Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Whitehead Monckton Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Whitehead Monckton Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 16%
About Right 83%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Whitehead Monckton Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Whitehead Monckton Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Whitehead Monckton Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Whitehead Monckton Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    244
  • Very Good

    15
  • Average

    6
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    17

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Ron

Ron

October 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will Writing & planning

We needed to write new Wills. We approached local Will writers and found them limited in expertise in what we required.
Following the sale of our old home in London and purchase of a new home in Maidstone, both transactions handled to our satisfaction by Whitehead Monckton in Maidstone. We decided to try Whitehead Monckton again, but this time for the Will writing. We did not consider our planning for the Wills to be over complicated and found Whitehead Monckton to be very efficient and helpful in writing the Wills, to cover everything we required.
Against previous Wills we have made, we found the cost competitive. We also have the satisfaction of knowing that our Wills and what we have planned are legal in every respect. Our dealings with them were very friendly and the communication first rate.

Was this review helpful?

David Wright

David Wright

October 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

A pleasant experience but I would not wish to repeat the procedure

Was this review helpful?

DEBI

DEBI

October 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale

I am leaving this review from my perspective of dealing with the Solicitor @ WHM, nothing to do with my husbands view of proceedings. The sale of my husbands house took a few months due to various reasons and at one point my husband received an email with the following opening line:

'I still do NOT appear to have received the signed Contract from you. Please return the same as soon as possible.'

I emailed the Solicitor back explaining that I thought it was extremely unprofessional that an email contained capital letters as if to imply that we had not done as requested or that we might be not capable of dealing with admin. I had no reply or apology from the Solicitor and I would defintely not use this firm again.

He also received an email previous to this stating that 'You obviously don't want to sell your property'

I found the Secretary to the Solicitor a lot more helpful. I really hope WHM take the time and trouble to look at their customer service.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Whitehead Monkton are a very good law firm with some excellent friendly approachable solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

MARTIN

MARTIN

August 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

I was asked this by Google and I replied "Expensive but reliable".
I am far from pleased with the progress and communication of my house sale so prefer not to comment on that

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Super law firm who makes every client feel important, however small your business.

Was this review helpful?

Yolande

Matter Type:

Divorce

Yolande

July 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Do not use as they worked against my interests & the interests of Maidstone, Kent & the UK

My first experience was in 1978 when I moved to Maidstone on 28.7.78 involving the purchase of 21 Chattenden Court; I have never been able to cancel a Life Policy taken out on me that day by my husband, Nigel Peck. In September 1979 I started using this firm for DV support and protection /leave my marriage but things got worse because I did not understand about masons in Maidstone or how my husband found out about my meeting with Laurie Brooks. I was only middle class and not a mason and all others in these matters were Upper Class well-connected masons; the Maidstone County Court sat in the Rochester Crown Court on 5.8.80 linked to witnessed life-long death threats on 21.7.80. I got a life-long court protection order + penal notice which was unenforceable because there was no power of arrest, my husband should have been sent to Broadmoor but there was his Grandfathers Trust Fund! The first contempt of court was 8.8.80 re a weapons order; then the contempt of court started via a KM newspaper linked to 3 significant anniversaries (3 times) with the aim of my death on 3.9.80 to cash in on the Life Policy, but I survived. Judicial Separation Proceedings started in August 1980, but I have no idea if I am properly divorced but my husband married again on 14.7.82 - his KM partner in crime who faked her death in 2016. I nearly died in the BMI Somerfield Hospital Maidstone on Valentines Night 2000 in circumstances that closely resemble the life-long 1980 death threats involving a medical group that came together to cover up for crimes in 1981. Then the Whitehead Monckton visits to my Offices and our Home with criminal intent ........ have they ever represented me? A member of the Law Society came to see me in January 2005 explaining that the Law Society's responsibility is not to me but their priority is to protecting Whitehead Monckton & Co over the 1987 of Wendy Knell; that is still the stance of the SRA re my solicitor complaints.

Was this review helpful?

Donna

Donna

July 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Amy was very patient with me. I have been moving, getting a divorce and all the things you should not do in one go! It was never a problem for her to remind me of things I needed to do.

Was this review helpful?

James Charlton

James Charlton

July 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Great service in what is a delicate subject of Last Will and Testimony. We had a particularly challenging set of complex needs with regards what we needed to be put in our wills but this was not any challenge or issue for Whitehead Monckton to undertake.

We were also able to support a charity close to our hearts of which we have direct experience using as this was part of a Make a will month.

Was this review helpful?

Paul Everest

Paul Everest

July 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Conveyancing

Very pleasant experience during a stressful house sale, complicated by an amateur approach from the buyers solicitors, but our service was superb

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

martin

martin

June 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

martin

Expensive but very reliable. I have confidence in them

Was this review helpful?

Yolande

Yolande

December 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Yolande

I went to Whitehead Monckton (Laurie Brooks) to help me with severe dv; he let me down badly. I got a life-long court protection order + penal notice on 5.8.80 when the Maidstone County Court sat in the Rochester Crown Court where my barrister was Cape Town born Lennie Hoffmann QC. My maniac ex-husband should have be sent to Broadmoor but I did not understand masons & that my solicitors were acting not in my best interests but in my husbands. I went back to Whitehead Monckton in 2002 over my near death-experiences in the BMI Somerfield Hospital & the advice they gave me (which I paid £500 for) if I had followed would have seen me bankrupted to protect profit at any price. My complaints to the Law Society/SRA re Whitehead Monckton fell on death ears as they told me that their duty was to protect Whitehead Monckton over the murder of Wendy Knell on 23.6.87. Then Whitehead Monckton teamed up with Ward & Partners to money launder my home & office block & steal copies of my life long court protection + brass cow bracelet + evidence re the Alliance & Leicester ie to protect them from the murder of Wendy Knell that could see my maniac ex-husband charged with that crime + they were saving the Alliance & Leicester from bad publicity + fines for financial irregularities

Was this review helpful?

Ify

Ify

July 19, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ify

Super cute

Was this review helpful?

John

John

June 29, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

efficient and good value - would use again

Was this review helpful?

Luke

Luke

October 29, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Luke

Very friendly staff and a professional service from start to finish! They handled the sale of our house and their friendly, yet professional, approach really put us at ease every step of the way!

Was this review helpful?

Whitehead Monckton Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

With offices in Canterbury, London, Maidstone and Tenterden, Whitehead Monckton is one of the largest legal practices in the county. We offer a wide range of services specifically for businesses together with legal support for you as an individual. You can see our lawyers at the office most convenient to you or we can meet at your office or home. Its important to us that we are recognised within Kent as being a very approachable and professional firm. Many of our staff, including a number of Directors, completed their legal training with the firm and our ethos of client support and care is very important to all members of the firm.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Tax
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • GDPR
Book an appointment