Cunningtons LLP

Also known as - Cunningtons

3.1/5 15 Client Reviews Leave a review

How Cunningtons LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Cunningtons LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Become Verified

Cunningtons LLP has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors

Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You


15 Client Reviews

3.1/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    7
Anonymous
Click to rate
Ian
Ian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 26, 2020 20200326130428

Simply the best

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

These people absolutely could not do enough to help me move, The solicitor even booked me a sunny day to move! I think she was joking. Wonderful people, nice to do business with.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
February 10, 2020 20200210114925

Family law (Divorce).

1

f you need a fast response look elsewhere!.

Whilst going through emotional divorce I went to Braintree office and they said what they would do to help in the most efficient, productive and least expensive way.

Took many days and several emails plus telephone calls (To which they even charged to read chasing emails) to get unsatisfactory or delaying replies. The person is in court, not in today, cannot retrieve emails remotely etc etc.

After several weeks of not moving forward I had to dismiss them and go elsewhere. Wasted money but even more so made a simple divorce a long dragged out process.

Look elsewhere if you need matrimonial or family law help.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 27, 2021 20210427141107

Very professional and friendly solicitors

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Thank you Mohammed Moula, Surinderpal, Amy, and the team at Ilford for a very professional service. A real team effort by everybody. Moving can be a stressful time and the team at Cunningtons were calm and friendly throughout. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Liping
Liping Added 3 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 01, 2021 20210201154907

The worst service I had ever got

1

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

If you are looking into the feedback, do pay attention to the negative one as they are more likely tell the true.

I am very regretted to use their service. It is time to break my silence to alarm the public.

Firstly, my purchase was seriously delayed. It took nearly 10 months to completion, and another 5 months passed, I still could not get my title registered.
They required to do the simultaneous exchange and completion during the pandemic, which the seller rejected with good reason. Although I explained to them that it was not my best interest not to process it at all, but they asked me to sign an addition provision which meant I had to pay hundreds extra, I refused. Finally they forced me to sign a disclaimer to move this forward, and I had to renew my mortgage deals and pay extra for my expired local search. Now, my title still could not be registered no matter how many times I had to chase, even they can not give me an answer about what exactly happened. The whole process is full of stress and painful.

Second, the quote they gave me may be a bit cheaper than the other high street solicitors, but they will find any chances later to ask you to buy any insurances they can fit in. At the end, I was forced to paid £1056.80 in total, which they got commission of £388.80, comparing the total premium of £668 itself! To be honest, I am the third time buyer, apart from the Chancel indemnity which we usually need to buy, I never heard of the others.

Third, the communication was terrible. During the lockdown, they worked from home, although I kept asking for the direct contact number just in case, but she insisted email only. It took days for her to respond my emails, even not respond at all. Thinking about that she dealed with my purchase with hundreds of thousands pounds, and I can not speak to her when I need to, what a shame!

Enough is enough. Even the estate agent added them to the blacklist, not allow to use them any more. If you are considering to use their service, think again!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emily
Emily Added 4 months ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 13, 2021 20210113124933

Poor service

1

They really messed me around and completely wasted my time. Unresponsive and dishonest.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Danh
Danh Added 1 year ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 22, 2020 20200422221016

Very poor service

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

- Took ages for the solicitor to reply to our queries and ALWAYS had to ff up
- Unable to help us with our mortgage and ended up transferring to another (better) solicitor
- Wasted our time and money; had to pay extra in the end for the `service` that we really did not get

Solicitor named in this review: Satwant Kaur Singh

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christina
Christina Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 21, 2020 20200121170959

Conveyancing

5

The recent sale of my house was effortless for me as Cunningtons in Wickford handled everything promptly and efficiently. I was kept fully informed at all times and am certainly very satisfied with their service.

Solicitor named in this review: Kate Hunt

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ray
Ray Added 1 year ago 7 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 10, 2020 20200110145003

Avoid

1

I had an absolutely torrid time with Cunningtons, so feel it's worth writing this review so as to warn other potential customers. I used them (the Braintree office) between April and August 2019, for the purchase and sale of properties. One of the worst aspects was the lack of communication throughout the whole process. For example, the online portal that was supposed to show the up-to-date status of transactions was always out of date. When I asked why this was, I was told 'it takes a while to update', which sort of defeats the purpose (?!). Another major issue were their archaic processes (e.g. 48-hour SLA for replies to emails, which seems pretty insane for 2019!), difficulty in getting through to the solicitor by phone, and no clear English in their documents. (It took many reads of their documents to understand what they meant and what actions I needed to take). Furthermore (and crucially for any property purchaser), I had feedback from my seller that the nature of the communications they had with his solicitor were so unprofessional that he was seriously considering rethinking the sale. Obviously I cannot necessarily confirm that's the case as I'm not a solicitor, but the fact that a seller would make the effort to tell me this speaks volumes, given everything else I've mentioned. I continued to stick with Cunningtons, given that I had used them many years ago with no problems. I also believed that other solicitors would be just as bad (given that it's rare to hear about a good one...). My sale was pretty stressful as my buyer pulled out (this was not to do with Cunningtons). It took me a while to find another buyer but when I did, I asked Cunningtons if they were able to pick up the work for my sale again, I also shared with them some of my concerns about their work so far and telling them I was thinking of using another solicitor. I received an email abruptly from them the next day suddenly saying they could no longer continue with the transaction. This was obviousy hugely stressful given the very precarious point my sale was at... When I asked the solicitor about why I had received this email, I was told they didn't believe they could continue, owing to the amount of work to the timescales required (?!). This meant I had to take a day off work to find a new solicitor to avoid any risk of my new buyer pulling out too. The only silver lining was that the solicitor I switched to was like a dream... excellent communication, clear documents, fast work... things went like clockwork. (This also made me realise you *can* find good solicitors after all, and how bad a service I had been getting from Cunningtons.) I would raise a formal complaint with Cunningtons, but the whole buying and selling process was so all-consuming and stressful that by the time I finally moved last month, I had no more energy/inclination. I'm writing this review now purely to tell anyone else who's thinking of using them to avoid. (Conversely, I've left a positive review for the solicitor who actually completed my transaction...)

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 04, 2019 20190904160153

Excellent conveyancing

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Cunningtons recently handled the conveyancing for a property sale on my behalf and I was extremely satisfied with their services. Everything went very smoothly, they kept me fully informed right through the process and responded very promptly to my enquiries. I have bought and sold property before with other solicitors and this was definitely a superior experience.

I have also recently had cause to use them for other matters and found them equally helpful and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 19, 2019 20190719083003

House sale

5

This is not the first time that I have used Cunningtons. The last time was in 2012. I contacted them again as a result of my previous experiences and I have not been disappointed. From the very first telephone contact, I have been dealt with in a most professional manner. I was given a fixed price, the details of which were clearly explained. Many matters have been dealt with via email, in as far as regulations allow. When having telephoned to ascertain progress, my calls have been dealt with promptly and the automated email progress reports are very useful and reassuring. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this professional service and, if the need occurs in future, will certainly use again. The Solicitor who dealt with my sale was Mohammed and the Conveyancing Assistant was Surinderpal, both consummate professionals.

Solicitor named in this review: Mohammed Gulam Moula

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services