Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd Compares

Value for money

This firm - 72%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 9%
Overpriced 6%
About Right 84%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 68%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 68%
No 32%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 68%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 68%
No 32%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

3.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    101
  • Very Good

    12
  • Average

    4
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    54

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Rhiannon Anita

Rhiannon Anita

May 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Saved the best person until last

The first year or so I wasn’t getting very far. Pushed from pillar to post, having new people take over my case. Weeks in between replies most of the time. Then in a couple of days I had a new person take my case, she gave me nothing but pure honesty and settled my case straight away. If only I had her from the beginning I believe it would have been a lot less stressful. Thank you Christina Burke! Me describing the form on the next part of this review is based on Christina alone…

Was this review helpful?

Laura

Laura

March 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Disrepair

From start to finish I was kept informed of all stages and no decisions made without consulting me first. Friendly, helpful staff

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Paul

March 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ripped my partner off

Terrible behaviour by a solicitor.
Been fobbing my partner off for a couple of years now with her car claim. Next visit will be the SRA.
If you want scamming use these guys

Was this review helpful?

Samir

Samir

February 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pre-hearing Call

Joseph was exceptional and I really appreciate such a call in the interest of my case filed. It was very helpful and Joseph ensured that I comprehend all what's encompassing. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Jacky

Jacky

February 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I brought my case about the windows in my house being old, broken and causing mould. I didn’t know what to expect but Christina handled my case really well, explained everything to the me, she was really supportive and made sure I get the help. Christina was amazing all the way to the end, i could not stop thanking her for all the help and what she did. My housing has now got me new windows and thanks to Christina for making it possible for me.

Was this review helpful?

Patricia

Patricia

February 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

ONGOING CLAIM ENQUIRY

I called today for an update regarding my ongoing claim. Sam was very helpful and answered all my questions clearly and procisely. Although I am no further forward with my claim at least I know where I am in the process.

Was this review helpful?

Chelsey

Chelsey

January 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great help

Very happy with the service and all questions were answered if I was ever conconcerned about anything.

Was this review helpful?

Chelsey

Chelsey

January 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great help

I am very happy with the legal service Adam Provided. If I was unsure of something he was always very happy to help and would explain very well.

Was this review helpful?

Dragos-Ionut

Dragos-Ionut

November 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Liers

Waiting for more than 18 months to have a reply, nobody cares, when i called them always same rude answer, just wait.
Avoid this c..ts!!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Laura

Laura

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Laura

Absloutley shocking company who did NOTHING for my housing disrepair claim who then handed it to someone else after nearly a year im so stressed angry an upset avoid!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

perry

perry

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

perry

Very professional company, kept me updated all the way through the process and was able to answer any questions I had. I would highly recommend this company to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

rab

rab

May 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

rab

AVOID!! 0 STARS..STARTED 2 CLAIMS IN MAY 2022 AND AFTER BEING TOLD VERY HIGH CHANCE OF WINNING CLAIM THE PROCESS WAS VERY SLOW,I HAD TO GET ALL THE FINANCE AGREEMENTS MYSELF FROM THE COMPANIES INVOLVED AND EMAIL THEM OVER TO THEM,THEN HAD TO SIGN THE SAME FORMS 3 TIMES BECAUSE THEY MUST HAVE LOST THEM,NO REPLY TO EMAILS,NO CORRESPONDENCE THEN FINALLY AFTER 2 YEARS I PHONED THEM AND WAS TOLD 1 CLAIM WAS CANCELLED IN JAN 2023 WHICH I WASNT TOLD ABOUT.THE OTHER ONE A LETTER OF CLAIM WAS SENT 20MONTHS AGO AND STILL NO REPLY BUT THEY HAVNT BOTHERED TO FOLLOW UP, THEY THINK THEY DESERVE PAID FOR NOTHING WHEN THEY SHOULD BE PAYING PEOPLE FOR WASTING THEIR TIME.BASICALLY 2 YEARS AND ALL THEY HAVE DONE IS SEND A LETTER...ABSOLUTELY USELESS,I SHOULD HAVE READ THE OTHER REVIEWS BEFORE CONTACTING THEM,AND IF THEY DO ACTUALLY WIN THE CASE THEY TAKE MOST OF THE MONEY ANYWAY,DONT WASTE YOUR TIME

Was this review helpful?

D

D

May 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Absolutely useless, don’t bother using them. Claims specialist 🤣 you’re having a laugh.

Was this review helpful?

Jess

Jess

April 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jess

2 years regarding a PCP claim. Changed hands numerous times, now telling me I have to go to court with them. I have no idea what’s going on, threatened to charge me for the ‘work’ they have done. Very pressuring lady called Sarah basically telling me I have to go to court or I will be liable even though I have told her I didn’t want to due to anxiety. Sent me a legal letter that I needed to read through in regards to the claim. Like I am supposed to understand Al of the legal jargon.
Awful. Not worth it. It’s making me feel so stressed and uneasy. I will also be contacting the local mp and citizens advice.

Was this review helpful?

Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

Whether you’ve been mis-sold a mortgage or pension, mis-sold car finance, housing disrepair or discovered Japanese Knotweed on your property, McDermott Smith Law can assist you. Our highly experienced team of professionals will have dealt or are dealing with many claims like yours. Our core values are at the heart of everything we do: To provide quality legal services which deliver effective solutions; To act with integrity and openness in all our dealings; To value teamwork and our employees; To build a sustainable, well-managed and profitable business.

Practice areas

Housing Disrepair Financial Mis-Selling Business Energy Japanese Knotweed Personal Injury Debt in Contention

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
Book an appointment