Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Cartmell Shepherd Limited Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 80%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Cartmell Shepherd Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 100%
About Right 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 79%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Cartmell Shepherd Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Cartmell Shepherd Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 79%
No 21%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 79%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Cartmell Shepherd Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Cartmell Shepherd Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 79%
No 21%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Cartmell Shepherd Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    16
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Darren

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Darren

February 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommend

I approached this company for employment law advice and couldn't have been happier with the service. Claire was fantastic and went above and beyond her role to help me. She really cared about the impact this case had on me. She added a human touch when, quite often, engaging with legal services can be daunting and a little dehumanising. I can't express how grateful I am for the advice and support I received. Many thanks

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Matter Type:

Consumer Disputes

Stephen

November 12, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

They've Always Been Great With Us

Very friendly, professional and reliable team of solicitors with specialists across the whole legal spectrum. An absolute pleasure to speak with.

Was this review helpful?

John H

Matter Type:

Separation

John H

August 09, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very disappointing divorce handling and subsequent outcome

I went to Cartmells originally because of the good things I'd heard about the property team and assumed that quality permeated throughout the firm. Sadly not... I was originally told to budget up to £4,800, Cartmells have since requested/ been paid over £32,000. I was specifically told I would not be charged for the solicitor attending court with the Barrister, the solicitor has since confirmed there was a charge for her time on my invoice. It was a needs based case and my ex had not declared an asset (technicality - this would reduce the amount she needed, leaving more for me), the solicitor excused not including this by saying it would not have made a difference to the outcome... These are simply illustrations, my complaint will extend to many items over many pages. The Managing Director claims I had received excellent service and was not overcharged. It feels like being on "Candid Camera" but isn't the slightest bit funny. Now I have had to pay the balance of the bill to obtain my files from the divorce, so that I can make a full complaint. Now I have just been told they weren't ignoring my emails from 3 weeks ago asking for the files, the emails were apparently in the solicitors junk mail and the she hadn't realised, strange that a legal firms systems are such that you can send them emails which they don't realise they have received until you chase them 3 weeks later. No doubt this will go to the Legal Ombudsman in order to hold them to account. As if the divorce wasn't stressful enough... Unable to recommend Cartmells for the handling of the divorce or the MDs subsequent response to questions on the quality of service and the charges. If you could select zero stars I would.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Julia

Julia

November 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Julia

Earlier this year, we were supported through our sale every step of the way which was completed speedily and most efficiently. Excellent advice was given when our original purchase was found to be without appropriate planning permission which could have had a disastrous consequence for us. Would thoroughly recommend this firm for its care and attention.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

February 15, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ian

Accessible Rosehill office with parking to rear

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Jonathan

February 24, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jonathan

Very expensive

Was this review helpful?

Dee

Dee

February 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dee

Kind and knowledgeable, transparent and direct.

Was this review helpful?

jane

jane

September 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

jane

Although I met Elizabeth Crouch a little way into the conveyancing process, on our initial meeting I knew I was in safe hands. Throughout the process she guided me and I really feel that she went above and beyond anything that I had expected. My house sale was fraught with complications and unexpected pitfalls, which was not a problem for Elizabeth, I just felt supported and represented throughout. I am now sitting my new house and so very thankful that Elizabeth represented me.

Pam Ridley and Shirley

Was this review helpful?

Cartmell Shepherd Limited are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

One of two offices in the city of Carlisle, our Rosehill office is conveniently located just off junction 43 of the M6 in the thriving Rosehill Industrial Estate. The Rosehill Estate is home to a number of prominent city businesses with a focus on agricultural and rural business as well as a mix of other professional service providers. Our modern, easy to access offices benefit from ground floor meeting rooms, free off-street parking and a first-rate team of colleagues who offer a warm welcome and expert legal advice of course. Traditionally the home of our agricultural legal team, our Rosehill office also is also able to offer our full range of legal services.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Elderly care
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Judicial review
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Amputation
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Manual Handling
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment