Request a callback

Book an appointment

How EDC Lord & Co Compares

Value for money

This firm - 90%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of EDC Lord & Co on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 92%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used EDC Lord & Co and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how EDC Lord & Co performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 91%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used EDC Lord & Co and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how EDC Lord & Co compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that EDC Lord & Co offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.5/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    48
  • Very Good

    4
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Mitesh

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Mitesh

June 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property Conveyancing!

I was searching for solicitors who can help with convenyancing on a new property. I found EDC Lord & Co, I received professional, efficient service from the start no delays of any sort. Jasmine Vyas heads up the conveyancing team, Kelly Tucker, Amanda Middleton are also part of the same team, speak to any of the team members and you will receive nothing but excellent service. In my case I had Kelly working on my file alongside Jasmine just fantastic. Highly Recommended!
Mitesh

Was this review helpful?

Lee

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Lee

March 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lack of communication

EDC come recommend by my estate agent & also an Estate agent friend confirmed they’re a recognised company so my choice wasn’t made on price ( they’re were many that were cheaper) but foolish I was under the illusion if they’d been recommended by my estate agent they’ve probably worked together in the past and things would run smoothly. At the start all seemed well, we completed forms provided by EDC & returned them straight away, the problems started when actually trying to speak to someone ( this was pre lockdown). A few weeks into the process we had lost our buyer so I called them to explain the situation and was abruptly told by reception they do not take messages and I should speak to my solicitors assistant, no problem I think, call is transferred to an answer phone & I leave the message. A few days later I receive a letter from EDC in relation to the sale as if it were still going ahead, I then reply to a previous email from them explaining we longer have a buyer & I don’t want them to continue working at my expense & make a call to explain it again, same problem as before. By the close of business that day no one has responded to an email or called me back. The following day I call first thing & this time I’m told everyone is in a meeting & they’ll call me back. Two working days later I get my estate agent to call up on my behalf & later that day I get a call back from my solicitors assistant, I ask why it’s taken so long to respond & I’m told in a very condescending way that they have no reason to contact me as there’s nothing to update me on. It’s at this point I realise moving forward with this company wouldn’t be a very smart decision, I finally speak to the solicitor dealing with my case & she appears to be helpful, she’s apologetic & offers me a direct line but I thought best to cut my ties and change to a different company. EDC refunded me what I had paid them but I’m so glad I didn’t continue to use them for the sale of my house and the purchase of my new property, there were a few complications along the way & communication is vital in this situation so I can’t imagine how frustrating it would have been using a company like this.

Was this review helpful?

Joshua

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Joshua

August 11, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amazing conveyancer, Jasmine Vyas and team

We have just completed the sale of our flat and purchase of our house through EDC Lord, and we are exceptionally fortunate we had the team of Jasmine Vyas (Lead Conveyancer) and Kelly Slater (PA to Jasmine). Jasmine and her team came highly recommend from a family friend and we were extremely fortunate to have been able to use them. Notwithstanding Jasmine’s extremely high professionalism and legal diligence, she took a genuine interest in our families life and needs, and always had our best interest at heart. The sale and purchase came during the extremely challenging COVID era, and we cannot thank Jasmine and her team enough for persevering in keeping the deal alive and moving. I highly recommend using EDC Lord when selling/buying a property, and make sure you ask for Jasmine and her team!

Was this review helpful?

Manoj

Manoj

July 30, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional service

Having used other solicitors in the past with negative experience for buying properties, I decided to try EDC Lord as they have been in establishment for a very long time, my parents used them to purchase their house in the 1980's!
Right from the start Jasmine Vyas & Kelly Tucker provided a very competitive quote and hands on service, making themselves available at short notice for calls and important updates.
There were a few twists and turns in the midst of CVOID-19 and Jasmine & Kelly helped navigate me in the right direction. We completing 3 weeks ago and there was a small outstanding issue left by the previous owner, Jasmine & Kelly went over and beyond in helping to successful resolution of the matter.
I have very happy with the service and will definitely recommend / use again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Pippa

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Pippa

July 23, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Couldn't be happier

Thank you so much for helping me buy my first property - even during the lockdown!. I had no idea what to expect, but I was kept in the loop and could ask a question when we needed.

Was this review helpful?

Billy

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Billy

July 06, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

The most honest and straightforward experience

I used EDC to purchase a buy to let property. My lawyer went beyond the call of duty and recommended a fantastic mortgage broker who was able to find me a great deal on the mortgage. The whole process was smooth and very professional.

This is not my first time buying property as I ‘buy to let’ properties around London. I have used other lawyers before and this by far was the best and most cost effective experience.

I am shocked at the bad reviews below. When I look closely, it seems the same person with personal vendetta has posted several bad reviews using different names. EDC don’t deserve that. I will certainly use them again and have already recommended friends to EDC.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Peter

December 17, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

The only choice of Solicitors for conveyancing needs

We used EDC Lord for our sale and purchase Last month and were very impressed by the professional and courteous service received. The whole Team, Jasmine, Graham, Kelly and Kerry are very professional and knowledgeable. Their communication is fantastic and concise and their guidance steered us through, what turned out to be a long process, with the minimum of issues. we were very happy with the fees as EDC Lord always deliver value for money. We would recommend them without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

Janice

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Janice

December 04, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service. Would recommend

We used EDC Lord for our sale and purchase Last month and were very impressed by the professional and courteous service received. Mid range fees but great communication all through. Would recommend them without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

G

G

December 07, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Would Recommend

The service was very smooth and good support in understanding the documentations and next steps, would give 4.5 stars. Using technology to automate communications or updating the clients on progress via SMS, online client login portal, which also could be used to upload documents, would make it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful?

Tina

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Tina

December 04, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Do not recommend

Would not recommend them or use them again. We had a very straight forward purchase but EDC Lord made it so much harder. Reaching the solicitor was next to impossible, even a simple question would be left unanswered or if we were lucky we would get an answer from one of the assistants days later. Most communication would be via post and everything took so much longer than it needed to. We would almost always get information from the seller and the sellers solicitor before we heard from them! They will also add fees where they can, for example if you want a reasonably fast completion date after exchange that will cost you extra. We were so disappointed as we chose them based on a lot of good reviews on other websites, perhaps we got unlucky with the appointed solicitor but we really did not feel like they were on our side at all which was the worst thing about it and extremely stressful. Even for simple things we would find ourselves calling the lender etc, it just took too long to wait for EDC to do anything. Would not recommend, just avoid the stress and pick someone else. If you have all the time in the world, they will get the job done though and there were no mistakes that we know of.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Nico

Nico

June 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nico

Kelly Tucker was on the ball, chasing other stakeholders in the property buying process.

Was this review helpful?

April

April

April 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

April

Highly recommended! I'm a first-time buyer and my case is a new-build Help to Buy leasehold flat so it's quite complicated. During the conveyancing process, I'm quite impressed by Kate Knight's team. The sales manager, Scott, is very willing to talk and always reply to me in time and the legal assistant, Susie, is very hardworking. Particularly, Kate always tries to protect my rights instead of just getting things done.

Was this review helpful?

Sunil

Sunil

March 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sunil

The best solicitors about, I would strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Cathy

Cathy

November 21, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Cathy

I used Gemma Jordan in the Hastings office to purchase my flat. I found her to be very professional and informative. I was a first time buyer and used a help to buy scheme so was very nervous and clueless. Gemma made the process very easy for me carefully explaining everything I needed to know throughout the purchase. I highly recommend!! Her efficency and friendliness is exactly what you need when dealing with the stressors of buying or selling. Thank you EDC!

Was this review helpful?

Cate

Cate

November 21, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Cate

I had a brilliant experience with EDC Lord and can highly recommend. We were in a tricky chain, and the solicitors on either side of us were incredibly bad communicators, who kept passing the files between colleagues and refusing to pick up the phone. But EDC Lord were so on it! Our conveyancer Gemma was always available, and had this incredible balance of knowledge, experience and kindness - we were so impressed. Things could have been stressful for us because of lockdown and issues with building regulations, but we knew they had our back. We also had contact with Scott and Tia, and they were super communicative and professional too, so it must be the company culture. We’re in our new house now and so so glad that they wrapped everything up before this second lockdown. Thank you .

Was this review helpful?

EDC Lord & Co are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Pay Issue
    • Redundancy
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Housing & Property
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Residential Conveyancing
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Corporate Law
Book an appointment