Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Eaton Smith LLP app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Eaton Smith LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Eaton Smith LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Eaton Smith LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 4%
Overpriced 8%
About Right 86%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Eaton Smith LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Eaton Smith LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Eaton Smith LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Eaton Smith LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Eaton Smith LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    352
  • Very Good

    17
  • Average

    3
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    14

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Vicki and Tony

Vicki and Tony

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Excellent service from Eaton Smith and James Clarkson in particular. Good communication and very good explanation of what was required/happening in terms we could understand and feel confident in. Questions and phone calls answered promptly - a thoroughly good experience all round.

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eaton Smith LLP.

Matter Type:

Accidents In Public Places

Rebecca

May 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Compensation

Easy to deal with kept me well informed worked my case

Was this review helpful?

Sophie Moran

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eaton Smith LLP.

Sophie Moran

May 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

Extremely happy with my solicitor Mr Nick Berry, got me brilliant results and remained professional and super responsive at all times

Was this review helpful?

Mr. Martyn Townley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eaton Smith LLP.

Matter Type:

Medical Negligence

Mr. Martyn Townley

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A first class experience at a difficult time.

My dear late departed father was seriously injured in a NHS hospital waiting for treatment for what should have been a trivial matter. Mr. Nick Berry of Eaton Smith Solicitors provided a route map through the minefield of claiming compensation. At all times, I felt "in the loop" as the claim progressed.

The outcome was a compensation payment.

However, far more important was the sense of closure provided by this positive outcome.

Thoroughly recommended.

Mr. Martyn Townley.

Was this review helpful?

Robert waite

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eaton Smith LLP.

Robert waite

May 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Compensation

Nick berry who sorted all my stuff out he was patient with me and the other parties we got a great result thank you very much

Was this review helpful?

Alan and Susan Jackson

Alan and Susan Jackson

April 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Very pleased with the service provided from the start until completion. Can't think of anything that could be done to improve the service.

Was this review helpful?

Jacqueline

Jacqueline

April 25, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

I received a first class service from Eaton Smith Solicitors. The representative was very professional and knowledgeable, taking time to listen to what I wanted and explaining legal matters to me.

Was this review helpful?

Nick Berry

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eaton Smith LLP.

Nick Berry

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Negligence

Nick Berry was very helpful professional, polite and kept me updated through out my claim in a timely manner.
Even though the case had to be closed he again explained the pros and cons and we decided it was best to close the case.
I really appreciate his kindness and support throughout this process.
So thanks Nick
Delia Oldfield

Was this review helpful?

Anon

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eaton Smith LLP.

Anon

March 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Service - Clear, Concise and professional

Working with Chris has been an absolutely fantastic experience. He was professional and clear about all of his advice. Chris is incredibly knowledeable about his area but also around the challenges the games industry currently faces and I appreciated being able to talk candidly and ask for advice on areas that I think other firms would not have understood. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and will be coming back for any further legal support in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Nick Berry

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eaton Smith LLP.

Nick Berry

February 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

My case

I found my solicitor Nick Berry to be very professional with my legal case. Great communication skills from start to finish. I knew exactly what was happening throughout my case. He showed understanding and kindness. A great Solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Gisela

Gisela

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gisela

I recently had the misfortune of dealing with Eaton Smith Solicitors ( Zahra was her name) and I must say that the negative reviews are completely accurate. I strongly advise against using their services. Despite their claims of professionalism, I found that they provided no useful advice whatsoever. My inquiries were met with vague responses, and I felt completely unsupported throughout the entire process. It was a frustrating and unproductive experience, and I regret not heeding the warnings from other dissatisfied clients. Save yourself the trouble and find a more competent and reliable firm.

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca

Rebecca

May 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rebecca

Kept me well informed at all times

Was this review helpful?

Sophie

Sophie

May 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sophie

Extremely happy with my solicitor Mr Nick Berry, got me brilliant results and remained professional and super responsive at all times

Was this review helpful?

Nigel

Nigel

March 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nigel

IAN HOLDSWORTH (solicitor) and ANNE WILSON (PA) have done a fantastic job with the purchase of our new woodland! I never thought I'd ever be doing a review for a solicitors! As I've fallen out with all of them due to their extra hidden costs or "extra photocoping" 🙄
However, I can only recommend these two people as they are the only ones I actually dealt with.
Ian spent the time and effort, explaining the whole procedure. He's a proper down to earth Yorkshire man! One of the main reasons for doing this review, is because he kept to his word and didn't charge any hidden fees! And in my book, that means a lot! 😀
Once again, thank you for being the best team I've ever come across! We'll definitely use you again!

Nigel & Claire 😊

Was this review helpful?

Jane

Jane

February 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jane

I would like to thank Lindsay Preston for representing me. I cannot recommend her enough! Lindsay represented me on my claim that required so much detail. She was professional yet determined to see the best outcome. Do not hesitate to have her represent you, her and her team worked so hard to see my case be successful. Thank you again.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Judith Ann

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Judith Ann

September 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Judith Ann's experience...

Very professional and friendly and efficient. I would recommend Eatonsmith to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Abbas

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Abbas

September 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Abbas 's experience...

Third time I have used this firm to buy and sell properties. Definitely recommend and will use again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Brian

Brian

May 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brian's experience...

A modern, efficient and well run Practice that goes the extra mile for it’s Clients. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Eaton Smith LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

The mergers of two large Huddersfield based law firms, Eaton Smith & Downey and Marshall Mills & Sykes, in 1997, created a strong, modern, forward thinking Yorkshire law firm that has continued to grow and develop and whose large teams of solicitors and other legal advisors have been using their extensive experience to get results for both individuals and businesses for many years, throughout the region, across the UK and internationally.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Trade Marks and Designs
Book an appointment