• 2 Park Square
  • DN15 6JH
  • 01724 281616
  • www.sbblaw.com

Symes Bains Broomer

01724 281616

Symes Bains Broomer is a dynamic and expanding local law firm. In an increasingly competitive market place we refuse to stand still and we are always looking for new and exciting opportunities. This can be seen by considering the development of our firm in the ‘Our History’ section on our website. Despite all of these changes and developments, however, one thing remains core and central to our business and this is putting the needs of clients first. Our fundamental goal is to make the lives of our clients easier by supplying consistently excellent and efficient legal advice when it is needed. We aim to be clear and straightforward in our guidance so that problems faced by our clients suddenly become more manageable.

5/5 571 Customer Reviews 571
Recommended by
569 Verified Clients
like Verified Client
571 Customer Reviews

5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    539
  • Very Good
    24
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 days ago Report to admin
April 24, 2018 20180424211502

Residential property/ Conveyancing

5

Jenny and her assistant Lucy was most helpful when I needed questions answered on various queries. Throughout the conveyancing, (stressful period for me) I was kept informed of proceedings up and until the completion of the sale of my property.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 4 days ago Report to admin
April 22, 2018 20180422211502

Property sale & purchase

5

Very efficient service. Helpful & friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 4 days ago Report to admin
April 22, 2018 20180422211502

Sale and purchase of property.

5

Very efficient service throughout. Any queries were dealt with quickly. I am very happy with the service I received.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 4 days ago Report to admin
April 22, 2018 20180422211502

A problem with my ex girlfriend

5

Mr Rix was outstanding I just with I had him as my solicitor so many years ago. Mr Rix is a top solicitor. Please thank Mr Rix for all he has done for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 5 days ago Report to admin
April 21, 2018 20180421211502

Residential Property/ Conveyancing

5

All work, searches etc. carried out in a professional and timeous manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 5 days ago Report to admin
April 21, 2018 20180421211502

Property sale and purchase

5

Very efficient, friendly and quickly dealt with any queries. Many Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 5 days ago Report to admin
April 21, 2018 20180421211502

Will

5

PROFESSIONAL, DEDICATED, THOROUGH & FRIENDLY FIRM.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 6 days ago Report to admin
April 20, 2018 20180420211502

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Laura Morgan picked up our case when Dawn was out of the office sick. Laura was on the ball and worked tirelessly to get us a completion. Laura is a credit to Symes Bains Broomer and we really appreciate everything Laura did. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 6 days ago Report to admin
April 20, 2018 20180420211502

Legal advice

5

Thank you for all you did, and also thank you Norma Stevenson for all your help and advice.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 17, 2018 20180417211502

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Made the process of buying my first home a lot easier than I anticipated. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Symes Bains Broomer

  • Andrew Horwich

    Andrew (Ash as he is known in the office) studied at Hull University whilst working at SBB’s predecessor R A C Symes & Co. His areas of practice include a wide range of civil disputes ranging from high value probate disputes to the recovery of residential properties for landlords. Other areas of practice include personal injury and land law disputes. His involvement over the years in a number of contested probate cases has brought him directly into the arena of probate practice dealing with a number of estates. Ash is the firm’s staff Partner, training Partner, finance Partner and IT Partner. These numerous roles bring him very much into day to day contact with the multiple facets of a busy legal practice. Away from the office, he can be found walking his dog given that all of his spare time seems to be devoted to this mission. When you see him out walking his dog you will understand.

  • Joanne Harriman

    Jo studied law at The University of Sheffield and went on to complete the Legal Practice Course at The College of Law, York, gaining a distinction. She then joined a Scunthorpe firm to complete her training and qualified as a Solicitor in January 2005. Jo is based in our Scunthorpe office and specialises in all aspects of Family Law, with particular expertise in private children matters, relationship breakdown, divorce, finances, pre-marital agreements and cohabitation disputes. Jo has been a member of the Law Society Family Law Advanced Accreditation Scheme for several years; a scheme for family practitioners who have undergone a rigorous process, demonstrating superior experience, knowledge and best practice in family law. Jo prides herself in offering specialist advice and taking a straightforward and client based approach to complex or sensitive family matters. Outside the office Jo likes to spend time with family and friends, she enjoys cooking and outdoor activities including running and climbing. Due to Jo's continued high performance she was invited to become a Partner with the firm from 1st August 2016. A position she was very pleased to accept.

  • Rodger Price

    Rodger was born in Manchester and went to local schools before obtaining a Business Law degree (LLB) from Huddersfield University in 1984. He was subsequently called to the bar by Lincoln’s Inn in 1985. His early career as a barrister was spent in the Courts service, and then as a prosecutor, before he was admitted as a solicitor in 1992, joining what was then William Bains Solicitors. He became a Partner in 1994. He holds a post graduate diploma in Advanced Legal Practice from De Montfort University. The bulk of Rodger’s practice today is focussed around his long term interest in commercial work, reflecting that original choice of a Business Law degree. From simple Partnership Deeds or Shareholder Agreements through to company sales and acquisitions, he deals with all aspects of commercial transactions for a diverse client base. Nowadays, as Managing Partner, Rodger is responsible for the day to day running of the practice. Outside the law, he follows his beloved Manchester City, and takes part in long course triathlon. He has completed many marathons and is a four time Ironman triathlon finisher.

  • Charles Broomer

    Charles joined the predecessor firm of Taylor Broomer & Co in 1986 and was instrumental in completing a merger that created the current firm of Symes Bains Broomer in 2004. Based at the Goole office, Charles is a Partner covering a broad range of private client work including: Sales and purchases of farms, development land, and businesses Wind Farm and other renewable work Commercial Leases Other property related matters Complex Wills and Probate Tax Planning and Trusts In his spare time Charles is a keen (but, sadly, not very proficient) golfer and enjoys trying to tame the woodland surrounding his house.

  • David Rix

    David Rix qualified as a Solicitor in 1978. He worked as a sole Practitioner for over 30 years. He has extensive experience in general practice. He joined Symes Bains Broomer as a Partner in October 2012. David Rix specialises in criminal work and all court cases. He also deals with civil litigation. He is approachable, hands on and very direct and has a wide ranging bank of clients. He is committed to ensuring continued high standards within Symes Bains Broomer.

About This Branch

Description

At Symes Bains Broomer we are proud to have an excellent group of people with deep and detailed knowledge in their chosen specialisms. Many of our staff have been with the firm for a number of years getting to know clients and developing an innate knowledge of their needs. Other members of staff may not have been with us for quite so long but they bring detailed experience from working elsewhere in the market together with new, fresh and innovative ideas. We genuinely believe that the combination of these aspects is a significant advantage to choosing our firm. We also ensure that an appropriate focus is placed on our pricing. Gradually, we are seeing a move away from the old and unpredictable method of charging solely on the basis of time spent and hourly rates. Whilst we still use this as a basis for recording work on files, we ensure that estimates are provided at the outset of a transaction and ensure that these are revised and updated where needed. Also, in an increasing number of areas we offer fixed fees as a matter of routine, for example in making a will or buying a house. We recognise that price is hugely important to clients and we aim to be competitive in our pricing structures. However, we would never sell ourselves solely on the basis of being the lowest price in the area. This is not what Symes Bains Broomer is about. Instead, we recognise the importance of a quality job and we believe that we strike the correct balance between quality work and competitive pricing. You can also be certain that our firm is audited and inspected to the highest standards. We currently hold the Lexcel quality mark which emphasises excellence in legal practice management and client care. Together with this, we also hold the ISO 9001 quality accreditation and we are members of the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme as well as being Family Law accredited.


Legal Services
  • Employment - General
  • Crime - General
  • Fraud
  • Remortgages
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Divorce & Separation
  • Wills & Probate
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
  • Media & Sports
  • Driving Offences
  • Tax
  • Children
  • Family Mediation
  • Renting & Tenancy Agreements
  • Repossessions
  • Purchase & Sale
  • Mergers & Acquisitions
  • Purchase & Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Business Affairs
  • Commercial Leases
  • Insolvency & Bankruptcy
  • Intellectual Property
  • Corporate Law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Commercial Law
  • Employment

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000
Accreditations


accreditation
accreditation