Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Leonard Gray LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Leonard Gray LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Leonard Gray LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 6%
About Right 92%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Leonard Gray LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Leonard Gray LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Leonard Gray LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Leonard Gray LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Leonard Gray LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    520
  • Very Good

    9
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    2

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Leonard Gray LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous,

June 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will writing service

We finally got round to organising our will. We decided to go with Leonard Gray and we’re not disappointed.

Professional, helpful and efficient service from Chris

Was this review helpful?

Kate

Kate

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional !

Tanith helped me purchase my first beauty salon and the whole process was really great ! She was so friendly and professional , always responded to calls and emails super quickly and explained everything to me clearly , I would highly recommend and Leonard gray solicitors and my family have used them for over 80 years !

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Leonard Gray LLP.

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

Anonymous,

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional service

We have used Lennard Gray LLP previously for our wills. We are happy with the service we received for the wills and POA’s and will use again if the need arises.

Was this review helpful?

B. J. Nice

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Leonard Gray LLP.

B. J. Nice

June 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

My fathers will (G J Nice)

A very good professional service throughout the process

Was this review helpful?

Peter,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Leonard Gray LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Peter,

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

excellent service

Sigourney Rutkowski has advised us on previous occaisions and has been excellent, so we had no hesitation asking her to help us revised our wills. The friendliness of the service and quality of advice she gave us was excellent and we would not hesitate to recommend her services to anyone in a similar position.

Was this review helpful?

Paul,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Leonard Gray LLP.

Paul,

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

POA + Wills transfer

Nice and friendly, professional, explained in language we understand

Was this review helpful?

Sean,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Leonard Gray LLP.

Matter Type:

Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises

Sean,

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional service were nothing was to much

Amazing service, everything was made easy to understand so it wasn’t daunting. Very efficient, kind, professional and everything was completed in a timely manner with ease from Tanith. Nothing was to much and the job got done well

Was this review helpful?

Wendy,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Leonard Gray LLP.

Matter Type:

Agricultural land for sale or development

Wendy,

May 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

A brilliant conveyancing experience.
Straightforward and helpful at every stage.
Thankyou so much

Was this review helpful?

kim

kim

May 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Charge on Property

Tanith Crook was really lovely an acted for us she was always there to answer our questions an full filled all our matters quick response to any emails I sent I would most definitely recommend her she was 5* an professional
THANKYOU
Tanith Crook

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Peter

May 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly, Professional and Efficient Service

Tanith provided a very professional service throughout the sale of our property, responding quickly and efficiently during all the phases in a friendly and helpful manner.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Wendy

Wendy

May 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wendy

An excellent, professional and friendly service. Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

Allen

Allen

April 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Allen

Following the passing of my brother I have recently had cause to use the Probate, Estate Agent and Conveyancing departments of Leonard Gray. Without exception all of these departments and the persons within them have made every effort to make my life easy. I can not praise their professional assistance, friendly manner and excellent communications enough and would gladly recommend them all.

Was this review helpful?

nigel

nigel

February 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

nigel

Everything was arranged very promptly and explained clearly, could not have asked for a better service so will definitely be using Leonard Gray again when the need arises

Was this review helpful?

Sylvia

Sylvia

December 06, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sylvia

My parents first used this firm of solicitors over 75 years ago. I grew up knowing the name and thought they they were the only solicitors in the world before I was able to understand what they did. My family always found them very helpful and straightforward in all that they did.
My brother used them all his adult life.
We have used them throughout our married lives (6o years now)
Because of our satisfaction, one of our sons who lives locally, also uses them.
Yes, we would all recommend Leonard Gray in any capacity -
they know their stuff and we wouldn't go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful?

Jacqui

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Jacqui

November 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jacqui

Experienced, professional & great communication. Many thanks to Andy & Geoff for guiding us through what was at times a difficult selling process.

Was this review helpful?

Leonard Gray LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Leonard Gray Solicitors have been located in the centre of Chelmsford, Essex for more than 130 years, offering a complete range of legal services available to businesses and private individuals Leonard Gray provides you with good advice, at sensible fees which is why our clients come back time and time again. We are open and approachable, offering direct contact with the solicitor handling your matter when you need it most.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment