Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt

0113 393 1930

Also known as - Heslop And Platt

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services.

4.7/5 691 Client Reviews 691 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

691 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    600
  • Very Good
    56
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    24

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Nick
Nick Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 11, 2020 20201111155926

Superb Service, very helpful!

5

Barbara and her team where able to locate and report on various properties my ex-wife owns in France, allowing me to safely secure rightful ownership of my own property in London. Thank you so much - massive relief!

Solicitor named in this review: Barbara Heslop

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tony
Tony Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 11, 2020 20201111104241

Indispensable service for buyers of French property

5

Even as a French speaker and well versed in French culture, I found buying a property in France a daunting challenge. Ashtons saved me from getting into my first purchase transaction, which would have proved messy and very costly, if I did not seek their advice. Second attempt was a success and thanks to Ashtons a relaxed and secure experience. No one should buy a house a France without legal advice and Ashtons provided an excellent service in this respect. Once more a big thank you to all the team and especially Fabienne Atkin.

Solicitor named in this review: Fabienne Atkin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Deborah
Deborah Added 5 months ago Report to admin
September 25, 2020 20200925180524

Essential for buying & Selling in France

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

Barbara Heslop and her team are, without doubt, absolutely essential when buying and/or selling in France.

They have guided us through both processes and we could not have achieved either without their help.

Thank you for everything and do not hesitate to contact them

Solicitor named in this review: Barbara Heslop

A representative from Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your fantastic review of Barbara. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Mark Added 9 months ago Report to admin
May 24, 2020 20200524102640

Excellent service

5

I instructed Barbara Heslop and her team when I bought in France 10 or so years ago and again when I sold the property. I am very appreciative of the high standard of service of both her and her colleagues. As a solicitor myself I was delighted with the advice and guidance I received.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Shirley and Phil Phelan
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Shirley and Phil Phelan Added 9 hours ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 05, 2021 20210305170631

French House purchase and French Wills

5

Thankyou Morgan and Barbara and the team at Ashtons Legal for your input throughout the process of our house purchase
Morgan offered clear understandable advice making the purchase of a French property much less daunting
We felt during the process we were in excellent trustworthy hands If we had any queries the team addressed them fully and swiftly explaining any issues as they presented
We wouldn’t have any hesitation in recommending Ashtons to other people needing of their services

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jake
Jake Added 11 hours ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 05, 2021 20210305142808

UK Grant of Probate for French resident

5

Our solicitor Sophie Hearle obtained a Grant of Probate so that our family could claim assets held in the UK by my late father, a French resident of many years. She was knowledgeable and personable, and patiently explained each step to us. There were several hurdles to jump, but Sophie's understanding of both the British and French systems for tax and inheritance saw us through and got us the Grant of Probate.
I would not hesitate to recommend Sophie to anyone who needs legal advice or representation in similar matters, and Ashtons will certainly be my first port of call in dealing with any further cross-border legal matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Anonymous Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 04, 2021 20210304190259

Essential to do , involved family, not helped by Covid

4

Matter Type: Wills

Approachable, friendly, understanding and helpful to a family executor/trustee and myself, accepted some too-ing and fro-ing but happy with the outcome. Need to review in a timely manner due to health, age, business, and governmental changes - concerned about effect GB debt, inflation, economy, and where they'll get the money - from those with it I suspect!

Solicitor named in this review: Louisa Bradberry

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Chris Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 04, 2021 20210304150858

Great, quick, efficient service from Claire and her team

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Claire and her team have helped me buy multiple houses over the last 5 years, most recently completing the conveyancing on a house purchase in February 2021 - a time where all solicitors were incredibly busy with the stamp duty holiday. Despite how busy they were everything was done with amazing attention to detail and all done within the timescales needed. I always recommend Ashtons to anyone needing any conveyancing done. It is always comforting to know that if there is a hold up, it will not be your own solicitor when a buying a house! Thanks to everyone at Ashtons - especially Claire!

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Beckett

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Ashtons Legal. Richard Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 04, 2021 20210304120529

Commercially and client focused firm with good coverage and breadth of experience

5

Matter Type: Contractual Disputes

I have used Ashton’s Legal for a variety of work over many years and have always found their advice and work as high quality, focused on the clients needs with a commercial outcome.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Frape

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 2 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 03, 2021 20210303182609

Customer focused

5

Matter Type: Child Access

Very happy with the service, it was prompt and very helpful.

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Chris
Chris Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 04, 2021
Collected on
20210304145434

Chris

5

Ashtons Legal have done the conveyancing for multiple purchases and sales of both my own houses as well as buy to let houses. They have always been very quick to respond to any questions I have had and have managed to get complicated purchases through with ease and as always a lot of attention to detail. Claire and her team have always looked after me well and I cannot recommend them enough. Despite it being one of the busiest times for solicitors due to stamp duty breaks, they recently managed to get a purchase done very quickly with no fuss. Thank you to everyone at Ashtons in Norwich.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt responded to this review on 04 March, 2021

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback and five star rating. We will pass this on to Claire and the team.

David
David Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 25, 2021
Collected on
20210225190423

David

5

I've been really impressed with Ashtons, in particular Charlotte who has been extremely helpful dealing with a difficult case. Can thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

dane
dane Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 25, 2021
Collected on
20210225115016

dane

5

Very nice professional and personal people who helped me get justice kept in contact with myself all the way through the case even though we are in the middle of a pandemic they would send details of every stage of my case through secure emails they when I won they was very quick to pay out my winnings from my case they understand that for me it wasn't just about the money i wanted the people to except liability for what happened to me and they got that for me i would highly recommend this solicitors again i hope that i won't need to but definitely would if I had to 💯?

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 23, 2021
Collected on
20210223105400

Brian

5

Through a very difficult time personally, Ashtons Legal were fantastic with there support, understanding and advice. I was made fully aware of the process throughout and was given great advice and guidance. Thank you so much, especially to Emily and Colin. I would highly recommend Ashtons to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

ian
ian Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 28, 2021
Collected on
20210128130205

ian

5

Medical misdiagnosis/negligence claim, Kate and Chantae have done a brilliant job bringing my case to a conclusion, thorough, engaged the very best experts to review evidence, explained everything and gave very balanced reviews of where we were, massive thanx.
Cheers
Ian

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt responded to this review on 28 January, 2021

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback.

About This Branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.


Practice Area

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law and mediation, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.


Regulated By:

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000