Ashtons Legal

01603 703070

At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.6/5 380 Customer Reviews 380
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

380 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    317
  • Very Good
    33
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    20

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Amanda
Amanda Added 4 days ago Report to admin
February 19, 2020 20200219181800

Commercial - T&Cs

5

Thank you for Paul Mitchell and team in the Commercial Dept for guiding us through the complexities involved in tailoring a meaningful set of Terms & Conditions. We could have downloaded a set from the internet, as I suspect many do, but working with Ashtons Legal made us realise the genuine value of having a robust ordering process. Our aim was to develop clear terms that protect us and our customers and I believe we have achieved this.

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Mitchell

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and will pass your comments onto Paul. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

debby
debby Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 15, 2020 20200215092155

Great Conveyance Experience

5

We have just used Ashtons Legal Norwich for a house conveyance. We have used them several times now, first for a probate, then this... always found them efficient, communicative, professional, informative and would always recommend them to anyone wishing to have a pleasant experience.
Carolyn Starling, Amanda Nudd and team - thank you.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 February, 2020

Thank you for your review, Debby! We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ben
Ben Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 13, 2020 20200213161215

Fantastic Service

5

The team at Ashtons Legal Norwich are professional and a joy to do business with. We have just completed a particularly tricky shared ownership flat sale and new home purchase and the team were wonderful at keeping me informed of developments and calm throughout. Claire Beckett managed our case and I cannot thank, and recommend, her enough. Thank you for everything Claire and getting us through it!

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Beckett

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 February, 2020

Thanks very much for your review, Ben! We're delighted to hear you were pleased with the service we provided. We will pass your comments onto Claire and look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Craig
Craig Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
January 29, 2020 20200129204824

Child matters

5

Well for being a first time father i didnt expect to go through what I had to. So I got advised to see Francesca and from the first moment she was great. Francesca explained the laws to me made me comfortable in this situation and most of all worked hard to get me what I deserved. Francesca really helped me with everything always there if i needed to call her and up till the court day she was fantastic, professional and overall a life saver. Because of Francesca I get to see and have my daughter which not only made me a happy father but gave happiness to my family for everything she done. Recommend 100% to anyone having child matters. Thank you Francesca

Solicitor named in this review: Francesca Easter

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2020

Thanks so much for your review, Craig. We'll be sure to pass your positive comments onto Francesca.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 17, 2020 20200117152655

Refreshing approach

5

Louisa was a friendly solicitor dealing with our Wills. She was knowledgeable and gave sensible advice. We are happy to recommend her.

Solicitor named in this review: Louisa Bradberry

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2020

Thank you for your five-star review! We will be sure to pass your kind comments onto Louisa.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ben
Verified Ben Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 09, 2020 20200109183529

Fantastic

5

Friendly, helpful, supportive. Mark Watson and his team did a really good job.

James Tarling, the partner, took a really comprehensive brief which set the project on the right course.

Solicitor named in this review: Mark Watson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 09, 2020 20200109123658

First class service

5

Vanessa was very friendly and knowledgeable, my will was straightforward and dealt with professionally

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Fitt

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you very much for your review!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Verified Steven Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 07, 2020 20200107174712

Steve Mellor-settlement agreement

5

Advise on the content of a personalised settlement agreement

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 08 January, 2020

Thanks for your five-star review, Steven! we're pleased we were able to provide you with a service you were happy with.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Heather
Verified Heather Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 02, 2020 20200102231638

Retirement

5

Very pleased with the speed we were able to meet up to go through my paperwork.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 03 January, 2020

Thanks very much for your review, Heather!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Philippa
Verified Philippa Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 02, 2020 20200102000000

Employment

5

Philippa recommends Ashtons Legal

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Lance
Lance Added 5 months ago Report to admin
September 09, 2019
Collected on
20190909190724

Lance

5

Really nice to deal with, reasonable fees

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 5 months ago Report to admin
September 07, 2019
Collected on
20190907205335

James

4

Easily accessible being close to A47, parking can be a little difficult. Staff generally helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie
Julie Added 6 months ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019
Collected on
20190802134949

Julie

1

Didn't listen

Was this review helpful? Yes

sarah
sarah Added 8 months ago Report to admin
June 17, 2019
Collected on
20190617062606

sarah

5

excellent service, would 100% recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you for the five star feedback Sarah.

Matt
Matt Added 8 months ago Report to admin
June 16, 2019
Collected on
20190616144542

Matt

4

Really reliable and reasonably priced. They did a great job resolving my dispute and I would use them again without a second thought if I was ever in need of any form of mediation again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 25 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal Our French-speaking solicitors provide quality, professional and efficient French legal advice in a way which is cost transparent and which exceeds the client's expectations. As a specialist firm, when you contact our office you are guaranteed to deal directly with an English-speaking French law specialist at all times. Our team of solicitors and paralegals have extensive knowledge and experience of French law, including French inheritance law, French property law, French wills and much more. We also have excellent links with many professionals throughout France including lawyers (both notaries and avocats), bankers, accountants and surveyors.


Practice Area

Purchase of residential property: We deal with the purchase of all types of property all over France. Whether you are buying a villa, an apartment or a barn to renovate, and whether the property is 300 years old or not yet built, we know the questions to ask and the enquiries to make. We can also assist with the purchase of land, construction contracts and leaseback purchases. Sale of residential property: We can organise the appointment of an agent and a notary for you and, if required, can assist in negotiations with prospective buyers. We can also arrange the compulsory reports which a seller is required to provide and, where applicable, advise you on your French capital gains tax liability. Transfer of ownership: When a couple divorces, the transfer of their holiday home in France will form part of the divorce settlement. In conjunction with the client's own matrimonial lawyer, we regularly deal with the French aspects of such transfers. Our expertise is also invaluable when unmarried couples separate or friends who have bought a property together decide that one will buy the other out. French wills: Whilst French law, along with EU Regulations, dictates, to a large extent, what happens to a person's assets when they die, it is still useful for there to be a French Will which complements any provisions you may have made in the UK. This simplifies the administration of the deceased's French estate and therefore reduces costs in the long run. Estate planning: There are various ways in which the owner of a property in France can seek to minimise inheritance tax and / or ensure the surviving spouse is protected in the event of the death of his / her wife or husband; contact us for a review of your current position. Succession advice: It is crucial to take specialist, independent legal advice at the time of purchase so as to consider the various ownership options before completing the purchase of a property in France; succession advice forms an integral part of our services. Disputes & litigation: If you have a dispute with an individual or a company in France or wish to take legal action against someone, we can introduce you to a specialist French lawyer (an Avocat) who will represent you; we work alongside the French Avocat to ensure your interests are protected and your goals achieved. Financial issues & debt recovery: We regularly assist English speaking clients who are experiencing financial difficulty in relation to their French mortgage. We also act for UK based individuals and companies seeking to place a charge over a French property to secure repayment of debt. Probate and estate administration: Working in conjunction with the notary in France we can guide English speaking clients through the formalities which are required in France when a partner or family member dies. Power of Attorney: If it is inconvenient or impossible for you to travel to France to sign legal documentation, we can arrange for you to sign a Power of Attorney in the UK. We can also arrange, if required, the legalisation of the Power by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.


Legal Services
  • International Divorce
  • Whiplash
  • Surveyors
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Child Law
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Dog Bite
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Housing Management
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • TUPE
  • Child Maintenance
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Civil partnerships
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Chronic Pain
  • Senior Executives
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • IT professionals
  • Tinnitus
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Wills
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Against The Council
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Children's Accident
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Tax consultants
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Tax
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Pension Law
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Taxi offences
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Separation Agreement
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Manual Handling
  • Social Services
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Amputation
  • Consumer Rights
  • Professional Discipline
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Probate
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Transfers of equity
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Financial advisors
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Accountants
  • Injunctions
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Pension and property advice
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Valuers
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Pay Issue
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Trusts
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • International
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Redundancy
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Barristers
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Fall From Height
  • Architects
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Property Disputes
  • Disputed Wills
  • Separation
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Accident Abroad
  • Skiing Injury
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Sports Injury
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Professional trustees
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Disputed Probate
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Professional Negligence
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Trusts
  • Engineers
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Elderly care
  • Financial Matters
  • Family law
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Military
  • Cycling Accident
  • Accident At Work
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Housing Associations
  • Leasehold properties
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Housing disputes
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Serious Injury
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Car Passenger
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Media and Sports
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Asbestosis
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Child Abduction
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Children
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • No Win No Fee
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Domestic Violence
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Child Custody
  • Repossessions
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Flexible Working
  • Planning
  • Insurance brokers
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Family Leave
  • Gardening Leave
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Second charges
  • Employment Law
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Divorce
  • Child Access
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Collaborative Law
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Transfer of title
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Litigation Law
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Child contact
  • Employment Contracts
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Commercial Law
  • Development agreements
  • Development loan facilities
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Construction
  • Share option schemes
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Setting up a business
  • Commercial Leases
  • Intellectual Property
  • Statutory Demands
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Finance
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Energy
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Corporate Law
  • Health and Safety
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Domain Names
  • Slander
  • Commercial mortgages
  • GDPR
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Mediation
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Copyright
  • Farming disputes
  • Corporate finance
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Management buyouts
  • Summary Judgment
  • Small businesses
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Data Protection
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Developer disputes
  • Agency agreements
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Banking
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Equestrian property
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Debt Recovery
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Framework agreements
  • Competition law
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Environmental policy law
  • Licensing
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Asset Tracing
  • Purchase of development land
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Development plot sales
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Rights of way issues
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Engineering contracts
  • Planning law
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Tax
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Environment
  • Employment - business
  • Insurance
  • Contract law
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Franchising
  • Patents
  • In-house training

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000