• 2 Park Square
  • DN15 6JH
  • 01724 281616
  • www.sbblaw.com

Symes Bains Broomer

01724 281616

Symes Bains Broomer is a dynamic and expanding local law firm. In an increasingly competitive market place we refuse to stand still and we are always looking for new and exciting opportunities. This can be seen by considering the development of our firm in the ‘Our History’ section on our website. Despite all of these changes and developments, however, one thing remains core and central to our business and this is putting the needs of clients first. Our fundamental goal is to make the lives of our clients easier by supplying consistently excellent and efficient legal advice when it is needed. We aim to be clear and straightforward in our guidance so that problems faced by our clients suddenly become more manageable.

5/5 502 Customer Reviews 502
Recommended by
500 Verified Clients
like Verified Client
502 Customer Reviews

5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    474
  • Very Good
    22
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 days ago Report to admin
January 16, 2018 20180116201502

Making a new lease/ business sell.

5

Thanks a lot to Mr Rodger Price and his secretary. They were really helpful and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andy
Andy Added 4 days ago Report to admin
January 15, 2018 20180115161813

Excellent

5

Very good service, polite and courteous. would definitely use again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 6 days ago Report to admin
January 12, 2018 20180112201501

Probate

5

Excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 11, 2018 20180111201502

Propert Conveyancing

5

Everyone and everything was carefully and professionally managed to our complete satisfaction.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 11, 2018 20180111201501

WILLS & PROBATE

5

EXCELLENT!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 10, 2018 20180110201501

Commercial Conveyancing

5

Rodger and his secretary went out of the way towards easing the burden of the seemingly never ending delays caused by purchasers solicitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 08, 2018 20180108201501

WILL

5

Very Satisfied

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 08, 2018 20180108201501

Land Registration

4

Local & understand country matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 08, 2018 20180108201501

My late fathers estate

5

Matthew was excellent the way he helped & advised us.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 04, 2018 20180104201501

Sale of Land

3

Professional, courteous & no time wasters! Many Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Symes Bains Broomer responded to this review on

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Solicitors who work at Symes Bains Broomer

  • Andrew Horwich

    Andrew (Ash as he is known in the office) studied at Hull University whilst working at SBB’s predecessor R A C Symes & Co. His areas of practice include a wide range of civil disputes ranging from high value probate disputes to the recovery of residential properties for landlords. Other areas of practice include personal injury and land law disputes. His involvement over the years in a number of contested probate cases has brought him directly into the arena of probate practice dealing with a number of estates. Ash is the firm’s staff Partner, training Partner, finance Partner and IT Partner. These numerous roles bring him very much into day to day contact with the multiple facets of a busy legal practice. Away from the office, he can be found walking his dog given that all of his spare time seems to be devoted to this mission. When you see him out walking his dog you will understand.

  • Joanne Harriman

    Jo studied law at The University of Sheffield and went on to complete the Legal Practice Course at The College of Law, York, gaining a distinction. She then joined a Scunthorpe firm to complete her training and qualified as a Solicitor in January 2005. Jo is based in our Scunthorpe office and specialises in all aspects of Family Law, with particular expertise in private children matters, relationship breakdown, divorce, finances, pre-marital agreements and cohabitation disputes. Jo has been a member of the Law Society Family Law Advanced Accreditation Scheme for several years; a scheme for family practitioners who have undergone a rigorous process, demonstrating superior experience, knowledge and best practice in family law. Jo prides herself in offering specialist advice and taking a straightforward and client based approach to complex or sensitive family matters. Outside the office Jo likes to spend time with family and friends, she enjoys cooking and outdoor activities including running and climbing. Due to Jo's continued high performance she was invited to become a Partner with the firm from 1st August 2016. A position she was very pleased to accept.

  • Laura Holden

    Laura studied at Nottingham Trent University and as part of her Law degree spent a year with Symes Bains Broomer before joining the firm as a trainee Solicitor in 2007. Laura is now a Partner in the firm and is head of our Wills and Probate Department. Laura places great emphasis on being approachable and understanding. She recognises the importance of showing compassion to her clients during difficult times and this means providing clear legal advice and also being a good listener. Laura deals with all aspects of Wills, Trusts and Estates. She is also a specialist in dealing with issues of capacity surrounding the elderly including Power of Attorney and Court of Protection applications. Outside of the office Laura likes to relax by shopping, swimming and completing Jigsaws, the more challenging the better. More recently Laura got married on 7th May 2016 to David.

  • Rodger Price

    Rodger was born in Manchester and went to local schools before obtaining a Business Law degree (LLB) from Huddersfield University in 1984. He was subsequently called to the bar by Lincoln’s Inn in 1985. His early career as a barrister was spent in the Courts service, and then as a prosecutor, before he was admitted as a solicitor in 1992, joining what was then William Bains Solicitors. He became a Partner in 1994. He holds a post graduate diploma in Advanced Legal Practice from De Montfort University. The bulk of Rodger’s practice today is focussed around his long term interest in commercial work, reflecting that original choice of a Business Law degree. From simple Partnership Deeds or Shareholder Agreements through to company sales and acquisitions, he deals with all aspects of commercial transactions for a diverse client base. Nowadays, as Managing Partner, Rodger is responsible for the day to day running of the practice. Outside the law, he follows his beloved Manchester City, and takes part in long course triathlon. He has completed many marathons and is a four time Ironman triathlon finisher.

  • Charles Broomer

    Charles joined the predecessor firm of Taylor Broomer & Co in 1986 and was instrumental in completing a merger that created the current firm of Symes Bains Broomer in 2004. Based at the Goole office, Charles is a Partner covering a broad range of private client work including: Sales and purchases of farms, development land, and businesses Wind Farm and other renewable work Commercial Leases Other property related matters Complex Wills and Probate Tax Planning and Trusts In his spare time Charles is a keen (but, sadly, not very proficient) golfer and enjoys trying to tame the woodland surrounding his house.

  • David Rix

    David Rix qualified as a Solicitor in 1978. He worked as a sole Practitioner for over 30 years. He has extensive experience in general practice. He joined Symes Bains Broomer as a Partner in October 2012. David Rix specialises in criminal work and all court cases. He also deals with civil litigation. He is approachable, hands on and very direct and has a wide ranging bank of clients. He is committed to ensuring continued high standards within Symes Bains Broomer.

About This Branch

Description

At Symes Bains Broomer we are proud to have an excellent group of people with deep and detailed knowledge in their chosen specialisms. Many of our staff have been with the firm for a number of years getting to know clients and developing an innate knowledge of their needs. Other members of staff may not have been with us for quite so long but they bring detailed experience from working elsewhere in the market together with new, fresh and innovative ideas. We genuinely believe that the combination of these aspects is a significant advantage to choosing our firm. We also ensure that an appropriate focus is placed on our pricing. Gradually, we are seeing a move away from the old and unpredictable method of charging solely on the basis of time spent and hourly rates. Whilst we still use this as a basis for recording work on files, we ensure that estimates are provided at the outset of a transaction and ensure that these are revised and updated where needed. Also, in an increasing number of areas we offer fixed fees as a matter of routine, for example in making a will or buying a house. We recognise that price is hugely important to clients and we aim to be competitive in our pricing structures. However, we would never sell ourselves solely on the basis of being the lowest price in the area. This is not what Symes Bains Broomer is about. Instead, we recognise the importance of a quality job and we believe that we strike the correct balance between quality work and competitive pricing. You can also be certain that our firm is audited and inspected to the highest standards. We currently hold the Lexcel quality mark which emphasises excellence in legal practice management and client care. Together with this, we also hold the ISO 9001 quality accreditation and we are members of the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme as well as being Family Law accredited.


Legal Services
  • Purchase & Sale
  • Fraud
  • Remortgages
  • Divorce & Separation
  • Children
  • Crime - General
  • Wills & Probate
  • Repossessions
  • Renting & Tenancy Agreements
  • Family Mediation
  • Driving Offences
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
  • Media & Sports
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Tax
  • Employment - General
  • Purchase & Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Debt Recovery
  • Corporate Law
  • Commercial Leases
  • Business Affairs
  • Employment
  • Insolvency & Bankruptcy
  • Commercial Law
  • Mergers & Acquisitions
  • Intellectual Property

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000