Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    42
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    0

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
RG

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

RG

May 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant service from Spencer Shaw.

This review is posted on behalf of my daughter, who after many years of loyal and outstanding
performance, was subjected to discriminatory issues by her employer and is given with her full
knowledge and consent.
Although initially supported by her trade union, after several months they withdrew their support, and it
became necessary to seek urgent, independent legal advice. A number of employment solicitors were
contacted but Ian Jones at Spencer Shaw was the only person to take the time to listen to her case on
the telephone and then provide the advice she needed.
Ian gave her the confidence to proceed with her case and after forwarding the case papers to him, it was
agreed that Spencer Shaw would represent her through the legal stages, culminating at an Employment
Tribunal.
Ian recommended placing the case with his Consultant Solicitor, Felicity Price.
Felicity was very knowledgeable, experienced in employment law and proved to be extremely
supportive and friendly to my daughter and the family during the preliminary stages and throughout the
following year, until the matter was concluded prior to the Tribunal hearing. Felicity gave us exceptional
service, for which we are truly grateful.
We thank all of the staff involved at Spencer Shaw Solicitors, during this very difficult time, and who
remained on side for many months.
We thoroughly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors to anyone unfortunate to be in need of similar help
in the future.
RG

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Mark

May 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement Support

Honest factual and efficient service whilst maintaining a personal approach

Was this review helpful?

BU

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Debt Recovery

BU

March 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional service

Exceptional service, was kept up to date throughout, would highly recommend this firm.

Was this review helpful?

DC

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

DC

February 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy settlement

Cannot fault the service I received. The entire team were so helpful and professional. From my first phone call to my last the team at Spencer Shaw really took the time to understand my needs and take me through the process step by step. Furthermore, the speed of the service was incredible. It really was a pleasure and I could not recommend enough!

Was this review helpful?

Denis Bonner

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Denis Bonner

February 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thanks for the great service.

I would just like to thank Tashoi for her very personable and efficient service in dealing with my settlement agreement. Thanks too, to Ian Jones for his initial conversation and help in dealing with this matter. I would certainly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Was this review helpful?

JLB

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Unfair Dismissal Claims

JLB

January 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Legal expertise in plain English

I definitely recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited and their team of legal experts. Ian Jones took the time to explain my complicated case in plain English and helped me to come to an agreeable outcome and move on to new adventures.

Was this review helpful?

Lisa Moore

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Redundancy

Lisa Moore

December 11, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement

Tashio and Ian were both great as ive never had to do this before they both went through everything I needed to do and advised what they would be doing to help me. Tashio was lovely, very professional and kept me updated. Ian went through my settlement with me page by page and explained everything to me in a way I could understand.
They are both an asset to your company and will definitely recomend and use in the future

Was this review helpful?

Verity Kennedy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Verity Kennedy

November 30, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and efficient

An excellent level of service.
Fast correspondence.

Was this review helpful?

Mohammed Rashid

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Discrimination at Work

Mohammed Rashid

November 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceeded Expectations

Spenser Shaw Solicitors won my case without having to go to court, can't recommend enough.

Was this review helpful?

Leigh

Leigh

August 18, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent, quick and professional

I had been dealing with an employment matter with my current employer, it was dragging on and then all of a sudden I had to move quickly.

Andrea Price at Spencer Shaw kept in touch throughout the period of the consultation and when the last minute crunched, the advice and response that I needed was there. The whole situation was stressful, however Andrea broke everything down into understandable language and we made the deadline. Definitely would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

S

S

January 13, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

I had a last minute situation, was able to get an appointment immediately, I was very much impressed and appreciated the way in which it was dealt with by those concerned.

I was immediately put at ease, given good advice with out the jargon and with empathy.

Thank you. And for or those reviewing this. I would highly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

November 29, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ian

Very competent, knowledgeable and friendly. They were very thorough in their evaluation of my redundancy notice and certainly put my mind at ease by explaining in simple terms what the most important clauses meant. Definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Jean

Jean

November 27, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jean

Good and effective service, clear and upfront about all arrangements and costs. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Ag

Ag

November 06, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

I have used many - many - solicitors / law firms over my last 20+ years in business and I found Spencer Shaw to be very knowledgeable and able to give me some excellent initial advice over the phone (from Ian, who is clearly very knowledgeable about employment law) and they then drafted some proper self employment contracts for us. I would definitely recommend the firm to other businesses looking for high quality employment law advice.

Was this review helpful?

Riy

Riy

September 19, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Riy

Spencer Shaw Solicitors have been great in assisting me with advice on a settlement agreement. Though the case was relatively straightforward, Ian and the team were very responsive and gave my case the appropriate attention required. I can confidently recommend them for any employment related legal advice you need.

Was this review helpful?

Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our goal is to advise you accurately and clearly in plain English so that you can make well-informed decisions with confidence. Employment law is a very emotive and complex field of law and we will support you throughout your matter, whether you are making a claim, defending one or looking for advice. We advise individuals, businesses of all sizes and HR departments. Please contact us by calling us on 0121 452 5130 or emailing enquiries@spencershaw.co.uk . We are located in Birmingham and deal with clients anywhere in England and Wales.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection

Business areas of law

  • Company & Commercial
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment