Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Lockings Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Lockings Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 4%
About Right 93%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Lockings Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Lockings Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Lockings Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Lockings Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Lockings Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1133
  • Very Good

    74
  • Average

    11
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    12

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Joanna

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Joanna

May 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Writing a Will

I was guided through the process of writing my Will by Nicola. She spent time explaining all the aspects that I needed to consider, and how my decisions would impact on important things such as Inheritance Tax. She was very thorough and gave me a full understanding of everything. I would recommend her very highly.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Peter

May 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Excellent service Nicola was very professional assured us all the step of the way

Was this review helpful?

Alexandra

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Alexandra

May 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Very easy to contact and always happy to help.
A little chasing to speed up the house sale. Lockings we’re a delight to use.

Was this review helpful?

William

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

William

May 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional

Conducted our buying in Beverley and selling in Doncaster in a very timely and professional manner.
They are easy to talk too and they kept us well informed of progress.
Kept us calm through the "moving day" problems caused by the first time buyer at the foot of the chain!
Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Mark

May 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will updates

Nicola dealt with our requirements and was as professional as they come. Excellent communication and listening skills, very personable but most of all very knowledgeable and competent in the matter if Wills. Her advice and guidance really helped ensure we got exactly what we wanted with our Will changes.

Was this review helpful?

Raymond George

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Raymond George

May 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Shields 1

Shields 1
Very friendly and well organized.

Was this review helpful?

Andrea Fay

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Andrea Fay

May 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great work with house move

Very professional and helpful with house move

Was this review helpful?

Judith Elsie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Judith Elsie

May 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

My daughter uses Lockings and when I needed to update my will Lockins Soliciters was recommend. They were very professional from start to finish.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Peter

May 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of house and purchase of apartment

I received regular updates of progress and was delighted that , although it appeared that I would not be able to obtain a mortgage on the apartment at a future date, you drafted a Deed of Variation which was agreed and signed by the parties concerned so that I can, if I so wish, obtain an Equity Release Loan at a future date ; I did have an ERL at my house.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Peter

May 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will-Writing

The writing of two mirror wills was done very efficiently, with an over the phone consultation initially. After the draft wills had been drafted out, they were talked through over the phone to explain all the clauses and then an appointment was made to sign the documents at a later date with a witness to sign also. An easy and very efficient way to have a will written professionally.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Geoff

Geoff

May 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Geoff

I was pleased with the service I received from Nicola Coughlin. She took her time to explain things fully to me and gave some good advice. She gave us all the confidence we needed, to feel happy that she had done what we needed her to as a family. Thanks also to Heather and her team for keeping me informed of the progress, they were always spot on with the timing of calls etc. I am pleased I chose Lockings Solicitors to help me.

Was this review helpful?

Gilda

Gilda

April 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gilda

Second time with Lockings and would definitely use again. Responsive on emails, answering all my questions and always kept me up to date. Thanks to Craig’s team for their service and good advice.

Was this review helpful?

Janet

Janet

April 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Janet

Lockings team dealt with our house sales and purchase. We were kept informed of the progress along the way and they were always available to answer any questions we had. We would recommend Lockings conveyancing team.

Was this review helpful?

Carol

Carol

April 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Carol

We have used Locking Solicitors on several occasions for conveyancing, they are professional, respond quickly to emails and always keep you updated during the process. Will definitely use Lockings Solicitors again and highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Carl

Carl

March 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Carl

I found the Lockings team very efficient, and was informed of every detail of what was happening to the purchase of a property. No hesitation in reccommending.
Thanyou to all.

Was this review helpful?

Lockings Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Lockings Solicitors is a law firm with offices in Beverley, Hull and York. Our lawyers have served the local community and beyond since 1949. Our award winning team maintain the highest standards by following 6 rules: 1. We’re here to help with legal advice and support. 2. We will carry out your wishes. 3. We will always keep you in the loop. 4. We will avoid complicated legal phrases and help you understand the legal process. 5. We will keep our legal fees fair and transparent. 6. We will give a Free Initial Chat Service from 8am to 8pm, 7 days a week. Just dial 01482 300200. We specialise in Compromise Agreements for Employees, Child Care Proceedings, Conveyancing, Disputes, Powers of Attorney, Probate and Wills.

Practice areas

We specialise in Compromise Agreements for Employees, Child Care Proceedings, Conveyancing, Disputes, Powers of Attorney, Probate and Wills.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Social Services
  • Housing & Property
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Tax
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment