Butterworths

01422 849222

Whether the matter is of a personal or business nature, you can be sure that you will receive outstanding advice tailored to meet your own needs and which reflects your own personal circumstances. You can be sure you are in safe hands every time.

4.1/5 62 Customer Reviews 62
Recommended by
58 Verified Clients
like Danmorris
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation

How Butterworths compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Butterworths on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

62 Customer Reviews

4.1/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    42
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    9
Anonymous
Click to rate
Razvan
Verified Razvan Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 11, 2019 20190711052832

Professional service

5

The service and customer care I received from start to finish was of the highest standard

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 06, 2019 20190706165355

house sale

5

When ever I had a querie I could just ring and they would get back to me right away a younger lad called jack all ways called me back he was very nice i would say to him you are bound to be sick of me and he would say of coarse not ring any time you want

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Louise
Verified Louise Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 03, 2019 20190703085441

Great value for money and professionalism

5

Butterworths acted on mine and my brother's behalf for the purchase of a residential property. Both kept up to date with regular e-mails and quick responses to our questions from Grace and Jack.

Was this review helpful? Yes

sovail
sovail Added 3 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 26, 2019 20190626163559

Fantastic Service

5

All i want to say is thank you Katie Richardson for your hard work and fantastic service for the sale of my house. Would recommend this company and would definitely use them again in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Molly
Verified Molly Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 11, 2019 20190611142054

Frustrated

2

I was recommended Butterworths by a friend, but was disappointed when we clearly did not receive the same level of service.
It was almost impossible to speak to anyone on the team. At times, after no response via email and no answer on the phone, I had to ask the receptionist to speak to them to get any response.
This was the case even when trying to get payment details from them (not sent with the payment request which I found very odd).
They responded to most questions we had about the house buying process with vague answers and jargon which they failed to clarify the meaning of. For example we were concerned about the vendors failing to clear out the property, after not sending any formal documentation of the agreed list of things that would be left they simply said that if this was the case it would be a breach of contract. They would not say what this meant in practical terms.
They failed to return documents back to us. After asking if there were any other documents we needed to send to them regarding a gifted deposit, they said no, but then just a few days before completion they requested more documents which caused unnecessary stress.

We were working to a tight timeframe which they didn't seem to respect. We spent quite a lot of time chasing them for updates, making them aware of emails and documents that had been sent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dottore London Ltd
Verified Dottore London Ltd Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 11, 2019 20190611082338

Value for money

3

I've been experienced a good service overall. I think there is a lack of direct contact with the solicitors, though, but this doesn't particularly affect the service. I was followed by 2 solicitors, I didn't have a good experience with the first one, however the second made things easier and smoother.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michał
Michał Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 10, 2019 20190610045043

Case against Ryanair

1

Well they took my time to file a claim against Ryanair and then they just retreated stating highly likely they would not succeed

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alisha
Alisha Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 06, 2019 20190606191126

First time house purchase

5

We used Butterworths because we wanted somewhere local and with a good reputation. As first time buyers we were nervous about who to use and how much it would cost. Our solicitor Katie Richardson, was professional, kind extremely knowledgable and put us at ease for the whole experience, from the first enquiry, to completion. She kept in contact with me directly by phone and email (which ever I preferred) and reassured me that no questions were ridiculous ( I had many, many queries) and that she was there to help with everything we needed. After hearing so many stories of other solicitors not having time for you or just treating you like a number, I was really impressed with how professional and comfortable it was to deal with Katie and how easy the entire process was-someone said buying a house was stressful and it didn’t feel that way with her! Would highly recommend and definitely use again should I need to.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wendy
Verified Wendy Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 06, 2019 20190606171338

Remortgage

5

I went to butter worth’s due to ease of location. Completed with no hassle and feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Trevor
Verified Trevor Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 06, 2019 20190606151256

Couldn't be Happier!

5

Adele did a wonderful job dealing with our house sale and I wouldn't hesitate to use Butterworths again! Thanks also to Jack Pattinson.

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Based in the North of England we offer high-quality, sensible legal advice to clients seeking professional help and easy to access support. Whether the matter is of a personal or business nature, you can be sure that you will receive outstanding advice tailored to meet your own needs and which reflects your own personal circumstances. You can be sure you are in safe hands every time.


Legal Services
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Right to Manage
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Children
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Travel rights
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Senior Executives
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Media and Sports
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Pension and property advice
  • Litigation Law
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Injunctions
  • Discrimination at Work
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Probate
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Financial Matters
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Lease Extensions
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Trusts
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Injunctions
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Valuers
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Social Services
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Family Mediation
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Barristers
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Consumer Rights
  • Flexible Working
  • Professional Negligence
  • Transfer of title
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Management
  • IT professionals
  • Repossessions
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Collaborative Law
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Dental Negligence
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Child Law
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Professional trustees
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Civil partnerships
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Family law
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • MRSA Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Housing Associations
  • Pension Law
  • Against The Council
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Wills
  • Separation Agreement
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Redundancy
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • TUPE
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Property Disputes
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Insurance brokers
  • Financial advisors
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Child contact
  • Housing disputes
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Summary Judgment
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Competition law
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Development plot sales
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Environmental policy law
  • Statutory Demands
  • Asset Tracing
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Corporate finance
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Corporate Law
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Finance
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Equestrian property
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Franchising
  • Health and Safety
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Data Protection
  • Agency agreements
  • Purchase of development land
  • Setting up a business
  • Debt Recovery
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Share option schemes
  • Developer disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Commercial Law
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Mediation
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Employment - business
  • Rights of way issues
  • Farming disputes
  • Management buyouts
  • Banking
  • Credit Control
  • Intellectual Property
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000