Ashtons Legal

01473 232425

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services.

4.7/5 641 Client Reviews 641 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

641 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    553
  • Very Good
    55
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    22

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Joanne
Joanne Added 2 days ago Report to admin
November 26, 2020 20201126155356

Writing a will

5

Matter Type: Wills

I have recently had my will written by Harriet. I found Harriet to be very friendly, polite and professional. She provided me with clear and practical advice and was very honest about the costings. This put me at ease and made the process quite straightforward.
I would definately recommend in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 27 November, 2020

Thank you for your kind review of Harriet. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracy
Tracy Added 3 days ago Report to admin
November 25, 2020 20201125144828

Divorce

5

Matter Type: Divorce

Amanda Cook was very helpful and compassionate for what was a difficult and stressful time, regular updates so you always knew what stage your at.

Solicitor named in this review: Amanda Cook

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 27 November, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review of Amanda. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Charlie
Charlie Added 3 days ago Report to admin
November 25, 2020 20201125115129

Just Excellent!

5

Matter Type: Trusts

Ashton's and in particular Harriet were amazing in guiding me through my late Father's Estate. A pleasure to deal with throughout, cannot recommend Harriet highly enough. Attentive, polite, efficient, professional and just excellent! Thank you.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 27 November, 2020

Thank you for your great review of Harriet. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

LaDonna
LaDonna Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 11, 2020 20201111213122

Great Legal Service Even 4000 Miles Away!!!

5

Matter Type: Wills

The Ashton Law Firm and especially Ms. Harriet Richardson did an outstanding job executing my Mother’s Will. I was only able to meet with Ms. Richardson a couple of times since I live in the United States and I was only in Ipswich for 2 weeks to bury my mother before I had to return home. During those meetings Ms. Richardson promised me she would do everything to make sure my mother’s Will was executed correctly and that I would always be kept in the loop on the progress. She kept her promise, she was always professional and very responsive to my email enquiries. At no time during the process did I feel like I was being ignored or my case was no important to her, even though I was 4000 miles away. I would highly recommend the Ashton Law Firm and Ms. Richardson to handle your legal needs.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Suzanne
Suzanne Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 10, 2020 20201110155714

Couldn’t ask for better

5

Matter Type: Wills

Harriet was wonderful during the process of dealing with my mother’s estate.Especially considering the difficult circumstances caused through COVID 19 & the subsequent lockdowns & working restrictions.She was helpful,professional & a great help .I can’t thank her enough for all her work

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kim
Kim Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 27, 2020 20201027144042

Professional and fantastic service

5

Matter Type: Flexible Working

I recently worked with Emily on a employment issue and I found Emily to be very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable in this subject.

Everything was handled with ease and professionalism.

Thank you very much Emily for your support and guidance.

It was a pleasure working with you and I would highly recommend Aaron’s Legal.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Dixon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandy
Sandy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 22, 2020 20201022195029

ReDrafting my Will

5

Have been dealing with Louise over the past few weeks and she knew how anxious I was about dealing with my Will and LPA’s. During a Microsoft Teams meeting, I was put at ease and my affairs were dealt with professionally. Thank you Louise.

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. of Louise and Harriet. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 16, 2020 20201016155421

Complex issues made simple

5

Matter Type: Agency agreements

We have been fortunate to see significant expansion during 2020 and so have needed both the legal and HR support provided by Ashtons.

The team at Ashtons were exceptional. We had been lucky to have an initial meeting in abstract prior to lockdown, and this directly fed in to our follow up, helping everything slot in to place.

Since that point we have enjoyed the support from both the legal and the HR teams, with consistently high standards and informative guidance.

Highly recommended and I have no doubt the team will be there the next time we call at some inconvenient time!

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 October, 2020

Thank you for your review for our Corporate and Commercial team. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie
Julie Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 24, 2020 20200924184052

Julie & Paul

5

Matter Type: Wills

Harriet walked us through every step of amending our wills, explaining everything in a clear and professional manner. We felt that we were given all the information necessary to make our choices. We would highly recommend Ashtons to anybody.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your kind review of Harriet. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jayne
Jayne Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 18, 2020 20200918134531

Family matter - Outstanding Service

5

Matter Type: Child Law

I highly recommend Tina Inniss for any family matter. She was extremely supportive throughout a very stressful period for me but her assistance proved invaluable. She was also extremely conscious of the costs I incurred and ensured I kept within budget. I also appreciated her honesty and realism and her helping me to consider different ways to move through my case. She also matched me to an excellent barrister. Together helping me to achieve the outcome I was looking for.

Solicitor named in this review: Tina Inniss

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your great review and recommendation of Tina. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Lynda
Lynda Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 14, 2020
Collected on
20201114080921

Lynda

5

They saved and changed my life. Fantastic advice. Took me under their wing and guided me through one of the most stressful and painful times in my life. Gave me back my future. I will always be eternally grateful to them especially Stephen Williams.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 14 November, 2020

Thank you for your review Lynda, our team will be deeply touched by your kind words. Very best wishes for the future.

Robert
Robert Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 19, 2020
Collected on
20200819162431

Robert

5

I've been working with Ashtons this last two years concerning a motoring accident claim, when a third party drove into the back of my vehicle in Summer 2018.
At all times, Ashtons and my representative there has been nothing short of excellent, thoroughly professional and highly efficient.
I have no hesitation in recommending this superb company.
Well done and thank you for all your help Ashtons.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your excellent review of the firm. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Kevin
Kevin Added 6 months ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin
May 18, 2020
Collected on
20200518070856

Kevin

1

I had an accident injury claim processed by Ashtons and I found them very poor, slow to act, mixed ways of communicating and the lawyer acting seem to not be competent. Would not recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Anthony Added 10 months ago Report to admin
January 31, 2020
Collected on
20200131171911

Anthony

5

Ashtons were excellent from start to finish.
Really good

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 10 months ago Report to admin
January 25, 2020
Collected on
20200125081409

David

5

Prompt service, cant fault them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Ashtons Legal is an award winning law firm with a strong focus on customer service. The legal teams provide a wide range of advice to businesses and private individuals regionally, nationally and internationally from offices across East Anglia. We are one of the largest law firms in the region with offices in Ipswich, Cambridge, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds. We are a broad service firm which employs around 380 people. Our service lines are divided in to three main client groups: business, individual and those with injury services. Our annual turnover of £19m is broadly derived in equal proportions from these three groups. The firm has 35 partners and 160+ lawyers. Ashtons Legal has been recognised by the Legal 500 and Chambers UK Guide to the Legal Profession for over 20 years. In 2019 the firm had 25 ‘leading individuals’ listed by the Legal 500, the firm’s highest achievement to date. L500 has quoted sources saying Ashtons 'provides a better service than most larger national firms and is a delight to work with’.


Practice Area

Ashtons Legal has specialist lawyers ready to help clients with: • agriculture and estates, commercial property, corporate and commercial services, construction, dispute resolution, employment law, franchising, HR advice, GDPR and data protection compliance, and transport and regulatory matters • family law and mediation, private client matters including Wills, powers of attorney, probate and tax and trusts, residential conveyancing, French legal services and inheritance disputes • medical negligence, personal injury and industrial disease claims, and Court of Protection advice. The firm has various niche sectors in which it is particularly strong; these include agricultural businesses, care homes, the food and drink sector, university colleges and the road transport sector.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000