Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Shortlands Law Firm Ltd Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 99%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Shortlands Law Firm Ltd on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 25%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 75%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Shortlands Law Firm Ltd and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Shortlands Law Firm Ltd performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Shortlands Law Firm Ltd and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Shortlands Law Firm Ltd compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Shortlands Law Firm Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    19
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    0

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Nitzan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Shortlands Law Firm Ltd.

Matter Type:

Financial advisors

Nitzan

February 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

An honest, knowledgeable and driven solicitor

I met Alastair from Shortlands in 2019 when one of my investments encountered issues and many investors needed advice. He is dealing with many investors that are, understandably, reluctant to spend more money with an investment that's gone wrong. Yet, he is always very willing to take his client through the decision making process to ensure that they make the best decision for them.

Ever since then I have been in communication with Alastair and was always impressed by his passion, commitment and honesty.

Was this review helpful?

Jan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Shortlands Law Firm Ltd.

Jan

February 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional and responsive in a difficult situation

Very hands-on and responsive. Guided me through the process clearly outlining the pros and cons of various approaches. Was available day and night including weekends. Outcome was exactly what I had hoped for. I would definitely recommend Shortlands and Alastair Dobbie. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful?

Dr Nico Bruyniks

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Shortlands Law Firm Ltd.

Dr Nico Bruyniks

February 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sensible and practical advice. A pleasure to work with.

Excellent service. Creative solutions and day and night availability. Without the support of Shortlands (Alastair Dobbie) we would never have gotten as far as we are now. When I supported their first case, and we won, I got nearly all my money back as well.
With Alastair's support I also won another case which resulted in a pay out. I am looking forward to continue working with him to bring a resolution for the investors of other schemes I am also involved with.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

December 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

The firm has really supported me in difficult times.

Wentworth has worked on my case for two years dealing with complex issues which were not his area of expertise but he very quickly grasped concepts and produced a very high quality administration. Thank you for everything!

Was this review helpful?

Marco

Marco

December 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very much recommend!

Me and my mother had the help of Wentworth and we were very pleased with how helpful and great he was.

Was this review helpful?

Geraldine

Geraldine

December 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review for Alastair and Wentworth from Shortlands Law Firm

A massive thank you to Alastair and Wentworth from Shortlands Law Firm for a great job well done in regard to my case of unfair dismissal from my place of work. Alastair and Wentworth worked together as a great team on my case to make sure that the outcome of my case was dealt with very well and we didn’t need to go to court in the end.

Was this review helpful?

Lee

Lee

December 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

I will be recommending your good name to all who seek legal representation.

Dear Shortlands, A very big thank you for all your help regarding my case, brilliant service provided.

Was this review helpful?

Ada

Ada

November 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

I highly recommend the firm, in particular Wentworth, who advised me well and worked hard on my case.

I am immensely grateful to this firm and specifically Wentworth Gurney who quickly grasped the complexity of my probate/purported multiple-marriages case, advised accordingly and wrote a powerful letter for my case. The letter, packed with case law, formed the foundations of my case.

Was this review helpful?

Geraldine

Geraldine

November 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

I highly recommend him.

Before working with Wentworth, I had no legal knowledge and believed that I had lost before I had even begun. Wentworth helped me understand the legal process and allowed me to feel confident about my situation. He advised me with knowledge to the smallest of details in order for me to be able to make my own informed decisions. I feel he has gone above and beyond to help me.

Was this review helpful?

Shortlands Law Firm Ltd are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Alastair is a solicitor at Shortlands Law Firm Ltd. He is a civil and commercial law solicitor and has experience in shareholder agreements, financial agreements, venture capital and civil litigation cases. In particular, he deals with construction disputes, contract disputes and provides early stage advice on property matters. He acts for a residential housing estate in an advisory capacity and advises for a VC fund. He believes in adopting an approach which is commercially pragmatic and cost-effective in finding a business solution first if possible with a view to reaching a settlement at an early stage of the case or preventing disputes with proper draftsmanship and advice for business clients. He is willing to engage in contentious negotiation or litigation for his clients when necessary. Alastair is a member of the Honourable Society of Lincoln's Inn, has the Bar Vocational Qualification and has studied negotiation at Harvard at the Program on Negotiation. He also worked for the Harvard Negotiation Insight Initiative and taught dispute resolution and negotiation for Vantage Partners, the Cambridge-based consultancy. Previous clients include several of the world's largest firms, as well as small start ups and private individuals. He is a member of the Commercial Real Estate Finance Council for Europe. Career History 2001 2:1 in Law from Oxford, with a First Class and Exhibition in Moderations 2006 Bar Vocational Qualification with outstanding in several subjects including Negotiation 2014 Cross-qualified as a Solicitor via the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Test

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation Law
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Fraud
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Tax
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Corporate Law
    • Credit Control
    • Employment - business
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment