Solicitor at Leonard Gray LLP

John Appleby

Solicitor - Senior Partner

SRA ID: 313682

John is Senior Partner at Leonard Gray and the Head of our Property and Commercial departments. He has over 20 years’ qualified experience in dealing with a wide range of business and property transactions and commercial and landlord and tenant matters. He provides a friendly and understanding service to clients and is sensitive to their individual needs, whilst being open and honest about the outcomes they can expect to achieve. John is a member of the online Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and UK Commercial Property groups on LinkedIn, which seek, through informed debates and discussions, to raise awareness of and promote issues of current importance to the property and business communities. John is also an accredited civil and commercial mediator, having qualified with ADR Group, one of the UK’s largest and most well known providers of mediation training. He adopts a practical and focused approach to mediation and uses the benefit of his experience in commercial transactions and both business and personal disputes to help reach a solution. He is energetic, precise but also open and approachable.

72-74 Duke Street, CM1 1JY

Licensed for 20 years

Practice Areas

Commercial Property, Dispute Resolution, Company & Commercial

5.0/5 21 Client Reviews 21
  • Family Law 6%
  • Commercial Property 6%
  • Housing & Property 78%
  • Company & Commercial 11%
21 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    21
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Neil,
Verified Neil, Added 1 week ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
July 08, 2024 20240708152809

lease updates

5

Files found dating back to 1978 and 1982

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas Prince,
Verified Nicholas Prince, Added 8 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
November 01, 2023 20231101083045

Lease Extension

5

The extension was handled very efficiently. Staff members were friendly and helpful, asking sensible questions and listening to answers. They delivered the product requested in reasonable time.

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gerald,
Verified Gerald, Added 11 months ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
August 23, 2023 20230823183706

Ref

5

Excellent company have recommended to many friends and business clients

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen,
Verified Stephen, Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
July 06, 2023 20230706234057

Excellent Service (again) from Leonard Gray

5

I can thoroughly recommend Leonard Gray for all your legal needs.

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alan
Alan Added 4 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
February 21, 2020 20200221000000

Excellent from all

5

As always excellent from all. In fact if I ever had a problem I would let you know!!!

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 6 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
January 16, 2018 20180116000000

Great service

5

Great service as always

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 6 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
January 16, 2018 20180116000000

Review for Leonard Gray.

5

This particular matter was handled in exactly the way we have come to expect from Leonard Gray LLP

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ronald
Ronald Added 7 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
January 13, 2017 20170113000000

First class service.

5

First class service. Mr John Appleby was very professional and easy to converse with.

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 7 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
October 13, 2016 20161013010000

Excellent

5

It is excellent.

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Samantha
Samantha Added 9 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
June 09, 2015 20150609010000

Completely satisfied

5

I was completely satisfied. Thank you

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Guy
Guy Added 7 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
May 15, 2017
Collected on
20170515162303

Guy

5

I have dealt with Chris Kelly and John Appleby on both a personal and professional basis and i cannot fault their enthusiasm and attention to detail. All dealings have been easy and relaxed and I cannot recommend them enough.

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Copperhouse
Copperhouse Added 7 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
November 23, 2016
Collected on
20161123134220

Copperhouse

5

We have worked with Leonard Gray for a number of years in the form of Chris Kelly, John Appleby and Erin Duffy on both personal and business matters referring our clients and friends with absolute confidence that they will be given great service in a professional and timely manner.

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 10 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Leonard Gray LLP
March 25, 2014
Collected on
20140325161520

Michael

5

I have been a client of Leonard Gray Solicitors for 25 plus years and in that time I have purchased 2 trading limited companies, sold 2 limited companies. One company had 500 employees when I sold it. I have bought several houses and apartments and sold quite a few, bought industrial land and farm land, have created many leases for commercial tenants.
Most of the foregoing transactions have been handled by Justin Oakley and John Appleby.
The service I have received has been 100% or 10 out 10 rating.

Lawyer named in this review: John Appleby

Was this review helpful? Yes

About John Appleby

John is Senior Partner at Leonard Gray and the Head of our Property and Commercial departments. He has over 20 years’ qualified experience in dealing with a wide range of business and property transactions and commercial and landlord and tenant matters. He provides a friendly and understanding service to clients and is sensitive to their individual needs, whilst being open and honest about the outcomes they can expect to achieve. John is a member of the online Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and UK Commercial Property groups on LinkedIn, which seek, through informed debates and discussions, to raise awareness of and promote issues of current importance to the property and business communities. John is also an accredited civil and commercial mediator, having qualified with ADR Group, one of the UK’s largest and most well known providers of mediation training. He adopts a practical and focused approach to mediation and uses the benefit of his experience in commercial transactions and both business and personal disputes to help reach a solution. He is energetic, precise but also open and approachable.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact John Appleby

Address

Leonard Gray LLP

72-74 Duke Street

CM1 1JY



Phone 01245 504 904

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

15/09/03

19/04/24

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Compliance Officer for Finance and Administration

Leonard Gray

?-present