Ross Coates Solicitors

01473 621 800

When Instructing a Solicitor we think you should be confident in the knowledge that you are happy with the person you will be trusting to undertake your instructions. That’s why here at Ross Coates we are pleased to be able to offer a free 15 minute Consultation so you can meet or speak to your dedicated Solicitor before instructing us. Our mission is to make it easy for people in the UK to access quality legal services at a fair price.

3.6/5 108 Client Reviews 108 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation

How Ross Coates Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ross Coates Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ross Coates Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

108 Client Reviews

3.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    56
  • Very Good
    17
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    32
Anonymous
Click to rate
Tim
Tim Added 1 week ago Report to admin
September 12, 2020 20200912140800

Great service, fair price

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I was very pleased with the way Ross Coates handled my conveyancing, very efficient and at an extremely fair price. Thank you so much. I would definitely recommend them and will use again in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Remersh Kaur

Was this review helpful? Yes

Maxine
Maxine Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
September 03, 2020 20200903225503

Great firm very helpful

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

We had a great experience with Ross Coates solicitors remersh And Lucy was on hand to answer all our questions and kept us informed every step of the way. I defiantly be using them again in the future

Solicitor named in this review: Remersh Kaur

Was this review helpful? Yes

Janet
Janet Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 20, 2020 20200820174920

House sale

5

Everything was very smooth and handled well, even in the midst of the pandemic. Thank you. While I'm hoping to never have to sell another house, I would use this firm again if needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Steve Added 3 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
June 18, 2020 20200618115321

House buy

5

We have recently moved into our first home and we chose to have Ross Coates as our solicitors.

Ross Coates have been very helpful from start to finish, in particular, Lucy Guerreiro.

She has responded promptly to emails and phone calls and nothing was too much effort for her.

Our experience of using Ross Coates has been a very good one and we would use them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Graeme
Graeme Added 4 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
May 18, 2020 20200518082124

Still owe me mony!

1

Used when trying to purchase a new Build property in Kent. Unfortunately the sale fell through way before exchange of contracts. Was conned into giving an extra £1200 on top of initial £400 to expedite the service by the main solicitor - Mr A Chatravorty. Have chased refund of monies (less their costs of course) but nothing - no return of calls or emails!! PLEASE AVOID as will scam you for money you will not get back. Just in process of reporting to Law Society

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey
Tracey Added 5 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
April 26, 2020 20200426133243

No transparency

1

Told from the start that it was an all inclusive quote, no hidden fees. Well let's just say they have their fees very well hidden!! They want more than our initial quote for sale to get some questions answered by the management company of our freehold house. We were never advised from the beginning that this could be a potential additional cost, despite most newish builds now having management companies. They are very sketchy and I have cancelled my purchase, still waiting for a refund almost a month later!!
Would stay well clear

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clare
Clare Added 5 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
April 08, 2020 20200408132018

Absolutely Dreadful.

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I looked for Solicitors that were not going to cost a fortune to sell my property. The initial quote I received was low. There is a saying however, that you get what you pay for and in this case it is certainly true. These are the worst solicitors ever used for selling a property. My experience included the wrong papers being sent to other solicitors, no updates throughout process, only if I rang in. No liaising with other solicitors and then right at the last minute, trying to add extortionate fees onto the bill which weren't warranted. No completion statement received prior to sale, so then having to wait ages for hundreds of pounds to be refunded.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 27, 2020 20200127121217

DO NOT USE FOR HOUSE PURCHASING - completely misled

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Nothing was explained to us.

Firstly when we first instructed them we had in writing that the fee given was the final fee with no extras. They then proceeded to try and charge us for additional extras which we had to go back and forth disputing before they finally agreed that we didn't have to pay.

Now we are in our property and being invoiced by a third party company for absolutely nothing - we are freeholders and this is not a maintenance charge (we have this in writing from the third party). This was never explained to us during the buying process and when we queried it we were just told by Ross Coats 'it was in the papers you signed'. We were completely misled and under the impression that this was a service charge for the estate - which it isn't.

Now we are tied into a lifelong contract of increasing charges to be paid to a third party for absolutely nothing.

AVOID AVOID AVOID

A representative from Ross Coates Solicitors responded to this review on 03 March, 2020

This review contains information that we believe is not a true reflection of the matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 8 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
January 10, 2020 20200110095658

Awful

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Used these guys when we were selling our flat a few years ago and they were inept in a way that I didn't think possible. I wouldn't want anyone to go through what me and my partner did during that period of our lives - so I advise anyone thinking of hiring a conveyancer to look elsewhere.

A representative from Ross Coates Solicitors responded to this review on 03 March, 2020

This review contains information that we believe is not a true reflection of the matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jon
Jon Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 09, 2019 20191209230651

2nd Experience with Ross Coates

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Claire was very helpful looked after my interests and kept me in the loop with events
It’s the 2nd time I have dealt with Claire and will readily come back for more.
To be honest the first time around I was a little sceptical using a firm at arms length, but I found it no different in fact easier than using local Solicitors

Solicitor named in this review: claire watson

claire watson from Ross Coates Solicitors responded to this review on 10 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Our values provide the framework for how we engage with our colleagues, customers and stakeholders every single day and can be summed up three simple statements: ​ Do it Right - We’re passionate about the quality of our work, and we always aim to achieve the highest professional standards. Work Well With Others – We share our knowledge, experience and ideas and encourage respect. Take the Lead – We challenge ourselves to be the best, strive for innovation and commit to do all we can to help our clients. ​ If you would like to speak to us in relation to a Legal Matter please feel free to complete the form below and one of our staff will be in contact in due course.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000