Solicitor at Ashtons Legal

Matthew Cameron

Solicitor - French Legal Services Partner

SRA ID: 193707

Matthew heads the firm’s French legal services team and is internationally renowned for his expertise in French law. He advises on buying and selling French property, French inheritance matters, taxation and wills.

The Long Barn, Fornham Business Court, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP31 1SL

Licensed for 21 years

Practice Areas

Immigration, Housing & Property, Money & Tax, Company & Commercial, Wills, Trusts & Probate

5.0/5 5 Client Reviews 5
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate 33%
  • Money & Tax 33%
  • Housing & Property 33%
5 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Andrew
Andrew Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
December 01, 2020 20201201190931

House purchase in France

5

Matthew Cameron and his colleagues were recommended to us to provide a comprehensive and painless service for the purchase of our house in the southwest of France. It was an excellent recommendation. Matthew and his team were superb at all stages of the process, with clear, honest communication and exemplar customer service. I would not hesitate to use Ashtons again; indeed I would go out of my way to do so, especially if Matthew was available to look after us.

Solicitor named in this review: Matthew Cameron

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen
Stephen Added 11 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
June 14, 2020 20200614165251

Purchased French property

5

Mr Cameron from the 1st phone call to the last was professional, very helpful with lots of good advice, always returned my calls , and we felt safe in his hands that all would be ok with every aspect of this process. Matthew was very easy to talk to and above all he listened to our needs . Excellent experience Thankyou Matthew regards Steve Michelle

Solicitor named in this review: Matthew Cameron

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
February 22, 2020 20200222131830

French Property Purchase

5

Matthew and his team, especially Matthew, were extremely helpful to myself and my wife with our property purchase in France which, to say the least, required very careful handling. He was always approachable and clearly very knowledgeable. His advice was invaluable, so much so that it was almost a pleasure to pay his very reasonable bill.

Solicitor named in this review: Matthew Cameron

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 24 February, 2020

Thanks so much for your review, James! We're delighted to hear you were happy with the service Matthew and his team provided. We will ensure your feedback gets passed on and hope to work with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

S. Dobson
Verified S. Dobson Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
July 10, 2019 20190710112712

First class experience

5

Following the death of my widowed brother, who had been resident in France for many years, I contacted Matthew Cameron of Ashtons Legal as, having read several of his articles in a magazine, I felt he was a person who could provide me with much needed advice and assistance on sorting out the French succession aspect, of which I knew very little. He replied immediately saying such cross-border issues were what his firm dealt with constantly and sent detailed information of the likely costs involved. Thereafter my matter was mainly dealt with by his assistant Sarah Morel, who I found to be most professional, extremely competent and very pleasant to deal with. I always felt I could contact her with any query that arose as she was so approachable.

The succession was achieved and the tax paid more or less within the tight timescale, thereby avoiding any extra tax or penalties for late payment.

I was fortunate to find Ashtons in the way I did as I certainly would not have been able to cope with the intricacies of French bureaucracy without them, and I am extremely appreciative of their help during what has been a difficult time for me.

Solicitor named in this review: Matthew Cameron

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 11 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Russell
Verified Russell Added 2 years ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
January 26, 2019 20190126075951

French house sale

5

Efficient translation of our French paperwork for our house sale,very helpful which made the sale easier to understand.

Solicitor named in this review: Matthew Cameron

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for the five star review. We will pass your feedback onto Matthew Cameron and the French Legal team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Matthew Cameron

Matthew heads the firm’s French legal services team and is internationally renowned for his expertise in French law. He advises on buying and selling French property, French inheritance matters, taxation and wills.

Languages Spoken: English, French, German, Italian

Contact Matthew Cameron

Address

Ashtons Legal

The Long Barn

Fornham Business Court

Bury St Edmunds

Suffolk



Phone 01284 727016

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

15/10/99

22/10/19

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

French Legal Services Partner

Ashtons Legal

?-present