Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Eaton Smith LLP app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Eaton Smith LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Eaton Smith LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Eaton Smith LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Eaton Smith LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Eaton Smith LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Eaton Smith LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Eaton Smith LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    183
  • Very Good

    12
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    9

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Joanne

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Joanne

September 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

The most stressful 4 months of my life

From Day 1, Eaton Smith treated me and my house move in an appalling manner. The appointment me a solicitor who was away for a month, so could do nothng to progress my move

I rung up to chase things and staff were rude and quite frankly lied to me on numerous ocassions, trying to palm me off saying that things were moving. When in fact several weeks later, I found these to all be totally untrue and in fact fabricated.

I was initially given a solicitor, who has since been fired in relation to her inability to do her job. Why have Eaton Smith allowed this solicitor to still practise, if she could not do what she has been paid to do. These things do not happen overnight, yet you continued to assign cases to someone who was inadequate. Unless I called, literally nothing was done, by Eaton Smith. I am led to believe many other clients were left in limbo also, by this atrocious firm.

This is one of the many problems I faced with Eaton Smith, so I thought enough was enough and decided to put in a formal complaint. In line with their own complaints procedure, they should respond within 3 working days. After 9 days, I heard nothing so called Phil Clarke to raise this again, as they were not following their own complaints procedure. He eventually acknowledged my complaint.

After the acknowledgement, they should have a meeting, discuss this etc and get back to the complainant within 14 working days. It has now been 6 weeks and I have yet to recieve a reply at all. 11 days ago, I even chased this and pointed out their lack of response and yet they still have not responded.

Why have a complaints procedure in place, if you're just going to completely disregard it.

I think this just summarises Eaton Smith and the service I recieved from start to finish in its entirity. For your own sake, please do not use Eaton Smith for conveyencing. Moving house is one of the most stressful things you can do, but if your solicitors firm fabricates "facts" about progress and quite frankly does nothing, this makes the whole process more stressful.

I would give Eaton Smith a wide birth and certainley don't listen to their on hold drivel, about how customer service and satisfaction is important to them, because it is not.

Was this review helpful?

Graham

Graham

August 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Request for initial advice

Called on Friday morning was told I would get a call back immediately, I did not receive the call back until after lunch on the Tuesday (Monday bank holiday) taking a full day to call back. When called back there was a general lack of interest in dealing with me including statements such as "the dreaded Covid" excuse "the dreaded stamp duty excuse" not really an apology made in any way. Then moving on to the substance of my enquiry was told that it would be unlikely to get an appointment for up to two weeks and that I couldn't have an initial discussion with the solicitor in order to outline the complexity of my case but I would have to pay a charge for this upfront. I have moved my long term family loyalty in using this solicitor over the years to another provider.

Was this review helpful?

Dave

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eaton Smith LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Dave

August 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Eaton Smith - Laura Jo Warnock

Excellent service doesn't get recognised as often as it should, however havign recently had the support from Eaton Smith and in particular Laura Jo Warnock and her team i couldn't let this opportunity pass.

Fromn the outset, and with no prior experience, relationships were built, communication channels fully open and timely responses. In summary, outstanding service were everything just happened as it should.

Thank you again Laura Jo.

Was this review helpful?

Hanson

Hanson

August 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Despite the problems caused by the pandemic lockdowns the service provided has been maintained at the excellent service level I had enjoyed in previous dealings.

Was this review helpful?

Palmer

Palmer

July 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Professional advice was excellent throughout and Jo Jones was a pleasure to work with.

Was this review helpful?

Julie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Julie

July 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding practise.

Stacey took over the management of my remortgage and transfer of equity through my divorce. I’m so grateful she did. She was so personable and kept me updated throughout. She helped me remain calm when I was feeling quite overwhelmed with it all. She was efficient and meticulous to the detail. I know she must have had lots of cases on her books whilst working on mine. But she always made time instantly for me whenever I needed to ask her a question. I would highly recommend her for both her work standard but also her relatable manner. She helped me understand terms that I didn’t know and gave me the timeframe that I needed to help me see the end point. I’m so grateful to her. Thanks so much Stacey.

Was this review helpful?

J. Kay

J. Kay

July 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

You need to feel comfortable with your solicitor. I had chatted with two before seeing Zahra and knew that I wanted her to represent me. I felt at ease with her and she spoke in 'non legal' terms that I understood and explained in depth anything that I was struggling with.

Was this review helpful?

Kuldip

Kuldip

June 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Everything was well managed, carefully and professionally by Megan. The zoom call was a perfect way to communicate details in one sitting which covered all the questions and answers.

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Mark

June 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Top solicitor firm

Very happy with the service provided by Eaton Smith.

Helpful and informative, they were a pleasure to work with and helped me resolve my situation with ease.

I would highly recommend their services

Was this review helpful?

Sarah

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sarah

June 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Decided to go with Eaton Smith after receiving a very competitive conveyancing quote. Stacey was very patient and helpful throughout. Would recommend for a friendly service.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

ian

ian

August 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

ian

Very friendly staff would recommend

Was this review helpful?

katy

katy

July 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

katy

Conveyancing is appauling.

Eaton Smith are the least responsive solicitors I've ever had the displeasure of coming across in 10 x purchases. In 3 days it will be 6 weeks waiting for a reply to basic queries (Eaton Smith represent my vendor). They took 2 months to forward the information pack (a pack that was already prepared from a previous purchaser who, I've been informed, pulled out because of Eaton Smiths poor service!)

I'll update this review as it progresses.

If this continues I'll be pulling out (unless the vendor uses a different solicitor - whom is NOT Eaton Smith!)

Was this review helpful?

Caroline

Caroline

March 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Caroline

Always helpful and polite dont have to wait ages on the phone for someone to answer.

Was this review helpful?

Nicola

Nicola

January 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nicola

Chris came recommended from friends who had used him for moves in different areas some with quite complicated purchases and I could see why, Chris is friendly and knowledgeable. Ours was a house move due to covid the process took longer than anticipated however Chris's expertise meant no delays from our side, his experience meant he could foresee possible issues and advise so that they could be addressed before they had any impact.  Fully updated throughout the whole process and never needed to chase made the move seemless! Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Barry

Barry

November 03, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Barry

Excellent

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Brian

Brian

May 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brian's experience...

A modern, efficient and well run Practice that goes the extra mile for it’s Clients. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Eaton Smith LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

The mergers of two large Huddersfield based law firms, Eaton Smith & Downey and Marshall Mills & Sykes, in 1997, created a strong, modern, forward thinking Yorkshire law firm that has continued to grow and develop and whose large teams of solicitors and other legal advisors have been using their extensive experience to get results for both individuals and businesses for many years, throughout the region, across the UK and internationally.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Trade Marks and Designs
Book an appointment