Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd Compares

Value for money

This firm - 74%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 12%
Overpriced 8%
About Right 80%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 72%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 72%
No 28%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 71%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 71%
No 29%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

3.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    97
  • Very Good

    11
  • Average

    4
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    44

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Jacky

Jacky

February 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I brought my case about the windows in my house being old, broken and causing mould. I didn’t know what to expect but Christina handled my case really well, explained everything to the me, she was really supportive and made sure I get the help. Christina was amazing all the way to the end, i could not stop thanking her for all the help and what she did. My housing has now got me new windows and thanks to Christina for making it possible for me.

Was this review helpful?

Patricia

Patricia

February 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

ONGOING CLAIM ENQUIRY

I called today for an update regarding my ongoing claim. Sam was very helpful and answered all my questions clearly and procisely. Although I am no further forward with my claim at least I know where I am in the process.

Was this review helpful?

Chelsey

Chelsey

January 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great help

Very happy with the service and all questions were answered if I was ever conconcerned about anything.

Was this review helpful?

Chelsey

Chelsey

January 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great help

I am very happy with the legal service Adam Provided. If I was unsure of something he was always very happy to help and would explain very well.

Was this review helpful?

Dragos-Ionut

Dragos-Ionut

November 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Liers

Waiting for more than 18 months to have a reply, nobody cares, when i called them always same rude answer, just wait.
Avoid this c..ts!!

Was this review helpful?

Johnny

Johnny

November 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Call

Shaun was very helpful and explained things clearly

Was this review helpful?

Paul Martin

Paul Martin

October 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Claim - Great Service Provided

A huge Thank-you to Christina who provided all the information needed for the duration of my Claim, both telephone calls and emails explaining everything in depth putting my mind at ease with the process!

Was this review helpful?

Paul Martin

Paul Martin

October 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service by Christina Burke

All should understand court and legal proceedings are a very lengthy process, Christina hasn’t failed to provide as much information as possible even over a year down the line with the claims at hand A pleasure to deal with such friendly people who do their upmost to help you in such difficult circumstances! Thank you Christina! A big thank you to Xavier for taking over the case at hand and pushing the court proceedings through’

Was this review helpful?

Dagmar

Dagmar

October 17, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Absolutely awful service

Firstly, my disrepair claim was taken on with reassurance that I have a case and that the property will get fixed. They omitted few issues which I discussed initially and when I disputed this after the surveyors report, I received arrogant response. The fee earner was very unhelpful. There’s a severe leak from the bathroom, this has provided the perfect environment for a mould growth and damp, cracked and falling plaster throughout the property, asbestos was present which they did not assist me with. Cracked and crumbling floors with bitumen. In the end when the fee earner told me that barrister thinks that this case is not suitable to go to court as this is merely improvement, I asked for his opinion, he did not even bother to advise, did not respond to my emails, and I felt like he was avoiding me. In the end I received a letter stating that the council did not make an offer and said that they are not responsible for the despairs and my case was closed. What type of disrepair in your opinion would be sufficient for you to even complete my case and ensure that they are done? I feel like the compensation was the issue in my case as it was not enough for them to be even bother to bring disrepair claim. Absolutely appalling.

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Lisa

October 09, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent customer service

From day one, they have been super efficient and professional. Nothing was too much trouble

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Libby

Libby

February 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Libby

Terrible company. Staff are rude and dishonest and make false promises. Ran by young and inexperienced students with no law experience. 0/10

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

January 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrew

Not really happy with the service provided. Still waiting for the email promised. Third time to contact.

Was this review helpful?

Glyn

Glyn

December 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Glyn

Over a year passed without any contact. I was told initially this can take a while and so I didn't think anything of it. However I emailed for an update and I was told my case had been closed due to the value not being enough for them. Very nice of them to at least let me know... unprofessional.

Was this review helpful?

Mick

Mick

November 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mick

My claim for mis-sold car finance was originally passed from pillar to post for 6 months. But Mcdermott Smith law have been dealing with it since May 2022. Still no sight of a result. Poor communication and progress very slow leaving one very disappointed and frustrated customer. I've emailed them this morning expressing my frustration. If no response within 48 hours I'll be referring my claim to the financial ombudsman service

Was this review helpful?

See

See

November 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

See

Dealt with energy claim swiftly and with no hassle !!!

Was this review helpful?

Mcdermott Smith Law Ltd are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

Whether you’ve been mis-sold a mortgage or pension, mis-sold car finance, housing disrepair or discovered Japanese Knotweed on your property, McDermott Smith Law can assist you. Our highly experienced team of professionals will have dealt or are dealing with many claims like yours. Our core values are at the heart of everything we do: To provide quality legal services which deliver effective solutions; To act with integrity and openness in all our dealings; To value teamwork and our employees; To build a sustainable, well-managed and profitable business.

Practice areas

Housing Disrepair Financial Mis-Selling Business Energy Japanese Knotweed Personal Injury Debt in Contention

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
Book an appointment