Book an appointment

Book an appointment

Gaby Hardwicke

01323435900

View map
Gaby Hardwicke

How Gaby Hardwicke Compares

Value for money

This firm - 74%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gaby Hardwicke on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Gaby Hardwicke. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 20%
About Right 80%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 67%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gaby Hardwicke and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Gaby Hardwicke performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 67%
No 33%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 67%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gaby Hardwicke and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Gaby Hardwicke compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 67%
No 33%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Gaby Hardwicke offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Gaby Hardwicke has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

3.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    18
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    8

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
S V

S V

May 25, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Poor service

Poor and inaccurate service, slow and difficult communication, poor quality and knowledge of the topic. Zero attention to details.

Was this review helpful?

Tamale

Tamale

September 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Do not use this firm!!!

We made the mistake of using Gaby Hardwicke in 2014 and found out years later that we were entitled to stamp duty relief on our purchase as the property had an annexe(separate dwelling)! They did not inform us of this, even though they are supposedly the “professionals” so when we heard of it through a friend and tried to reclaim the £9000 it was too late so they gave us a mere £2000 as compensation. Then this year when we sold the property our solicitor was thorough enough to discover that part of “our” garden was still registered to the previous owner! This incompetence from Gaby Hardwicke delayed our house move and cost us a further £1000 in fees and charges!

Was this review helpful?

Christopher

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Christopher

June 29, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

House move

The reviews here are extremely mixed for GH, but perhaps that's to be expected with firms of solicitors where the quality of individual solicitors varies.

My father buys and sells property regularly, and the recently purchased a property with Melanie Verth as his solicitor. I knew then that if I moved again I would ask Ms Verth to handle the sale and purchase. The time came, and the move was complex due to various issues with the apartments at each end of the move, combined with a short timescale mandated by the purchaser (two months from offer to completion) and a slow-acting purchasing solicitor.

The quality of Melanie's technical advice was extremely strong, she was personable, diligent, as tenacious as a lobster and, above all else, a pragmatist and flexible; put otherwise, I felt strongly that Ms Verth was focused on finding solutions to the many problems we faced rather than simply stating the legal position and letting the cards fall as they might.

The fees were more than some others, but in the specific case of Ms Verth, if you've a complex sale, difficult solicitors on the other side, tight timescales or something else you fear may be a major problem, I suggest consulting Ms Verth.

Was this review helpful?

Sally

Matter Type:

Maternity and Paternity

Sally

August 27, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment Discrimination Claim - Outstanding Service

As an employer facing a discrimination claim, turning to the expertise of Gaby Hardwicke prevented a lengthy employment tribunal. Matthew Grant, our solicitor handled our case with the confidence and ensured we understood the process and were kept fully aware at every stage. The situation had the potential to cause a lot of worry and stress, however the great legal knowledge and communication reduced this significantly. We have no doubt that we won our case having trusted Matthew and Gaby Hardwicke.

Was this review helpful?

sian

Matter Type:

Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship

sian

December 16, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient and friendly

I have used Gabys recently for two big things in my life (sorting out an adoption and getting wills written) and i could not have been happier with the service I received. Every communication with the firm has been professional and friendly and I feel complete trust in their service.

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Matter Type:

Commercial Law

Emma

December 16, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and trustworthy

We have used Gaby Hardwicke on several occasions over the last 10 years - for family law, commercial law and for a medical negligence case. They have seen us through various personal and business changes, challenges and issues. They have always been absolutely trustworthy, willing to listen, genuinely caring, measured, knowledgable and honest. It has always been a relief to have the team at Gaby's on our side when things have been tough or just to give us the professional guidance and direction we needed. We really felt they understood the issues and gave us clarity through those. Also, having used various other solicitors in the past, Gaby Hardwicke are the firm we have most confidence in and who we have - in ten years - never had a bad or questionable experience with.
We would recommend them wholeheartedly - in particular Mark Williams, Jeremy Laws and (in Bexhill) Iona Smith.

Was this review helpful?

Jim

Jim

December 06, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent personal service

Following a recommendation I used Gaby Hardwick for the conveyancing on a recent purchase, I was very impressed with their speed of response and the level and quality of communication. I will undoubtedly use them for future services and would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone seeking a quality legal firm.

Was this review helpful?

Christine

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Christine

November 25, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dependable long established company

I have been a client of Gaby Hardwicke for over 25 years requiring their expertise for numerous different types of legal services. Gaby Hardwicke have always provided an excellent service, on this occasion from Andrew Tress based at the Hailsham office. Andrew has always been available to speak to on the telephone, he answers emails very quickly and has kept me informed throughout. I would recommend his services without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

Martin

Matter Type:

Employment - business

Martin

October 04, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great firm!

My company and I have used Gaby Hardwicke for the last 15 years for commercial and domestic law. I've worked with numerous solicitors across several departments and have always had a fast, reliable stellar service from all. I recommend their services to others on almost a monthly basis and will continue to use them for all of my legal requirements

Was this review helpful?

Conor

Matter Type:

Litigation Law

Conor

September 18, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional, courteous and oustanding service

Gaby Hardwicke were recommended to me by a friend when I needed legal representation in an employment dispute. Paul Maynard provided an excellent service throughout the litigation and I would highly recommend him. He was professional, diligent and available throughout the whole process. I would recommend his services in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing