Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors

01727 837 161

Also known as - Debenhams Ottaway

We are a multi-service, innovative law firm based in Hertfordshire, known for delivering clients outstanding service and our award winning legal advice. We are proud of our past, progressive in our outlook and unrelenting in our dedication to growth through doing more for our people, our personal and business clients and our communities.

4.6/5 74 Customer Reviews 74 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

74 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    61
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    5

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Louise
Louise Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 05, 2019 20190805010000

I very much appreciated all that you did to get the deal to completion!

4

Thank you for handing the sale of our house. I very much appreciated all that you did to get the deal to completion! From my side it was very painless.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 04, 2019 20190804010000

Thanks!

5

Thank you for your assistance in completing the sale of a public company he was the managing director of and majority shareholder]. I appreciate that you weren’t involved from the start...but you are a sure credit to Debenhams Ottaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 04, 2019 20190804010000

He is one of the good guys!

5

Nigel is a highly personable individual with a strong customer focus and commitment to quality service delivery. Nigel manages to combine commercial, result focused action with a friendly and very human interaction.

Solicitor named in this review: Nigel Drake

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Caroline Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 03, 2019 20190803010000

Communication was great.

5

I felt people got back to me with answers to my questions and the printed breakdowns of the process of buying a house were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anne
Anne Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019 20190802010000

Karen is someone in whom we have considerable trust.

5

Karen is a highly efficient solicitor who guided us through the conveyancing process in a very friendly and professional manner.

Solicitor named in this review: Karen Harding

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 01, 2019 20190801010000

The service and advice was excellent throughout.

4

Thank you to you and your team for all the help with the purchase of our new home. We’ll be back in touch with Debenhams Ottaway to deal with other matters. In the meantime, I have recommended you to a number of colleagues.

Was this review helpful? Yes

jason
jason Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 31, 2019 20190731095124

Great client service

5

Rachel Hyndman is an excellent lawyer who has recently written Wills for me and my wife. She clearly understands the area of Wills and trusts extremely well and found solutions to some of our more complex issues. But above all she is a delight to work with, down to earth, explaining everything carefully and in plain English.

Solicitor named in this review: Rachel Hyndman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Howard
Howard Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 19, 2019 20190719010000

It is a pleasure working with the Debenhams Ottaway employment team.

5

My thanks to Louise Attrup for her speed, diligence and closing before the deadline.

Solicitor named in this review: Louise Attrup

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ovidiu
Ovidiu Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019 20190718010000

I just want to say thanks so much for your wonderful services.

5

I just want to say thanks so much for your wonderful services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bryan
Bryan Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 17, 2019 20190717010000

Absolutely excellent service.

5

I dealt with Simon Tucker on a dispute I was having with a letting agent. Simon gave great, practical advice, which ensured the matter reached the conclusion in the way I wanted in a reasonable timeframe. I found Debenhams Ottaway to be very responsive and trustworthy - their main concern was what was right for me as a client, not how much money they were going to make from the work.

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Tucker

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Suhail
Suhail Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 30, 2020
Collected on
20200430140648

Suhail

5

I rarely write reviews but wanted to recognise the excellent quality of work and service by Ruth Boulton, partner at Debenhams Ottaway. We were recommended to her by a friend, and highly impressed in the manner that she handled our commercial lease, and would definitely recommend her.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sameep
Sameep Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 15, 2020
Collected on
20200315192928

Sameep

5

Great service and care

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2020
Collected on
20200308130218

Colin

4

Experienced staff and very welcoming

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Mark Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 30, 2020
Collected on
20200130151522

Mark

1

An absolute shocking company to deal with. These are real crooks in cheap suits, especially Luke Harrisons, who lacked professionalism and furthermore ability. AVOID & DO NOT USE.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Z
Z Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 26, 2020
Collected on
20200126220604

A client

5

I am very pleased with the service received from Tom Marshall regarding a purchase of property with an extremely complicated history. He was very efficient, kept me informed at all times and always returned my calls promptly. He is an asset to Debenhams Ottaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

We are proud of our past, progressive in our outlook and unrelenting in our dedication to growth through doing more for our people, our personal and business clients and our communities.


Legal Services
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Social Services
  • Part Time Workers
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Elderly care
  • Children
  • Financial advisors
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Housing Management
  • Property Disputes
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Professional Negligence
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Probate
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Disputed Wills
  • MRSA Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Valuers
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Buying at auction
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Pension and property advice
  • Leasehold properties
  • Family Mediation
  • Child contact
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Planning
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Divorce
  • Military
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Redundancy
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Legal aid
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Trusts
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • International Divorce
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Child Access
  • Transfer of title
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Architects
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Gardening Leave
  • Dental Negligence
  • Annulment
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Professional trustees
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Insurance brokers
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disputed Probate
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Child Custody
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Repossessions
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Financial Matters
  • Injunctions
  • Housing disputes
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Tax consultants
  • Pension Law
  • Media and Sports
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Pay Issue
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • International
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Child Law
  • Medical Negligence
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Accountants
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Child Maintenance
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Barristers
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Professional Discipline
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Senior Executives
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Engineers
  • Wills
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Family law
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Employment Contracts
  • Surveyors
  • Stress at Work
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Injunctions
  • Housing Associations
  • Child Abduction
  • Domestic Violence
  • Litigation Law
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Lease Extensions
  • Second charges
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • TUPE
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Separation
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Corporate finance
  • Agency agreements
  • Intellectual Property
  • Tax
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Commercial Law
  • Employment - business
  • Commercial Leases
  • Credit Control
  • Corporate Law
  • Asset Tracing
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Contract law
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Slander
  • Planning law
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Developer disputes
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Rights of way issues
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Competition law
  • Franchising
  • Summary Judgment
  • Management buyouts
  • Environmental policy law
  • Small businesses
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Finance
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Statutory Demands
  • Setting up a business
  • Insurance
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Purchase of development land
  • Debt Recovery
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Share option schemes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Development plot sales
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0900 - 2000
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000