Book an appointment

Book an appointment

Finn Gledhill

01422 330000

View map
Finn Gledhill

How Finn Gledhill Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 70%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Finn Gledhill on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 50%
About Right 50%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 53%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Finn Gledhill and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Finn Gledhill performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 53%
No 47%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 53%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Finn Gledhill and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Finn Gledhill compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 53%
No 47%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Finn Gledhill offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Finn Gledhill only have 10 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

2.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    4
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Richard

Richard

August 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Awful Service

After being recommended to Finn Gledhill to assist with a contact order, I contacted and told that the solicitor was away and would be able to assist with query. I was emailed to say that the solicitor was busy and wouldn't be taking on new clients until her return from holiday.

I waited for her return and contact the branch again by email (no response), I then rang the branch and was told they would not be able to see me for a further 5 weeks,. When I challenged the receptionist about the emailing asking me if I could wait, I was told I should have made an appointment then. Totally unprofessional.

I contacted Makin Dixon who agreed to help me immediately.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Richard

August 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Awful Service

After being recommended to Finn Gledhill to assist with a contact order, I contacted and told that the solicitor was away and would be able to assist with query. I was emailed to say that the solicitor was busy and wouldn't be taking on new clients until her return from holiday.

I waited for her return and contact the branch again by email (no response), I then rang the branch and was told they would not be able to see me for a further 5 weeks,. When I challenged the receptionist about the emailing asking me if I could wait, I was told I should have made an appointment then. Totally unprofessional.

I contacted Makin Dixon who agreed to help me immediately.

Was this review helpful?

Ayden

Ayden

June 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Finn Gledhill Criminal Solicitors

Brilliant legal service and very good advice given.
Many years ago I had a criminal issue and Finn Gledhill solicitors was always on my side and in reality they gave me legal advice on my criminal issue.
Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Bret

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Bret

February 09, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Appalling

Used the solicitors to sell my home and buy the next property. Complete lack of communication to myself, estate agents and other solicitors in the chain with one solicitor being told that they couldnt speak to the conveyancer on the supposed day of exchange. I only met the solicitor for the first time by turning up at the office and refusing to leave until I saw him ! The day of exchange was delayed by a week due to incompetence with no apology. On the actual day of exchange the solicitor decided to go home early thus stalling the system which caused extreme stress. The receptionists had a 'don't care' attitude, as did the solicitor. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY !

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Paul

February 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent - Go The Extra Mile

Michael helped with the purchase of our house & was brilliant. He was always available to answer emails very efficiently. He found a potential nightmare in the first house we were going for & helped us to get out of that. Then even managed to sell on the searches that had been done on that property & the fee received for those was knocked off our final bill. As my review says he went the extra mile.
Very efficient on the house we did complete on & all in all an excellent very quick service. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Lisa

February 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Unhelpful at best

Spoke to Finn Gledhill as I had been referred to them as being open and able to assist in the completion of an ID1 Form, a relatively straight forward task. Called every day, most days the phone was ignored. On the days that it was answered I spoke with a really unhelpful woman.

Taking into account that we are in lockdown, I was asked to travel into the office to provide a completed form, for the solicitor to then sign it off. I asked if the form could be printed by the solicitor, which was a no. I asked if the appointment would be at 5pm as myself and partner worked and needed to travel 45 mins to get to the office, which was a no. I asked if the form could be completed remotely via Skype or Zoom (as this is been legally approved due to lockdown) and that also was a no.

When I asked if they would do anything to be helpful I was literally laughed at and she put the phone down.

I wouldn’t trust a company to deal with legal matter who behave in this way. Avoid - there are many more firms in Halifax who offer a professional service.

Was this review helpful?

Maddison

Maddison

April 30, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amazing

Michael helped me with my house purchase and was so helpful. He went over and above to make sure the purchase could complete and always responded to emails promptly. I was being bought out of a property which should have been a straight forward procedure but unfortunately my ex partners solicitor wasn’t very good and caused a few obstacles. Michael did everything he could to resolve it and still managed to ensure completion on time. Can’t recommend him enough! Thank you for everything!

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Peter

May 17, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Home Purchase

Finn Gledhill helped me and my partner purchase our first ever house and I cannot recommend them highly enough. I dealt directly with Mick who was knowledgeable and responsive to any/all enquiries I had. He extremely professional whilst being very approachable and ensured that everything completed on time, he also kept us fully informed of all the things we needed to be aware of. When our purchase was moved forward (and despite us panicking a little as we were aiming to use our lifetime is as) this never felt like too much trouble Mick just made us aware of the information he needed and by what date and everything progressed seamlessly.

Whilst the process was daunting and stressful I genuinely believe without Finn Gledhill it would’ve been 10x worse.

Thank you Mick and Finn Gledhill

Was this review helpful?

Rachael

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Rachael

October 12, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Appalling service - huge unneccessary delays.

If I could give them one star I would, We have been trying to sell our house for the last 12 months, currently with the third buyer as the last two sales fell apart around completion. As conveyancing is largely an administrative business there is very little for them to actually have done on this but they have managed to delay responding to emails (there is no point in phoning as there is no-one available or answering the phone, you may get through to Halifax but they can't do anything if your case is being dealt with in Hebden Bridge!). Currently our sale and our buyers purchase is being handled by different offices and they have managed to take over four months to handle a straight forward sale with no chains involved, no surveys and no negotiation. On top of this they have not provided me with any information about why this delay has occurred despite repeated enquiries.

Was this review helpful?

sue

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

sue

November 02, 2017

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good service - excellent communication

Bought my house through finns in June this year - fast and efficient service

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Corporate finance
  • Regulations
    • Licensing