Partner at Ames Kent

Katherine Oakes

Partner

Katherine (also known as Kate) has worked at Ames Kent since 2002 when she started as an office junior. She is now a partner with Michael Rogers. Her area of specialism is private client work; she has dealt with a variety of complex estates including high net estates, capital gains tax liabilities, trusts and estates with foreign and business assets. Kate is a Licensed Probate Practitioner and Licensed Conveyancer. Kate is very experienced with the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and has helped many clients in the local area with their Wills and Lasting Power of Attorneys. She prides herself on her excellent client care and approachable manner. She is a Commissioner for Oaths. Kate enjoys spending time with her family, amateur DIY and cooking.

26 King Street, BA11 1BH

Licensed for 5 years

Practice Areas

Family Law, Agriculture, Wills, Trusts & Probate, Housing & Property

4.9/5 59 Client Reviews 59
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate 71%
  • Family Law 3%
  • Housing & Property 23%
  • Agriculture 3%
59 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    55
  • Very Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Claire
Verified Claire Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
May 30, 2024 20240530124000

First Class Service

5

Katherine provided a first class service during the Will making process. Everything was explained, and the whole process was very quick and painless. I have already recommended Ames Kent to another member of the family who wishes to make a Will.

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
May 22, 2024 20240522130233

Extremely Happy with the Service they Provided

5

I needed to write a new Will. The service was great value and easy to use. The advice around changes related to marriage and how to protect the interests of my daughter were valuable. I was also happy and relieved to have appointed the firm to act as Trustees. I have already instructed them on another matter and will continue to use them for other work. This firm of solicitors were recommended by a colleague who was very happy with the service and I am happy I used them as well.

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

Katherine Oakes from Ames Kent responded to this review on 28 May, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
May 17, 2024 20240517165325

Current Update of Will/Previous Raising of POA

5

First dealings with these solicitors was nearly 50 years ago when they handled my divorce. Was very impressed with professionalism. Therefore I have consulted them since in all matters e.g. Will, POA's and if necessary any future issues!

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

Katherine Oakes from Ames Kent responded to this review on 28 May, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Phil
Verified Phil Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
May 17, 2024 20240517164829

Friendly and Professional

5

We have always used Katherine and her team for our legal requirements as we value their friendliness and approachability. We feel very confident in their legal expertise and are always happy to recommend them.

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

Katherine Oakes from Ames Kent responded to this review on 28 May, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
May 17, 2024 20240517164425

New Wills and Power of Attorneys

5

Very well explained and went through all processes. Listened to our requirements and acted on them. A very good service and quick as well.

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

Katherine Oakes from Ames Kent responded to this review on 28 May, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
May 16, 2024 20240516160847

Dealing with Administration of Deceased Friend

5

I am not accustomed to calling on the help of a solicitor - so do not know that to expect. However I was very satisfied with the manner in which they have acted, on my behalf, in dealing with the closure of my late friends' estate.

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

Katherine Oakes from Ames Kent responded to this review on 28 May, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gill
Verified Gill Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
May 16, 2024 20240516160115

Helpful and clear legal service

4

Helpful and clear legal service

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

Katherine Oakes from Ames Kent responded to this review on 28 May, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ann
Verified Ann Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
May 10, 2024 20240510100947

Excellent Service

5

I would like to thank Katherine Oakes from Ames Kent for her excellent work, professionalism, friendliness and approachability. The whole experience from start to conclusion was problem free. I have no hesitation in recommending Ames Kent and I will definitely be using them in the future.

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

Katherine Oakes from Ames Kent responded to this review on 28 May, 2024

Thank you for taking the time out to leave a review. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Verified Peter Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
April 25, 2024 20240425164840

Leasehold Special

5

Excellent from the first time I entered the door of their office. I have been impressed from the first moment. Service, enquiries, dispatch of information are all excellent. Many thanks

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

Katherine Oakes from Ames Kent responded to this review on 28 May, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 3 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Ames Kent
March 14, 2024 20240314125341

Professional, efficient Solicitors that I trust!

5

A friendly and personable approach to complicated issues. Everything was explained in simple English and every issue covered. Issues were completed in a professional manner and in good time. A pleasure to come to you with all legal matters.

Lawyer named in this review: Katherine Oakes

A representative from Ames Kent responded to this review on 25 March, 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback .

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Katherine Oakes

Katherine (also known as Kate) has worked at Ames Kent since 2002 when she started as an office junior. She is now a partner with Michael Rogers. Her area of specialism is private client work; she has dealt with a variety of complex estates including high net estates, capital gains tax liabilities, trusts and estates with foreign and business assets. Kate is a Licensed Probate Practitioner and Licensed Conveyancer. Kate is very experienced with the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and has helped many clients in the local area with their Wills and Lasting Power of Attorneys. She prides herself on her excellent client care and approachable manner. She is a Commissioner for Oaths. Kate enjoys spending time with her family, amateur DIY and cooking.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Katherine Oakes

Address

Ames Kent

26 King Street

BA11 1BH



Phone 1373462017

Website

Resume

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Compliance Officer for Finance and Administration

Ames Kent

?-present