Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ross Coates Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 72%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ross Coates Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 74%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ross Coates Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ross Coates Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 77%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ross Coates Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ross Coates Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ross Coates Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

3.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    95
  • Very Good

    24
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    42

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
andrew

andrew

September 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Flat purchase

Ross Coates handled the purchase of our flat with great professionalism, we dealt with Remersh Kaur who was a pleasure to deal with, kept us fully up-to-date with every stage, completed well within time scale quoted at the start of transaction. Had dealings with others in her team who also where fully aware of our transaction so easy to deal with. Discussed another matter with them so once we are settled in the Flat will be contacting again to use in this regard.

Was this review helpful?

Jennifer

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jennifer

July 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great team!

First time buyer at the beginning of the pandemic, so of course there were delays, but Team RK kept me up to date with everything and were always happy to answer my emails and talk on the phone. Everything legal was explained really well. Down to earth and friendly! Thank you Remersh and Lucy, I will miss our chats!

Was this review helpful?

Fiona

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Fiona

June 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

I used Ross Coates for the sale of my house, a big mistake they are awful no contact they do not keep you updated asking for the same information. I spoke to a trainee Solicitor who was rude and unhelpful. I nearly lost my house purchase, they have also taken two payments from my bank account when disputed it with them they say they did not. My bank have confirmed that they have and there complaints team is not worth going through did nothing but say they felt it best not to continue doing the conveyancing for my house sale. Please be very careful!

Was this review helpful?

Naz

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Naz

February 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lack of knowledge, awful communication, irresponsible, very slow, double charging me


Critical: Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value
Used them twice under their name of Ross Coates Solicitors. Truly dreadful. Very slow in both cases and added extra charges that brought the final fee to double the original quoted "fixed fee". Charges for exactly the same services varied .Stephen Broughton was my solicitor both times lots of mistakes he made that costs me atleast £8600

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Andrew

January 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Team RK

I have just completed my house purchase during lockdown and would highly recommend Ross Coates Solicitors. Remersh and team RK are polite, efficient & professional. They always answered my calls or replied very promptly to my emails. Special mention and thanks to Remersh, Dara and Krishna who worked my case throughout lockdown and provided a great service.

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Paul

December 16, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Remersh Kaur and Team RK have been wonderful in the conveyance of the sale and purchase of my property. I cannot fault in any way the service provided. Remersh is knowledgeable, efficient , polite and friendly. She provides a professional service that few can match. It has been a real pleasure to deal with her and I have no hesitation in recommending Ross Coates , Remersh and Team RK to friends and family. The fee structure was clearly laid out and competitive, clearly Ross Coates have adopted a successful business model that works well for them. Anyone wanting legal services should contact them before making any other decision.

Was this review helpful?

A

A

December 12, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Accessibility problems.

They said they were wheelchair accessible. Well, my wheelchair doesn't climb steps or go through narrow doorways! Think it's a disgrace for a legal firm. Don't they know the law. Receptionist said they didn't have a ramp. If there is another way in they didn't tell me about it.

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Rachel

November 04, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Overall good but mixed experience

Initial impressions were great and promising. However, after officially instructing them and paying our deposit there was little communication for around 2 weeks with a response that draft contracts hadn't been received when they had actually been sent by the developer.

Once we were put in direct contact with our solicitor, Remersh, things started to happen at pace, such as searches and summaries of them.

Our purchase overall was very delayed, largely due to Help to buy/Covid related delays. However, some of the delays were due to careless mistakes on Help to Buy forms completed by the solicitor on several occasions.

Remersh was always helpful and patient with the many queries and questions we had and when mistakes were made, she was quick to rectify them and prioritised us on many occasions.

Whilst we found that we could easily contact our solicitor and received quick replies on the majority of occasions, I know that other parties involved, such as our mortgage advisor and sales adviser struggled to get responses. This meant that we were often the middle-man communicating between parties.

Overall, I'd like to thank Remersh for her role in getting us into our new home, it was lovely to get to know her and appreciate the rapport that was built between us.

Whilst I would recommend Remersh, and her friendly and helpful team, I'm reluctant to recommend Ross Coates as a firm for first time buyers using Help to Buy as it seems there isn't a staff member that is experienced with Help to Buy purchases there anymore. Instead, this work has been put onto existing staff that appear to be already overworked.

If you do decide to instruct this firm, ensure that you're expectations are aligned to the very competitive fees that you're given, as in, don't expect to be hand-held through the process - something that if you're a first time buyer might be a consideration.

Was this review helpful?

Sue

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sue

November 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very good service

I wasn't sure if I'd done the right things picking a solicitor online to do our conveyancing when we moved but the whole experience was very good. Remersh and her team were very efficient and everything ran very smoothly. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Emma

October 29, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

I was sceptical having read some bad reviews about this firm online but we took a chance and they were fabulous. We were pleasantly surprised. There were a lot of reviews about hidden fees but nothing was hidden. Granted you have to have 14 days to complete but it can happen sooner if you pay a sum of money which I've never come across in a solicitors before. But having said that, it was written into the terms and conditions for you to see. There are also fees for the mortgage side of things but again, this is written into the ts and cs so nothing is hidden. Very helpful staff and especially Remersh who answered all our queries promptly, forwarded documents and arranged searches etc really quickly. Our sale fell through and they were very helpful in assisting us with what happens next. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Ross Coates Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our values provide the framework for how we engage with our colleagues, customers and stakeholders every single day and can be summed up three simple statements: ​ Do it Right - We’re passionate about the quality of our work, and we always aim to achieve the highest professional standards. Work Well With Others – We share our knowledge, experience and ideas and encourage respect. Take the Lead – We challenge ourselves to be the best, strive for innovation and commit to do all we can to help our clients. ​ If you would like to speak to us in relation to a Legal Matter please feel free to complete the form below and one of our staff will be in contact in due course.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
Book an appointment