Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors

01727 837 161

We are a multi-service, innovative law firm based in Hertfordshire, known for delivering clients outstanding service and our award winning legal advice. We are proud of our past, progressive in our outlook and unrelenting in our dedication to growth through doing more for our people, our personal and business clients and our communities.

4.7/5 69 Customer Reviews 69
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

69 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    58
  • Very Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    4

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Louise
Louise Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 05, 2019 20190805010000

I very much appreciated all that you did to get the deal to completion!

4

Thank you for handing the sale of our house. I very much appreciated all that you did to get the deal to completion! From my side it was very painless.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 04, 2019 20190804010000

Thanks!

5

Thank you for your assistance in completing the sale of a public company he was the managing director of and majority shareholder]. I appreciate that you weren’t involved from the start...but you are a sure credit to Debenhams Ottaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 04, 2019 20190804010000

He is one of the good guys!

5

Nigel is a highly personable individual with a strong customer focus and commitment to quality service delivery. Nigel manages to combine commercial, result focused action with a friendly and very human interaction.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Caroline Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 03, 2019 20190803010000

Communication was great.

5

I felt people got back to me with answers to my questions and the printed breakdowns of the process of buying a house were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anne
Anne Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019 20190802010000

Karen is someone in whom we have considerable trust.

5

Karen is a highly efficient solicitor who guided us through the conveyancing process in a very friendly and professional manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 01, 2019 20190801010000

The service and advice was excellent throughout.

4

Thank you to you and your team for all the help with the purchase of our new home. We’ll be back in touch with Debenhams Ottaway to deal with other matters. In the meantime, I have recommended you to a number of colleagues.

Was this review helpful? Yes

jason
jason Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 31, 2019 20190731095124

Great client service

5

Rachel Hyndman is an excellent lawyer who has recently written Wills for me and my wife. She clearly understands the area of Wills and trusts extremely well and found solutions to some of our more complex issues. But above all she is a delight to work with, down to earth, explaining everything carefully and in plain English.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Howard
Howard Added 4 months ago Report to admin
July 19, 2019 20190719010000

It is a pleasure working with the Debenhams Ottaway employment team.

5

My thanks to Louise Attrup for her speed, diligence and closing before the deadline.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ovidiu
Ovidiu Added 4 months ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019 20190718010000

I just want to say thanks so much for your wonderful services.

5

I just want to say thanks so much for your wonderful services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bryan
Bryan Added 4 months ago Report to admin
July 17, 2019 20190717010000

Absolutely excellent service.

5

I dealt with Simon Tucker on a dispute I was having with a letting agent. Simon gave great, practical advice, which ensured the matter reached the conclusion in the way I wanted in a reasonable timeframe. I found Debenhams Ottaway to be very responsive and trustworthy - their main concern was what was right for me as a client, not how much money they were going to make from the work.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Lewis
Lewis Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 05, 2019
Collected on
20191005055535

Lewis

1

Invited me in early for a coffee, then billed me for that time!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors responded to this review on 19 January, 2017

Dear Mr Johnstone, Providing great client service is very important to the team at Debenhams Ottaway so I am very sorry to see your review. I would like to talk with you to find out more. Please feel free to call me on 01727 837161 - Julia Taylor, Director.

stephen.page5457
stephen.page5457 Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 14, 2019
Collected on
20190914184032

stephen.page5457

5

Top Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Marco
Marco Added 4 months ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019
Collected on
20190718180804

Marco

5

Tom was recommended by John Moore and he never disappoints me
A brilliant young solicitor with a very bright future
Thanks you so much Tom

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dreams
Dreams Added 5 months ago Report to admin
May 26, 2019
Collected on
20190526044304

Dreams

5

Jonathan Foy arranged a last minute appointment with exceptional help for notary services. Indeed professional and exceedingly Debenhams Ottaway solicitors 100% recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elliot
Elliot Added 8 months ago Report to admin
February 21, 2019
Collected on
20190221213224

Elliot

5

Professional, efficient service from Jonathan. I would have no problem recommending his services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

We are proud of our past, progressive in our outlook and unrelenting in our dedication to growth through doing more for our people, our personal and business clients and our communities.


Legal Services
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Engineers
  • Social Services
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Professional Negligence
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • TUPE
  • Insurance brokers
  • Child contact
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Planning
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Tax consultants
  • Gardening Leave
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Property Disputes
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Surveyors
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Employment Contracts
  • Accountants
  • Stress at Work
  • Housing disputes
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Child Maintenance
  • Wills
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Professional Discipline
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Disputed Wills
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • International
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Elderly care
  • Litigation Law
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Trusts
  • Redundancy
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Professional trustees
  • Dental Negligence
  • Remortgaging
  • Child Access
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Architects
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Lease Extensions
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Valuers
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Domestic Violence
  • Pension and property advice
  • Probate
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Housing Management
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Transfers of equity
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Injunctions
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Barristers
  • Disputed Probate
  • Children
  • Separation Agreement
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Pay Issue
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Separation
  • Divorce Mediation
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Child Law
  • Injunctions
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Leasehold properties
  • Collaborative Law
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Media and Sports
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Financial advisors
  • International Divorce
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Part Time Workers
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Family law
  • Family Leave
  • Divorce
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Military
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Flexible Working
  • Housing Associations
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Annulment
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Medical Negligence
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Legal aid
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Financial Matters
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Child Abduction
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Second charges
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • IT professionals
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • MRSA Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Corporate Law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Finance
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Agency agreements
  • Asset Tracing
  • Rights of way issues
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Commercial Leases
  • Developer disputes
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Statutory Demands
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Management buyouts
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Corporate finance
  • Commercial Law
  • Credit Control
  • Environmental policy law
  • Summary Judgment
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Setting up a business
  • Planning law
  • Development plot sales
  • Slander
  • Data Protection
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Insurance
  • Competition law
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Contract law
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Share option schemes
  • Small businesses
  • Franchising
  • Purchase of development land
  • Tax
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Employment - business

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0900 - 2000
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000