Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Chadwick Lawrence LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 76%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Chadwick Lawrence LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 87%
About Right 12%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 62%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Chadwick Lawrence LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Chadwick Lawrence LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 62%
No 38%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 63%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Chadwick Lawrence LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Chadwick Lawrence LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 63%
No 37%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Chadwick Lawrence LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

3.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    81
  • Very Good

    8
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    34

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Josh

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Josh

March 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Please avoid

I appointed Chadwick Lawrence in September 2021 through SAM Conveyancing. Faye Judkins was my solicitor. It all went down hill from here.

I received little to no communication from Faye through the process. In hindsight, I should have listened to my gut and appointed another firm. I decided to stick, and faced unnecessary delays, no communication and almost lost the house through continuous delays.

I was told some months later that Faye had left the firm with immediate effect and that a full review was needed. It took me to complain to find out what had been done, or what hadn’t been done in my case. I had found out that enquiries were not raised until over 1 month after searches had come back. Nothing had been done on my case.

Thankfully, Beverley had taken over. I really appreciate her help with our purchase. However, searches were returned in November and enquiries were, in the end, raised in January 2022. This was something out of Beverley’s control, as a full review was needed, but my question is, who was Faye’s supervisor and how could this have gone unnoticed?

It was interesting to see that Chadwick Lawrence prides itself on ‘We do law, to the high standards we set for ourselves. We take pride in what we do and we care.’ As you can imagine this was not the case. The impression that I had was that thoes who work at the firm had such a large caseload, that they cannot give any kind of service to clients. Please correct me if I am wrong.

I do not know how law firms can get away with providing such shocking service. If this was any other industry, we would complain and be compensated. But, we just take it and pay them our hard earned money for their mistakes and a terrible service. I really do hope that you look into this further.

Please do think again about using Chadwick Lawrence. It just is not worth the hassle. Give your hard earned money to another firm.

Was this review helpful?

Amir

Amir

March 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Worst firm ever

This firm and Faye is waste of space. I have no idea how this firm is still in business, faye Judkins wasted 2 months of ours in the process of buying our first home. I got them through Sam Conveyancing and the time I instructed them was the time our excitement of buying the first home turn into nightmare. I received no communication whatsoever despite sending them numerous emails asking what is happening but no reply. Whenever you call the solicitor she never comes on the phone. 2 months past in this nightmare I had to cancel them and the day I cancelled them turn out nothing was done at all apart from getting our ids and filling some initial forms from us. Please do yourself a favour and never hire them for your conveyancer. This firm needs to shut down.

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

David

December 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale

When is a quotation not a quotation? When it is sent by Chadwick Lawrence solicitors. Beware

We received a quotation for selling our house from them in the sum of £1006.80P + VAT. The day before completion we received an invoice for £2989+VAT and were told this would be deducted from our receipts of sale.

Chadwick Lawrence’s Terms and conditions state “they will update you regularly on the cost position and tell you if any costs estimates need to be reviewed “. We received no updates on cost increases.

The management of our sale was poor, the designated conveyancer left with one day’s notice. The partner who took over her responsibilities took a day’s holiday on completion day.

The complaints partner considers that the transaction has been completed satisfactorily and will not enter into any further correspondence .

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Anonymous

December 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Appalling service

Don't use Chadwick Lawrence for the purchase of your property. They are truly awful. There was a catalogue of errors which have cost us money and stress. They are sloppy and almost impossible to reach to contact either by phone or email. We will never use your firm again and we will advise others not to use you either.

Was this review helpful?

Wieslaw

Wieslaw

November 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid

Avoid Chadwick Lawrence at all costs. Very slow communication. They did not offer a high quality legal service or to be onest no service at all since they terminated contract . Frustrating to deal with, difficult to speak with and not helpful. I don't feel like they were on my side and did not make a difference. Best to find a different firm

Was this review helpful?

rebecca

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

rebecca

September 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Deserves 0 stars

I am a buyer of a property they are acting on behalf of the seller. They agreed a completion date to sell property. I had deposit and mortgage in my solicitors account the day before ready for exchange next day. They decided to tell us late on the day before completion they hadn’t received the redemption statement from the sellers mortgage then proceeded to blame the mortgage company for delaying sending the form. A form they should have had before agreeing to a completion date. 3 days later with no sign of this form I had to have mortgage funds returned until we are ready to complete. Looks like we can complete 1 week later fingers crossed. Booked days off which are now wasted. Luckily I wasn’t hoping to move in that day or I’d be homeless! I have had to rearrange several workers - joiners/plumbers/builders/carpet fitting. I have a tenant waiting to move in which now needs to be delayed. Not acceptable! Avoid these solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

Rob

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Rob

August 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Did nothing

The only time my conveyancing "solicitor" took action was when I made a complaint. Ultimately seller pulled out as a result of inaction. Not fit for purpose.

Was this review helpful?

Shamir

Matter Type:

Discrimination at Work

Shamir

June 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid Chadwick Lawrence at all costs

Avoid Chadwick Lawrence at all costs.Poor or no communication at all. Would give no starts if there was an option. They did not offer a high quality legal service as they market. Frustrating to deal with, difficult to speak with and not helpful. They took too long and I felt overcharged. I don't feel like they were on my side and did not make a difference. Best to find a different firm. This review just echoes what other people have left. I won't be using them even if it was for free check the negative reviews left by other people on various review sites. They cause more stress and hassle. No communication and did not deliver what they set out and what you would expect. Shocking. I am disgraced by their awful service. I feel like they just wanted to take my money and run. I have an employment dispute with a University and instead of helping they have done the opposite. I would not recommend or use them again.

Was this review helpful?

Tracey

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Tracey

January 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid!

Our buyers have been using these cowboys.
We should have exchanged today, after 5 months of non-communication and general incompetence from Chadwick Lawrence, despite it being a very straightforward, no chain sale.
Exchange hasn’t happened because Chadwick Lawrence couldn’t even get their act together enough to give their client their bank details for the transferral of funds.

Chadwick Lawrence don’t answer phone calls or emails, and they never initiate contact. They’re also rude, give out incorrect information and blaming anyone but themselves for the issues they’ve created.

Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful?

Claire

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Claire

December 03, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Disgustingly incompetent

Disgustingly incompetent company which deserves to be struck off! Kirsten Macdonald filed my stamp duty return incorrectly and misadvised me on the amount of stamp duty due. The Completion Department then failed to lodge the sale with Land Registry. The whole affair has been a complete mess. Its almost 2 years later Im still suffering as a result. When I tried to lodge a formal complaint I was threatened with costs for the work they didnt do in the first place. This has cost me a lot of time, money and major headaches. For your own sake please STAY AWAY!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Alistair

Alistair

August 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient, effortless and stress free

Michelle, Joseph and Connor made my house buying experience a really positive one! I always received prompt responses with the team always on hand when I needed them. I have heard of many people having difficult experiences with solicitors during the conveyancing process however Chadwick Lawrence and the team on my case made my process effortless and stress free.

Was this review helpful?

ben ward

ben ward

August 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Excellent service! Lisa and Eleanor have been fantastic through our house move. They have kept us to date throughout. I would recommend them again and again and if we ever sell again I’d want to use them. The app is also extremely helpful and it’s a really handy tool to see where you are at with your purchase without bothering anyone. Also even though the app is there Lisa and Eleanor have been there to talk to every step. Thank you again. Ben & Ant

Was this review helpful?

Customer

Customer

August 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very good solicitors, only troubled by usual problems

The solicitor we were provided with for our house move was excellent to begin with, and explained the process clearly for us as first time buyers. The Chadwick Lawrence app was good, with a clear route forward and made things such as identity checks far simpler. Sadly communication was slow on occasion and the usual chasing tactics were needed. Finally there were even some financial inaccuracies that I had to point out to the administrator of our sale a day or two before completion, which could have derailed the whole process. Overall, however, the experience was good and I would consider working with them again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Steve  Tordoff

Steve Tordoff

August 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

The matter of my uncles estate was…

The matter of my uncles estate was dealt with in a very professional manner.Keeping me informed how things were progressing at evey opportunity,I would certainly recommend chadwick Lawrence to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Steve  Tordoff

Steve Tordoff

August 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

The matter of my uncles estate was…

The matter of my uncles estate was dealt with in a very professional manner.Keeping me informed how things were progressing at evey opportunity,I would certainly recommend chadwick Lawrence to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Chadwick Lawrence LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We don’t make bold claims about being a “revolutionary” law firm. We don’t say “we’re not like other law firms”. We are. We do law, to the high standards we set for ourselves. We take pride in what we do and we care. We are Yorkshire’s Legal People and we’re here for business and for you. Each and every one of us at Chadwick Lawrence takes pride in: Our Environment Our Work Our Approach As a Firm, we’re proud of: What We’ve Built Our Relationships Our People Our Communities and the Diversity of the People We Serve We offer traditional legal services for both personal and business matters. Services such as Family Law and Conveyancing sit side by side in our personal services, while our business services include matters such as Employment, Commercial Property and Dispute Resolution. Chadwick Lawrence is also one of the few solicitors firms in the area to have specialist Medical Negligence and Sports Law capabilities. Our Values Our services are now delivered from nine offices across West Yorkshire following our merger with Whitaker Firth on 1st July 2019, and our reach is nationwide. Our people, teams and commitment to innovation have won us many awards – making us one of the best legal practices in the region.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Human Rights
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • No Win No Fee
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment