Get advice now

Get advice now

Cunningtons LLP

01376 326868

Also known as - Cunningtons

View map
Cunningtons LLP

How Cunningtons LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 59%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Cunningtons LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 66%
About Right 33%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 63%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Cunningtons LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Cunningtons LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 63%
No 37%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 63%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Cunningtons LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Cunningtons LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 63%
No 37%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Cunningtons LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Cunningtons LLP has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

3.4/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    11
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    7

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Sarah

Sarah

October 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

sale and purchase with Sarah-Louise

We recently sold and purchased using Sarah-Louise. We never had any problems getting answers to our multitude of questions, and everything was completed extremely thoroughly. We trusted her implicitly as our onward purchase was for an unusual property and she highlighted all the issues and how to remedy them to protect ourselves. Everything was done timely and efficiently and I would have no hesitation in recommending her to any of my friends and family

Was this review helpful?

Becki

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Becki

October 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Could not be happier!

We’ve just recently moved house and had such a great experience using Cunningtons. Sarah couldn’t have been more organised, patient (we had buyers pull out), informative and reassuring each step of the way. I would recommend to anyone looking to move house and wouldn’t use anyone else in future.

Was this review helpful?

Becki

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Becki

October 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Could not be happier!

We’ve just recently moved house and had such a great experience using Cunningtons. Sarah couldn’t have been more organised, patient (we had buyers pull out), informative and reassuring each step of the way. I would recommend to anyone looking to move house and wouldn’t use anyone else in future.

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Emily

January 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Poor service

They really messed me around and completely wasted my time. Unresponsive and dishonest.

Was this review helpful?

Ray

Ray

January 10, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid

I had an absolutely torrid time with Cunningtons, so feel it's worth writing this review so as to warn other potential customers. I used them (the Braintree office) between April and August 2019, for the purchase and sale of properties. One of the worst aspects was the lack of communication throughout the whole process. For example, the online portal that was supposed to show the up-to-date status of transactions was always out of date. When I asked why this was, I was told 'it takes a while to update', which sort of defeats the purpose (?!). Another major issue were their archaic processes (e.g. 48-hour SLA for replies to emails, which seems pretty insane for 2019!), difficulty in getting through to the solicitor by phone, and no clear English in their documents. (It took many reads of their documents to understand what they meant and what actions I needed to take). Furthermore (and crucially for any property purchaser), I had feedback from my seller that the nature of the communications they had with his solicitor were so unprofessional that he was seriously considering rethinking the sale. Obviously I cannot necessarily confirm that's the case as I'm not a solicitor, but the fact that a seller would make the effort to tell me this speaks volumes, given everything else I've mentioned. I continued to stick with Cunningtons, given that I had used them many years ago with no problems. I also believed that other solicitors would be just as bad (given that it's rare to hear about a good one...). My sale was pretty stressful as my buyer pulled out (this was not to do with Cunningtons). It took me a while to find another buyer but when I did, I asked Cunningtons if they were able to pick up the work for my sale again, I also shared with them some of my concerns about their work so far and telling them I was thinking of using another solicitor. I received an email abruptly from them the next day suddenly saying they could no longer continue with the transaction. This was obviousy hugely stressful given the very precarious point my sale was at... When I asked the solicitor about why I had received this email, I was told they didn't believe they could continue, owing to the amount of work to the timescales required (?!). This meant I had to take a day off work to find a new solicitor to avoid any risk of my new buyer pulling out too. The only silver lining was that the solicitor I switched to was like a dream... excellent communication, clear documents, fast work... things went like clockwork. (This also made me realise you *can* find good solicitors after all, and how bad a service I had been getting from Cunningtons.) I would raise a formal complaint with Cunningtons, but the whole buying and selling process was so all-consuming and stressful that by the time I finally moved last month, I had no more energy/inclination. I'm writing this review now purely to tell anyone else who's thinking of using them to avoid. (Conversely, I've left a positive review for the solicitor who actually completed my transaction...)

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Paul

April 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional and friendly solicitors

Thank you Mohammed Moula, Surinderpal, Amy, and the team at Ilford for a very professional service. A real team effort by everybody. Moving can be a stressful time and the team at Cunningtons were calm and friendly throughout. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Liping

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Liping

February 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

The worst service I had ever got

If you are looking into the feedback, do pay attention to the negative one as they are more likely tell the true.

I am very regretted to use their service. It is time to break my silence to alarm the public.

Firstly, my purchase was seriously delayed. It took nearly 10 months to completion, and another 5 months passed, I still could not get my title registered.
They required to do the simultaneous exchange and completion during the pandemic, which the seller rejected with good reason. Although I explained to them that it was not my best interest not to process it at all, but they asked me to sign an addition provision which meant I had to pay hundreds extra, I refused. Finally they forced me to sign a disclaimer to move this forward, and I had to renew my mortgage deals and pay extra for my expired local search. Now, my title still could not be registered no matter how many times I had to chase, even they can not give me an answer about what exactly happened. The whole process is full of stress and painful.

Second, the quote they gave me may be a bit cheaper than the other high street solicitors, but they will find any chances later to ask you to buy any insurances they can fit in. At the end, I was forced to paid £1056.80 in total, which they got commission of £388.80, comparing the total premium of £668 itself! To be honest, I am the third time buyer, apart from the Chancel indemnity which we usually need to buy, I never heard of the others.

Third, the communication was terrible. During the lockdown, they worked from home, although I kept asking for the direct contact number just in case, but she insisted email only. It took days for her to respond my emails, even not respond at all. Thinking about that she dealed with my purchase with hundreds of thousands pounds, and I can not speak to her when I need to, what a shame!

Enough is enough. Even the estate agent added them to the blacklist, not allow to use them any more. If you are considering to use their service, think again!

Was this review helpful?

Danh

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Danh

April 22, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very poor service

- Took ages for the solicitor to reply to our queries and ALWAYS had to ff up
- Unable to help us with our mortgage and ended up transferring to another (better) solicitor
- Wasted our time and money; had to pay extra in the end for the `service` that we really did not get

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ian

March 26, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simply the best

These people absolutely could not do enough to help me move, The solicitor even booked me a sunny day to move! I think she was joking. Wonderful people, nice to do business with.

Was this review helpful?

David

David

February 10, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family law (Divorce).

f you need a fast response look elsewhere!.

Whilst going through emotional divorce I went to Braintree office and they said what they would do to help in the most efficient, productive and least expensive way.

Took many days and several emails plus telephone calls (To which they even charged to read chasing emails) to get unsatisfactory or delaying replies. The person is in court, not in today, cannot retrieve emails remotely etc etc.

After several weeks of not moving forward I had to dismiss them and go elsewhere. Wasted money but even more so made a simple divorce a long dragged out process.

Look elsewhere if you need matrimonial or family law help.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Human Rights
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety