Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Attwells Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Attwells Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Attwells Solicitors LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 6%
Overpriced 26%
About Right 66%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Attwells Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Attwells Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Attwells Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Attwells Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Attwells Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    618
  • Very Good

    44
  • Average

    12
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    19

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Andrei

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Andrei

July 15, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Huge Issues with SDLT not paid months later

While I had initially planned to give Attwells Solicitors a 5-star rating for their handling of our conveyancing, handled by Lisa Caporaso, during our property purchase in Colchester, I am now disappointed with their service. Unfortunately, there has been a significant issue regarding our Stamp Duty Tax payment to HMRC, as indicated by multiple letters we have received.

To summarize the facts:

# We provided Attwells with a deposit and the stamp duty amount exceeding £100k on May 2nd, 2023.
# The completion date was May 22nd, 2023.
# The Stamp Duty Tax was due by June 5th, 2023.
# We received our first letter from HMRC dated June 7th, indicating that the payment had not been made.
# We promptly contacted Attwells, who assured us that there was no cause for concern.
# Upon contacting HMRC, we discovered that the payment had never been processed, potentially due to an incorrect UTR number. HMRC advised us to request that Attwells contact them with specific details to rectify the situation. They also informed us that, unfortunately, the responsibility for tax matters lies with the purchasers, not the solicitors representing us.
# We conveyed this information to Attwells, who assured us they would handle it.
# Subsequently, we received a second letter from HMRC dated June 21st, 2023.
# We have now received a third letter dated July 5th, stating that interest would now be charged on the outstanding amount.

Regrettably, as a result of this ongoing issue, I feel compelled to leave this negative review. Despite the positive reviews we initially saw, it only takes one failure to cause significant complications with HMRC, which is something no one wants to endure.

At this point, it has been over a month, and Attwells has yet to resolve the SDLT issue, prompting my decision to write this review and inform them of their error via email and phone.

Based on our experience, I strongly advise against choosing Attwells for your conveyancing needs. While they may have many positive reviews, our situation demonstrates that their failure to rectify a single problem can lead to unnecessary difficulties with HMRC, an outcome that should be avoided at all costs.

If, for some reason, you still decide to proceed with Attwells, I strongly recommend insisting on handling your own SDLT payment, as it is a straightforward process involving a bank transfer to the HMRC account using your UTR as the reference. Unfortunately, this task seems to be beyond Attwells' capabilities.

Words cannot express how disappointed we are. These letters from HMRC are the last thing we needed, considering the various other issues demanding our attention and straining our finances.

**On a separate note, I would like to highlight a few issues we encountered during our property purchase that others should be aware of:

# The property required more extensive renovation work than we had anticipated due to smoke and nicotine damage. If you suspect the property was previously occupied by smokers, I would advise either avoiding it altogether or renegotiating the price by 15% to 20% due to the significant challenges posed by third-hand smoke.
# The central heating system was over 20 years old, necessitating the installation of a heat pump. However, the property has micro bore piping, which restricts water flow. If you encounter a similar situation, be prepared to invest in new piping.
# We also discovered the need for electrical upgrades and rewiring due to faulty wiring.

Was this review helpful?

Angela

Angela

June 29, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ok but not great .... could be much improved

Used for Conveyancing - we were very quick at getting all required information to the solicitor. We did need to chase as our solicitor was not answering calls from the sellers solicitor which caused issues - and shouldn't need us to get involved but were emailed by the sellers. Always left at 2.30pm and sent emails just before this and then we therefore liaison was more difficult as by time we replied even if within 10 minutes we got an automated response to say they had left for the day - which can be quite frustrating when nearing exchange and completion as in effect you lose another day. Did need to raise complaint as paperwork for signing was not noted was missing so delayed exchange and can't understand how they missed that they didn't have everything despite stating we were ready to exchange :( The person who took over the completion did it very professionally ... but overall not particularly good experience and could be much improved ... shame really as I say the completion part after complaint was seemless.

Was this review helpful?

jonathan

Matter Type:

Employment Contracts

jonathan

May 31, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

First class, prompt co-ordinated response to a delicate matter

Having read an article from the practice (Lloyd) to completing a review of a sensitive employment matter took a matter of a few days and a very clear and decent outcome for all parties. Really excellent support and co-ordination from Hannah and the partner Lloyd. You couldn't ask for a better team who were pragmatic and dealt with things in a common sense way. Service as it should be and at thee right price. superb.

Was this review helpful?

Graham

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Graham

December 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

To Freya Smith...

It was an absolutely pleasure to deal with such a wonderful, polite, knowledgeable and professional lady...Freya, you're an absolute star you really are...Youre an inordinate credit to ATTWELLS and they should, quite rightly, be so very proud you're in their employ...Your service was nothing short of exemplary. From first contact to final completion nothing was too much trouble, "On the ball" doesn't say it...You were lightening fast at each and every phone call and enquiry made...A massive wel done.

Was this review helpful?

Abbie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Abbie

June 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Service

We would like to thank Jade for her wonderful service as our conveyancer. We were first time buyers and feeling quite anxious about the whole process but Jade was very approachable and made us feel very at ease. She clearly explained the whole process to us and was very thorough and transparent throughout. Jade was always very professional and polite when following up for documentation. She kept us up to date with any changes and was always quickly available for any questions we had. Her efficiency throughout made the process run smoothly and much more quickly than we anticipated which we were very grateful for. Overall, we were so pleased with the first class service Jade provided and would definitely use Attwells again because of it.

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

David

February 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very helpful and friendly firm of solicitors

We used Attwells on the recommendation of our estate agent Connells, having wanted a firm of solicitors to act for us. Holly Quantrill was assigned to us and she and her team have provided excellent service during our house move. Very friendly and informative, quick to respond to queries and very much ‘on the ball’ throughout the whole process. Very happy to recommend Attwells.

Was this review helpful?

Anna

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Anna

February 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

I was personally recommended Attwells in Ipswich as solicitors to go with to buy my new flat. I have to say how glad I am that I got this recommendation. Charlotte dealt with my purchase. She was very efficient and friendly and I always got a quick response to any email I sent. Having spoken to some of my other friends who have gone through the same process I think I was really lucky here!
Thanks Charlotte! Very happy with this service and would recommend to others! :)

Was this review helpful?

Azariah

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Azariah

June 12, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Absolutely appalling staff and service

I would advise anyone thinking of using these solicitors to literally go anywhere else if you would like any sort of communication, good service, helpful staff, attention to detail or having your money returned after they have confirmed they have no reason to keep it!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Anonymous

April 16, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review for Attwells Solicitors

fantastic customer service right from start to completion. Attwells always kept up to date with both the selling and purchase of the property. Hannah was highly informative.

Was this review helpful?

Ritter

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Ritter

April 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient and very friendly law firm

Very happy with the service I received from Attwells, they always kept me up to date where we were with selling my property.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Andy

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Andy

April 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andy

Freya Smith at Attwells did a fantastic job of helping us move house.
Friendly, professional and always in touch when we needed her.
Spot on.

Was this review helpful?

Alex

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Alex

April 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alex

We received fantastic service from Stuart throughout the entire process. He kept us updated every step of the way and responded extremely quickly to any questions or queries we had. A true asset to a great company.

I highly recommend using Attwells and will be sure to use them again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Simon

February 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simon

Laura and Hannah were extremely competent, thorough and kept us informed through our entire transaction. This is the second time we've used them at Attwells and they're a real asset to the company.

We can't recommend them enough, they made one of the most stressful life events a real breeze. If I could give 6 stars I would!

Was this review helpful?

Sam

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sam

January 24, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sam

Really good value. Efficient. Responsive. If you want a conveyancer to push it through fast pro-actively then you probably need to pay more. If, however, you want an effective good value service then you should look no further. This is the second time I used Attwells (last time was 9 years ago) but I did not regret my choice.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Probate

Anonymous

March 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

It was easy to engage, Melanie was clear, patient and helpful and we were able to get all our uncertainties addressed.

Was this review helpful?

Ms G Waters and Mr G Bowdler

Ms G Waters and Mr G Bowdler

March 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

They were helpful and answered my questions promptly

Was this review helpful?

WPPG (Commercial) Ltd

Matter Type:

Buying at auction

WPPG (Commercial) Ltd

March 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

Very efficient, friendly and highly recommended

Was this review helpful?

Miss H Smith and Mr J Christie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Miss H Smith and Mr J Christie

January 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Attwells kept us informed throughout the process of buying and selling, they were responsive and supportive and can’t thank them enough for making the process a little easier for us. Special thank you to Freya Smith, who was just brilliant throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Mr Henry Luk

Matter Type:

Buying at auction

Mr Henry Luk

January 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good service!

Attwells can complete the task timely which is most important to me since the property is purchased from Auction House.

Was this review helpful?

Attwells Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Attwells are solicitors in Ipswich, Colchester and North London who specialise in conveyancing, property law and planning. Attwells combination of wide-ranging conveyancing and planning expertise enables it to deliver a unique service to property people. Attwells also have strong reputation in employment law, business law and dispute resolution. Attwells personal service is award winning, pro-active and focused upon simplifying the law. Attwells culture is nurturing of its diverse talent. We look forward to helping you.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Lasting power of attorney
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing disputes
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
Book an appointment