Ashtons Legal

01223 363111

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services.

4.7/5 602 Client Reviews 602 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

602 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    522
  • Very Good
    48
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
A Wilkin
Verified A Wilkin Added 1 week ago Report to admin
October 20, 2020 20201020105113

Amanda Smitherman

5

Matter Type: Wills

We used Ashtons Legal, specifically Amanda Smitherman, for my mother's estate and our Wills and Amanda was brilliant, kind, efficient, and very helpful. She made a rough process so much smoother.

Solicitor named in this review: Amanda Smitherman

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Keith Brown
Verified Keith Brown Added 1 week ago Report to admin
October 19, 2020 20201019155010

Mesothelioma Compensation Claim

5

Matter Type: Mesothelioma Compensation

When you make the decision to go down the above route, you're with some apprehension, which also applies when you meet your legal, Phoebe Osborne. In this, our apprehension was dispelled. She went through the process very diligently on the possible highs and lows and the possible pitfalls. Phoebe in this certainly had her skills tested. We felt we had a very personal service and very professional. Thank you, Phoebe.

Solicitor named in this review: Phoebe Osborne

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jill Rumbelow
Verified Jill Rumbelow Added 1 week ago Report to admin
October 15, 2020 20201015163627

Excellent Service

5

Matter Type: Wills

The whole experience was made very easy from start to finish. My Will was taken care of very quickly and efficiently with no concerns or worries. It has given me peace of mind.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Newman

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 October, 2020

Thank you for your great review of Sophie. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nigel Andrew
Verified Nigel Andrew Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 12, 2020 20201012203554

Selling my mothers flat - Cambridge

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I found the service from Ashtons Legal excellent. Our initial solicitor resigned and was replaced by a locum who wasn't really up to standard but was eventually replaced by the excellent Clare Best.

Solicitor named in this review: Clare Best

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your review of Clare. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 12, 2020 20201012155905

A Will

5

Matter Type: Wills

My experience with Ashtons Legal was great and I would recommend Sophie Newman.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Newman

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your review of Sophie. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Charlotte
Charlotte Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 08, 2020 20201008163355

Great Firm and Great Service - Employment Law Advice

5

I would highly recommend Claire Sleep and her firm she provided a great advice and always prompt on calling me and easy to get hold of.

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Sleep

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your great review of Claire. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Charlotte
Charlotte Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 08, 2020 20201008163353

Great Firm and Great Service - Employment Law Advice

5

I would highly recommend Claire Sleep and her firm she provided a great advice and always prompt on calling me and easy to get hold of.

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Sleep

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your review of Claire. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lizzie
Lizzie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
October 01, 2020 20201001173211

Michael Frape

5

Matter Type: Mediation

Michael was very helpful and efficient with an issue which was extremely distressing. Professional and reliable.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

W.E.Lemmon
Verified W.E.Lemmon Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
September 29, 2020 20200929162917

Asbestos Claim

5

Matter Type: Asbestos Compensation

After my initial contact with Ashtons solicitors dealing with my condition caused by asbestos in my work environment. I would give Phoebe an excellent mark for her dedication in all aspects of my claim. She went the extra mile that makes all the difference in trying times.

Solicitor named in this review: Phoebe Osborne

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your kind review of Phoebe. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 27, 2020 20200927203343

Wills

5

Matter Type: Wills

Sophie Newman was professional, friendly and a pleasure to deal with. She delivered a first-class service when assisting us with writing our Wills.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Newman

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your great review of Sophie. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Matt
Matt Added 1 week ago Report to admin
October 16, 2020
Collected on
20201016215809

Matt

5

I was represented by James Eden during a dispute with my employer
James resolved the issue within few days....what a legend!!!
I got regular case updates so I knew exactly what's going on
excellent service!!!
highly recommended!!!
Once again many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 October, 2020

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Reine
Reine Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 13, 2020
Collected on
20201013152952

Reine

5

James was very helpful, professional, and kind in his communication. He helped me with a settlement, explained everything, and answered my questions patiently. He swiftly dealt with my issue. I would highly recommend his services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 October, 2020

Thank you for your review of James and recommending our services. We appreciate the great feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Andrew
Andrew Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 15, 2019
Collected on
20190815152024

Andrew

2

Poor communication

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anup
Anup Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
July 30, 2019
Collected on
20190730140943

Anup

1

Poor customer service. Left several message to call me back to start my Mortgage application. I ended up finding another company.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 13, 2019
Collected on
20190713101443

David

5

Great service from Paul Mitchell, Ron Clare et al. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We'll pass on your comments to the team.

About This Branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.


Practice Area

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law and mediation, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000