Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 10%
About Right 90%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    52
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    0

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Anonymous

May 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

excellent service

I can not praise Ian Jones and his team highly enough. I turned to Ian at a time of great distress and received prompt, professional , expert advice . I was treated with kindness and respect throughout what turned out to be a fairly lengthy process and realised I was in good hands from the start. I initially thought that there was no legal solution to my problems but Ian , together with a barrister colleague, managed to find one . Ian gave me hope several times when I thought all was lost. He has great legal knowledge, is very tenacious and and is clearly passionate about what he does. I can never thank him enough.
Ian was assisted by associate solicitor Andrea Price, who also gave excellent, caring service.

Was this review helpful?

Monica

Matter Type:

Constructive/Unfair Dismissal

Monica

May 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding

I had Andrea dealing with my legal employment dismissal and she guided me through with details and always very promptly. She built the case with a knowledge beyond words and made me feel supported all the way. She was very honest and professional, wise!
I’d 100% recommend Spencer Shaw as I believe the whole team to be amazing however I need to praise Andrea! Excellent job! Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Ryegrass

Ryegrass

March 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrea Price-outstanding service

Andrea Price and Spencer Shaw Solicitors were recommended to me following my contract dispute with my employer. Andrea Price was knowledgeable, honest and a good listening. I am extremely grateful for the efficient and professional service. Based on advice given, I was able to navigate a very difficult situation and receive a compensation offer from my employer.

Was this review helpful?

Vanessa

Matter Type:

Constructive/Unfair Dismissal

Vanessa

January 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment Issue

From start to finish Andrea Price and spencer shaw solicitors we’re brilliant. There advice and support throughout my issue was invaluable and in the end managed to come to a successful outcome. I would 100% recommend them for anyone having employment issues . Andrea was always a phone call or email away and always on hand with advice and nothing was never a problem

Was this review helpful?

Bhabinder

Matter Type:

Constructive/Unfair Dismissal

Bhabinder

January 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Professional, Supportive and Thorough

Andrea was my solicitor supported by Oliver. The case was a complex one. From the moment Andrea took on my case I was impressed by how quickly we began to make progress.
She worked to understand my case as well as building a great working relationship with me and kept me regularly updated. I was always supported by her and Oliver and I am glad I chose Spencer Shaw and very pleased it was Andrea that I worked with. Both Spencer Shaw and Andrea are highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Harjinder

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Harjinder

October 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment Settlement Support

Clear and concise support on terms of the settlement agreement. Both Andrea and Oliver were excellent in explaining terms of the agreement which was easy to understand.

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Emily

September 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Both Oliver Sanderson and Nazia Khan took the time to explain things clearly and made the whole experience seamless.

Was this review helpful?

Gel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Gel

September 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great company

Very good service!! Very good service!!Very good service!!Very good service!!

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Robert

September 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy Support

Very efficient service. Also clearly and concisely discussed the terms of a settlement agreement in a manner that was easy to understand.

Was this review helpful?

RG

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

RG

May 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant service from Spencer Shaw.

This review is posted on behalf of my daughter, who after many years of loyal and outstanding
performance, was subjected to discriminatory issues by her employer and is given with her full
knowledge and consent.
Although initially supported by her trade union, after several months they withdrew their support, and it
became necessary to seek urgent, independent legal advice. A number of employment solicitors were
contacted but Ian Jones at Spencer Shaw was the only person to take the time to listen to her case on
the telephone and then provide the advice she needed.
Ian gave her the confidence to proceed with her case and after forwarding the case papers to him, it was
agreed that Spencer Shaw would represent her through the legal stages, culminating at an Employment
Tribunal.
Ian recommended placing the case with his Consultant Solicitor, Felicity Price.
Felicity was very knowledgeable, experienced in employment law and proved to be extremely
supportive and friendly to my daughter and the family during the preliminary stages and throughout the
following year, until the matter was concluded prior to the Tribunal hearing. Felicity gave us exceptional
service, for which we are truly grateful.
We thank all of the staff involved at Spencer Shaw Solicitors, during this very difficult time, and who
remained on side for many months.
We thoroughly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors to anyone unfortunate to be in need of similar help
in the future.
RG

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Gaurav

Gaurav

August 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gaurav

Really helpful and welcoming team. Done my job on short notice. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

S

S

January 13, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

I had a last minute situation, was able to get an appointment immediately, I was very much impressed and appreciated the way in which it was dealt with by those concerned.

I was immediately put at ease, given good advice with out the jargon and with empathy.

Thank you. And for or those reviewing this. I would highly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

November 29, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ian

Very competent, knowledgeable and friendly. They were very thorough in their evaluation of my redundancy notice and certainly put my mind at ease by explaining in simple terms what the most important clauses meant. Definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Jean

Jean

November 27, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jean

Good and effective service, clear and upfront about all arrangements and costs. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Ag

Ag

November 06, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

I have used many - many - solicitors / law firms over my last 20+ years in business and I found Spencer Shaw to be very knowledgeable and able to give me some excellent initial advice over the phone (from Ian, who is clearly very knowledgeable about employment law) and they then drafted some proper self employment contracts for us. I would definitely recommend the firm to other businesses looking for high quality employment law advice.

Was this review helpful?

Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

Spencer Shaw Solicitors provide specialist employment law services and are recognised for quality, expertise and professionalism.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection

Business areas of law

  • Company & Commercial
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment