Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt

0113 393 1930

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.7/5 471 Customer Reviews 471 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

471 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    398
  • Very Good
    41
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Mark
Mark Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 24, 2020 20200524102640

Excellent service

5

I instructed Barbara Heslop and her team when I bought in France 10 or so years ago and again when I sold the property. I am very appreciative of the high standard of service of both her and her colleagues. As a solicitor myself I was delighted with the advice and guidance I received.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Morley
Verified Morley Added 9 hours ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 03, 2020 20200703214710

French Wills

5

We received a very comprehensive guide to the various types of French Wills and completed a detailed questionnaire on our financial position so that Ashtons could advise us of the best solution in our circumstances.

Despite the “lock down” the wills were agreed, drawn up , signed and registered in France without any delays.

Solicitor named in this review: Sarah Morel

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jo W
Verified Jo W Added 20 hours ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 03, 2020 20200703105153

Great for first time purchase

5

As a first time purchaser how the whole thing worked was new to me. Claire answered all my questions and was really clear about next steps.

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Beckett

Was this review helpful? Yes

Cath
Verified Cath Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 02, 2020 20200702184207

Excellent Service

5

Mandy provided a wonderful service. Very efficient, she explained everything clearly and nothing was too much trouble. A very emotive time for myself was met with empathy and respect. In addition to this was a positive outcome.

I would definitely recommend Ashtons and Mandy going forward.

Solicitor named in this review: Amanda Cavanagh

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bennie Rabin
Verified Bennie Rabin Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 02, 2020 20200702094255

Ashton Legal

5

I have always found Ashton's Legal to be Knowledgeable efficient and reliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified Mark Added 2 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 01, 2020 20200701142727

Professional and Efficient

5

I recently required advice and after getting in touch with Ashton’s was introduced to Jessica Piper.
Considering this contact was during lockdown, they dealt with my situation with the utmost professionalism and efficiency. Jessica made herself available for a telephone consultation, with contact thereafter via email. My experience was extremely positive and would have no hesitation in recommending Ashton’s and in particular Jessica.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Piper

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Emma Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 30, 2020 20200630202310

Excellent service, supportive and friendly team for house sale and purchase

5

Ashtons supported me recently with my house sale and purchase of my new house. They were friendly, supportive and efficient supporting me well throughout the whole process. This hasn’t been an easy time and difficult with the COVID situation and Ashtons have been very supportive throughout and very professional. Thank you for all your support and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine
Verified Christine Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 30, 2020 20200630172633

Employment termination issue

5

Thank you Emily for all your help in dealing efficiently with the settlement agreement for termination of my employment.
Most grateful for your clear, practical and straightforward advice.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Dixon

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 26, 2020 20200626091759

Selling our house, great service despite the lock-down

5

Claire and her team were the epitome of professionalism, throughout lock-down the whole selling process continued to the point as soon as restrictions were lifted we were ready to formally exchange and complete eight days later. Such a relief in stressful conditions.

Ashtons Conveyancing team have an enviable reputation for no nonsense getting the job done, they didn't disappoint and I'm very grateful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Steve Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 25, 2020 20200625123410

My aunt's estate

5

Harriet and her colleagues handling my late aunts estate was efficient , professional and friendly. Much of the process occurred over the lockdown period but the service I had was still excellent. I would recommend Harriet and the Ashton practice to anyone.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Kevin
Kevin Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 18, 2020
Collected on
20200518070856

Kevin

1

I had an accident injury claim processed by Ashtons and I found them very poor, slow to act, mixed ways of communicating and the lawyer acting seem to not be competent. Would not recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dylan
Dylan Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 29, 2020
Collected on
20200429131035

Dylan

5

Ashtons legal is a fantastic firm I used and in particular Mick Upton, who was my solicitor.
They work to a very professional standard and are very friendly and easy to understand

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Anthony Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 31, 2020
Collected on
20200131171911

Anthony

5

Ashtons were excellent from start to finish.
Really good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robin
Robin Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 27, 2020
Collected on
20200127121620

Robin

1

My family & business have been using Ashtons Legal through their various guises for decades, most recently for matters regarding commercial property purchase. Unfortunately their levels of service have deteriorated seriously due to their recent staff changes and office move. I know good solicitors who have left Ashtons and it would seem the replacements have not been of a high enough quality. We have experienced substantial delays in replies to queries and a lack of care, professionalism and even basic manners which is not conducive to a good client relationship. Unfortunately despite our many years of working with this firm the time has come for us to find an alternative solicitor. I do hope that the customer care team can take this criticism on board and make changes to their practices.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal trading as Heslop & Platt responded to this review on 27 January, 2020

Hello Robin, I'm sorry you have found our service not to its usual standards. I understand our Commercial Property Partner Ron Clare has been in touch with you to address your concerns and I hope we can come to a satisfactory resolution for you. Kind regards, Dave Richardson - Client Relationship Manager.

David
David Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 25, 2020
Collected on
20200125081409

David

5

Prompt service, cant fault them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal and deals solely with French Law matters. Our French-speaking solicitors provide quality, professional and efficient French legal advice in a way which is cost transparent and which exceeds the client's expectations. As a specialist firm, when you contact our office you are guaranteed to deal directly with an English-speaking French law specialist at all times. Our team of solicitors and paralegals have extensive knowledge and experience of French law, including French inheritance law, French property law, French wills and much more. We also have excellent links with many professionals throughout France including lawyers (both notaries and avocats), bankers, accountants and surveyors.


Practice Area

Purchase of residential property: We deal with the purchase of all types of property all over France. Whether you are buying a villa, an apartment or a barn to renovate, and whether the property is 300 years old or not yet built, we know the questions to ask and the enquiries to make. We can also assist with the purchase of land, construction contracts and leaseback purchases. Sale of residential property: We can organise the appointment of an agent and a notary for you and, if required, can assist in negotiations with prospective buyers. We can also arrange the compulsory reports which a seller is required to provide and, where applicable, advise you on your French capital gains tax liability. Transfer of ownership: When a couple divorces, the transfer of their holiday home in France will form part of the divorce settlement. In conjunction with the client's own matrimonial lawyer, we regularly deal with the French aspects of such transfers. Our expertise is also invaluable when unmarried couples separate or friends who have bought a property together decide that one will buy the other out. French wills: Whilst French law, along with EU Regulations, dictates, to a large extent, what happens to a person's assets when they die, it is still useful for there to be a French Will which complements any provisions you may have made in the UK. This simplifies the administration of the deceased's French estate and therefore reduces costs in the long run. Estate planning: There are various ways in which the owner of a property in France can seek to minimise inheritance tax and / or ensure the surviving spouse is protected in the event of the death of his / her wife or husband; contact us for a review of your current position. Succession advice: It is crucial to take specialist, independent legal advice at the time of purchase so as to consider the various ownership options before completing the purchase of a property in France; succession advice forms an integral part of our services. Disputes & litigation: If you have a dispute with an individual or a company in France or wish to take legal action against someone, we can introduce you to a specialist French lawyer (an Avocat) who will represent you; we work alongside the French Avocat to ensure your interests are protected and your goals achieved. Financial issues & debt recovery: We regularly assist English speaking clients who are experiencing financial difficulty in relation to their French mortgage. We also act for UK based individuals and companies seeking to place a charge over a French property to secure repayment of debt. Probate and estate administration: Working in conjunction with the notary in France we can guide English speaking clients through the formalities which are required in France when a partner or family member dies. Power of Attorney: If it is inconvenient or impossible for you to travel to France to sign legal documentation, we can arrange for you to sign a Power of Attorney in the UK. We can also arrange, if required, the legalisation of the Power by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000