Jackson Lees Group Ltd

Also known as - Jackson Lees Group,Jackson Lees,Broudie Jackson Canter

3.2/5 17 Client Reviews Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Jackson Lees Group Ltd compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Jackson Lees Group Ltd on ReviewSolicitors

Become Verified

Jackson Lees Group Ltd only have 17 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors

Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You


17 Client Reviews

3.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    8
Anonymous
Click to rate
Tony
Tony Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 03, 2021 20210103134304

DO NOT USE THEIR COURT OF PROTECTION DEPT !!

1

DO NOT USE THEIR Court Of Protection Dept. This firm is only interested in how much money they can make out of you. Not interested in protecting the vulnerable. In the space of eight and a half months from the date they were appointed until my Mother’s death they accumulated fees of £33754,42. Of which £3120 is still unaccounted for as the COP dept records show they paid the litigation dept this figure-but the litigation dept state they did not receive it-so where did this money go?

Anna Salisbury did a good job of the litigation proceedings to remove an illegal occupant from my Mother’s property-however her hands were tied as the COP dept did not act on her advice. She advised the Panel Deputy Jane McGregor (who never interacted with us at all-but saw fit to meet the illegal occupant of my Mother’s home) - that possession proceedings could commence right at the start of the deputyship in June 2019-but they did not instigate the action until October 2019.Tens of thousands of pounds were wasted holding meetings to decide on a course of action to take when they had already been advised by the litigation dept they were in a strong position to proceed.

Jackson Lees were provided with a file of documents by my family that contained all the evidence needed to commence litigation proceedings right at the start of their appointment. but wasted a lot of time accruing their own file and seeking independent counsel advice-ignoring the advice from their own litigation experts.

Joanne McNally of the COP dept was condescending and informed my family and I that Jackson Lees were “in charge” and we should “let go of the reins”. They did not update us and then charged us a fortune for phone calls when we requested updates as we were very concerned at the inexplicable delays and the amount of costs being incurred.

Jackson Lees were in charge of my Mother’s affairs for three months before they redirected her post. This was particularly appalling as important financial documents ie bank statements /pension statements etc were being sent to her address and being opened by the illegal occupant of her property. Jackson Lees knew this was happening -and yet chose to delay the re-direction. This was an appalling breach of my Mother’s data security. They did not act in her best interests.

My Mother passed away on 16/01/20-but we did not receive a final bill from Jackson Lees until 29/04/20-despite chasing them for it. This bill was paid from my Mother’s remaining funds and the balance paid to my family. We were under the impression all their legal fees had been paid.

Jackson Lees sought counsel advice re the costs of the possession proceedings and were advised that they could pursue the respondent for all costs associated with the possession proceeding.(Estimated in the region of £12000). It now appears that they once again chose to ignore advice and did not pursue the matter and claim costs from the respondent.

On 19/11/20 my sister and I received threatening letters demanding payment for these litigation costs plus interest of £1523.34. The letter stated the original bill was dated 23/01/19-which was not the case. The original bill was dated 09/01/20 and was sent internally from the litigation dept to the COP dept and was never sent to my sister and I. We had no idea this amount was outstanding-and why wait until November 2020 to chase it up and try to charge us interest for an incorrect length of time! This letter was accompanied with threats of court action!



The amount of fees incurred over such a short period of time was ridiculous. The costs should have only been for the day to day running of my Mother’s affairs and for the possession proceedings to take back her property from an illegal occupant. They played into the hands of the solicitor of the illegal occupant by engaging in pointless dialogue with him which achieved noting but racking up more costs for my Mother. Again -this was not in her best interests. Jackson Lees were again more interested in lining their own pockets with huge costs.

Following my Mother’s death Jackson Lees did not give my sister and I a hand over/explain where they were up to with ongoing legal matters -ie the outstanding fees owed to the respondent’s solicitor. This matter was still ongoing until November 2020 and we were forced to abide by decisions Jackson Lees had made but had neglected to inform us about.

AVOID AVOID AVOID!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gulay
Gulay Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 27, 2020 20201227191842

Very responsive

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I instucted Jackson Lees for a conveyancing matter and must say Gemma was the most professional and productive solicitor anyone could ask for. The whole process went smoothly and totally stress free. Gemma was very responsive to all my queries and the reception staff have always responded promptly and made sure my calls were returned.

I would definitely recommend Jackson Lees for anyone looking for a conveyancer.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 20, 2020 20201120190728

Definitely recommend

5

Matter Type: Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

I cannot praise Anna Salisbury from Jackson Lees enough. My wife and I were left facing a bill of many thousands of pounds through the negligence of our family solicitor during a house conveyance. After 6 months of banging my head against the wall with our solicitor Anna was recommended to us and through her dogged determination and persistence she had the situation sorted and our costs returned while keeping us informed at all times

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrie
Barrie Added 5 months ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 20, 2020 20200920190602

Avoid at all cost when buying or seeking a home

1

Worst experience ever dealing with this company or at least Gemma lea.
A straight forward purchase of a house with no chain has took over 7 months.

In that time I have never spoke to gemma never got a call back when I left messages. I did speak to her assistant Conner who was helpful.

She has waited until the Venders mortage offer is running out to start moving things forward.

So I expect to loose the house I was going to buy becasue they are having to pull out unless by some mirical Jackson Lee's can sort it with in the next 5 days.

But please read other reviews on the internet I wish I done first. I used them because my mortgage company Halifax recommend them I will do my best to change this so no one else has to suffer this stress.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Shelley
Shelley Added 1 year ago 10 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 08, 2019 20191108202300

Avoid

1

Would give no stars but don't give u that option at a very stressful time in my life a para legal made a comment about my case so made a formal complaint and spoke to head of department and the para legal was spoken to and made out I misunderstood her when I heard clearly so taking to next stage and 2 days before court gets told seek urgent legal advice as won't be representing u. This gave me a barrister that was on from day one then day before court said someone else will be there instead. Then at court solicitor told the barrister lies and said I have refused them to represent me so had no barrister. I strongly advise u go else we're as they lie. The only amazing thing is the reception staff always offer u drinks and r very polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alix Olivia
Alix Olivia Added 1 year ago 10 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 30, 2019 20190730170131

CONSISTENT - Consistently bad

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Never again would I put my trust in Jackson Lees Group Ltd with the purchase of a property again! Made what should have been a straight forward sale with no ties the most stressful experience! When trying to make a complaint it’s near impossible as you get passed from pillar to post then told ‘sorry their is no one available to speak to’. Very unprofessional and not very proactive with the job they have in hand.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 1 year ago 10 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 07, 2019 20190607200106

Disgusting company with no morals

1

Matter Type: Property Disputes

Tried to illegally evict a 73 year old man from his home of 8 years, without even bothering
to read the evidence. I have never experienced a solicitors with such a bad attitude and
disregard for the law. They obviously run their firm like some kind of dodgy bailiffs.
The so called solicitor involved was stood on the doorstep screaming at everyone,
including the old mans solicitor, just embarrassing, she then left with her tail between
her legs. They then tried to have him arrested for opening his partners mail, he only opened
a bill as she has dementia and could not sort out the bill herself.
Terrible attitude, disgusting behaviour towards a vulnerable person and all round joke of a
company. Avoid at all costs this completely unprofessional company !

A representative from Jackson Lees Group Ltd responded to this review on 13 June, 2019

This review contains information that we believe is not a true reflection of the matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Amy
Amy Added 1 year ago 13 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 11, 2019 20190311083249

Awful just been ignored since chris topping took our case

1

Worst experience so far wont even return my calls to state why they have not actioned our case or why my emails and several calls have been ignored! I want our case papers back from them so i can go else were

Was this review helpful? Yes

Laurence
Laurence Added 2 years ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 16, 2018 20181116151136

Excellent Conveyancing - thoroughly recommend

5

Matter Type: Housing

Jackson Lees were very professional and helpful. They were there at every step of the way during our house purchase and made everything seem organised and thorough.

Will be using them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Philip
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Jackson Lees Group Ltd. Philip Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 12, 2018 20180612112954

Yes they were good

5

I was very impressed with the overall service provided to me. Excellent, informative and professional service provided. Will use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Regulated By:

Legal Services