Ashtons Legal

01473 232425

At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.6/5 379 Customer Reviews 379
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

379 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    316
  • Very Good
    33
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    20

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Virginia
Virginia Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 08, 2020 20200208202558

Responsive service

5

Great friendly and approachable service.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Wilkes

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 February, 2020

Thank you for your feedback, Virginia! We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and hope to work with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicola
Nicola Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 31, 2020 20200131142958

Wills, LPA's, POA, and probate. 5* service, highly professional.

5

Have used Louise Cardwell for a number of years. Louise had always provided sound, highly knowledgeable, professional advice. Has dealt with wills, probate, POA and LPA's in a most empathetic, considerate and trustworthy manner. I would not hesitate in recommending Louise and have done so on several occasions to close friends and family.

Solicitor named in this review: Louise Cardwell

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2020

Thanks so much for your review, Nicola! We'll be sure to pass your positive feedback onto Louise.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Valerie
Valerie Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 09, 2020 20200109130104

Professional & Approachable

5

On a recommendation we approached Harriet Richardson at Ashton Legal with regard to updating our Wills and drawing up Lasting Power of Attorneys. My husband and I found her approach to be friendly, courteous and efficient. She quickly advised on all areas we didn't understand and was always available by phone, email or in person, for any follow-up questions. Everything was dealt with quickly, efficiently and without any snags. We would not hesitate to contact her/Ashton Legal should we have any future need for a solicitor and would certainly recommend both Harriet and Ashton Legal to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thanks for your excellent review, Valerie! We'll be sure to pass your kind comments onto Harriet.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 07, 2020 20200107201925

Shahban Ali - Amazing Solicitor - Highly Recommended

5

Shahban acted for me in the selling of my house and purchase of my new one. At all times he was friendly, approachable and professional. He obviously has a great deal of legal knowledge and it was very easy to gain direct access to him. He kept me fully aware of all progress made and provided clear and sensible advice when it was required. A gentleman at all times, tenacious when needed and obviously full of integrity, it was an absolute pleasure dealing with Shahban during what is a notoriously stressful time. I will definitely use him again and would highly recommend him to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Shahban Ali

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 08 January, 2020

Thank you for your excellent review, Helen! We appreciate your kind comments and will pass your positive feedback onto Shahban.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Sarah Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 31, 2019 20191231124309

Excellent level of service

5

Kelly advised us on our house purchase and we were really impressed. The service was excellent - Kelly was highly responsive, professional and helpful in getting us through the process quickly and smoothly. Would be happy to recommend in future and we are very grateful for Kelly's help and advice.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Wilkes

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 03 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrea
Andrea Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 12, 2019 20191212092909

Executors of will

5

Ashton's were executors to my late Aunt's will and we were assigned to Harriet. She was efficient and helpful and explained everything in a way that we understood.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

Thank you for your review, Andrea! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us positive feedback and will pass your kind comments onto Harriet.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 05, 2019 20191205110258

Re-writing of Will

5

From the initial contact with the staff they set me completely at ease and discussed my requirements. They provided the appropriate advice and advised me accordingly.
During the negotiations when I had follow up questions for clarification they were readily available.
I was impressed by their overall friendliness and overall attitude.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 06 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Warwick
Warwick Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 22, 2019 20191022171006

Executor of will including house sale.

5

Ashton's were the executors of my mother's will. Harriet was our main contact & I was very impressed by her efficiency & helpfulness. I would definitely use her again.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 23 October, 2019

Thank you for the five-star review, Warwick. We appreciate the positive feedback and will pass your comments onto Harriet.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joseph
Joseph Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 19, 2019 20191019105952

A new will

5

Professional, quick and incredibly helpful. I would highly recommend Ashtons Legal.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 22 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emily
Emily Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 17, 2019 20191017110756

Review of Craig Fiddaman

5

I met with Craig to discuss a new start-up venture. Craig was able to explain everything in understandable terms and I found him to have common sense commercial views on the matters we discussed. Since our initial meeting, Craig has been pro-active in trying to help me develop this venture further. Craig is personable, professional and very approachable. I would highly recommend Craig.

Solicitor named in this review: Craig Fiddaman

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 22 October, 2019

Thank you for the excellent review, Emily! We appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments onto Craig. We look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Anthony
Anthony Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 31, 2020
Collected on
20200131171911

Anthony

5

Ashtons were excellent from start to finish.
Really good

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
January 25, 2020
Collected on
20200125081409

David

5

Prompt service, cant fault them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 6 months ago Report to admin
August 14, 2019
Collected on
20190814171541

Chris

5

Ashtons were a pleasure to deal with very professional throughout. I have to say a special thank you to Germaine Garwood, the associate dealing with my case. Germaine was flawless! Due to her continual hard work and informative approach to my case she was able to get my a very satisfying settlement package. All if this was done with an upbeat happy work ethic with shine through the numerous telephones I had with her regarding the process. As I had never been in proceedings like this before I was constantly ringing and quizzing Germaine about different points on the case, in which she was only to to happy to oblige and answer. Highly recommend these guys! And thank you Getmaine Garwood.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 6 months ago Report to admin
August 10, 2019
Collected on
20190810062551

David

5

Very nice place

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 6 months ago Report to admin
August 04, 2019
Collected on
20190804073852

James

5

They dealt with an RTC injury claim for myself, they were excellent. Very helpful and informative, and kept me up to date throughout the whole process. Thanks again to Ellen and everyone else.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thank you for your excellent review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback.

About This Branch

Description

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal Our French-speaking solicitors provide quality, professional and efficient French legal advice in a way which is cost transparent and which exceeds the client's expectations. As a specialist firm, when you contact our office you are guaranteed to deal directly with an English-speaking French law specialist at all times. Our team of solicitors and paralegals have extensive knowledge and experience of French law, including French inheritance law, French property law, French wills and much more. We also have excellent links with many professionals throughout France including lawyers (both notaries and avocats), bankers, accountants and surveyors.


Practice Area

Purchase of residential property: We deal with the purchase of all types of property all over France. Whether you are buying a villa, an apartment or a barn to renovate, and whether the property is 300 years old or not yet built, we know the questions to ask and the enquiries to make. We can also assist with the purchase of land, construction contracts and leaseback purchases. Sale of residential property: We can organise the appointment of an agent and a notary for you and, if required, can assist in negotiations with prospective buyers. We can also arrange the compulsory reports which a seller is required to provide and, where applicable, advise you on your French capital gains tax liability. Transfer of ownership: When a couple divorces, the transfer of their holiday home in France will form part of the divorce settlement. In conjunction with the client's own matrimonial lawyer, we regularly deal with the French aspects of such transfers. Our expertise is also invaluable when unmarried couples separate or friends who have bought a property together decide that one will buy the other out. French wills: Whilst French law, along with EU Regulations, dictates, to a large extent, what happens to a person's assets when they die, it is still useful for there to be a French Will which complements any provisions you may have made in the UK. This simplifies the administration of the deceased's French estate and therefore reduces costs in the long run. Estate planning: There are various ways in which the owner of a property in France can seek to minimise inheritance tax and / or ensure the surviving spouse is protected in the event of the death of his / her wife or husband; contact us for a review of your current position. Succession advice: It is crucial to take specialist, independent legal advice at the time of purchase so as to consider the various ownership options before completing the purchase of a property in France; succession advice forms an integral part of our services. Disputes & litigation: If you have a dispute with an individual or a company in France or wish to take legal action against someone, we can introduce you to a specialist French lawyer (an Avocat) who will represent you; we work alongside the French Avocat to ensure your interests are protected and your goals achieved. Financial issues & debt recovery: We regularly assist English speaking clients who are experiencing financial difficulty in relation to their French mortgage. We also act for UK based individuals and companies seeking to place a charge over a French property to secure repayment of debt. Probate and estate administration: Working in conjunction with the notary in France we can guide English speaking clients through the formalities which are required in France when a partner or family member dies. Power of Attorney: If it is inconvenient or impossible for you to travel to France to sign legal documentation, we can arrange for you to sign a Power of Attorney in the UK. We can also arrange, if required, the legalisation of the Power by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.


Legal Services
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Valuers
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Employment Contracts
  • Financial Matters
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Divorce
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Medical Negligence
  • Trusts
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Pension Law
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Sports Injury
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Professional Negligence
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Whiplash
  • Manual Handling
  • Child Custody
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Surveyors
  • Property Disputes
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Tax consultants
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Child Maintenance
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Military
  • Serious Injury
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Travel rights
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Transfers of equity
  • Housing disputes
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Separation
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Fatal Accident
  • Child contact
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Injunctions
  • Dog Bite
  • Barristers
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Family Leave
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Buying at auction
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Remortgaging
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Pay Issue
  • Repossessions
  • Amputation
  • Professional trustees
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Senior Executives
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Employment Law
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Litigation Law
  • Family Mediation
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Children
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Child Law
  • Second charges
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Tax
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Professional Negligence law
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Engineers
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Car Accident
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Part Time Workers
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Probate
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Fall From Height
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Child Access
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Pension and property advice
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Housing Management
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Wills
  • Children's Accident
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Taxi offences
  • Planning
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Cycling Accident
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Transfer of title
  • Social Services
  • Stress at Work
  • International
  • Media and Sports
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Family law
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Trusts
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Architects
  • Injunctions
  • Tinnitus
  • Dental Negligence
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Disputed Wills
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Accident Abroad
  • Professional Discipline
  • Redundancy
  • Accident At Work
  • Right to Manage
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Child Abduction
  • Flexible Working
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • TUPE
  • Financial advisors
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Disputed Probate
  • Car Passenger
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Lease Extensions
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Housing Associations
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • No Win No Fee
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Accountants
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Domestic Violence
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • International Divorce
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Chronic Pain
  • Competition law
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Mediation
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Insurance
  • Health and Safety
  • Farming disputes
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Law
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Environmental policy law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Environment
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Slander
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • In-house training
  • Equestrian property
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Small businesses
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Intellectual Property
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Franchising
  • Summary Judgment
  • Management buyouts
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Copyright
  • Development loan facilities
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Contract law
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Employment - business
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Licensing
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Development plot sales
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Planning law
  • Data Protection
  • Banking
  • Statutory Demands
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Construction
  • GDPR
  • Developer disputes
  • Engineering contracts
  • Corporate Law
  • Finance
  • Rights of way issues
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Framework agreements
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Energy
  • Share option schemes
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Patents
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Domain Names
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Corporate finance
  • Development agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Asset Tracing
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Tax
  • Agency agreements
  • Setting up a business
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Contractual Disputes

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000