Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt

0113 393 1930

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services.

4.7/5 554 Client Reviews 554 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

554 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    477
  • Very Good
    45
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Mark
Mark Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 24, 2020 20200524102640

Excellent service

5

I instructed Barbara Heslop and her team when I bought in France 10 or so years ago and again when I sold the property. I am very appreciative of the high standard of service of both her and her colleagues. As a solicitor myself I was delighted with the advice and guidance I received.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie
Julie Added 14 hours ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 24, 2020 20200924184052

Julie & Paul

5

Matter Type: Wills

Harriet walked us through every step of amending our wills, explaining everything in a clear and professional manner. We felt that we were given all the information necessary to make our choices. We would highly recommend Ashtons to anybody.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Verified Matthew Added 2 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 22, 2020 20200922141341

Thorough & Swift!

5

Matter Type: Flexible Working

I had the pleasure of dealing with Emily recently to review some paperwork based around downsizing at our company. Emily's assistant was swiftly in touch to get my details and arrange a short notice meeting (by all accounts they are usually a lot shorter notice - but I was impressed). I met with Emily via Teams and we got into the detail very quickly - luckily I had knowledge of the process from previous experience, so there was nothing in the document that surprised me. I should say that Emily performed professionally throughout, and I suspect that if there had been any surprises she would have handled them competently.

I would also say that her communications were timely, and allowed the process to be over very quickly and in a matter of days, Thank you for your support.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Dixon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 2 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 22, 2020 20200922103709

Powers of Attorney & Will

5

Matter Type: Wills

I have very much appreciated your efficiency and sensitive support at this difficult time and will not hesitate to contact you should I need any help in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Amanda Smitherman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joe
Joe Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 21, 2020 20200921152614

Outstanding service over the past 7 years

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

I would highly recommend Charlotte Vallins & Ashtons Legal for all commercial property legal requirements.

I have worked with Charlotte for the past 7 years and the service I have received has been both professional & efficient with friendly and straight forward communication.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte Vallins

Was this review helpful? Yes

Arthur Bell
Verified Arthur Bell Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 21, 2020 20200921144053

Excellent Solicitors

5

We have had the good fortune to deal with real professionalism recently in organising English Wills as we are resident in France. In my nearly 50 years of banking before retiring I have dealt with literally dozens of lawyers/solicitors/barristers in that time. Only 2 stand out over that period worthy of note and one of them is Sophie Hearle who assisted us with our English Wills. It was a great pleasure in dealing with Sophie who, not only was knowledgeable in this field, but came over as a patient and honest person. Lots of professionals can be too concerned about their own ego and I have met plenty of them. Not so Sophie. It has been a great pleasure in dealing with Sophie and I would have no hesitation in recommending her and her firm to others, professional as well as individuals seeking legal advice.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jayne
Jayne Added 6 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 18, 2020 20200918134531

Family matter - Outstanding Service

5

Matter Type: Child Law

I highly recommend Tina Inniss for any family matter. She was extremely supportive throughout a very stressful period for me but her assistance proved invaluable. She was also extremely conscious of the costs I incurred and ensured I kept within budget. I also appreciated her honesty and realism and her helping me to consider different ways to move through my case. She also matched me to an excellent barrister. Together helping me to achieve the outcome I was looking for.

Solicitor named in this review: Tina Inniss

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 17, 2020 20200917204938

Will

4

Matter Type: Wills

I received a professional, friendly and efficient service from Grace Hudson when writing my Will.

Solicitor named in this review: Grace Hudson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Louise
Louise Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 16, 2020 20200916174130

Professional, mindful and efficient handling

5

We instructed Ashtons Legal to handle a family member's name change. Jessica and the team delivered an outstanding service quickly, professionally and mindfully. Highly recommended.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Jacobs

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dave
Verified Dave Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2020 20200910144713

Recovery of erroneous payment

5

Matter Type: Mediation

Our accountants did not take responsibility for making a payment from our funds in response to a scam email. Michael provided knowledgeable and practical advice at all stages on the approach to take. The successful outcome was a settlement in excess of what I thought might be possible.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Frape

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Robert
Robert Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 19, 2020
Collected on
20200819162431

Robert

5

I've been working with Ashtons this last two years concerning a motoring accident claim, when a third party drove into the back of my vehicle in Summer 2018.
At all times, Ashtons and my representative there has been nothing short of excellent, thoroughly professional and highly efficient.
I have no hesitation in recommending this superb company.
Well done and thank you for all your help Ashtons.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kevin
Kevin Added 4 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 18, 2020
Collected on
20200518070856

Kevin

1

I had an accident injury claim processed by Ashtons and I found them very poor, slow to act, mixed ways of communicating and the lawyer acting seem to not be competent. Would not recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dylan
Dylan Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 29, 2020
Collected on
20200429131035

Dylan

5

Ashtons legal is a fantastic firm I used and in particular Mick Upton, who was my solicitor.
They work to a very professional standard and are very friendly and easy to understand

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Anthony Added 7 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 31, 2020
Collected on
20200131171911

Anthony

5

Ashtons were excellent from start to finish.
Really good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robin
Robin Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 27, 2020
Collected on
20200127121620

Robin

1

My family & business have been using Ashtons Legal through their various guises for decades, most recently for matters regarding commercial property purchase. Unfortunately their levels of service have deteriorated seriously due to their recent staff changes and office move. I know good solicitors who have left Ashtons and it would seem the replacements have not been of a high enough quality. We have experienced substantial delays in replies to queries and a lack of care, professionalism and even basic manners which is not conducive to a good client relationship. Unfortunately despite our many years of working with this firm the time has come for us to find an alternative solicitor. I do hope that the customer care team can take this criticism on board and make changes to their practices.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt responded to this review on 27 January, 2020

Hello Robin, I'm sorry you have found our service not to its usual standards. I understand our Commercial Property Partner Ron Clare has been in touch with you to address your concerns and I hope we can come to a satisfactory resolution for you. Kind regards, Dave Richardson - Client Relationship Manager.

About This Branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.


Practice Area

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law and mediation, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000