Ashtons Legal

01223 363111

At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.6/5 320 Customer Reviews 320
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

320 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    263
  • Very Good
    30
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    18

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 2 days ago Report to admin
December 13, 2019 20191213142736

Pleasure to deal with

5

Jack Burroughs was very approachable from the outset, his advice was delivered in a friendly, easy to understand manner. I would use him again and happy to recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Jack Burroughs

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 13 December, 2019

Thank you for your review! We will ensure to pass your comments onto Jack.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gladys Bland
Verified Gladys Bland Added 5 days ago Report to admin
December 10, 2019 20191210162938

The Estate of the Late Jeanne Harper

5

The length of time needed to settle the estate is no way the fault of the solicitor, caused mainly by sale of house problem. Throughout the process Amanda has been splendid, always efficient, courteous and quick to respond. I felt she was kind beyond the call of duty. Her knowledge, sympathy and support was of immense value throughout a long and at times a trying process.
Ashtons may be recommended, from my own experience, as an outstanding firm.

Solicitor named in this review: Amanda Smitherman

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

Thank you very much for your review, Gladys! We appreciate your positive feedback and will pass your kind comments onto Amanda.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 5 days ago Report to admin
December 10, 2019 20191210114355

Deed of Variation

4

I welcomed the rapid and friendly response to my initial web based query. This attitude to customer service continued throughout our dealings. Time and effort was taken to ensure we had the information we needed and understood it. The whole process was handled efficiently with a high level of client care.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Newman

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 10 December, 2019

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and we are delighted you were pleased with our service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 5 days ago Report to admin
December 10, 2019 20191210113550

My Will & Power of Attorney

4

Christina was very friendly and kept me fully aware of the process in a professional manner

Solicitor named in this review: Christina Duck

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 10 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 5 days ago Report to admin
December 10, 2019 20191210112230

Handling Wills & Trust

5

This matter was dealt with in a sympathetic and understanding manner

Solicitor named in this review: Christina Duck

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 10 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christy
Verified Christy Added 1 week ago Report to admin
December 04, 2019 20191204092254

Housing & Property

2

Sadly I cannot recommend Ashton's Legal, as I did not feel I experienced a good service during my house purchase. I didn't gain the confidence I would of liked when assisting me with a purchase, and I was left confused. It has since come to light various areas which I raised and thought where checked, however sadly have not.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 05 December, 2019

Hi Christy - Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies on behalf of the firm. We strive to provide a positive experience for every client and are keen to investigate your experience further if you are willing to contact our Customer Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, on dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk . We look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes. Vicki

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 28, 2019 20191128131320

First Class service from Amanda

5

Amanda dealt with my mothers and our Wills in a vert straightforward, knowledgeable way. She was friendly and approachable and we will happily use her again and recommend her

Solicitor named in this review: Amanda Smitherman

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 06 December, 2019

Thanks so much for your review! We will pass your positive feedback on to Amanda.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hannah
Verified Hannah Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 22, 2019 20191122124408

Housing & Property

5

Very helpful and friendly. WOuld recommend

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 06 December, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a five-star review, Hannah!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 22, 2019 20191122102839

Professional and a pleasure to deal with

5

I found Lynn & Pats approach very friendly. They were knowledgeable, straight forward and a pleasure to deal with.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 06 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with positive feedback!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine Piper
Verified Christine Piper Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 22, 2019 20191122102109

Straightforward Smooth Process

5

Pat was very knowledgeable and easy to understand while she prepared my new Will

Solicitor named in this review: Patricia Gray

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 06 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Andrew
Andrew Added 4 months ago Report to admin
August 15, 2019
Collected on
20190815152024

Andrew

2

Poor communication

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anup
Anup Added 4 months ago Report to admin
July 30, 2019
Collected on
20190730140943

Anup

1

Poor customer service. Left several message to call me back to start my Mortgage application. I ended up finding another company.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 5 months ago Report to admin
July 13, 2019
Collected on
20190713101443

David

5

Great service from Paul Mitchell, Ron Clare et al. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We'll pass on your comments to the team.

Amanda
Amanda Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 01, 2018
Collected on
20180601154018

Amanda Culver

1

A simple, chain-free purchase is due to complete in almost 4 months. The seller questioned nothing, I questioned nothing. There were *no* complicating factors yet somehow, it took 4 months.
Comms
=======
Their phones auto-redirect to VoiceMail, their customer relations answer phone message says they're returning to work on 8th January (it's JUNE).
They *never* send a status update. They had apparently sent chasers to the seller's solicitor but all of this was invisible to me, I was left languishing in the dark.
Output
======
They received some illegible photocopies from the seller's solicitor, (apparently) but printed and mailed them to me advising I pay "close attention".
I confirmed that there was nothing outstanding and that everything was aligned for exchange of contracts - yup, we're all ready to go. Later, I thought it best to confirm they'd received the contract in the post, Nope, it hasn't arrived - so how could you confirm that everything is ready to go ?

I really wish I hadn't chosen Ashtons.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 06 June, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we have passed this onto the lawyer acting for you. I am sorry that your matter is not progressing as you would wish thus far. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your issues with you further, either through your lawyer or with our Client Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, who can be contacted on 01603 703230 or email dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk. Best wishes. Vicki

Debbie
Debbie Added 2 years ago Report to admin
November 15, 2017
Collected on
20171115160416

Debbie Jones

5

I would definitely recommend Ashtons, to anyone seeking legal experts, when they come to sell their business, I was delighted with their friendly, open approach and help received. From the start they took what was a very stressful situation and handled it very smoothly, easing the stress on me. At the same time, I was involved at every step of the way, so I knew what was going on. I felt I could rely on them to achieve the best outcome, whilst smoothing what can be a very painful process. Their prices were also reasonable for the work done!
I would have no hesitation in using their services again, and in recommending them to colleagues and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 15 November, 2017

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback Debbie.

About This Branch

Description

We realise that when you call us it may well be for specific help at a difficult or stressful time. When you appoint Ashtons Legal for your personal legal needs, you can be sure that we will approach every issue with the utmost care and sensitivity. We will always try to understand what is important to you and offer advice, which will solve all the issues surrounding your needs. Our team includes lawyers who are members of the Law Society Children Panel, the Family Law Panel, and the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners. We also have trained mediators and collaborative family lawyers.


Legal Services
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Housing disputes
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Insurance brokers
  • Senior Executives
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Tax consultants
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Military
  • Financial advisors
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Pension Law
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Serious Injury
  • Employment Contracts
  • Part Time Workers
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Car Accident
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Valuers
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Transfer of title
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Accountants
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Child Abduction
  • Planning
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Children's Accident
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Accident Abroad
  • Purchase and Sale
  • TUPE
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Family law
  • Architects
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Extending your Lease
  • Accident At Work
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Fall From Height
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Sports Injury
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Media and Sports
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Second charges
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Trusts
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Separation Agreement
  • Gardening Leave
  • Disputed Wills
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Consumer Rights
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Injunctions
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Disputed Probate
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Tenant Eviction
  • International
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Litigation Law
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Tinnitus
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Professional trustees
  • Right to Manage
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Cycling Accident
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Child Access
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Manual Handling
  • Remortgaging
  • Travel rights
  • Social Services
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Professional Negligence
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Leasehold properties
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Dental Negligence
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Trusts
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Taxi offences
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Employment Law
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Redundancy
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Divorce
  • Domestic Violence
  • Amputation
  • Child contact
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Children
  • No Win No Fee
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Elderly care
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Whiplash
  • Lease Extensions
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Child Maintenance
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Pay Issue
  • Repossessions
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Tax
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Stress at Work
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Dog Bite
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Child Custody
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • International Divorce
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Barristers
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Wills
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Probate
  • Family Mediation
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Chronic Pain
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Flexible Working
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Buying at auction
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Car Passenger
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Engineers
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • IT professionals
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Separation
  • Civil partnerships
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Medical Negligence
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Collaborative Law
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Child Law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Franchising
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Health and Safety
  • Share option schemes
  • Agency agreements
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Environmental policy law
  • Tax
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • In-house training
  • Equestrian property
  • Farming disputes
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Corporate Law
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Construction
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Commercial Law
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Corporate finance
  • Employment - business
  • Commercial Leases
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Development plot sales
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Mediation
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Statutory Demands
  • Banking
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Environment
  • GDPR
  • Developer disputes
  • Slander
  • Purchase of development land
  • Development loan facilities
  • Domain Names
  • Data Protection
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Energy
  • Engineering contracts
  • Licensing
  • Planning law
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Copyright
  • Rights of way issues
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Contract law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Management buyouts
  • Summary Judgment
  • Competition law
  • Small businesses
  • Asset Tracing
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Intellectual Property
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Insurance
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Development agreements
  • Framework agreements
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Finance
  • Setting up a business
  • Patents

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000