Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Trethowans LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 90%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Trethowans LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 97%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Trethowans LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Trethowans LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Trethowans LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Trethowans LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Trethowans LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    195
  • Very Good

    2
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Dean

Dean

November 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase

Zach was recommended to us for our property purchase. He was very knowledgeable and able to talk us through the process. There was always a timely response and we were kept fully updated on proceedings. Zach ensured it was smooth process, offered clear and practical advice and was a pleasure to deal with. I would recommend him and Trethowans.

Was this review helpful?

Colin

Matter Type:

Sales and Purchases

Colin

November 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sipp property sale

Zach, thanks very much for completing the sale of my pension property. I was very impressed with the way you controlled the process. You set the pace with the other parties involved and always kept me fully informed with progress. Your communications with me were always professional, understandable and friendly. I had full confidence in you.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend you to future customers.

Colin Nunn

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Michael

October 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fast and efficient service

Thank you Zach for all your help in Completing the sale of my property.

Was this review helpful?

K

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

K

December 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tim Higham and team are amazing!

We are first time buyers and a seemingly simple purchase turned out to be a bit of a nightmare. The only redeeming part of this process was the professionalism, hard work and kindness that Tim Higham, Hannah Forest and Threthowans residential team brought to the table.

They worked tirelessly to secure this purchase for us and were honest when it wasn't going well but always had a plan of what to do next. And it worked!

I could write an essay about how happy we are with everything you have done for us.

Trethowans are totally transparent with their cost of services and our final bill was very accurate to our original quote which was given 6 months prior.

We can't thank you all enough for everything, we wouldn't have a home without you!

Was this review helpful?

Steve

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Steve

October 09, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional, patient, persistent and highly recommended

We have used Trethowans for previous property sales and purchases and have always had a great experience. Our latest sale has been an absolute saga with buyers pulling out, chains breaking down and then the pandemic and the delays that brought. Throughout the last twelve months Holly has been on our side, regularly pushing and chasing "up the chain" and keeping us informed as things eventually moved (slowly) through to completion. Given all that has happened we were not charged a penny more than the original quote which is exemplary.

Highly recommend Trethowans, and in particular Holly, if you are looking for a professional service from knowledgeable people.

Was this review helpful?

Brent

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Brent

June 10, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extremely thorough and supportive, especially in challenging times.

We initially started our conveyancing journey with Emma who was amazing. Trethowans were pitted against an online "conveyancing firm" who were unresponsive and flippant, but Emma stayed professional and went over and above to get things done. Due to Covid-19 we our solicitor changed to a partner Tim, who was a character and got the job done.

Their costs were very reasonable, especially considering the time they had to put in due to Covid-19, not incurring any extra fees.

Highly recommended and when we come to any other legal matters we will use no one else.

Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Diane

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Diane

April 25, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Reassuringly professional

Fabulous conveyancing service, thank you, Tim!
Thoughtful, prompt, patient and professional service. It was reassuring to know that everything was being done to complete the sale as swiftly and smoothly as possible.

Was this review helpful?

Tim

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Tim

April 11, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Move In Challenging Times

We chose Trethowans through a recommendation and couldn't have been happier with the service we received. Emma, our solicitor, kept us fully informed of developments throughout the process. Her thorough approach and diligence were remarked upon by our sellers estate agent who was also impressed with Emma's service. This was particularly welcomed as we had the difficulties of moving during the lockdown due to a stubborn seller further up the chain. Emma kept us up to date and was always quick to respond. She offered suggestions to help us in these difficult times and we would not only highly recommend Trethowans we will be using them again when we need legal advice.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

July 23, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very efficient and great service.

Thanks to Holly for a very smooth house purchase. Her communication is excellent and I can recommend both Holly and Trethowans. I also liked the fixed fee - it is transparent and does not leave you with any unexpected bills.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Peter

June 03, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service on Difficult Flat Purchase

Buying a small flat in Salisbury became increasingly complex, with problems from a change of management agents during the purchase, a lease change that was difficult to register, a large number of potential maintenance issues and a lengthy backlog of works and payments.

At all times, I found Natasha Neal to be professional, able and helpful. It makes such a change to be able to call somebody and have them either answer you of call back within a reasonable timeframe.

At all time I felt completely confident in the firm, Natasha understood all my concerns and issues. They did everything they could to ensure the many issues were fully covered, while helping push to a completed sale. All of this without asking for any additional payment. I really cannot recommend them highly enough, and expect to use them again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Tim

Tim

December 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tim

Very professional service by Mr Mercer & his wonderful and friendly team. I would highly recommend them in the future.
I also used Mr Higham & his team who were equally brilliant..
Tim.

Was this review helpful?

Andy

Andy

November 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andy

A deserved glowing reference from a very happy and satisfied customer. Have just completed today on a Commercial Property transaction, steered and executed superbly and professionally by Jenni Wicheard, thank you Jenni for working to such a short timescale and at extremely good value - Thanks Andy

Was this review helpful?

Jake

Jake

September 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jake

We used Zach Rooney for purchase and sale of property. He was extremely responsive (more so than any other solicitor we have ever worked with) and provided quick, common-sense solutions for a number of unexpected challenges that arose from other parties. We couldn't be happier with the counsel provided and will continue to use Zach & Trethowans in the future. 5* 👍?

Was this review helpful?

Ben

Ben

August 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ben

Andrew, James, Zach & Fay made what was the most difficult situation in my life a process which was manageable and achieved a fair outcome, so my ex wife and I can now continue being the best parents we can be to our children. I will always be grateful for the entire Team at Trethowans. I needed Family, Residential and Commercial solicitors, and this team worked really well together. Ben

Was this review helpful?

ariane

ariane

August 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

ariane

The family team at Trethowans are excellent, and Dawn Gore in particular has provided outstanding advice and support. Always sympathetic, responsive and professional.

Was this review helpful?

Trethowans LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We are a leading law firm in the South of England providing a comprehensive range of services for both businesses and individual clients.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment