Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Eccles Heddon LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 97%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Eccles Heddon LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Eccles Heddon LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 96%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Eccles Heddon LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Eccles Heddon LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Eccles Heddon LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Eccles Heddon LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Eccles Heddon LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    175
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    0

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
gloria

gloria

February 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate house sale

Absolutely fabulous service recieved from Sarah Hargreaves and her team again, we first used Sarah for our own house sale then our house purchase and again for a probate sale always kept informed and replied to any questions we had promptly. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

John

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

John

February 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Had a really positive experience with Eccles Heddon Solicitors of Ripon. We recently sold our house and then 4 months later purchased a new property.
Louisa Muggeridge was our solicitor and she was outstanding. Knowledgeable with first rate communication; Louisa made our sale and purchase run like clockwork when it was far from smooth running. Her persistence, attention to detail and liaison with the vendor’s solicitor was first rate and I’m grateful to Louisa and thankful we chose Eccles Heddon for conveyance. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Amelie

Amelie

January 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great and friendly service

This was the second time we have used Eccles Heddon for house purchase and sale, both times they have provided exceptional service. Very helpful, reliable, friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful?

Amanda

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eccles Heddon LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Amanda

January 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review Sarah Hargreaves at Eccles Heddon.

Sarah was excellent on dealing with the conveyance of my properties. A lovely smooth process and I was kept fully informed all the way. Service was friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful?

Samantha

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Samantha

November 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Absolutely fantastic service

I dont know where to begin with the high praise I have for Eccles Heddon and especially Sarah Hargreaves who deal with us in buying our first home. Sarah was super fast friendly and extremely professional throughout nothing was too much trouble and even managed to calm my anxiety at times. Sarah was always amazing in replying to emails immediately and returning calls.
I really cannot thank her and this firm enough.
I would highly recommend them.
This words are not enough for the praise and gratitude I have.

Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Jane

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Jane

November 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale

We instructed Sarah at Eccles Heddon for the sale of a property in Derbyshire! We received excellent, efficient and first class service. We had direct contact with Sarah throughout the process whose great knowledge, professionalism and easy to understand made the transition a great success. It was a pleasure to deal with Sarah. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Michelle

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Michelle

October 07, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly and efficient conconveyancing service

Used Eccles-Heddon for recent house sale and purchase (Sarah Hargreaves in Thirsk, Louisa Muggeridge in Ripon), all handled efficiently and in a friendly professional manner. Thank you to both and your office staff who are also so helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful?

Anna

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Eccles Heddon LLP.

Anna

September 19, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Top Marks!

Oliver was efficient, calm, and always available to answer any questions .
My only criticism would be with the receptionist - or whoever answers the phone - who always seemed totally unaware and unfamiliar with clients/what Oliver was working on or where he was . I m not sure it works having one receptionist for multiple offices ?

Was this review helpful?

Elaine

Elaine

September 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient and knowledgeable

Louisa Muggeridge dealt efficiently and thoroughly with my property purchase, and was helpful and knowledgeable when I had questions. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Jacqueline

Jacqueline

September 05, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will making

Contacted Eccles Heddon 're changing my will after a recent death. Two other solicitors had recently let me down....one not returning my call and the other baffling me with documents. Eccles Heddon gave me an appointment very quickly.....simple straightforward paperwork and Matthew Ainsworth pulled it all together . Sorted.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Graham

Graham

November 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Graham

Friendly & efficient service

Was this review helpful?

Carol

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Carol

October 31, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Carol

One again Sarah Hargreaves gave me nothing but an outstanding service from start to finish
Sarah is very proactive knowledgeable and thorough and is always there at the end of the phone should any questions arise
I am very fortunate that on two occasions Sarah has agreed to act on my behalf
With the back up of Michael Briggs together they make property buying/selling a lot less stressful and are a great team

Was this review helpful?

Chloe

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Chloe

March 24, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Chloe

100% recommend Eccles Heddon LLP,
Sarah was fantastic with supporting us through buying our first house!
The communication was just incredible from start to finish, updating us all the way through it and answering any of our questions with fast responses!
Not only was the communication great but also worked very hard in getting us through the process very fast while been very supportive! Sooo thank you very much we couldn’t have found anyone better!

Was this review helpful?

Sam

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sam

November 24, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sam

Amazing Service.
Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Quick to respond. Made our move stress free.
Could not recommend Eccles Heddon enough!

Thank you once again :)

Was this review helpful?

Lindsay

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Lindsay

November 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lindsay

great service and communication - highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

Eccles Heddon LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our legal expertise is applied in conjunction with a pragmatic realism acquired over many years of practice in the Vale of York and against a culture of long term commitment, not short term self-interested gain. Most of our practitioners have been with the firm for many years and, in our experience, many of our clients value continuity of individual service very highly. ​Whilst a large proportion of our clients live or work within the middle part of North Yorkshire we do advise and act for many people in other parts of Great Britain and indeed throughout the World. England and Wales comprise a single legal jurisdiction and we are qualified to act in domestic matters from anywhere between Berwick on Tweed to Penzance. We do not normally deal with foreign legal matters except in cases where the estate of a deceased person includes property overseas. Although we do not approve of the practice, our regulatory bodies now allow solicitors to give or receive so-called ‘referral fees’. These are payments to or from third parties in consideration of the referral of client business. Examples of this practice include solicitors paying estate agents in return for recommendation of people buying and selling houses or receiving benefits from financial advisers as a bonus for referring clients perceived as needing their advice. Until quite recently such practices were outlawed as likely to compromise the strict independence that was always regarded as the hallmark of a solicitor’s professional duty. Although the rules in this area have been relaxed, we still hold to the view that payment or receipt of referral fees is not in the public interest and therefore we do not participate in the practice. We prefer to retain and expand our client base on the foundation of client satisfaction and personal recommendation not the payment of ‘bungs’ to third parties. Equally, we will recommend other professionals solely on the basis of our judgment of their ability and not as the result of any undue influence arising from monetary benefit.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Family Law
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Debt Recovery
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
  • Construction
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
Book an appointment