Ashtons Legal

01223 363111

At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.3/5 120 Customer Reviews 120
Recommended by
225 Verified Clients
like Ken White and Timothy
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

120 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    91
  • Very Good
    9
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    15

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Timothy
Verified Timothy Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
May 27, 2019 20190527183822

Excellent service

5

Very happy with the service and the time that was given to ensure I was fairly compensated.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 28 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and will pass it onto Alex and the team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ken White
Ken White Added 3 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 22, 2019 20190522123800

Mesothelioma Damages Claim

5

My late brother and I always found all our dealings with Phoebe Osborne to be informative and extremely helpful. Despite the tragic circumstances of the caseload, Phoebe always left us feeling better than prior to her visits. I will always be grateful for all her excellent work and amiable personality. Thank you.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 22 May, 2019

Thank you for your five star feedback. It is greatly appreciated and we will pass it onto Phoebe and her team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Samuel Eric Charles
Verified Samuel Eric Charles Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 13, 2019 20190413153330

Brilliant

5

I have used Ashton’s several times now. They are very professional, efficient, trust worthy and I highly recommend them. Thank you

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daren
Verified Daren Added 5 months ago Report to admin
January 04, 2019 20190104091705

simply the best

5

i owe my life to Michael Alexander Wangermann and his team for the last 5 years who took it over from another law firm who had no idea.

best decision i ever made was swapping law firms x

Solicitor being reviewed: Michael Alexander Wangermann

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2019

Thank you for your review and five star feedback. We are delighted that are pleased with the service that you received. Very best wishes for the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Roisin
Verified Roisin Added 5 months ago Report to admin
January 03, 2019 20190103134224

Great service

5

Ashtons were amazing throughout a difficult process. They kept me informed throughout and gave clear helpful advice. I would highly recommend.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tiegan
Verified Tiegan Added 5 months ago Report to admin
January 03, 2019 20190103132014

Thank you

5

Flawless service, highly professional staff. Will definitely recommend

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2019

Thank you for the five star rating and glowing feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Caroline Added 12 months ago Report to admin
June 17, 2018 20180617164851

Family Law

1

Please please do not use Ashton’s Legal for family law I used Stephen Williams Katy Rush Ipswich office and went up against my ex husband who is a conveyancing solicitor and I’m about to be made homeless with my two children one who is very ill with type 1 diabetes and the other with OCD and other mental issues but because no provisions were made in the order that we had to find a home first we are now about to be made homeless. They will not care where end up home it docent matter could be 500 miles away from family friends schools support. Please just spend a little more money and use someone else after all they could not even give me a safe environment against a solicitor that sells and buys houses for a living “ Attwell” they just want your money it’s like they read of a script we all out in one basket. Please don’t use them.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on

We are very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction as Ashtons Legal are committed to achieving a high level of service for all clients. If you would like to discuss any issues outside of the court ruling that relates to the service that you have received from us, our Client Care Partner is willing to discuss them with you further. Please contact Claire Sleep on clientcarepartner@ashtonslegal.co.uk. Best wishes. Vicki

Was this review helpful? Yes

Amanda Bentham
Verified Amanda Bentham Added 6 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 11, 2019 20190611125250

Compensation from the NHS

5

I have had a great response from Ben regarding my compensation Claim. Ben has been very helpful and has spoken to me in great lengths of what this all entails. Ben has kept me up to date with my claim and has been very helpful with any questions I have. Ben has constantly been in contact with me informing of what stage we are at the claim.

Solicitor being reviewed: Benjamin Frederick Ward

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 11 June, 2019

Thank you very much for the outstanding feedback, it is greatly appreciated. Your comments have been passed onto Ben and his team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jess
Jess Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 04, 2019 20190604132045

Many thanks!

5

This was my first time working with ashtons Legal. Brilliant firm. Very friendly professional service. Would highly recommended to anyone!

Solicitor being reviewed: Stephen Leslie Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 05 June, 2019

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback and five star rating, it is greatly appreciated. We will pass it onto the team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 31, 2019 20190531121340

Excellent Service

5

Shahban was most helpful and delivered a very professional service. Thank you

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 31 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Amanda
Amanda Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 01, 2018
Collected on
20180601154018

Amanda Culver

1

A simple, chain-free purchase is due to complete in almost 4 months. The seller questioned nothing, I questioned nothing. There were *no* complicating factors yet somehow, it took 4 months.
Comms
=======
Their phones auto-redirect to VoiceMail, their customer relations answer phone message says they're returning to work on 8th January (it's JUNE).
They *never* send a status update. They had apparently sent chasers to the seller's solicitor but all of this was invisible to me, I was left languishing in the dark.
Output
======
They received some illegible photocopies from the seller's solicitor, (apparently) but printed and mailed them to me advising I pay "close attention".
I confirmed that there was nothing outstanding and that everything was aligned for exchange of contracts - yup, we're all ready to go. Later, I thought it best to confirm they'd received the contract in the post, Nope, it hasn't arrived - so how could you confirm that everything is ready to go ?

I really wish I hadn't chosen Ashtons.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 06 June, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we have passed this onto the lawyer acting for you. I am sorry that your matter is not progressing as you would wish thus far. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your issues with you further, either through your lawyer or with our Client Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, who can be contacted on 01603 703230 or email dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk. Best wishes. Vicki

Debbie
Debbie Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 15, 2017
Collected on
20171115160416

Debbie Jones

5

I would definitely recommend Ashtons, to anyone seeking legal experts, when they come to sell their business, I was delighted with their friendly, open approach and help received. From the start they took what was a very stressful situation and handled it very smoothly, easing the stress on me. At the same time, I was involved at every step of the way, so I knew what was going on. I felt I could rely on them to achieve the best outcome, whilst smoothing what can be a very painful process. Their prices were also reasonable for the work done!
I would have no hesitation in using their services again, and in recommending them to colleagues and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 15 November, 2017

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback Debbie.

Adam
Adam Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 15, 2017
Collected on
20170915202707

Adam Osborne

1

We wont use them again. Having used them a few years ago to purchase a property we were happy to contact again to say we were moving and didn't even consider anyone else. This time though, very different story. Lack of contact, many mistakes, the whole service we received was a shambles. I was even put through to head of department at one stage who said they take complaints very seriously and someone would be in touch but I still heard nothing - that just summed them up for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 25 September, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies on behalf of the firm. I understand that our Business Manager, Russell Fox, contacted you to discuss your grievances and this was followed up with your solicitor. We strive to provide a positive experience for every client and are keen to investigate your experience further if you are willing to contact our Customer Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, on dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk . We look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes. Vicki

Jo
Jo Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 09, 2017
Collected on
20170809124857

Jo Johns

5

Excellent caring advice given, well beyond what would have been expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 09 August, 2017

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback Jo.

Johnny
Johnny Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 12, 2017
Collected on
20170712205250

Johnny Holland

4

Ashtons Legal and their Litigation Department resolved the issue sensibly and effectively.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

We realise that when you call us it may well be for specific help at a difficult or stressful time. When you appoint Ashtons Legal for your personal legal needs, you can be sure that we will approach every issue with the utmost care and sensitivity. We will always try to understand what is important to you and offer advice, which will solve all the issues surrounding your needs. Our team includes lawyers who are members of the Law Society Children Panel, the Family Law Panel, and the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners. We also have trained mediators and collaborative family lawyers.


Legal Services
  • Whiplash
  • Probate
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Family law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Housing Management
  • Consumer Rights
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Architects
  • Financial advisors
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Manual Handling
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Tinnitus
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Disputed Wills
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Children
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Children's Accident
  • Chronic Pain
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Cycling Accident
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Professional Discipline
  • Disputed Probate
  • Social Services
  • Lease Extensions
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Trusts
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Insurance brokers
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Part Time Workers
  • International
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Pay Issue
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Planning
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Child contact
  • Amputation
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Separation Agreement
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Dog Bite
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Remortgaging
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Transfer of title
  • Property Disputes
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Car Accident
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Car Passenger
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Professional trustees
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • MRSA Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Sports Injury
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Child Access
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Pension and property advice
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Employment Contracts
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Accountants
  • Housing Associations
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • No Win No Fee
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Right to Manage
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Divorce
  • Travel rights
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Stress at Work
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Gardening Leave
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • International Divorce
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Medical Negligence
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • TUPE
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Second charges
  • Valuers
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Taxi offences
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Trusts
  • Transfers of equity
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Litigation Law
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Financial Matters
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Child Law
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Military
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Child Abduction
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Tax
  • Senior Executives
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Accident Abroad
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Injunctions
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Injunctions
  • Fall From Height
  • Surveyors
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Family Leave
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Domestic Violence
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Serious Injury
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Tax consultants
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Extending your Lease
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Engineers
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Redundancy
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Accident At Work
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Fatal Accident
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Repossessions
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Separation
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Professional Negligence
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Wills
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Collaborative Law
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Barristers
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Developer disputes
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Patents
  • Slander
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Mediation
  • Share option schemes
  • Commercial Leases
  • Finance
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Equestrian property
  • Development loan facilities
  • Licensing
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Energy
  • Corporate Law
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Framework agreements
  • Competition law
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Domain Names
  • Insurance
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • In-house training
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Banking
  • Asset Tracing
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Contract law
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Statutory Demands
  • Franchising
  • Summary Judgment
  • Small businesses
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Purchase of development land
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Credit Control
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Corporate finance
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Construction
  • Environmental policy law
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Development agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Rights of way issues
  • Management buyouts
  • Employment - business
  • Intellectual Property
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Health and Safety
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Planning law
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Commercial Law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Copyright
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Environment
  • Agency agreements
  • Engineering contracts
  • Tax
  • Setting up a business
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • GDPR
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Farming disputes

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000