocat to ensure your interests are protected and your goals achieved. Financial issues & debt recovery: We regularly assist English speaking clients who are experiencing financial difficulty in relation to their French mortgage. We also act for UK based individuals and companies seeking to place a charge over a French property to secure repayment of debt. Probate and estate administration: Working in conjunction with the notary in France we can guide English speaking clients through the formalities which are required in France when a partner or family member dies. Power of Attorney: If it is inconvenient or impossible for you to travel to France to sign legal documentation, we can arrange for you to sign a Power of Attorney in the UK. We can also arrange, if required, the legalisation of the Power by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000