Ashtons Legal

01223 363111

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.7/5 417 Customer Reviews 417 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

417 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    349
  • Very Good
    37
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    20

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 25, 2020 20200225103217

Making a Will

4

The whole process of producing my Will was dealt with by Amanda in a professional straightforward manner. I found her to be very approachable and would happily use her again.

Solicitor named in this review: Amanda Smitherman

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 March, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We'll be sure to pass your kind comments onto Amanda.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 24, 2020 20200224161549

My Will and Estate Planning

5

Christina was excellent thank you

Solicitor named in this review: Christina Duck

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 March, 2020

Thank you for your review - we'll pass your comments onto Christina!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sue
Sue Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 12, 2020 20200212101536

Good Service

5

We had some t&c's reviewed, updated and refreshed by Paul M - thanks for the quick, efficient and friendly service. We were very happy!

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Mitchell

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 February, 2020

Thanks so much for your review, Sue. We're thrilled to hear you're happy with the service provided! We will pass your feedback onto Paul and look forward to working with you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Graham Woodford
Verified Graham Woodford Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 30, 2020 20200130123324

Difficult compensation claim

5

Phoebe handled the whole case really well, guiding and advising us to a successful conclusion in difficult circumstances. Excellent job - well done and appreciated

Solicitor named in this review: Phoebe Osborne

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2020

Thanks for your review, Graham.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anne Streather
Verified Anne Streather Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 17, 2020 20200117171143

Grant of Probate

5

I wish to say a real thank you to Lynn Wicks and Patricia Grey for all their work on my behalf in gaining grant of probate.
They gave me a top quality service but throughout the process were warm, helpful, approachable and kept me updated of progress. It made all the difference feeling in such safe hands at a difficult time. I am most grateful.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2020

Thanks so much for your review, Anne! We're pleased you were happy with the service provided and will pass your kind comments onto Lynn and Patricia.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alex
Verified Alex Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 07, 2020 20200107164734

Ashtons Legal Cambridge

5

Having used Ashtons Legal for over ten years in both a professional & personal capacity I can say that they are a very diligent and professional capacity. We will continue to use their services.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Frape

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jezz
Verified Jezz Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 07, 2020 20200107085657

Simply the best of legal experiences

5

Michael Frape is a terrier of a solicitor. Meant most positively, he represented me in a partnership battle with a former colleague. His tenacity and logic wore down the opposition until their capitulation. He is a strong and knowledgeable advocate whom I have no hesitation to recommend. As Chairman of Ashtons Legal, he leads from the front by example. I am proud to have worked with Michael and am happy to call him my friend too.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Frape

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2020

Thank you very much for your review, Jezz! We appreciate your positive feedback and will pass your comments onto Michael.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Noel
Verified Noel Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 06, 2020 20200106154332

Efficient

4

Overall I am happy with the service offered. The sole reason why I didn't give five stars was because I'm not a fan of any solicitor after being treated like I have been in the past; that has made me less appreciative of them. Ashtons have restored some faith however. They are good at keeping me informed of my case and do comply with the timeline they set themselves. I would recommend them.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Frape

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Karl
Verified Karl Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 03, 2020 20200103145259

A helpful and friendly service

5

Ashtons Legal helped me by offering specialist advice and explaining the process in an easy to understand way.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Frape

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 03 January, 2020

Thanks very much for your review, Karl. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 3 months ago Report to admin
December 13, 2019 20191213142736

Pleasure to deal with

5

Jack Burroughs was very approachable from the outset, his advice was delivered in a friendly, easy to understand manner. I would use him again and happy to recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Jack Burroughs

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 13 December, 2019

Thank you for your review! We will ensure to pass your comments onto Jack.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Andrew
Andrew Added 7 months ago Report to admin
August 15, 2019
Collected on
20190815152024

Andrew

2

Poor communication

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anup
Anup Added 8 months ago Report to admin
July 30, 2019
Collected on
20190730140943

Anup

1

Poor customer service. Left several message to call me back to start my Mortgage application. I ended up finding another company.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 8 months ago Report to admin
July 13, 2019
Collected on
20190713101443

David

5

Great service from Paul Mitchell, Ron Clare et al. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We'll pass on your comments to the team.

Amanda
Amanda Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 01, 2018
Collected on
20180601154018

Amanda Culver

1

A simple, chain-free purchase is due to complete in almost 4 months. The seller questioned nothing, I questioned nothing. There were *no* complicating factors yet somehow, it took 4 months.
Comms
=======
Their phones auto-redirect to VoiceMail, their customer relations answer phone message says they're returning to work on 8th January (it's JUNE).
They *never* send a status update. They had apparently sent chasers to the seller's solicitor but all of this was invisible to me, I was left languishing in the dark.
Output
======
They received some illegible photocopies from the seller's solicitor, (apparently) but printed and mailed them to me advising I pay "close attention".
I confirmed that there was nothing outstanding and that everything was aligned for exchange of contracts - yup, we're all ready to go. Later, I thought it best to confirm they'd received the contract in the post, Nope, it hasn't arrived - so how could you confirm that everything is ready to go ?

I really wish I hadn't chosen Ashtons.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 06 June, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we have passed this onto the lawyer acting for you. I am sorry that your matter is not progressing as you would wish thus far. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your issues with you further, either through your lawyer or with our Client Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, who can be contacted on 01603 703230 or email dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk. Best wishes. Vicki

Debbie
Debbie Added 2 years ago Report to admin
November 15, 2017
Collected on
20171115160416

Debbie Jones

5

I would definitely recommend Ashtons, to anyone seeking legal experts, when they come to sell their business, I was delighted with their friendly, open approach and help received. From the start they took what was a very stressful situation and handled it very smoothly, easing the stress on me. At the same time, I was involved at every step of the way, so I knew what was going on. I felt I could rely on them to achieve the best outcome, whilst smoothing what can be a very painful process. Their prices were also reasonable for the work done!
I would have no hesitation in using their services again, and in recommending them to colleagues and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 15 November, 2017

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback Debbie.

About This Branch

Description

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal and deals solely with French Law matters. Our French-speaking solicitors provide quality, professional and efficient French legal advice in a way which is cost transparent and which exceeds the client's expectations. As a specialist firm, when you contact our office you are guaranteed to deal directly with an English-speaking French law specialist at all times. Our team of solicitors and paralegals have extensive knowledge and experience of French law, including French inheritance law, French property law, French wills and much more. We also have excellent links with many professionals throughout France including lawyers (both notaries and avocats), bankers, accountants and surveyors.


Practice Area

Purchase of residential property: We deal with the purchase of all types of property all over France. Whether you are buying a villa, an apartment or a barn to renovate, and whether the property is 300 years old or not yet built, we know the questions to ask and the enquiries to make. We can also assist with the purchase of land, construction contracts and leaseback purchases. Sale of residential property: We can organise the appointment of an agent and a notary for you and, if required, can assist in negotiations with prospective buyers. We can also arrange the compulsory reports which a seller is required to provide and, where applicable, advise you on your French capital gains tax liability. Transfer of ownership: When a couple divorces, the transfer of their holiday home in France will form part of the divorce settlement. In conjunction with the client's own matrimonial lawyer, we regularly deal with the French aspects of such transfers. Our expertise is also invaluable when unmarried couples separate or friends who have bought a property together decide that one will buy the other out. French wills: Whilst French law, along with EU Regulations, dictates, to a large extent, what happens to a person's assets when they die, it is still useful for there to be a French Will which complements any provisions you may have made in the UK. This simplifies the administration of the deceased's French estate and therefore reduces costs in the long run. Estate planning: There are various ways in which the owner of a property in France can seek to minimise inheritance tax and / or ensure the surviving spouse is protected in the event of the death of his / her wife or husband; contact us for a review of your current position. Succession advice: It is crucial to take specialist, independent legal advice at the time of purchase so as to consider the various ownership options before completing the purchase of a property in France; succession advice forms an integral part of our services. Disputes & litigation: If you have a dispute with an individual or a company in France or wish to take legal action against someone, we can introduce you to a specialist French lawyer (an Avocat) who will represent you; we work alongside the French Avocat to ensure your interests are protected and your goals achieved. Financial issues & debt recovery: We regularly assist English speaking clients who are experiencing financial difficulty in relation to their French mortgage. We also act for UK based individuals and companies seeking to place a charge over a French property to secure repayment of debt. Probate and estate administration: Working in conjunction with the notary in France we can guide English speaking clients through the formalities which are required in France when a partner or family member dies. Power of Attorney: If it is inconvenient or impossible for you to travel to France to sign legal documentation, we can arrange for you to sign a Power of Attorney in the UK. We can also arrange, if required, the legalisation of the Power by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.


Legal Services
  • Dog Bite
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Remortgaging
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Collaborative Law
  • Lease Extensions
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Litigation Law
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Valuers
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Sports Injury
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Cycling Accident
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Financial advisors
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Housing disputes
  • Repossessions
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Separation
  • Planning
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Children's Accident
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Military
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Trusts
  • Pay Issue
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Chronic Pain
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Property Disputes
  • Medical Negligence
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • International
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Employment Law
  • Separation Agreement
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Fall From Height
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • IT professionals
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Accountants
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Senior Executives
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Child Law
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • International Divorce
  • Skiing Injury
  • Car Accident
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Trusts
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Injunctions
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Whiplash
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Redundancy
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • MRSA Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • TUPE
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Buying at auction
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Taxi offences
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Right to Manage
  • Surveyors
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Professional Negligence
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Car Passenger
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Accident At Work
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Transfers of equity
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Family law
  • Second charges
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Architects
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Child Access
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Wills
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Serious Injury
  • Tax
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Manual Handling
  • Fatal Accident
  • Children
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Pension and property advice
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Professional trustees
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Tinnitus
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Child contact
  • Domestic Violence
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Asbestosis
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Disputed Probate
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Barristers
  • Gardening Leave
  • Family Mediation
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Against The Council
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Pension Law
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Right of First Refusal
  • No Win No Fee
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Tax consultants
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Insurance brokers
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Accident Abroad
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Transfer of title
  • Engineers
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Travel rights
  • Child Abduction
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Divorce
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Probate
  • Injunctions
  • Disputed Wills
  • Social Services
  • Amputation
  • Extending your Lease
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Housing Associations
  • Developer disputes
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Asset Tracing
  • Intellectual Property
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Corporate Law
  • Copyright
  • In-house training
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Data Protection
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Equestrian property
  • Summary Judgment
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Small businesses
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Licensing
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Health and Safety
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • GDPR
  • Purchase of development land
  • Framework agreements
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Contract law
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Setting up a business
  • Employment - business
  • Environmental policy law
  • Construction
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Commercial Law
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Credit Control
  • Management buyouts
  • Energy
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Slander
  • Planning law
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Share option schemes
  • Farming disputes
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Commercial Leases
  • Development agreements
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Agency agreements
  • Insurance
  • Domain Names
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Rights of way issues
  • Banking
  • Corporate finance
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Environment
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Development loan facilities
  • Engineering contracts
  • Competition law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Franchising
  • Statutory Demands
  • Finance
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Tax
  • Mediation
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Patents
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Debt Recovery
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Development plot sales
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000