Get advice now

Get advice now

Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited

01622 687777

Also known as :

  • Cook Taylor Woodhouse
View map
Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited

How Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 52%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 100%
About Right 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 29%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 29%
No 71%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 41%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 41%
No 59%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Cook Taylor Woodhouse Limited has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

2.2/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    5
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    12

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Jessica

Jessica

August 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid at all cost.

Dreadful Experience. Ended up doing the work myself towards the end.

Never got phone calls returned, when demanded a reply got threatened and told it would cost more.

Most stressful experience in just trying ti get hold of them, wish I pulled out when I had the chance but glad I stuck with it now(Thanks to my selling Agent)

Pretty sure at some points she had no idea what she was doing.

Just avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful?

Louise

Louise

November 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very disappointed with service

I could never get through and messages left were never answered ..I had to chase up everything, as did my estate agent. I even had to chase my money as it wasn't received on the completion day I received it 3 days later after eventually getting though and a very stressful weekend.
I wouldn't recommend them at all

Was this review helpful?

S

S

January 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

One Star is too generous

I can say that hand on heart dealing with Hugo Parnell at the Maidstone Office is quite possibly one of the most traumatic experiences we have ever had. How this man qualified as a Conveyancer is beyond me. A simple purchase from a family member turned into a 5-month ordeal causing a huge amount of stress to two family members who are in their 70's. Cook Taylor Woodhouse are quite frankly a far cry from the once decent firm they used to be and thanks to their total lack of professionalism and woeful service ended up costing us thousands in additional stamp duty. Letters that were written to the MD Martin Bowers were ignored as were various communications to their so called business development manager Diane Searle. All who were involved in this transaction went out of their way to purposely delay our transaction which I find totally unacceptable. If my in-laws had more fight in them they would without hesitation report Cook Taylor Woodhouse to the law society.
I hope this true account of our first hand experience with this firm goes some way in deterring others from having to go through the same ordeal we did .

Was this review helpful?

Ray

Matter Type:

Housing

Ray

January 24, 2017

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase/Sale of properties.

Very good friendly service with rapid responses to phone calls and good advise. Would recommend for sale or purchase

Was this review helpful?

Steven

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Steven

May 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Shambolic and expensive

A truly 'unsatisfactory' experience. Used CTW for a house purchase by recommendation, what a mistake! They were incredibly difficult to work with, uncommunicative, obstinate, and 'inept' at project management. To get through this nine-month ordeal for a chain-free purchase I felt like I had to follow up on everything to avoid my case being forgotten about - if I left things for more than a week and followed up most times nothing had been done or they didn't know what the case was. They would very rarely respond to actions or emails... to top it off I received a hefty bill well over the original quote, I guess I had to pay for all the time they wasted to! .....RUNNNNN!

Was this review helpful?

Sophie

Sophie

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant service

Andrew and Brook at Cook Taylor Woodhouse couldn’t have provided a better service! We just completed on our first home and they were brilliant from start to finish, very informative, professional, helpful and fast! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a solicitor, especially for first time buyers.

Was this review helpful?

lynne

lynne

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A Perfect Service

We have just purchased a property and used Cook Taylor Woodhouse as our solicitors. We had used them some 9 yrs ago for a property sale, and had no hesitation in going to them again.
We are delighted to say, that we received excellent first class service from Andrew Prater and Brook Illing. Everything was done very promptly. We were kept fully updated and informed at all times. The whole experience went very smoothly and we would not hesitate to recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Katy

Katy

December 20, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Awful. AVOID

Sent to wrong department (new homes dept, but wasn’t a new home). Took days to answer emails, (if at all). Massively delayed completion due to needing mortgage lender confirmation we didn’t need to pay ERC. They then made me pay it (almost 7k) and told me to contact Halifax for refund. Contacted Halifax week later and they had already refunded to solicitors! No one contacted me, I had to chase it. Had to pay moving company twice agreed price due to 4 hour delay due to CTW incompetence.
Got asked same questions repeatedly by solicitor, they didn’t know our case.
Just one giant mess. Please don’t use, especially the Dartford branch.
I’ve made a complaint, but been fobbed off. Will be going to ombudsman.

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Alan

November 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of house

I used Cook Taylor Woodhouse for the sale of a property. Zara who dealt with me was amazing and made the sale easy.
Would recommend Cook Taylor Woodhouse and I would use again.

Was this review helpful?

PES

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

PES

May 12, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Poor conveyancing services

Very poor services . Couple of errors and mistakes . Did not respond well to my queries . The person I dealt with was not kind or caring. Wont use them again and I do not recommend.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Human Rights
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety