Solicitor at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited

Ian Jones

Solicitor - Principal Solicitor

SRA ID: 150243

Ian is the founder of Spencer Shaw Solicitors and qualified as a solicitor in 1991. He has worked in Employment Law for over 25 years and has been a partner and Head of Litigation with larger firms before setting up Spencer Shaw in 2007. Ian has experience in all aspects of employment law and has a particular interest in unfair dismissal cases, disputes involving allegations of breach of restrictive covenants and negotiating settlements. Ian appears regularly in the Employment Tribunal. His experience includes taking claims on appeal to the Employment Appeal Tribunal, the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court. Ian represents both employers and employees.

St Mary's House, 68 Harborne Park Road, Harborne, Birmingham, West Midlands, B17 0DH

Licensed for 30 years

Practice Areas

Company & Commercial, Employment

5.0/5 14 Client Reviews 14
  • Employment 70%
  • Company & Commercial 30%
14 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
RG
Verified RG Added 2 months ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
May 22, 2021 20210522072646

Brilliant service from Spencer Shaw.

5

This review is posted on behalf of my daughter, who after many years of loyal and outstanding
performance, was subjected to discriminatory issues by her employer and is given with her full
knowledge and consent.
Although initially supported by her trade union, after several months they withdrew their support, and it
became necessary to seek urgent, independent legal advice. A number of employment solicitors were
contacted but Ian Jones at Spencer Shaw was the only person to take the time to listen to her case on
the telephone and then provide the advice she needed.
Ian gave her the confidence to proceed with her case and after forwarding the case papers to him, it was
agreed that Spencer Shaw would represent her through the legal stages, culminating at an Employment
Tribunal.
Ian recommended placing the case with his Consultant Solicitor, Felicity Price.
Felicity was very knowledgeable, experienced in employment law and proved to be extremely
supportive and friendly to my daughter and the family during the preliminary stages and throughout the
following year, until the matter was concluded prior to the Tribunal hearing. Felicity gave us exceptional
service, for which we are truly grateful.
We thank all of the staff involved at Spencer Shaw Solicitors, during this very difficult time, and who
remained on side for many months.
We thoroughly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors to anyone unfortunate to be in need of similar help
in the future.
RG

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 26 May, 2021

Thank you for your review. We were glad to be able to help your daughter, and that you were pleased with the service. We will pass on your kind comments to both Ian and Felicity. Best wishes to you both for the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

BU
Verified BU Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
March 04, 2021 20210304170033

Exceptional service

5

Exceptional service, was kept up to date throughout, would highly recommend this firm.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 08 March, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Denis Bonner
Verified Denis Bonner Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
February 17, 2021 20210217115720

Thanks for the great service.

5

I would just like to thank Tashoi for her very personable and efficient service in dealing with my settlement agreement. Thanks too, to Ian Jones for his initial conversation and help in dealing with this matter. I would certainly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

Was this review helpful? Yes

JLB
Verified JLB Added 6 months ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
January 10, 2021 20210110151903

Legal expertise in plain English

5

I definitely recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited and their team of legal experts. Ian Jones took the time to explain my complicated case in plain English and helped me to come to an agreeable outcome and move on to new adventures.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 11 January, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lisa Moore
Verified Lisa Moore Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
December 11, 2020 20201211121253

Settlement

5

Tashio and Ian were both great as ive never had to do this before they both went through everything I needed to do and advised what they would be doing to help me. Tashio was lovely, very professional and kept me updated. Ian went through my settlement with me page by page and explained everything to me in a way I could understand.
They are both an asset to your company and will definitely recomend and use in the future

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 14 December, 2020

Thank you for your review Lisa. We are happy we were able to help you and that you were happy with the outcome of your matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mohammed Rashid
Verified Mohammed Rashid Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
November 01, 2020 20201101172707

Exceeded Expectations

5

Spenser Shaw Solicitors won my case without having to go to court, can't recommend enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 02 November, 2020

Thank you for your review Mohammed. We're glad you were pleased with our service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bethany
Bethany Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
July 23, 2020 20200723174508

Fantastic service - friendly and efficient

5

I was very impressed with the service I received when I instructed this firm of solicitors to help with an agreement review. From first contact to completion, it was an easy process and a really nice customer service along the way, with a very efficient turnaround. I would definitely use again and/or recommend to anyone!

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 27 July, 2020

Thank you for the review Bethany. We're glad that you were happy with the service you received and the outcome. We will make sure the team see your positive feedback - it always means a lot to us all.

Was this review helpful? Yes

paula
paula Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
April 18, 2020 20200418184500

Client focused and so clear

5

Ian has been an excellent advisor, he understood my situation, was so clear with his responses and what options were available to me with various consequences. I felt very reassured by his professionalism, honesty and clarity and this has helped reduce my anxiety and stress through a very difficult period. I'm very grateful and would absolutely recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors if anyone is in an unfortunate position to need expert help and support.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 20 April, 2020

Thank you Paula for your review. We're glad that you were happy with the service you received.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Marcelo
Marcelo Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
March 10, 2020 20200310092711

An invaluable support

5

Ian and the whole team have been essential in well managing my case. From the first time I met he has been empathic, deeply knowledgeable and competent. He explained all the detials in a plain way what the clauses meant and made me trust my case was in the best possible hands.
Definitely from now on I will always connect with Spencer Shaw Solicitors for any legal support.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

B
B Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
January 17, 2020 20200117153438

Fantastic advice, support and service

5

Ian has been absolutely fabulous regarding my case, he has been clear, concise and made a very stressful situation much more bearable, I cant recommend Ian Jones and his team enough, a consumate professional who made the whole matter much less stressful, thank you

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 20 January, 2020

Thank you for your positive review. We were glad to be able to help, and that you were happy with our service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Ian
Ian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
November 29, 2019
Collected on
20191129161423

Ian

5

Very competent, knowledgeable and friendly. They were very thorough in their evaluation of my redundancy notice and certainly put my mind at ease by explaining in simple terms what the most important clauses meant. Definitely recommend them.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 05 February, 2020

Thank you for your review, Ian. We're happy to be able to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ag
Ag Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
November 06, 2019
Collected on
20191106141907

A client

5

I have used many - many - solicitors / law firms over my last 20+ years in business and I found Spencer Shaw to be very knowledgeable and able to give me some excellent initial advice over the phone (from Ian, who is clearly very knowledgeable about employment law) and they then drafted some proper self employment contracts for us. I would definitely recommend the firm to other businesses looking for high quality employment law advice.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 05 February, 2020

Thank you for your great review. We are really pleased to have helped and delighted that you would recommend us to others.elped and delighted that you would recommend us to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Riy
Riy Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
September 19, 2019
Collected on
20190919211643

Riy

5

Spencer Shaw Solicitors have been great in assisting me with advice on a settlement agreement. Though the case was relatively straightforward, Ian and the team were very responsive and gave my case the appropriate attention required. I can confidently recommend them for any employment related legal advice you need.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 05 February, 2020

Thank you for your kind review. We're very pleased that you were happy with our service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Has
Has Added 2 years ago Report to admin
Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited
July 17, 2019
Collected on
20190717102029

Has

5

Outstanding service provided by S&S Solicitors. I was guided on every step I took and had all my questions answered. I would like to thank Ian and Tashoi who I've been dealing with.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Jones

A representative from Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 17 July, 2019

Thank you for the great review. I'll make sure that Ian and Tashoi see it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Ian Jones

Ian is the founder of Spencer Shaw Solicitors and qualified as a solicitor in 1991. He has worked in Employment Law for over 25 years and has been a partner and Head of Litigation with larger firms before setting up Spencer Shaw in 2007. Ian has experience in all aspects of employment law and has a particular interest in unfair dismissal cases, disputes involving allegations of breach of restrictive covenants and negotiating settlements. Ian appears regularly in the Employment Tribunal. His experience includes taking claims on appeal to the Employment Appeal Tribunal, the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court. Ian represents both employers and employees.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Ian Jones

Address

Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited

St Mary's House

68 Harborne Park Road

Harborne

Birmingham

West Midlands



Phone 01214525130

Website

Resume

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Compliance Officer for Finance and Administration

Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited

?-present