Ashtons Legal

01473 232425

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.7/5 518 Customer Reviews 518 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

518 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    442
  • Very Good
    44
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Greg
Greg Added 1 day ago Report to admin
August 05, 2020 20200805220543

Enduring Power of Attorney registration - first class service

5

My Grandfather had made his will and enduring power of attorney with Ashtons 15 years ago and he felt now was the right time to register this - I was assigned Harriet and from our first virtual meeting I was instantly reassured by her professionalism and confidence that this would be a straightforward process. Harriet communicated promptly and efficiently with everything being clearly explained. I would not hesitate to recommend Harriet and Ashtons legal and will be returning to Harriet to update my will in the near future.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anne
Verified Anne Added 5 days ago Report to admin
August 01, 2020 20200801102445

Professionalism with understanding

5

I was recommended to ask for Employment Law advice from Colin Makin at Ashtons. My experience justified that recommendation.
Colin’ s colleague, Emily Dixon, gave me clear and considered advice. She was pleasant, whilst being very thorough. I felt received a very professional, but personal service - thank you to both Emily and Colin for your time and care.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Dixon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Deb
Deb Added 1 week ago Report to admin
July 24, 2020 20200724052926

Ashtons help for someone downunder

5

I live in Australia, my mum died in the UK and the estate was very simple but the solicitors who were supposed to execute the will were hopeless. I was so fortunate to email Ashtons. Tom Hayden and Joanna Baker have been amazing. Efficient, intelligent and compassionate. I felt utterly powerless until they came on board and then there were absolutely no problems. They corresponded with the other hopeless solicitor and everything got sorted out and completed. I totally recommend Joanna and her team.

Solicitor named in this review: Joanna Baker

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joanne
Verified Joanne Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 06, 2020 20200706111431

Emily - employment

5

Emily was very quick in helping me during a difficult time of the COVID 19 and being made redundant. Thank you for all your help!

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Dixon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Steve Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 25, 2020 20200625123410

My aunt's estate

5

Harriet and her colleagues handling my late aunts estate was efficient , professional and friendly. Much of the process occurred over the lockdown period but the service I had was still excellent. I would recommend Harriet and the Ashton practice to anyone.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lucy
Lucy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 23, 2020 20200623163553

My late father's estate

5

Extremely happy with Harriet's professional approach, she kept me updated throughout the process. Polite, friendly and professional.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Duncan
Duncan Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 12, 2020 20200612191811

Professional, friendly, and efficient

5

My family have had the pleasure of being customers of Ashton's for a number of years and, on the passing of both my parents, I engaged the services of Janette Wand to complete probate and trust arrangements concerning their wills. Janette, from meeting one, instilled a level of confidence and professionalism that has continued throughout the past three years while these matters were finalized.
Ashton's, as a practice, is large but well organised; offering a wide range of services. Their premises are smart, waterfront, well appointed and clean. The only minor point is on three occasions while visiting, the lift has been out of order. I should say thank yo, as it has kept me fit.

I would have no hesitation whatsoever is recommending Ashton's, but in particular, Janette Wand to any friend, colleague or business contact who was in need of high quality legal advice.

Solicitor named in this review: Janette Wand

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian
Ian Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 05, 2020 20200605191832

Father's Will

5

I was very satisfied with the manner in which my Father's will was executed. The will was far from straight forward and Louise was very professional and did an excellent job throughout. The advice I was given and the service provided was first class.

Solicitor named in this review: Louise Cardwell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Peter Added 3 months ago Report to admin
May 01, 2020 20200501173213

Excellent Service

5

My wife and I consulted Harriet with a view to updating our wills and drawing up Lasting Powers of Attorney. Harriet was efficient, courteous and confident in the way she dealt with us. Her explanations to our questions were clear and she took great pains to ensure we fully understood her answers. After the initial meeting she was always available to answer subsequent questions. Harriet provided a first class and timely service for which we are very grateful. Another example off excellent work from Ashtons Legal.

Solicitor named in this review: Harriet Richardson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Laura
Verified Laura Added 3 months ago Report to admin
April 18, 2020 20200418124642

Professional, manage expectations and never over promise

5

My whole experience with both Colin and Tony has been totally amazing. I’m not just talking about the successful outcome but how they both supported me throughout the legal journey. Add to that the fantastic results and it really is a no brainier. Thank you Ashtons for everything, you literally have changed my life

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Kevin
Kevin Added 2 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
May 18, 2020
Collected on
20200518070856

Kevin

1

I had an accident injury claim processed by Ashtons and I found them very poor, slow to act, mixed ways of communicating and the lawyer acting seem to not be competent. Would not recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Anthony Added 6 months ago Report to admin
January 31, 2020
Collected on
20200131171911

Anthony

5

Ashtons were excellent from start to finish.
Really good

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 6 months ago Report to admin
January 25, 2020
Collected on
20200125081409

David

5

Prompt service, cant fault them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 11 months ago Report to admin
August 14, 2019
Collected on
20190814171541

Chris

5

Ashtons were a pleasure to deal with very professional throughout. I have to say a special thank you to Germaine Garwood, the associate dealing with my case. Germaine was flawless! Due to her continual hard work and informative approach to my case she was able to get my a very satisfying settlement package. All if this was done with an upbeat happy work ethic with shine through the numerous telephones I had with her regarding the process. As I had never been in proceedings like this before I was constantly ringing and quizzing Germaine about different points on the case, in which she was only to to happy to oblige and answer. Highly recommend these guys! And thank you Getmaine Garwood.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 12 months ago Report to admin
August 10, 2019
Collected on
20190810062551

David

5

Very nice place

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Heslop & Platt is a trading name of Ashtons Legal and deals solely with French Law matters. Our French-speaking solicitors provide quality, professional and efficient French legal advice in a way which is cost transparent and which exceeds the client's expectations. As a specialist firm, when you contact our office you are guaranteed to deal directly with an English-speaking French law specialist at all times. Our team of solicitors and paralegals have extensive knowledge and experience of French law, including French inheritance law, French property law, French wills and much more. We also have excellent links with many professionals throughout France including lawyers (both notaries and avocats), bankers, accountants and surveyors.


Practice Area

Purchase of residential property: We deal with the purchase of all types of property all over France. Whether you are buying a villa, an apartment or a barn to renovate, and whether the property is 300 years old or not yet built, we know the questions to ask and the enquiries to make. We can also assist with the purchase of land, construction contracts and leaseback purchases. Sale of residential property: We can organise the appointment of an agent and a notary for you and, if required, can assist in negotiations with prospective buyers. We can also arrange the compulsory reports which a seller is required to provide and, where applicable, advise you on your French capital gains tax liability. Transfer of ownership: When a couple divorces, the transfer of their holiday home in France will form part of the divorce settlement. In conjunction with the client's own matrimonial lawyer, we regularly deal with the French aspects of such transfers. Our expertise is also invaluable when unmarried couples separate or friends who have bought a property together decide that one will buy the other out. French wills: Whilst French law, along with EU Regulations, dictates, to a large extent, what happens to a person's assets when they die, it is still useful for there to be a French Will which complements any provisions you may have made in the UK. This simplifies the administration of the deceased's French estate and therefore reduces costs in the long run. Estate planning: There are various ways in which the owner of a property in France can seek to minimise inheritance tax and / or ensure the surviving spouse is protected in the event of the death of his / her wife or husband; contact us for a review of your current position. Succession advice: It is crucial to take specialist, independent legal advice at the time of purchase so as to consider the various ownership options before completing the purchase of a property in France; succession advice forms an integral part of our services. Disputes & litigation: If you have a dispute with an individual or a company in France or wish to take legal action against someone, we can introduce you to a specialist French lawyer (an Avocat) who will represent you; we work alongside the French Avocat to ensure your interests are protected and your goals achieved. Financial issues & debt recovery: We regularly assist English speaking clients who are experiencing financial difficulty in relation to their French mortgage. We also act for UK based individuals and companies seeking to place a charge over a French property to secure repayment of debt. Probate and estate administration: Working in conjunction with the notary in France we can guide English speaking clients through the formalities which are required in France when a partner or family member dies. Power of Attorney: If it is inconvenient or impossible for you to travel to France to sign legal documentation, we can arrange for you to sign a Power of Attorney in the UK. We can also arrange, if required, the legalisation of the Power by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000