Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Whitehead Monckton Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Whitehead Monckton Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Whitehead Monckton Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Whitehead Monckton Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 91%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Whitehead Monckton Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Whitehead Monckton Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Whitehead Monckton Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    241
  • Very Good

    13
  • Average

    5
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    17

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Yolande

Matter Type:

Divorce

Yolande

July 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Do not use as they worked against my interests & the interests of Maidstone, Kent & the UK

My first experience was in 1978 when I moved to Maidstone on 28.7.78 involving the purchase of 21 Chattenden Court; I have never been able to cancel a Life Policy taken out on me that day by my husband, Nigel Peck. In September 1979 I started using this firm for DV support and protection /leave my marriage but things got worse because I did not understand about masons in Maidstone or how my husband found out about my meeting with Laurie Brooks. I was only middle class and not a mason and all others in these matters were Upper Class well-connected masons; the Maidstone County Court sat in the Rochester Crown Court on 5.8.80 linked to witnessed life-long death threats on 21.7.80. I got a life-long court protection order + penal notice which was unenforceable because there was no power of arrest, my husband should have been sent to Broadmoor but there was his Grandfathers Trust Fund! The first contempt of court was 8.8.80 re a weapons order; then the contempt of court started via a KM newspaper linked to 3 significant anniversaries (3 times) with the aim of my death on 3.9.80 to cash in on the Life Policy, but I survived. Judicial Separation Proceedings started in August 1980, but I have no idea if I am properly divorced but my husband married again on 14.7.82 - his KM partner in crime who faked her death in 2016. I nearly died in the BMI Somerfield Hospital Maidstone on Valentines Night 2000 in circumstances that closely resemble the life-long 1980 death threats involving a medical group that came together to cover up for crimes in 1981. Then the Whitehead Monckton visits to my Offices and our Home with criminal intent ........ have they ever represented me? A member of the Law Society came to see me in January 2005 explaining that the Law Society's responsibility is not to me but their priority is to protecting Whitehead Monckton & Co over the 1987 of Wendy Knell; that is still the stance of the SRA re my solicitor complaints.

Was this review helpful?

Donna

Donna

July 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Amy was very patient with me. I have been moving, getting a divorce and all the things you should not do in one go! It was never a problem for her to remind me of things I needed to do.

Was this review helpful?

James Charlton

James Charlton

July 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Great service in what is a delicate subject of Last Will and Testimony. We had a particularly challenging set of complex needs with regards what we needed to be put in our wills but this was not any challenge or issue for Whitehead Monckton to undertake.

We were also able to support a charity close to our hearts of which we have direct experience using as this was part of a Make a will month.

Was this review helpful?

Paul Everest

Paul Everest

July 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Conveyancing

Very pleasant experience during a stressful house sale, complicated by an amateur approach from the buyers solicitors, but our service was superb

Was this review helpful?

dawn andrews

dawn andrews

June 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

as far as i see it all went fairly well considering present day working and postage problems.

Was this review helpful?

Lindsay

Lindsay

June 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

I was driven to search for a new divorce solicitor due to the incompetence of the first one I appointed. The firm were highly recommended by a few colleagues and I knew with my first contact with the firm I was in good hands. They were able to take over my divorce in a firm but no agrees I’ve manner to avoid antagonising a volatile spouse. Due to their approach and taking into consideration my wishes I am divorced in less than 4 months. I hope I never need their services again however if I did I would not hesitate to return and will definitely be recommending to friends and family.

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Jonathan

June 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

The service and advice I received from the firm was excellent. The advice given was timely and accurate. My expectations over cost and outcomes were well managed.

Was this review helpful?

Deborah

Deborah

June 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Conveyancing

Professional, efficient, attention to detail and very user friendly

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

Jonathan

May 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

Very happy and pleased with the level of service and expertise I received as a client with Whitehead Monckton. I was a bit apprehensive at first after having a bad experience with a previous solicitor in another law firm, however I was made to feel welcome at Whitehead and it came across as a very approachable firm. Excellent service and would use again if I ever needed legal advice.

Was this review helpful?

John

Matter Type:

Wills

John

April 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

You run a very effective legal practice with a friendly approach to all.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

martin

martin

June 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

martin

Expensive but very reliable. I have confidence in them

Was this review helpful?

Yolande

Yolande

December 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Yolande

I went to Whitehead Monckton (Laurie Brooks) to help me with severe dv; he let me down badly. I got a life-long court protection order + penal notice on 5.8.80 when the Maidstone County Court sat in the Rochester Crown Court where my barrister was Cape Town born Lennie Hoffmann QC. My maniac ex-husband should have be sent to Broadmoor but I did not understand masons & that my solicitors were acting not in my best interests but in my husbands. I went back to Whitehead Monckton in 2002 over my near death-experiences in the BMI Somerfield Hospital & the advice they gave me (which I paid £500 for) if I had followed would have seen me bankrupted to protect profit at any price. My complaints to the Law Society/SRA re Whitehead Monckton fell on death ears as they told me that their duty was to protect Whitehead Monckton over the murder of Wendy Knell on 23.6.87. Then Whitehead Monckton teamed up with Ward & Partners to money launder my home & office block & steal copies of my life long court protection + brass cow bracelet + evidence re the Alliance & Leicester ie to protect them from the murder of Wendy Knell that could see my maniac ex-husband charged with that crime + they were saving the Alliance & Leicester from bad publicity + fines for financial irregularities

Was this review helpful?

Ify

Ify

July 19, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ify

Super cute

Was this review helpful?

John

John

June 29, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

efficient and good value - would use again

Was this review helpful?

Luke

Luke

October 29, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Luke

Very friendly staff and a professional service from start to finish! They handled the sale of our house and their friendly, yet professional, approach really put us at ease every step of the way!

Was this review helpful?

Whitehead Monckton Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

With offices in Canterbury, London, Maidstone and Tenterden, Whitehead Monckton is one of the largest legal practices in the county. We offer a wide range of services specifically for businesses together with legal support for you as an individual. You can see our lawyers at the office most convenient to you or we can meet at your office or home. Its important to us that we are recognised within Kent as being a very approachable and professional firm. Many of our staff, including a number of Directors, completed their legal training with the firm and our ethos of client support and care is very important to all members of the firm.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Tax
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • GDPR

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment