Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Horne Engall And Freeman LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Horne Engall And Freeman LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 85%
Overpriced 14%
About Right 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 90%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Horne Engall And Freeman LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Horne Engall And Freeman LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 90%
No 10%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 90%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Horne Engall And Freeman LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Horne Engall And Freeman LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 90%
No 10%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Horne Engall And Freeman LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    24
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Martyn

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Martyn

July 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

I highly recommend HEFLLP.

I can�t thank the team enough for their hard work, professionalism and knowledge that not only got us into our new house well before expectations, but also for personal touch and �calming� support (from Doug and Tina) that took the stress out of buying and selling our home.

Was this review helpful?

Vanita

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Vanita

July 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

She was incredibly professional

Worked with Rachel Eley for the conveyancing of our first home. She was incredibly professional and maintained excellent communication from start to finish. The whole process was very smooth and cannot recommend these solicitors enough!

Was this review helpful?

Martyn

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Martyn

July 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank You!!!

I can’t speak highly enough of the team at Horne, Engall & Freeman.

Without the teams dedication to the purchase and sale of my house our move would have undoubtedly fallen through when my buyer pulled out – only leaving us with a few weeks to complete before the close of stamp duty window.

Without Doug’s drive and experience this would have effectively broken the chain and left us unable to move, but with his guidance we managed to be in a position to effectively exchange in a matter of days after finding a new buyer, and Doug had everything drawn up allowing us to complete with astonishing speed.

Throughout, what’s been equally important to me however, has been Doug’s ability to patiently talk and guide us through the process, explaining everything, and offering us a personal level of support and service that far exceeded expectations and gave me great reassurance whilst going through a most anxious time.

I found the teams work, commitment and personal service excellent for the quoted (reasonable) fee, and I was further surprised the quoted price was that finally invoiced as there was additional work which had to be completed by the firm (seemingly at their own expense) due to my change of buyer.

I can’t thank Doug (and Tina) enough for their hard work, professionalism, knowledge and attention to detail which all contributed to get us into our new home speedily – but I'm also very thankful for the outstanding level of personal support that took ‘most’ of the stress out of doing so.

Was this review helpful?

Martyn

Martyn

July 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

I highly recommend HEFLLP.

I can’t thank the team enough for their hard work, professionalism and knowledge that not only got us into our new house well before expectations, but also for personal touch and ‘calming’ support (from Doug and Tina) that took the stress out of buying and selling our home.

Was this review helpful?

Vanita

Vanita

June 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Worked with Rachel Eley for the conveyancing of our first home.

She was incredibly professional and maintained excellent communication from start to finish. The whole process was very smooth and cannot recommend these solicitors enough!

Was this review helpful?

Ashleigh

Ashleigh

May 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional service.

I dealt with Doug who i would highly recommend. I will definitely be using Horne Engall again.

Was this review helpful?

Hollie

Hollie

May 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

I can't recommend Francois and the team at Horne Engall enough!

I just bought my first property with their help and they made everything so much less stressful from start to finish. They were professional, efficient and tenacious. I am shocked to see poor reviews here. Every email and request I had Francois responded back straight away. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful?

Harry

Harry

May 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Doug who took me through everything was an absolute blessing during the purchase of my first house.

When he reported back to me, there were all too many times where both myself (and peers) repeated how grateful we were to have him working for us and with such a keen interest for us too. He was the one during the whole process that I felt I could truly count on for unbiased, well informed advice (which, as a naive first time buyer happened frequently and was much appreciated being taken “under his wing” through the process!!). We can’t recommend him and Horne Engall enough and it goes without saying that I’ll be using only this firm in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Michael

May 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A positive experience throughout!

I dealt with Doug for the sale of our property. If it wasn't for Doug I think we will still be going back and forth with unnecessary paperwork. He exceeded expectations, emails responded within the hour, preparation of all paperwork from the get go and keeping you up to date step by step... everything you want from a solicitor. Highly recommended.. you won't be disappointed!!

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Emily

May 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Would highly recommend.

Used for conveyancing for house purchase. Dealt with Doug who was attentive, informative and excellent communication

Was this review helpful?

Horne Engall And Freeman LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

What Makes Us Different Our expertise and experience come from being an established local firm. We were founded in 1870 and are one of the oldest Law Practices in Surrey. For more details on the firm please go to Our Firm Who We Are Success from experience: our people provide expert legal advice. For more details on our people and their areas of practice go to Our People What We Offer We specialise in family and matrimonial law, domestic and commercial conveyancing, wills and probates, civil litigation, personal injury and employment law. We also have a Notary Public at both our Egham and Sunbury offices. For more details about these areas services please go to Our Services or Notarial Services

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Media and Sports
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment