Solicitor at Eaton Smith LLP

Deborah Melluish

Solicitor - Partner

SRA ID: 152281

As head of the Corporate and Commercial Team Deborah uses her vast experience to advise her clients on all types of corporate transactions including mergers, acquisitions and disposals. Deborah's work also includes advising on business structures and restructuring, corporate finance, exit planning, joint ventures, family investment companies and commercial contracts. In addition, Deborah provides general advice and support to key decision makers so they have the guidance required to make the best decisions for their companies. Deborah's expertise means that she is able to deal with businesses of all sizes from SMEs to PLCs, and no matter what sector they operate in or whether they trade nationally or internationally. She also advises clients based outside the UK on business and transactions within the UK. Deborah handles both small scale and multimillion pound transactions and has recently worked on a variety of transactions including, a large number of share transactions which have involved investments into private companies as well as outright sales and purchases (including groups with international subsidiaries), a Management Buy-Out, business asset acquisitions including purchases from administrators, national and international joint ventures and mergers, refinancing, shareholder, partner and LLP member arrangements and legal issues relating to business planning and strategy as well as insolvency issues affecting businesses, directors and shareholders. She is involved with businesses at every stage of development and her recent work has also included putting in place and advising upon structures for new and existing business ventures and initiatives (including international trading and structures) and dealing with reorganisations.

14 High Street, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, HD1 2HA

Licensed for 30 years

Practice Areas

Company & Commercial, IT & Intellectual Property, Regulations

5.0/5 7 Client Reviews 7
  • Company & Commercial 33%
7 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Kelly
Kelly Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Eaton Smith LLP
Collected whilst working at Eaton Smith LLP
October 05, 2020 20201005084925

They made my job easy!

5

I cannot speak highly enough of Eaton Smith Solicitors. I have used them on several projects now and each time they have been excellent in managing the transaction from start to finish, making it really simple for me to just sign where necessary. Deborah has guided me through a pretty messy group restructure but she managed it efficiently and with an excellent level of professionalism. Always available to answer my queries the same day. A fantastic service that you can rely on. I actually met Deborah in a previous transaction when she was representing the opposing party and I thought, she's fab, I'm going to have her as my lawyer next time - and so I did!

Solicitor named in this review: Deborah Melluish

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Eaton Smith LLP
Collected whilst working at Eaton Smith LLP
October 05, 2020 20201005083737

Excellent Service

5

Just completed my first cooperate asset sale, and used Eaton Smith for the contract. I worked closely with Deborah throughout the process and have to commend her for several reasons. At point of contact I told her to be "gentle" with me as I have not been involved within such sales before and therefore the process was unknown. Deborah walked me through the whole process and as I came across challenges that I didn't understand she explained them to me in a clear and concise way. Secondly, the team were very proactive in following up with the buyers solicitors, and thirdly the team spotted issues with the contract as amended by the buyer but without discussion with myself. This last point is most important as an unscrupulous buyer may have been trying to manipulate the sale to their benefit....

So excellent service, a detailed an patient approach towards the entire process. Next time I sell off assets Eaton Smith will be the solicitors of choice.

Solicitor named in this review: Deborah Melluish

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew Schofield
Andrew Schofield Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Eaton Smith LLP
Collected whilst working at Eaton Smith LLP
October 03, 2020 20201003092716

Deborah Melluish

5

I have had occasion to work with Deborah several times over the past 15 years in both a business and personal capacity. I have always found her very knowledgeable, personable and pleasant to deal with. She always meets her deadlines (as long as she has the necessary information from her clients and other parties). I would highly recommend Deborah and other members of the Corporate team at Eaton Smith

Solicitor named in this review: Deborah Melluish

Was this review helpful? Yes

Eleanor
Verified Eleanor Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Eaton Smith LLP
Collected whilst working at Eaton Smith LLP
September 30, 2020 20200930010000

Company & Commercial

5

Eleanor recommends Eaton Smith LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Deborah Melluish

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 3 years ago Report to admin
Eaton Smith LLP
Collected whilst working at Eaton Smith LLP
October 19, 2018 20181019010000

Thanks to Eaton Smith’s and especially to yourself for all the support and advice you have given me over the years.

5

It’s like having a little suit of armour in the closet that you occasionally have to wear for protection. Mostly for special occasions and thankfully not too many times to do battle.

Solicitor named in this review: Deborah Melluish

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Verified Helen Added 4 years ago Report to admin
Eaton Smith LLP
Collected whilst working at Eaton Smith LLP
March 23, 2018 20180323201501

Business / Commercial

5

Excellent and professional advice as always!

Solicitor named in this review: Deborah Melluish

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 5 years ago Report to admin
Eaton Smith LLP
Collected whilst working at Eaton Smith LLP
May 10, 2017 20170510010000

Deborah and her team at Eaton Smith handled the recent sale of our family business exemplary showing 100% commitment to the lengthy transaction without faltering on their support both legally and personally.

5

The attention to detail in what was a complicated business deal meant that I felt in safe hands and the understanding and guidance offered throughout made it easier for me to comprehend the complexity of the legalities which were completely out of my comfort zone. I had complete trust in Deborah and the team and the dedication shown throughout meant I never felt alone or vulnerable in what was a stressful and emotional time. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Deborah Melluish and the team at Eaton Smith.

Solicitor named in this review: Deborah Melluish

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Deborah Melluish

As head of the Corporate and Commercial Team Deborah uses her vast experience to advise her clients on all types of corporate transactions including mergers, acquisitions and disposals. Deborah's work also includes advising on business structures and restructuring, corporate finance, exit planning, joint ventures, family investment companies and commercial contracts. In addition, Deborah provides general advice and support to key decision makers so they have the guidance required to make the best decisions for their companies. Deborah's expertise means that she is able to deal with businesses of all sizes from SMEs to PLCs, and no matter what sector they operate in or whether they trade nationally or internationally. She also advises clients based outside the UK on business and transactions within the UK. Deborah handles both small scale and multimillion pound transactions and has recently worked on a variety of transactions including, a large number of share transactions which have involved investments into private companies as well as outright sales and purchases (including groups with international subsidiaries), a Management Buy-Out, business asset acquisitions including purchases from administrators, national and international joint ventures and mergers, refinancing, shareholder, partner and LLP member arrangements and legal issues relating to business planning and strategy as well as insolvency issues affecting businesses, directors and shareholders. She is involved with businesses at every stage of development and her recent work has also included putting in place and advising upon structures for new and existing business ventures and initiatives (including international trading and structures) and dealing with reorganisations.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Deborah Melluish

Address

Eaton Smith LLP

14 High Street

Huddersfield

West Yorkshire



Phone 01484 821300

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

01/11/91

21/09/20

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

SRA-approved manager - Member

Eaton Smith

?-present