Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 10%
About Right 90%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    47
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    0

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Harjinder

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Harjinder

October 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment Settlement Support

Clear and concise support on terms of the settlement agreement. Both Andrea and Oliver were excellent in explaining terms of the agreement which was easy to understand.

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Emily

September 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Both Oliver Sanderson and Nazia Khan took the time to explain things clearly and made the whole experience seamless.

Was this review helpful?

Gel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Gel

September 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great company

Very good service!! Very good service!!Very good service!!Very good service!!

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Robert

September 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy Support

Very efficient service. Also clearly and concisely discussed the terms of a settlement agreement in a manner that was easy to understand.

Was this review helpful?

RG

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

RG

May 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant service from Spencer Shaw.

This review is posted on behalf of my daughter, who after many years of loyal and outstanding
performance, was subjected to discriminatory issues by her employer and is given with her full
knowledge and consent.
Although initially supported by her trade union, after several months they withdrew their support, and it
became necessary to seek urgent, independent legal advice. A number of employment solicitors were
contacted but Ian Jones at Spencer Shaw was the only person to take the time to listen to her case on
the telephone and then provide the advice she needed.
Ian gave her the confidence to proceed with her case and after forwarding the case papers to him, it was
agreed that Spencer Shaw would represent her through the legal stages, culminating at an Employment
Tribunal.
Ian recommended placing the case with his Consultant Solicitor, Felicity Price.
Felicity was very knowledgeable, experienced in employment law and proved to be extremely
supportive and friendly to my daughter and the family during the preliminary stages and throughout the
following year, until the matter was concluded prior to the Tribunal hearing. Felicity gave us exceptional
service, for which we are truly grateful.
We thank all of the staff involved at Spencer Shaw Solicitors, during this very difficult time, and who
remained on side for many months.
We thoroughly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors to anyone unfortunate to be in need of similar help
in the future.
RG

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Mark

May 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement Support

Honest factual and efficient service whilst maintaining a personal approach

Was this review helpful?

BU

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Debt Recovery

BU

March 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional service

Exceptional service, was kept up to date throughout, would highly recommend this firm.

Was this review helpful?

DC

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

DC

February 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy settlement

Cannot fault the service I received. The entire team were so helpful and professional. From my first phone call to my last the team at Spencer Shaw really took the time to understand my needs and take me through the process step by step. Furthermore, the speed of the service was incredible. It really was a pleasure and I could not recommend enough!

Was this review helpful?

Denis Bonner

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Denis Bonner

February 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thanks for the great service.

I would just like to thank Tashoi for her very personable and efficient service in dealing with my settlement agreement. Thanks too, to Ian Jones for his initial conversation and help in dealing with this matter. I would certainly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Was this review helpful?

JLB

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Unfair Dismissal Claims

JLB

January 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Legal expertise in plain English

I definitely recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited and their team of legal experts. Ian Jones took the time to explain my complicated case in plain English and helped me to come to an agreeable outcome and move on to new adventures.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Gaurav

Gaurav

August 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gaurav

Really helpful and welcoming team. Done my job on short notice. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

S

S

January 13, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

I had a last minute situation, was able to get an appointment immediately, I was very much impressed and appreciated the way in which it was dealt with by those concerned.

I was immediately put at ease, given good advice with out the jargon and with empathy.

Thank you. And for or those reviewing this. I would highly recommend Spencer Shaw Solicitors

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

November 29, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ian

Very competent, knowledgeable and friendly. They were very thorough in their evaluation of my redundancy notice and certainly put my mind at ease by explaining in simple terms what the most important clauses meant. Definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Jean

Jean

November 27, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jean

Good and effective service, clear and upfront about all arrangements and costs. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Ag

Ag

November 06, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

I have used many - many - solicitors / law firms over my last 20+ years in business and I found Spencer Shaw to be very knowledgeable and able to give me some excellent initial advice over the phone (from Ian, who is clearly very knowledgeable about employment law) and they then drafted some proper self employment contracts for us. I would definitely recommend the firm to other businesses looking for high quality employment law advice.

Was this review helpful?

Spencer Shaw Solicitors Limited are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

Spencer Shaw Solicitors provide specialist employment law services and are recognised for quality, expertise and professionalism.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection

Business areas of law

  • Company & Commercial
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment