Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Desor & Co Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 85%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Desor & Co on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Desor & Co and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Desor & Co performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 91%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Desor & Co and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Desor & Co compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 91%
No 9%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Desor & Co offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.3/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    11
  • Very Good

    2
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    2

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Donya

Donya

January 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very friendly and professional


I have been very happy with the support received from Marilyn during a very difficult time in my life. I was a new mum and just left an abusive relationship, unable to deal with a court case on my own.
I feel very much supported and know I can make contact at any time and my questions are answered with no problem. Also, not having to speak directly with the abuser has helped with my recovery and healing. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Louise

Matter Type:

Children Act proceedings

Louise

January 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Experienced and Professional

Thank you to the Desor team for dealing with a difficult case especially Neeta and Marilyn. You worked late and was under immense pressure because of the short time frames involved. My case started and continued during a Pandemic and yet you were always in contact with me and I was able to contact you when I needed to. The team game me sound legal advice and acted with integrity and professionalism even under the most difficult and pressurised situations.

Was this review helpful?

Deb

Matter Type:

Child Arrangements Following Divorce

Deb

December 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Empowering and wonderfully professional

Thank you DESOR,
What a team !
Years of emotional exhaustion ,self doubting amongst so much more was lifted by these wonderful ladies ,Marilyn and Alexandra .
Thank you .

Was this review helpful?

aliya

Matter Type:

Children Act proceedings

aliya

November 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

In the middle of a global pandemic, in lockdown, having never met in person, Marilyn of Desor & Co has been so efficient and so patient. Several extended phone calls while I narrate with young baby crying in the background. I was frequently unavailable but Marilyn was extremely accomodating around my circumstances. My children are together, with me, safe. We have the stability and protection we need, we have a future ahead, we have hope. It has been a long slow process and I am so grateful for the advice, support, transparency and absolute professionalism of the legal team through this very difficult but necessary process.

Was this review helpful?

Jaswinder

Matter Type:

Divorce

Jaswinder

October 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Helped me to get divorced

Very good and efficient. I was given helpful advice and my future looks a lot better

Was this review helpful?

Binita

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Desor & Co.

Matter Type:

Civil Partnership Dissolution

Binita

April 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good work, Great support.

Good work, nice service, their support is very very helpful.

Was this review helpful?

S

Matter Type:

Out Of Court Divorce

S

March 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional, efficient, humane

Being a litigant in the most gory battlefield of family court required a significant amount of skilled support from an army of humane, legal professionals that I fortunately found from Neeta and Marilyn with not just an in-depth knowledge of the family law but a very professional, efficient yet human approach.
Due to their involvement the family court experience turned around as it was reassuring to know I was in safe hands .I can not thank them enough for their patient, efficient and timely help at every step of this complicated legal journey.

Marilyn provided me with extremely efficient support in terms of timely, accurate advice, patient yet honest guidance and frequently going over and beyond with out of hours help. Her beautiful ramp model like appearance just adds to her very intelligent professional yet genuinely friendly demeanour.

Thank you so much for helping me through an extremely if not the most difficult time of my life.
I wish you and the team the very best. 💐??💐

Was this review helpful?

M

Matter Type:

Child Custody

M

March 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Desor & Co

Thank you so much desor & co especially to
Ms M willows (family law) very professional always kept me updated, Always replied fast to any questions & very supportive.
Can’t fault them highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

STEVEN

Matter Type:

Family law

STEVEN

February 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Legal Advice and Service

Behind those doors lies a legal team who are dedicated in representing their clients to the best of their ability.
I personally dealt with Marilyn Willows and she was outstanding. She worked tirelessly, responding to emails and chasing up details well past normal working hours.
She handed a complex and sensitive family matter for me in a very professional manner. Her choice of Barrister was excellent and between the two of them, they guided, presented and won my case.
I thoroughly recommend this company and especially Marilyn.

Was this review helpful?

Nvad

Nvad

January 09, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service & Outcome

I would like to highly recommend the services of Desor & Co for representation in divorce/matrimonial and ancillary relief matters, especially those of a complex nature, such as mine. Not only did they represent me and win, but they also helped me achieve an outcome that means I will never have to worry about my housing needs ever again - a huge relief. Neeta Desor (partner in Desor & Co) represented me with sheer force, determination and expertise, with a clear knowledge of the law and access to an excellent chamber of barristers, who finally got me justice. If you are going through something similar, then I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Kayleigg

Kayleigg

July 16, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kayleigg

Done me well

Was this review helpful?

s

s

March 18, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Marilyn is really helpful. great service

Was this review helpful?

Vlada

Vlada

November 16, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Vlada

I have read the review below by my Husband (Vladimir Matveev) who I am divorcing. His comments are entirely untrue and clearly come from a place of anger at not getting his own way and wishing to thwart orders of the court. He is a disgruntled opponent who wishes to do anything he can to undermine my solicitors.

I have no hesitation in saying that Desor & Co have dealt with my case professionally, honestly and I have high regard for all the fee earners in the firm that have dealt with my case.

It is a blatant lie that the partners of the firm have misled him or the court and have simply progressed my case as they should in a professional and sound way.

One only has to look at the other comments by clients (which he is not) to see that his comments are biased and simply do not ring true.

Was this review helpful?

Darnell

Darnell

May 31, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Darnell

Frivolous case dealings, dodgy injunction claims to get applicants housed by local authority. Another example of what Tax payers are paying for and some people can exploit legal aid and defraud the system by making dodgy NMO court application.

On a whim they will make sure your bundle limit does not meet its expectation of the 350 pages limit, or make an excuse so it doesn't get sent to the Judge.
(True Stories) Send it to the court yourself, foremost you won't have to rely on Desor representatives if they choose not to send over ur appendix Court Bundle.
This will save you the injustice and frustration if you send it in to the courts yourself.
They have a duty to be fair when one is representing themselves as litigants in person.
And regulate according to SRA guidelines.
This is mandatory, and to take advantage when clearly there is no evidence and the case is based solely personal feelings especially where kids are involve and making an court application out of vexatious even though other private proceedings was pending is greedy and inconsiderate.
The admissible evidence is undeniable.
Very rude and unprofessional service, I am disappointing in the staff too, especially as the i party cooperated instantly and honestly from the get go.You offerd no solutions even where children are concerned.
You guys are dodgy and it's evident you'll do anything for money even if its a frivolous matter.
Micky Mouse Club.

Oh yeah Plus the judge agreed
"A Frivolous case indeed, why are we even here"

LOVE IT

Was this review helpful?

Desor & Co are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Unlike many of our competitors, we have not adopted fixed fees because we want to provide a client-tailored service. Instead, we aim to provide transparency in relation to our fees and regular updates and estimate reviews throughout your case to enable you to make an informed decision as to whether it is viable to pursue the matter. We do, however, offer a fixed-fee no obligation consultation at a rate that varies depending on the expertise and experience of your solicitor. The rates could be between £130 plus VAT to £250 plus VAT for one hour of consultation, after which you are free to consider whether you wish to take any action or not. This type of appointment is usually helpful to clients who have not quite decided whether they wish to pursue legal action or simply wish to know where they stand from a legal point of view. Legal Aid is available in the family and matrimonial department of our firm, depending on client eligibility. However, the rules surrounding Legal Aid eligibility changed in April 2013 and fewer people now qualify for this type of funding. We provide free assessments for Legal Aid to all prospective clients and we are happy to provide guidance in this regard on the phone. For clients who are victims of Domestic Violence, Legal Aid remains available as long as they qualify on means and merit. Both tests have to be passed. The ‘means’ test refers to the client’s income and capital and the ‘merit’ test will require us to consider whether the matter is so serious that even a privately paying client would pay for these services. In order to qualify for Legal Aid and Legal Help for other matrimonial and family matters, such as Divorce, Financial remedy proceedings (formerly referred to as Ancillary relief), Children Act proceedings (not Care proceedings), and others, clients will have to pass their means and merit tests and provide evidence that they have suffered Domestic Violence in the last 24 months. In respect of Care proceedings brought by the Local Authority, you will qualify for Legal Aid automatically if you are a person with Parental Responsibility for the child in question. You will not need to pass the means and merit tests or provide proof of Domestic Violence. All clients (except clients involved in Care proceedings) will be required to provide evidence of their income, capital and, unless they are seeking help against Domestic Violence, evidence of Domestic Violence obtained in the last 24 months. The Legal Aid Agency has very strict rules in relation to what documents are acceptable evidence. Please visit the Legal Aid Agency page on www.justice.gov.uk/legal-aid for more information. We are, of course, happy to discuss these requirements with you on the phone prior to your appointment and, in fact, we would recommend that you give us a call if you are in doubt. Clients who are eligible for Legal Aid are also eligible for advice and assistance under the Legal Help Scheme, for matters such as Divorce or other family or matrimonial matters that are not at the stage where they are contested in court. Legal Help is also available in Care proceedings where clients are required to attend PLO meetings as long as they can provide written evidence from the Local Authority of their intention to issue Care proceedings. For further information, please call our offices at 020 8569 0708.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers

Business areas of law

  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
Book an appointment