Request a callback

Book an appointment

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Butterworths Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Butterworths on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Butterworths. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 86%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Butterworths and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Butterworths performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 86%
No 14%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 88%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Butterworths and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Butterworths compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 88%
No 12%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Butterworths offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.5/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    169
  • Very Good

    9
  • Average

    4
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    19

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Simone

Simone

November 05, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Poor service

I have hired delay again flights in May 2019 after my flights was cancelled in the last minute – 4 days- 1 week prior of my bookings.
I was informed by delay again flight administration people –solicitors that I could persuade my claims even if it was bought through the travel agency due to a short notice given - less than 14 days which is obligated by law.
My claim was acceptable and directed for Butterworths Solicitors Company.
Butterworths Solicitors Company – Delay again flights asked me to sign a lot of papers – They are acting on my behalf.
I have had a very poor service in terms of communication through phone calls and emails to find out about my process.
I was communicating with one of the staff that reported to me that it could take 18 months to be solved.
I was in my right and they were waiting for the airline to defend themselves regarding my claim.
I had a full refund of my ticket cost. However, I did this claim due to the stress I had that time with the cancellation at the last minute. Furthermore, I had to buy a new flight tickets which I did not pay the same amount as my previous ticket.
I did this claim not because of the compensation which I would get only 250 euros.
My point to go all this way - through solicitors was to reach the airline in terms of moral damage with a cancellation at the last minute.
Where is the customer service care, commitments?
I would like the airline understanding the stress and the moral damaged them caused me.
I was waiting for my compensation. I am sure that I am right to get it due to the facts.
A month ago when it was about to finish my case (18 months later 2020) and to get my compensation Butterworths Solicitors Company contact me saying that they revised my case and that they would not continue due to my tickets were bought through an agency.
This company is not trustable they knew very well since the begriming of my claims that my tickets was bought through agency and they accepted my case.
How I know that they did not continued to persuade my case and/or did get or not the compensation; and kept the compensation money?
It is only 250 euros, but if it is calculated for every customer that had the same experience as me how much would be?
I am a honest citizen that contact this company to try to persuade my rights against people that take advance of you, but what I get it was a very poor service. If my signature in lots of papers.
I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY

Was this review helpful?

Wayne

Wayne

February 12, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Service from start to finish. Highly recommend

Never had such a dedicated team who helped me and my wife with the purchase of our house so much. When they say they do something they did it straight away and phoned on the dot every day with any updates. Gemma and her team were brilliant. Would highly recommend Butterworths to anyone, you will not be disappointed with the service they give. If I could give more stars I would. If we move again i will be using Butterworth again.

Was this review helpful?

julius

julius

April 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

USELESS

Failed to collect the deposit from the buyer on exchange of contract and then left me hanging when the buyer failed to complete as if nothing had happened. No apologies, no compensation, nothing nothing.

Was this review helpful?

Tony

Tony

March 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very happy

Couldn’t be faulted at all, extremely happy and am using again.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

March 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly service

Very friendly and professional service Laura always responded to my emails within hours which these days is amazing!

Was this review helpful?

Philippa

Philippa

February 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Butterworths provided an excellent service to my partner and I whilst we were buying our first home. We chose to instruct Butterworths due to their straight forward quote and their rapid response time. We were not disappointed. They provided us with access to an app which allowed us to track where we were in the process and highlighted all of the stages. Gill was our conveyancer and she went above and beyond to get the sale completed before Christmas. If you want an honest firm, with no hidden charges and helpful staff then I can't recommend Butterworths enough.

Was this review helpful?

Janet

Janet

January 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you Christine

Very impressed by Christine

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Simon

January 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

No fuss or drama

I thought the whole thing was great - I can't believe how smoothly it went. I kept waiting for delays or complications, but none came. Christine was in total control. No fuss, no drama. Problems were all solved quickly.

Was this review helpful?

Derek

Derek

December 15, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Christine was excellent

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Robert

November 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Satisfied client

Satisfied it all went through.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Helen

Helen

May 26, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Helen

I used Butterworths for my recent house purchase. I cannot fault them. Seamless from start to finish and all done and dusted very quickly. Sarah was always very helpful and responded in a timely manner to phone calls or emails. Thankyou very much.

Was this review helpful?

Giulia

Giulia

June 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Giulia

Butterworths represented me following a car accident I had. I dealt initially with Jonathan and then Sarah. Both were really communicative and helpful throughout and supported me throughout the process and insurance claim.

Was this review helpful?

Ana

Ana

November 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ana

Great solicitors

Was this review helpful?

martin

martin

June 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

martin

Friendly and very helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matthew

December 18, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matthew

Danielle dealt with our purchase and we cannot fault the service we received.

Friendly staff and a professional service.

Understanding and empathetic - top qualities for any legal matter.

We would recommend Danielle and Butterworths to anyone looking at buying or selling and needing conveyancing.

Thanks again for all your hard work, advice and dedication to getting us in before Christmas!

Was this review helpful?

Butterworths are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Based in the North of England we offer high-quality, sensible legal advice to clients seeking professional help and easy to access support. Whether the matter is of a personal or business nature, you can be sure that you will receive outstanding advice tailored to meet your own needs and which reflects your own personal circumstances. You can be sure you are in safe hands every time.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment