Solicitor at Watkins & Gunn Limited

Clive Thomas

Solicitor - Managing Partner

SRA ID: 151551

Clive is a solicitor and the Managing Partner of award winning South Wales law firm, Watkins and Gunn Solicitors www.watkinsandgunn.co.uk with offices in Cardiff, Newport and Pontypool. He has been qualified as a Solicitor for over 29 years and is a Member of the Law Society’s Personal Injury Panel and a Fellow of the Association of Personal Injury Lawyers. He is recommended as a leading personal injury lawyer in both the Legal 500 and Chambers & Partners publications. He won the Leading Wales Award for Leadership in the Private Sector 2011. He was shortlisted for the Leader of the Year at the Law Society Excellence Awards 2011and was a finalist in the Director of the Year in a Small Business category at the Institute of Directors Wales Awards 2012. Clive has active interest in local law society work - he is a member of the Law Society's Wales Committee and their Law Management Section , the Past President of Cardiff & District Law Society and a Past President of the Monmouthshire Incorporated Law Society and ASWLS (the Association of South Western Law Societies).

Glantorfaen House, Hanbury Road, NP4 6XY

Licensed for 29 years

Practice Areas

Personal Injury, Employment, Clinical Negligence, Consumer, Company & Commercial

5.0/5 25 Client Reviews 25
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate 10%
  • Personal Injury 30%
  • Consumer 10%
  • Dispute Resolution 10%
  • Employment 30%
  • Housing & Property 10%
25 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    24
  • Very Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Glynn
Verified Glynn Added 10 months ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
November 10, 2020 20201110205214

Personal Injury / Insurance

5

Excellent service, excellent communication, always updated and very friendly service.

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

A representative from Watkins & Gunn Limited responded to this review on 12 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
Verified John Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
August 03, 2020 20200803131356

A First Class Service.

5

The service that I received was first class, the staff were very polite and helpful, the Solicitors provide information, guidance and support throughout, they kept me well informed regarding progress... I would most definitely recommend Watkins & Gunn anyone who needs legal assistance.

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

A representative from Watkins & Gunn Limited responded to this review on 26 August, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Karen
Karen Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
July 30, 2020 20200730090149

Clive Thomas

5

From initial contact, a social distanced meeting and continued updates by telephone Clive has gone far beyond professionalism. His knowledge, sensitivity and legal advice helped my family and myself at a very difficult period in our lives.
I would highly recommend Clive Thomas and the team at Watkins & Gunn to anyone who needs legal advice and would not hesitate to use their expertise in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

A representative from Watkins & Gunn Limited responded to this review on 03 August, 2020

Thank you for such a glowing review Karen. We look forward to working with you in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey
Tracey Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
May 10, 2020 20200510091823

Professional - Helpful and most of all KIND!

5

I cannot highly recommend Watkins & Gunn Solicitors PontyPool enough! 5 Stars does not even come close to their recent kindness during an urgent situation I have had with authentication of a number of documents for my father and his ill health during Covid19 (not related illness to the virus).
I have on a number of occasions reached out to Watkins & Gunn for support with our Wills and also an NDA document and ALWAYS the help and support has been outstanding!... I have not really had to deal with Solicitors alot in the past but I would never go anywhere else for anything in the future... During my urgent time of need with my father's documents I reached out to Clive to explain if there was anyway they could help me during the lock down and distancing rules and regulations...
Clive "as always" was brilliant - we came up with a way to get this done which would not put anyone in danger - and this could not have been done without the kind help and generosity of Jade - whom went into the office - and supported the entire exercise and was so kind, helpful and also really happy to help. I would not even have hesitated in making the appropriate payment for this service. However an incredible gesture from Clive and Jade on behalf of Watkins and Gunn and they supported my ask with no payment required. I was shocked! and so delighted - and for me it sums up the Company and reconfirmed my initial thoughts of what an amazing "Family" Feel they have.
I am hoping that when things do get back to normal - that we support companies that have given something for nothing during these really difficult times.
Watkins and Gunn are "one" of these companies. I would certainly not write these things if I truly did not believe in them - An amazing team of people.. I am so grateful to both Clive and Jade - I cannot thank you both enough.
Would never go anywhere else and would "always" recommend W&G to my family and friends 100%
Warm Regards, Stay safe - Tracey


Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

A representative from Watkins & Gunn Limited responded to this review on 11 May, 2020

Thank you for this wonderful review. It really has meant an awful lot to the staff involved and indeed to all of us to know that we have made a difference at such a difficult time. Thanks you very very much and we look forward to helping you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey
Verified Tracey Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
April 27, 2020 20200427000000

Tracey recommends Watkins & Gunn

5

Tracey recommends Watkins & Gunn

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adrian
Verified Adrian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
February 07, 2020 20200207205202

Personal Injury / Insurance

4

A successful outcome over a protracted period. Clive leading the car and appointing a key Barrister assisted me in winning at trial vs the local authority. Clive took the case on despite me having not been successful via another firm direct against the local authority and this proved to be a great decision.

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

A representative from Watkins & Gunn Limited responded to this review on 01 May, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stacey
Verified Stacey Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
January 23, 2020 20200123205216

Litigation / Dispute Resolution

5

This team helped me deal with my case which was under extremely trying circumstances. Friendly, professional and efficient at all stages! Thank you all!

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stuart
Stuart Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
December 05, 2019 20191205092601

Excellent Team

5

We have used W&G a few times now, including Clive Thomas Joanne Whitehead and Linda Dack.

They have always responded promptly to any queries that We have had and happy to assist in any issues that may have have arisen as part of the legal process.

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sian Rachel
Sian Rachel Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
December 03, 2019 20191203084633

The best lawyers

5

I don’t review lightly but genuinely Clive Thomas and the legal teams at Watkins and Gunn solicitors are simply outstanding. I’ve used Watkins and Gunn for many years for both personal and professional legal advice and support. Nothing is ever too much trouble they give a personal touch and move mountains to get you the results you need without the ridiculous charges that some legal teams are known for. Just the highest integrity, trustworthy I don’t think anyone else comes close to the level of service they offer or the results they get. I recommend them to family, friends, high end corporate clients and celebrity clients as there’s no job too big or too small that they won’t give their undivided attention to or care. They make everything stress free and easy. I’ve never lost a case with them and the fact they’ve even visited family and sat in their lounge having tea and biscuits and advising them and reassuring them is above and beyond.

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alex
Verified Alex Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
October 10, 2019 20191010195201

Employment

5

I received exceptional service from Watkins & Gunn. Their legal experts are always friendly, helpful and explain things in plain English so that all advice received is easy to understand. Couldn’t fault anything at all about my dealings with this firm.

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Glynn
Glynn Added 10 months ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
November 10, 2020
Collected on
20201110215510

Glynn

5

Excellent professional service, handled my accident claim in a stress free manner, always communicating with me, always updating me on the progress of the claim, settled my claim to my satisfaction, Clive Watkins and his team are highly recommended for any accident claim and other matters.

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

A representative from Watkins & Gunn Limited responded to this review on 12 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katherine
Katherine Added 10 months ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
November 10, 2020
Collected on
20201110201923

Katherine

5

I found Clive at Watkins & Gunn solicitors a pleasure to deal with, I felt supported and listened to throughout. He genuinely cared about my situation and wanted the best possible outcome. I would highly recommend to anyone!

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

A representative from Watkins & Gunn Limited responded to this review on 12 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Karen
Karen Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
July 30, 2020
Collected on
20200730052612

Karen

5

I cannot thank Clive Thomas at Watkins and Gunn enough, from the initial telephone contact, the ongoing continued updates and contact, Clive has helped my family and myself through a very traumatic time. He has been very professional, helpful and courteous at all times. I have no hesitation in recommending Clive and his Colleagues at Watkins and Gunn to anyone who needs any legal advice and help.

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adrian
Adrian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
June 27, 2020
Collected on
20200627102044

Adrian

5

Very helpful and great service highly recommend

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lisa
Lisa Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Watkins & Gunn Limited
Collected whilst working at Watkins & Gunn Limited
June 03, 2020
Collected on
20200603135029

Lisa

5

Needed an urgent legal matter taken care of and was recommended to get in touch with Clive at Watkins and Gunn. Clive was extremely helpful and accommodated my needs at very short notice. Social distancing measures were effectively set up in the offices too so, I was made to feel comfortable at all times throughout our consultation. Fantastic first impressions, thank you!

Solicitor named in this review: Clive Thomas

A representative from Watkins & Gunn Limited responded to this review on 05 June, 2020

Thank you very much for your kind review Lisa. We have installed social distancing measures and protection in all offices in the hope that we can re open shortly to deal with matters where an attendance is required. In the meantime we will continue to work hard to provide services remotely to clients. once again many thanks and we look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Clive Thomas

Clive is a solicitor and the Managing Partner of award winning South Wales law firm, Watkins and Gunn Solicitors www.watkinsandgunn.co.uk with offices in Cardiff, Newport and Pontypool. He has been qualified as a Solicitor for over 29 years and is a Member of the Law Society’s Personal Injury Panel and a Fellow of the Association of Personal Injury Lawyers. He is recommended as a leading personal injury lawyer in both the Legal 500 and Chambers & Partners publications. He won the Leading Wales Award for Leadership in the Private Sector 2011. He was shortlisted for the Leader of the Year at the Law Society Excellence Awards 2011and was a finalist in the Director of the Year in a Small Business category at the Institute of Directors Wales Awards 2012. Clive has active interest in local law society work - he is a member of the Law Society's Wales Committee and their Law Management Section , the Past President of Cardiff & District Law Society and a Past President of the Monmouthshire Incorporated Law Society and ASWLS (the Association of South Western Law Societies).

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Clive Thomas

Address

Watkins & Gunn Limited

Glantorfaen House

Hanbury Road



Phone 01495762244

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

15/10/91

11/11/20

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Managing Partner

Watkins & Gunn

?-?

Compliance Officer for Finance and Administration

Watkins & Gunn

?-present