Get advice now

Get advice now

Aletta Shaw Ltd

01689 422 420

Also known as - Aletta Shaw Solicitors

View map
Aletta Shaw Ltd

How Aletta Shaw Ltd Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 60%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Aletta Shaw Ltd on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 67%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Aletta Shaw Ltd and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Aletta Shaw Ltd performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 67%
No 33%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 67%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Aletta Shaw Ltd and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Aletta Shaw Ltd compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 67%
No 33%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Aletta Shaw Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Aletta Shaw Ltd has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

2.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    4
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Miss

Miss

April 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Experience & Extremely Grateful

Great experience with Emilia from Aletta Shaw. Given the intricate nature of the case her pragmatism and transparency was much appreciated and reassuring at times of need. She kept constant communication and never failed to inform me of the status of my case - she often went above and beyond to ensure I was equipped and well-informed at all points. I especially appreciated her patience at points where I insisted on my own personal approach; her creative solutions to the issue informed by her expertise and her willingness to work with me to reduce further stress. Would recommend her services to others and am immensely grateful for her help.

Was this review helpful?

Christian

Christian

February 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent communications

Excellent communications on all matters. Reply to emails same day, friendly and efficient staff. Will use again.

Was this review helpful?

Krittikan

Krittikan

January 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Unhelpful and poor value for money

After having a consultation with Emilia Aletta, I felt extremely overcharged and anxious. Seeking legal advice, as it is, is stressful. I was shocked and disappointed by the patronising and judgemental attitude of Emilia. I expected professionalism at the very least and for the hefty £150 consultation, I received nothing of value. Exploiting vulnerable people in vulnerable situations is shameful.

Was this review helpful?

antony

Matter Type:

Divorce

antony

October 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

The worst company ever

I can honestly say ive never left a bad review before, but this company are by far the worst company i've ever had the misfortune of dealing with, Everything they did was slow and lee there took forever to do anything, they held my divorce up by a few months and even the other solicitors dealing with my ex wife's affairs couldn't believe how bad they was ! i would avoid this company at all costs

Was this review helpful?

Amber

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Amber

May 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Cant fault them - Brooke Mahoney

I’ve never had a solicitor here so proactive. Brooke didn’t need any chasing or harassing and she dealt with our difficult buyers with us. Really helpful throughout and easy! As it should be :)

Was this review helpful?

Vedia

Matter Type:

Commercial Litigation Matters

Vedia

April 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Appalling Service, Arrogant Dishonest Solicitors

Avoid using, especially if you end up with Emilia Aletta. This solicitor does not read anything before any money is given and even then reads documents during the £150 consultation you have paid for consultation. She does not respond to emails. When you call, she will tell you she hasn't received your emails and to resend it, which miraculously is delivered at the second time of sending. She has used this old trick three times. She made us sign the terms of reference twice without doing anything with it. Does not return your calls, and as soon as you challenge this with darling mama who is head of the firm, you end up being offered a refund because she can't be bothered to deal with your case or be grown up enough to tell you. She'll waste your time making you wait months for something that should only take a few short weeks.

Was this review helpful?

Dan

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Dan

April 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent, professional, LGBTQIA+ friendly servie

We began the house buying process in October last year after finding a buyer for our property. Immediately looking for an LGBTQIA+ friendly solicitor, we came across Aletta Shaw Solicitors. A good start. From first contact, through to instruction, the team were friendly, informative, responsive and professional. Once we had instructed, we were assigned Brooke Mahoney. It's at this point the magic really began.

Our sale and purchase were long, and arduous, but none of this was due to the excellent service we received from Brooke and her team. In fact it's due to Brooke and co that this sale even completed. You see our chain was a long one, and the bottom of the chain was difficult.

Brooke went above and beyond during the chase for exchange, giving us continual updates, providing us with details and contacts that we could use to legally expedite the service, and combined with our excellent agent, she was responsible for holding the chain together, chasing and putting pressure on the solicitors below us to get themselves in order and eventually getting us to exchange at the last possible moment.

The sale of our first home and the purchase of our new home wouldn't have happened without the excellent service we received, and I am ever grateful for Brooke Mahoney's perfect example of professionalism, and she will forever set the standard for our interactions with conveyancers in the future.

Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

December 01, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Absolutely useless

Aletta shaw AVOID !!!
1 star: Bad
2 hours ago
ALETTA SHAW solicitors..AVOID !!!
ALETTA SHAW solicitors Bexleyheath. AVOID AT ALL COST !!!
Absolutely appalling! I was charged three times for the same work because the solicitors kept resigning from this company ! I’m now taking them to the Legal Ombudsman because they was so incompetent! They unbelievably published my new partners Bank records to my estranged wife’s solicitors during form e exchange ! They couldn’t even get my name right after nearly two years of correspondence...my divorce after TWO years is still nowhere near finished...avoid this company like the plague they have cost me thousands and I’ve now had to instruct another solicitor from another firm to start the process all over again !

Was this review helpful?

Darrell

Matter Type:

Commercial Leases

Darrell

October 01, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Incompetence at its best

Alleta Shaw incompetent Solicitors at its best.

This is possibly due to the company being run by a Managing Director that lacks attentiveness, intelligence, morals and ethics.

They are not able to even type up an invoice properly. That may seem like nothing….right?

It gets better..

Not recognising miss clauses within a contract, their own client had to points them out to them.

Not recognising or understanding the use of English used by third party to establish property is not signed off and will not be signed off anytime soon.

Not double checking details or information from client being forwarded on to them for the best interest of client and their own reputation.

(The above is just a few great factual examples of the service that they provided)

The big question is why ever Aletta Shaw?

Choose those that actually care.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Anonymous

January 06, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Always ready and trustworthy

Undoubtedly one of the finest solicitors in London who will never leave you until the task is done.
I have used them several times and every time I have I have had complete satisfaction.
Two cases of employment regulation both ending in my favour and once involving Court of Protection for my mother again to hers and our satisfaction.
We are always well and fairly treated and I do know of others who will strongly agree after my recommendation.
I would consider them as our family solicitor and will not hesitate to use them again.
Always guiding in the right direction with all respect and politeness.
Highly recommended and thank you again Samir Moftah and Denis Golding.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business