Ashtons Legal

01473 232425

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.7/5 453 Customer Reviews 453 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

453 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    380
  • Very Good
    41
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Peter
Peter Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 01, 2020 20200501173213

Excellent Service

5

My wife and I consulted Harriet with a view to updating our wills and drawing up Lasting Powers of Attorney. Harriet was efficient, courteous and confident in the way she dealt with us. Her explanations to our questions were clear and she took great pains to ensure we fully understood her answers. After the initial meeting she was always available to answer subsequent questions. Harriet provided a first class and timely service for which we are very grateful. Another example off excellent work from Ashtons Legal.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Laura
Verified Laura Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 18, 2020 20200418124642

Professional, manage expectations and never over promise

5

My whole experience with both Colin and Tony has been totally amazing. I’m not just talking about the successful outcome but how they both supported me throughout the legal journey. Add to that the fantastic results and it really is a no brainier. Thank you Ashtons for everything, you literally have changed my life

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
Verified James Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 15, 2020 20200415200936

Great service

5

I would recommend Tony Shord to anyone in need of this kind of service. I have never met anyone that works so hard to get the right result and be so kind and understanding through the whole process. The fee was very reasonable and I will always recommend the firm to anyone.

Solicitor named in this review: Tony Shord

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Andrew Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 11, 2020 20200311150720

Overall review of Ashtons Legal

5

Covering many aspects of my private and business life.
Such as updated will, sale of business, regular assistance in that
business. Upcoming conveyancing in 2020

Was this review helpful? Yes

Happy Customer
Happy Customer Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 03, 2020 20200303130930

Excellent free advice

5

Met with Stephen Williams last week and received excellent sound advice from a very personable gentleman. He wasn't there to simply take funds and make something out of a situation but instead gave his expert view on things which in turn gave us all the assurance we needed at this particular time. Would definitely recommend Stephen/Ashton's for anyone needing help/best advice in matters of family law/divorce etc. Superb!

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas
Nicholas Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 02, 2020 20200302191202

My Mother's Estate

5

I live in Canada so many miles from where my Mum passed away (she was almost 103) and my brothers managed her estate. So my role was quiote remote but I have to pay greta tribute to the service I experienced from Harriet and Ashtons Legal. One of the biggest challenges of course is transferring money from the UK to Canada but they handled it very smoothly and quickly. I also have to acknowledge that the paperwork was fully shared with me and very simple to understand. Overall very good service. Thank you.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 March, 2020

Many thanks for the five star review and feedback. It's great to hear that you received excellent service from our firm over in Canada. Very best wishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Virginia
Virginia Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 08, 2020 20200208202558

Responsive service

5

Great friendly and approachable service.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Wilkes

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 February, 2020

Thank you for your feedback, Virginia! We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and hope to work with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicola
Nicola Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 31, 2020 20200131142958

Wills, LPA's, POA, and probate. 5* service, highly professional.

5

Have used Louise Cardwell for a number of years. Louise had always provided sound, highly knowledgeable, professional advice. Has dealt with wills, probate, POA and LPA's in a most empathetic, considerate and trustworthy manner. I would not hesitate in recommending Louise and have done so on several occasions to close friends and family.

Solicitor named in this review: Louise Cardwell

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2020

Thanks so much for your review, Nicola! We'll be sure to pass your positive feedback onto Louise.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Valerie
Valerie Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 09, 2020 20200109130104

Professional & Approachable

5

On a recommendation we approached Harriet Richardson at Ashton Legal with regard to updating our Wills and drawing up Lasting Power of Attorneys. My husband and I found her approach to be friendly, courteous and efficient. She quickly advised on all areas we didn't understand and was always available by phone, email or in person, for any follow-up questions. Everything was dealt with quickly, efficiently and without any snags. We would not hesitate to contact her/Ashton Legal should we have any future need for a solicitor and would certainly recommend both Harriet and Ashton Legal to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thanks for your excellent review, Valerie! We'll be sure to pass your kind comments onto Harriet.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 07, 2020 20200107201925

Shahban Ali - Amazing Solicitor - Highly Recommended

5

Shahban acted for me in the selling of my house and purchase of my new one. At all times he was friendly, approachable and professional. He obviously has a great deal of legal knowledge and it was very easy to gain direct access to him. He kept me fully aware of all progress made and provided clear and sensible advice when it was required. A gentleman at all times, tenacious when needed and obviously full of integrity, it was an absolute pleasure dealing with Shahban during what is a notoriously stressful time. I will definitely use him again and would highly recommend him to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Shahban Ali

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 08 January, 2020

Thank you for your excellent review, Helen! We appreciate your kind comments and will pass your positive feedback onto Shahban.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Kevin
Kevin Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
May 18, 2020
Collected on
20200518070856

Kevin

1

I had an accident injury claim processed by Ashtons and I found them very poor, slow to act, mixed ways of communicating and the lawyer acting seem to not be competent. Would not recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Anthony Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 31, 2020
Collected on
20200131171911

Anthony

5

Ashtons were excellent from start to finish.
Really good

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 25, 2020
Collected on
20200125081409

David

5

Prompt service, cant fault them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 14, 2019
Collected on
20190814171541

Chris

5

Ashtons were a pleasure to deal with very professional throughout. I have to say a special thank you to Germaine Garwood, the associate dealing with my case. Germaine was flawless! Due to her continual hard work and informative approach to my case she was able to get my a very satisfying settlement package. All if this was done with an upbeat happy work ethic with shine through the numerous telephones I had with her regarding the process. As I had never been in proceedings like this before I was constantly ringing and quizzing Germaine about different points on the case, in which she was only to to happy to oblige and answer. Highly recommend these guys! And thank you Getmaine Garwood.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 10, 2019
Collected on
20190810062551

David

5

Very nice place

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal and deals solely with French Law matters. Our French-speaking solicitors provide quality, professional and efficient French legal advice in a way which is cost transparent and which exceeds the client's expectations. As a specialist firm, when you contact our office you are guaranteed to deal directly with an English-speaking French law specialist at all times. Our team of solicitors and paralegals have extensive knowledge and experience of French law, including French inheritance law, French property law, French wills and much more. We also have excellent links with many professionals throughout France including lawyers (both notaries and avocats), bankers, accountants and surveyors.


Practice Area

Purchase of residential property: We deal with the purchase of all types of property all over France. Whether you are buying a villa, an apartment or a barn to renovate, and whether the property is 300 years old or not yet built, we know the questions to ask and the enquiries to make. We can also assist with the purchase of land, construction contracts and leaseback purchases. Sale of residential property: We can organise the appointment of an agent and a notary for you and, if required, can assist in negotiations with prospective buyers. We can also arrange the compulsory reports which a seller is required to provide and, where applicable, advise you on your French capital gains tax liability. Transfer of ownership: When a couple divorces, the transfer of their holiday home in France will form part of the divorce settlement. In conjunction with the client's own matrimonial lawyer, we regularly deal with the French aspects of such transfers. Our expertise is also invaluable when unmarried couples separate or friends who have bought a property together decide that one will buy the other out. French wills: Whilst French law, along with EU Regulations, dictates, to a large extent, what happens to a person's assets when they die, it is still useful for there to be a French Will which complements any provisions you may have made in the UK. This simplifies the administration of the deceased's French estate and therefore reduces costs in the long run. Estate planning: There are various ways in which the owner of a property in France can seek to minimise inheritance tax and / or ensure the surviving spouse is protected in the event of the death of his / her wife or husband; contact us for a review of your current position. Succession advice: It is crucial to take specialist, independent legal advice at the time of purchase so as to consider the various ownership options before completing the purchase of a property in France; succession advice forms an integral part of our services. Disputes & litigation: If you have a dispute with an individual or a company in France or wish to take legal action against someone, we can introduce you to a specialist French lawyer (an Avocat) who will represent you; we work alongside the French Avocat to ensure your interests are protected and your goals achieved. Financial issues & debt recovery: We regularly assist English speaking clients who are experiencing financial difficulty in relation to their French mortgage. We also act for UK based individuals and companies seeking to place a charge over a French property to secure repayment of debt. Probate and estate administration: Working in conjunction with the notary in France we can guide English speaking clients through the formalities which are required in France when a partner or family member dies. Power of Attorney: If it is inconvenient or impossible for you to travel to France to sign legal documentation, we can arrange for you to sign a Power of Attorney in the UK. We can also arrange, if required, the legalisation of the Power by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.


Legal Services
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Social Services
  • Sports Injury
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Taxi offences
  • Divorce
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Employment Law
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • No Win No Fee
  • Fall From Height
  • Planning
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Tax
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Manual Handling
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Family Leave
  • Professional trustees
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Litigation Law
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Personal Injury Law
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Children's Accident
  • Part Time Workers
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Pension Law
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Dog Bite
  • Civil partnerships
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Medical Negligence
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Military
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Barristers
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Dental Negligence
  • Transfers of equity
  • Transfer of title
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Separation Agreement
  • Child Abduction
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Chronic Pain
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Disputed Probate
  • IT professionals
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Children
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Accident Abroad
  • Family Mediation
  • Family law
  • Accountants
  • Domestic Violence
  • Travel rights
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Professional Discipline
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Insurance brokers
  • Financial Matters
  • Fatal Accident
  • Housing Associations
  • Separation
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Engineers
  • Flexible Working
  • Wills
  • TUPE
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • International Divorce
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Lease Extensions
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Media and Sports
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Housing Management
  • Employment Contracts
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Remortgaging
  • Children Act proceedings
  • International
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Collaborative Law
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Redundancy
  • Cycling Accident
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Stress at Work
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Valuers
  • Pay Issue
  • Repossessions
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Accident At Work
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Trusts
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Tax consultants
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Car Passenger
  • Buying at auction
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Tinnitus
  • Property Disputes
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Surveyors
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Amputation
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Car Accident
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Against The Council
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child contact
  • Gardening Leave
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Professional Negligence
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Child Maintenance
  • Whiplash
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Asbestosis
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Second charges
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Right to Manage
  • Financial advisors
  • Probate
  • Child Law
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Architects
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Injunctions
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Trusts
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Child Access
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Housing disputes
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Pension and property advice
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Injunctions
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Disputed Wills
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Leasehold properties
  • Mediation
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Competition law
  • Equestrian property
  • Corporate Law
  • Development loan facilities
  • Planning law
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Engineering contracts
  • Development plot sales
  • Agency agreements
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Management buyouts
  • Asset Tracing
  • In-house training
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Franchising
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Finance
  • Licensing
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Banking
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • GDPR
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Debt Recovery
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Environmental policy law
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Employment - business
  • Domain Names
  • Data Protection
  • Rights of way issues
  • Health and Safety
  • Insurance
  • Tax
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Statutory Demands
  • Share option schemes
  • Developer disputes
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Summary Judgment
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Commercial Law
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Corporate finance
  • Intellectual Property
  • Contract law
  • Copyright
  • Setting up a business
  • Framework agreements
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Small businesses
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Commercial Leases
  • Energy
  • Patents
  • Farming disputes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Purchase of development land
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Environment
  • Credit Control
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Construction
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Development agreements
  • Slander
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Employment of farm workers

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000