Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Eaton Smith LLP app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Eaton Smith LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Eaton Smith LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 3%
Overpriced 12%
About Right 83%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Eaton Smith LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Eaton Smith LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Eaton Smith LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Eaton Smith LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Eaton Smith LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    228
  • Very Good

    12
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Nabila

Nabila

August 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

HR support

My union signposted me to Eaton Smith when I had a situation at work, Eaton Smith were really helpful, their guidance and support through the matter has been absolutely amazing. Irina at the firm was handling the matter on my behalf and has been so helpful with her guidance and professionalism throughout. The support has helped me achieve a great outcome in a situation at work that was causing me stress.

Was this review helpful?

D Calvert

D Calvert

August 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Overall, I had a very positive view of the way I was dealt with. I have very little knowledge of matters of law, hence I felt the way I was dealt with was first class.

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Jonathan

July 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gross misconduct

Very stressful 12months, but with Irinas help and guidance , I became a strong person again

Was this review helpful?

Roger Oakley

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Roger Oakley

June 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Very happy with the service received in our Probate case handled by Rachael Wilkinson. She is hugely knowledgable in the complex law surrounding Probate and Estate administration and I'm sure a more competent person would be difficult to find. Always at the end of the telephone or email, prompt action to queries and always friendly & professional. Her ability to impart detailed legal information in layman's terms is also hugely appreciated. The wider team at Eaton Smith is also worth a positive mention. Great people work at this organisation.

Overall, very satisfied and I have no hesitation in recommending.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs S Lanccode

Mrs S Lanccode

June 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Very good service and the staff are very nice

Was this review helpful?

Craig

Craig

June 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Absolutely brilliant

I rang eaten Smith,yes,p,i, when i first rang didn't know what to expect, in the end better than I expected. James Johnston who dealt with my claims absolutely brilliant always on point, replying every question I had. Didn't have to brake sweat few things to sign all work done by there self's money landed today very happy with everything would recommend to any injured party.

Was this review helpful?

K. Brown

K. Brown

June 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Jo Jones provides clear and easy to understand guidance and delivers on her commitments in good time and with the highest professionalism.

Was this review helpful?

Sam

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Sam

June 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant team

Lindsey Preston is amazing I would highly recommend to anyone .

Was this review helpful?

Client

Client

April 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Recommend

Zahra went above and beyond with my case she knew everything I needed to know plus more,I would say we both went through this together and we got the right out come in the end;the truth always wins thanks for everythink Zahra your a credit to Eatonsmith and a pleasure to work with.

Was this review helpful?

Damien

Damien

April 24, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Advice and Support

I would definitely recommend Irina as an employment law solicitor. Irina was very helpful, both in terms of her legal knowledge and how detail orientated and thorough she was. She was prompt when it came to responding to me and very realistic in her advice. Above all, Irina was professional but also very empathic and supportive. This really makes a difference when one is going through a difficult situation.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Jenny

Jenny

March 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jenny

Long time since last visit....so change of staff meet & greet good on arrival. Gd facilities for room for interview. High standard of practice & knowledge. Time to digest information. Mints refreshing after long session .

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Michael

February 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Michael

Made phone calls and sent e mails they do not reply not what I would expect from a solicitor

Was this review helpful?

Jeannie

Jeannie

November 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jeannie

Excellent service, from being prompt seeing me, to the friendliest of the receptionist to Irina Polyakoza being fantastic.
Thank you
Highly recommended

Was this review helpful?

ian

ian

August 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

ian

Very friendly staff would recommend

Was this review helpful?

katy

katy

July 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

katy

Conveyancing is appauling.

Eaton Smith are the least responsive solicitors I've ever had the displeasure of coming across in 10 x purchases. In 3 days it will be 6 weeks waiting for a reply to basic queries (Eaton Smith represent my vendor). They took 2 months to forward the information pack (a pack that was already prepared from a previous purchaser who, I've been informed, pulled out because of Eaton Smiths poor service!)

I'll update this review as it progresses.

If this continues I'll be pulling out (unless the vendor uses a different solicitor - whom is NOT Eaton Smith!)

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Brian

Brian

May 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brian's experience...

A modern, efficient and well run Practice that goes the extra mile for it’s Clients. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Eaton Smith LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

The mergers of two large Huddersfield based law firms, Eaton Smith & Downey and Marshall Mills & Sykes, in 1997, created a strong, modern, forward thinking Yorkshire law firm that has continued to grow and develop and whose large teams of solicitors and other legal advisors have been using their extensive experience to get results for both individuals and businesses for many years, throughout the region, across the UK and internationally.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Trade Marks and Designs
Book an appointment