Solicitor at Ashtons Legal

Sophie Hearle

Solicitor - Solicitor

SRA ID: 601513

Sophie is a Solicitor in the French Legal Services department and advises on English and French estate planning, cross border tax issues including inheritance tax, capital gains tax and French wealth tax, English and French Wills, English and French probate/estate administration, French wealth tax declarations, French reporting obligations for trusts and, cross border capacity issues, including Lasting Powers of Attorney

The Long Barn, Fornham Business Court, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP31 1SL

Licensed for 4 years

Practice Areas

Housing & Property, Money & Tax, Consumer, Company & Commercial, Wills, Trusts & Probate

5.0/5 13 Client Reviews 13
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate 33%
  • Money & Tax 33%
  • Housing & Property 33%
13 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Jake
Jake Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
March 05, 2021 20210305142808

UK Grant of Probate for French resident

5

Our solicitor Sophie Hearle obtained a Grant of Probate so that our family could claim assets held in the UK by my late father, a French resident of many years. She was knowledgeable and personable, and patiently explained each step to us. There were several hurdles to jump, but Sophie's understanding of both the British and French systems for tax and inheritance saw us through and got us the Grant of Probate.
I would not hesitate to recommend Sophie to anyone who needs legal advice or representation in similar matters, and Ashtons will certainly be my first port of call in dealing with any further cross-border legal matters.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nick
Nick Added 2 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
March 03, 2021 20210303141729

Transfer of Share of Property in France

5

I contacted Ashtons for help and advice in transferring a share of my property in France to my children to make use of the French and UK inheritance and gift rules. Sophie was very knowledgeable and helpful. We have completed the transaction in a smooth matter in time before today's budget which may have changed the rules.
the reports I received were very clearly written and understandable and the responsiveness to my questions was excellent. Would recommend for handling any French property and will issues.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Neal
Neal Added 2 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
February 12, 2021 20210212115100

Excellent Service

5

A very professional, friendly and supportive legal service.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Theresa
Theresa Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
December 09, 2020 20201209143303

Will in the jurisdiction of UK and France

5

I am joint Executor with my sister, who lives in France, for the will of a deceased family member who was fiscally based in France. This was not a straightforward affair. With her ability to speak French, familiarity with its legal system and frequent liaison with the local Notaire, Sophie helped us through this very difficult task. On the occasions I visited her in the office she was always helpful, understanding and patient. No question was too much trouble. She responded quickly to emails and phone calls. My sister and I would not have managed without her and have no hesitation in recommending Sophie and Ashtons Legal.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Verified Peter Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
October 12, 2020 20201012000000

Wills, Trusts & Probate

5

Peter recommends Ashtons Legal

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Arthur Bell
Verified Arthur Bell Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
September 21, 2020 20200921134053

Excellent Solicitors

5

We have had the good fortune to deal with real professionalism recently in organising English Wills as we are resident in France. In my nearly 50 years of banking before retiring I have dealt with literally dozens of lawyers/solicitors/barristers in that time. Only 2 stand out over that period worthy of note and one of them is Sophie Hearle who assisted us with our English Wills. It was a great pleasure in dealing with Sophie who, not only was knowledgeable in this field, but came over as a patient and honest person. Lots of professionals can be too concerned about their own ego and I have met plenty of them. Not so Sophie. It has been a great pleasure in dealing with Sophie and I would have no hesitation in recommending her and her firm to others, professional as well as individuals seeking legal advice.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your fantastic review of Sophie. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pete Carling
Verified Pete Carling Added 8 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
August 24, 2020 20200824123748

French property legal issues.

5

We were unfortunately presented with extremely complicated legal conundrums regarding estates and property ownership and sales in France.

Sophie and her colleagues resolved all matters within a time-frame that was much better than we expected during times of uncertainty.

Meticulous detailing, thorough knowledge and creative thinking was required to prevent possible failures and ensure successes so we were very pleased indeed with our initial choice of Sophie and Ashtons for the tasks.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your excellent review of Sophie. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

S Ludlow
Verified S Ludlow Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
July 27, 2020 20200727134332

Very professional

5

Sophie Hearle handled my Will and did it very professionally.
UK citizen and a French resident so Brussels IV came into play.
Sophie is great!
Very happy with everything. Thank you.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your excellent review of Sophie. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 11 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
June 04, 2020 20200604132114

English Wills

5

Our dealings with Ashtons have been professional, always helpful and responsive. They are prepared to listen to our concerns and issues and deal with them appropriately.
Despite the lockdown we received an excellent service from Sophie and colleagues.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

ES
ES Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
January 11, 2020
Collected on
20200111162959

A client

5

A five star service from a five star organisation. Sophie Hearle and her team were absolutely first class in helping me to deal with my parents estate in France and the UK. A kind, calm, thoughtful and excellent communicator Sophie was faultlessly professional and executed her duties with aplomb and rigour. Thank you.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Hearle

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Sophie Hearle

Sophie is a Solicitor in the French Legal Services department and advises on English and French estate planning, cross border tax issues including inheritance tax, capital gains tax and French wealth tax, English and French Wills, English and French probate/estate administration, French wealth tax declarations, French reporting obligations for trusts and, cross border capacity issues, including Lasting Powers of Attorney

Languages Spoken: English, French

Contact Sophie Hearle

Address

Ashtons Legal

The Long Barn

Fornham Business Court

Bury St Edmunds

Suffolk



Phone 01284 727014

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

15/09/16

17/10/19

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Solicitor

Ashtons Legal

2014-present