Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Bailey Smailes Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Bailey Smailes on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 25%
Overpriced 25%
About Right 50%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Bailey Smailes and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Bailey Smailes performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Bailey Smailes and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Bailey Smailes compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Bailey Smailes offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    72
  • Very Good

    11
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Susan Stewart

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bailey Smailes.

Matter Type:

Wills

Susan Stewart

May 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Important to make a Will

Having recently suffered a bereavement, I know first hand the importance of making a Will. Bailey Smailes acted for me on my new Will and gave me good advice and made the process very easy and straight forward. There was no 'legal terminology' and they made sure I understood the final document. Quick, efficient and friendly. I would definitely reccomend.

Was this review helpful?

Sara

Sara

April 08, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

disappointed

still waiting for my phone call back as arranged ,choose this solicitor because of reviews but extremely disappointed of the service .

Was this review helpful?

Victoria Mullarkey

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bailey Smailes.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Victoria Mullarkey

February 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Both Emma and Sarah were very friendly and put me at ease they kept me well informed and i was extremly happy with the service and i would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bailey Smailes.

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

Anonymous

February 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lasting Powers of Attorney

I received all the accurate information which enabled us to proceed with the LPA. Very friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bailey Smailes.

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

Anonymous

January 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lasting Powers of Attorney

It was a bit overwhelming with all the documentation but it was well explained and made a lot easier to understand.

Was this review helpful?

Mary

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bailey Smailes.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mary

January 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review for Bailey Smailes

First class service! Professional and efficient.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

December 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dealt with matter efficiently

Was informed about costs from the outset

Was this review helpful?

Sykes

Sykes

December 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent legal competency

Great quality of work

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Claire

Claire

April 04, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Claire

We have used Bailey Smailes several times for both conveyancing and more complex legal matters, faultless service with efficient and friendly solicitors who speak 'our' language. We have recomended to friends and family who have all been pleased with the level of service provided.

Was this review helpful?

Simone

Simone

April 03, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simone

I used Bailey Smailes for my house sale and buy and could not fault their service, I recommended them to my sister who also used them for her house purchase. Honest, professional, speedy and reliable, great firm, would highly recommend the team there

Was this review helpful?

Edward

Edward

April 03, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Edward

Excellent service. Honest and reliable.. Will always use this firm.

Was this review helpful?

Bailey Smailes are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Since 1827 everyone who has walked through our door has benefited from expert, honest and straightforward advice. The care and attention we provide our clients is reflected in the fact that we still represent families in the 3rd & 4th generation: when we say heritage and expertise, we mean it. Bailey Smailes incorporates a number of long established Huddersfield based practices including Bailey Russell & Kelsey, Heap Marshall & Heeley and Smailes & Walker.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Equestrian property
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment