Book an appointment

Book an appointment

Emin Read Solicitors Ltd

01424775967

View map
Emin Read Solicitors Ltd

How Emin Read Solicitors Ltd Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Emin Read Solicitors Ltd on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Emin Read Solicitors Ltd. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 12%
About Right 87%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Emin Read Solicitors Ltd and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Emin Read Solicitors Ltd performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Emin Read Solicitors Ltd and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Emin Read Solicitors Ltd compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Emin Read Solicitors Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Emin Read Solicitors Ltd only have 148 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    134
  • Very Good

    3
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anthony

Anthony

November 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

First class service

I used Emin Read to sell my property and then purchase my new property. I would highly recommend this company and must give thanks to Emin and Ann-Marie who were always on hand and kept me updated throughout the process.

Was this review helpful?

Balford

Matter Type:

Tenant Eviction

Balford

March 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

TENANT LITIGATION

Tenant litigation
I had a tenant who, over lockdown refused to pay her rent (eventually owing approx £18k) and was avoiding all contact. RUSSELL DEAN was recommended by an Estate Agent. He was efficient, dependable, accessible and confident in what needed to be done.
Thank you Russell for making a very stressful time more bearable.

Was this review helpful?

Alexander

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Alexander

January 29, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I used David Read for both our sale and recent purchase after recommendation from a friend. The service provided was excellent and everything was done in a timely manner. David is easy to get hold of and most importantly very good at explaining terms and helping with concerns when one needs it.

Was this review helpful?

James

James

February 21, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

A pleasure to deal with

I may not have much experience of solicitors, but my experience with Emin Read was absolutely faultless.
My first/main point of contact was Vanessa Stroud, who was readily available, very knowledgeable and incredibly helpful, but I was also really impressed by the levels of competence, willingness, helpfulness & knowledge of my particular file that was exhibited by anyone that stepped in to cover for her over the course of us buying our house.
This was our first house buy, and so we were probably frustrating at times, but everyone at Emin Read was both happy & able to help whenever we needed it.
I would gladly recommend them to anyone, and already have done on a couple of occasions.

Was this review helpful?

Michelle

Michelle

February 17, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Impressive service

We have been so pleased with the service we have received from Emin Read solicitors, in particular Vanessa Stroud! She helped us with our sale and onward purchase! We found her very professional and knowledgeable, she was always available to discuss any queries regarding the sale! We would not hesitate to use them in the future!

Was this review helpful?

Dan

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Dan

July 16, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Slow, not very communicative or helpful

I went through Emin Read for a house buying conveyance. I had used them before and so had my ex partner and I like to use firms I have some relationship with. Though now I'm wondering if the delays with the previous conveyances were down to the similar issues as this and not the other parties.
I began to get suspicious as when there were any delays and I made a call/email to find out what was happening thing would conveniently start moving again within 24 hours of my enquiry. It often felt like things weren't being chased up but when I called them on it their response was "they will not be dictated to and they often exceed their predicted turnaround time to reply". But that all depends what the "predicted turnaround" is.
There was a general lack of communication. More than once a promise of a call back was ignored, usually when I really needed a quick answer. hen I did speak to anyone regarding an issue I felt a lack of empathy or responsibility where that could have simply been handled better by greater communication.
This lack of communication, as well as an assumption that I knew the house buying process well, led to them informing me I couldn't move in on my planned date only four days prior to that date (when they knew that date for at least a month before) meaning I had to cancel the removals van and helpers and beg my current landlord to stall his next tenant moving in and give me more time. Even at this point I'm not able to give an actual date when I can move.
When discussing this issue they were very unsypathetic and refused to take any responsilibilty for it, saying I should have asked.
When I asked if things could be sped up so I can move sooner rather than later they asked for another £120 for the extra work.
This is still on going and I'm now waiting for an idea of when I can move so that I can make arrangements and hopefully not end up homeless with all my belongings before I can move in.

Solicitors charge a lot of money for their services, which I'm sure is justified given their extended education and training. However I don't feel I received an equal customer service for the level of outlay. There is little value for money here, simply a middle man, a go between, that has lost it's empathy for a client going through a very emotionally and financially stressful period.

I would not recommend or use this firm again.

Was this review helpful?

vijay

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

vijay

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Purchase

I have dealt with «Will Lacey» for the purchase of my new house. He has been amazing from start to finish and continuously assisting us throughout the Conveyancing process.
Will is friendly, helpful and honest and listened to our needs. Will dealt every matter professionally, he has has answers for every questions.. I am happy to recommend Will to any one looking to buy home.

Was this review helpful?

Karen

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Karen

January 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Selling and Buying houses

We would like to thank Aimee Sutton and her assistant Angela for all their help and exemplary service. They were always on hand to speak to and very quick to action matters associated with property sale/purchase. We managed to buy a house 30 days from viewing it - amazing! Thank you so much, it was fantastic to have solicitors that we could rely on. We would highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

João

João

November 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Disappointing

My experience with Emin Read Solicitors during the sale of my family home due to a divorce was disappointing. Throughout the process, I felt consistently excluded from vital communications. Despite reaching out to David Read to request inclusion in these communications, my efforts were unfortunately ignored. The notification about the exchange and completion dates came abruptly, merely a day prior to each event, leaving me feeling uninformed and disconnected.

Was this review helpful?

John

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

John

August 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I cannot recommend Emin Read enough.
Their conveyance services both in the sale of my late mother's house as well as the purchase of our flat in London were nothing short of excellent. Always quick to reply to our calls and our emails.
We always felt that Emin Read were taking care of our best interests.
Many thanks to Laura Swindles and the rest of the team for their very thorough and friendly service.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

amsinin

amsinin

September 09, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

amsinin

Professional, prompt and reasonable services.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

August 28, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrew

Excellent service

Was this review helpful?

Sue

Sue

July 22, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sue

We had the good fortune to be recommended to Emin Read for conveyancing a few years ago in 2014. Having bought and sold several times before, during the 80's, 90's and 2000's, we had a fair amount of experience of the conveyancing process; unfortunately none could be described as good. That all changed when we were introduced to team Laura Swindles and Charlotte Bourne. We, both our daughter's and my brother have all since used Laura for conveyancing a number of times over the last 5 years and cannot speak highly enough of both her and Charlotte. It is always a pleasure working with them both. No matter what issues we have encountered during each process we have received a highly professional service. Always fast and efficient, excellent communication, a very thorough approach and extremly approachable - a rare find today! Laura's knowledge and advice coupled with her determination to problem solve gives rise to the best possible outcome when inevitably tough decisions have to be made. We all felt safe in her hands throughout each process and confident that no stone was left unturned. I wouldn't hestitate to recommend Laura and her team at Emin Read, you are assured the highest quality conveyancing

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Stephen

May 11, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stephen Brown

Emma Jones is brilliant

Was this review helpful?

Tyrone

Tyrone

February 20, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tyrone Joseph

Laura Swindles was amazing through the whole process, my wife chloe and I were first time buyers and needed support from start to finish. Laura completely understood and was patient, attentive professional and went above and beyond to help us and made sure the exchange/completion day was in our best interest.

She kept us in the loop at all times, never had negative moment! She always wanted to help us as she appreciated thjs is our biggest investment etc.

I would strongly recommend Emin Read and Laura Swindles in particular to anyone with regards to legals for home purchases and sales and wish them all the best in the future.

Laura, look forward to speaking again on the next house!

Tyrone and chloe.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges