Ross Coates Solicitors

01473 621 800

When Instructing a Solicitor we think you should be confident in the knowledge that you are happy with the person you will be trusting to undertake your instructions. That’s why here at Ross Coates we are pleased to be able to offer a free 15 minute Consultation so you can meet or speak to your dedicated Solicitor before instructing us. Our mission is to make it easy for people in the UK to access quality legal services at a fair price.

3.6/5 123 Client Reviews 123 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation

How Ross Coates Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ross Coates Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ross Coates Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

123 Client Reviews

3.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    63
  • Very Good
    22
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    35
Anonymous
Click to rate
Rachel
Rachel Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 04, 2020 20201104105016

Overall good but mixed experience

4

Initial impressions were great and promising. However, after officially instructing them and paying our deposit there was little communication for around 2 weeks with a response that draft contracts hadn't been received when they had actually been sent by the developer.

Once we were put in direct contact with our solicitor, Remersh, things started to happen at pace, such as searches and summaries of them.

Our purchase overall was very delayed, largely due to Help to buy/Covid related delays. However, some of the delays were due to careless mistakes on Help to Buy forms completed by the solicitor on several occasions.

Remersh was always helpful and patient with the many queries and questions we had and when mistakes were made, she was quick to rectify them and prioritised us on many occasions.

Whilst we found that we could easily contact our solicitor and received quick replies on the majority of occasions, I know that other parties involved, such as our mortgage advisor and sales adviser struggled to get responses. This meant that we were often the middle-man communicating between parties.

Overall, I'd like to thank Remersh for her role in getting us into our new home, it was lovely to get to know her and appreciate the rapport that was built between us.

Whilst I would recommend Remersh, and her friendly and helpful team, I'm reluctant to recommend Ross Coates as a firm for first time buyers using Help to Buy as it seems there isn't a staff member that is experienced with Help to Buy purchases there anymore. Instead, this work has been put onto existing staff that appear to be already overworked.

If you do decide to instruct this firm, ensure that you're expectations are aligned to the very competitive fees that you're given, as in, don't expect to be hand-held through the process - something that if you're a first time buyer might be a consideration.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sue
Sue Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 01, 2020 20201101070517

Very good service

4

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I wasn't sure if I'd done the right things picking a solicitor online to do our conveyancing when we moved but the whole experience was very good. Remersh and her team were very efficient and everything ran very smoothly. I would definitely recommend them.

Solicitor named in this review: Remersh Kaur

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Emma Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
October 29, 2020 20201029102000

Excellent

4

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I was sceptical having read some bad reviews about this firm online but we took a chance and they were fabulous. We were pleasantly surprised. There were a lot of reviews about hidden fees but nothing was hidden. Granted you have to have 14 days to complete but it can happen sooner if you pay a sum of money which I've never come across in a solicitors before. But having said that, it was written into the terms and conditions for you to see. There are also fees for the mortgage side of things but again, this is written into the ts and cs so nothing is hidden. Very helpful staff and especially Remersh who answered all our queries promptly, forwarded documents and arranged searches etc really quickly. Our sale fell through and they were very helpful in assisting us with what happens next. Thank you!

Solicitor named in this review: Remersh Kaur

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elliott
Elliott Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
October 13, 2020 20201013113245

Conveyencing

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

We had nothing but problems using this firm with no urgency also from Remersh and her team. We had to raise our problems to the owner Ross, who in his defence did a great job when he dealt with it. My estate agents, buyers solicitors and myself hardly heard from them unless they were requesting money. Eventually once we had managed to get past most of the stumbling blocks we were told the day before completion that the mortgage company were giving us less than we asked for. Not sure where this information came from as I was told in the morning that was a mistake but obviously gave us a sleepless night. Please avoid this firm at all costs. Can’t believe we paid money for this so called ‘service’.

Solicitor named in this review: Remersh Kaur

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashley
Ashley Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 13, 2020 20201013103709

Professional Service

4

Used to buy a property, best price found. Very helpful staff, kept me up to date on any progress, during times when no updates where given, i had to chase, but answers were provided. Completed within the estimated timescales.
Professional throughout and would recommend to anyone looking to buy a property

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gayle
Gayle Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 09, 2020 20201009175138

Trustworthy solicitors

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Very pleased with Ross Coates solicitors. Even through the coronavirus pandemic, the team worked hard to complete my house purchase. Thank you 😀

Solicitor named in this review: Remersh Kaur

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Peter Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 01, 2020 20201001142557

Very poor

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I used them twice with a similar experience each time. The lead conveyancer was frequently rude and the estate agent and seller’s solicitor in both sales remarked how slow they were. It seemed impossible to make any progress until you gave them more money. The biggest issue was with the total lack of transparency over fees, however.

In the first case, fees – excluding searches and land registry charges – came to over £1,100, almost double the original quote. In the latest case the "fixed fee" of £600 actually resulted in fees of £1,400.

The bill included:
• £600 original quoted fee, as expected
• £240 "Gifted deposit" fee because a relative was lending money for the deposit.
• £480 "expedition fee" - so that we could complete in a reasonable time, 12 weeks after instruction. From my experience, this is unavoidable if you don't want to risk the sale falling through due to the other side's frustration with delays. (In the other sale this fee was also necessary and was £500, for some reason, while searches, the stamp duty form charge, and even the bank transfer fee were also all charged at a higher rate – again for no reason I can see.)
• £60+ AML and ID checks (including extra charges for checks of the relative - which apparently weren't covered by the gifted deposit fee).

Finally, I received demands three weeks later from HMRC for the stamp duty. Despite being transferred to Ross Coates’ account at the time of completion, it had not been paid. This happened in both sales, making it seem more like a policy than an oversight.

For the money you end up paying, you could get a top quality solicitors firm offering excellent customer care. Ross Coates isn’t and doesn’t.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Justin
Justin Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 28, 2020 20200928221040

Claire Watson team

5

Claire Watson and her team provided an extremely fast and professional service. Highly recommended and will certainly use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tim
Tim Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 12, 2020 20200912140800

Great service, fair price

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I was very pleased with the way Ross Coates handled my conveyancing, very efficient and at an extremely fair price. Thank you so much. I would definitely recommend them and will use again in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Remersh Kaur

Was this review helpful? Yes

Maxine
Maxine Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 03, 2020 20200903225503

Great firm very helpful

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

We had a great experience with Ross Coates solicitors remersh And Lucy was on hand to answer all our questions and kept us informed every step of the way. I defiantly be using them again in the future

Solicitor named in this review: Remersh Kaur

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Our values provide the framework for how we engage with our colleagues, customers and stakeholders every single day and can be summed up three simple statements: ​ Do it Right - We’re passionate about the quality of our work, and we always aim to achieve the highest professional standards. Work Well With Others – We share our knowledge, experience and ideas and encourage respect. Take the Lead – We challenge ourselves to be the best, strive for innovation and commit to do all we can to help our clients. ​ If you would like to speak to us in relation to a Legal Matter please feel free to complete the form below and one of our staff will be in contact in due course.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000