Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Trethowans LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Trethowans LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 97%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Trethowans LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Trethowans LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Trethowans LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Trethowans LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Trethowans LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    207
  • Very Good

    3
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    12

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Brett

Brett

July 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyance of Commercial Property

I found Mr Flowers to be exceptionally professional in the approach he took in completing the conveyance of a commercial property for me. It was a breath of fresh air to find a solicitor that was very proactive and didn't need chasing. I will be using Mr Flowers again for my future commercial property acquisitions and I thoroughly recommend his services.

Was this review helpful?

Tim

Tim

June 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional, timely and friendly help from a great law firm

Sam Flowers was appointed to work on a matter to help me buy a commercial property. He gave me very practical advice and responded very quickly to any communications and brought the matter to a successful conclusion with the minimum of fuss despite the vendors introducing some complications.

Was this review helpful?

Duncan

Duncan

March 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great anchor role in a three party case

Great anchor role in a three party case.

The sale of our dental practice turned out to be quite a tricky affair.
There were three parties involved with the transaction: ourselves as freeholders of the building where the dental practice occupies the ground floor, our SIPP that holds this commercial premises as part of our pension arrangements, and the purchaser of the practice.
Sam Flowers of Trethowans solicitors was acting on behalf of the SIPP, and had the difficult task of having to work with the both the solicitors for the purchasers, and our solicitors as freeholders.
I thoroughly enjoyed working with him. He turned out to be our key contact, as he was having to keep abreast of the Due Diligence work progress at both the other sets of solicitors, which took about three months longer than was expected because of the three parties involved.
He was almost always available to talk to by ‘phone, and if not, a colleague answered my call and messaged him. He returned calls as soon as he had time, which was great.
Having not been involved in a transaction of this nature before, it was very reassuring to know that I could call Sam, who was able to explain what was happening, and why, and then discuss the next actions required.
The Trethowans service was precisely what we were hoping for when we selected them from the list supplied by the SIPP.

Was this review helpful?

Lucy

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Lucy

January 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exemplary service from start to finish

Highly recommend Tim & his team at Trethowans. Efficient & extremely thorough from start to finish, will use again.

Was this review helpful?

Dean

Dean

November 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase

Zach was recommended to us for our property purchase. He was very knowledgeable and able to talk us through the process. There was always a timely response and we were kept fully updated on proceedings. Zach ensured it was smooth process, offered clear and practical advice and was a pleasure to deal with. I would recommend him and Trethowans.

Was this review helpful?

Colin

Matter Type:

Sales and Purchases

Colin

November 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sipp property sale

Zach, thanks very much for completing the sale of my pension property. I was very impressed with the way you controlled the process. You set the pace with the other parties involved and always kept me fully informed with progress. Your communications with me were always professional, understandable and friendly. I had full confidence in you.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend you to future customers.

Colin Nunn

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Michael

October 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fast and efficient service

Thank you Zach for all your help in Completing the sale of my property.

Was this review helpful?

K

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

K

December 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tim Higham and team are amazing!

We are first time buyers and a seemingly simple purchase turned out to be a bit of a nightmare. The only redeeming part of this process was the professionalism, hard work and kindness that Tim Higham, Hannah Forest and Threthowans residential team brought to the table.

They worked tirelessly to secure this purchase for us and were honest when it wasn't going well but always had a plan of what to do next. And it worked!

I could write an essay about how happy we are with everything you have done for us.

Trethowans are totally transparent with their cost of services and our final bill was very accurate to our original quote which was given 6 months prior.

We can't thank you all enough for everything, we wouldn't have a home without you!

Was this review helpful?

Steve

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Steve

October 09, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional, patient, persistent and highly recommended

We have used Trethowans for previous property sales and purchases and have always had a great experience. Our latest sale has been an absolute saga with buyers pulling out, chains breaking down and then the pandemic and the delays that brought. Throughout the last twelve months Holly has been on our side, regularly pushing and chasing "up the chain" and keeping us informed as things eventually moved (slowly) through to completion. Given all that has happened we were not charged a penny more than the original quote which is exemplary.

Highly recommend Trethowans, and in particular Holly, if you are looking for a professional service from knowledgeable people.

Was this review helpful?

Brent

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Brent

June 10, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extremely thorough and supportive, especially in challenging times.

We initially started our conveyancing journey with Emma who was amazing. Trethowans were pitted against an online "conveyancing firm" who were unresponsive and flippant, but Emma stayed professional and went over and above to get things done. Due to Covid-19 we our solicitor changed to a partner Tim, who was a character and got the job done.

Their costs were very reasonable, especially considering the time they had to put in due to Covid-19, not incurring any extra fees.

Highly recommended and when we come to any other legal matters we will use no one else.

Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Ben

Ben

April 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ben

I want to thanks everyone for their support in helping me complete the financial issues I had and which the result was on a fair basis for both party. I couldn't have done it without you guys Andrew, Dawn and Richard. thanks again and the advice you have given me. thanks again

Was this review helpful?

Key

Key

February 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Key

Have dealt with Mark, Katie and Lyn many times over the years and always found them helpful, on the ball and easy to deal with.

Would highly recommend them if looking for a local solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

Charles

Charles

February 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Charles

Tim Higham has been fantastic throughout the process, answered enquiries instantly, dealt with my queries straight away and pushed the buyers lawyers to get the deal over the line. Thanks Tim

Was this review helpful?

olivia

olivia

January 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

olivia

I paid £2.5 for a Cohabitation Agreement about 8 years ago. None of it actually worked or mattered. Don’t spend the money!

Was this review helpful?

Tim

Tim

December 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tim

Very professional service by Mr Mercer & his wonderful and friendly team. I would highly recommend them in the future.
I also used Mr Higham & his team who were equally brilliant..
Tim.

Was this review helpful?

Trethowans LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We are a leading law firm in the South of England providing a comprehensive range of services for both businesses and individual clients.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment