Book an appointment

Book an appointment

Simpson Millar LLP

0800 260 5010

View map
Simpson Millar LLP

How Simpson Millar LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 32%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Simpson Millar LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Simpson Millar LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Simpson Millar LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Simpson Millar LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Simpson Millar LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Simpson Millar LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Simpson Millar LLP only have 13 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

1.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    9

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Dipti

Dipti

July 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Disappointing and disgraceful service

Very little communication. I was constantly chasing for updates for my case. Made a lot of promises i.e. writing to my former employer to reach early agreement on several occasions and never materialised which resulted in my case going to court. Although I had appointed and instructed prior to the 3 months deadline, my ETA1 form was submitted at the last minute with an excuse that his laptop had crashed and all data was lost. This resulted in a lot of key information being excluded in the ETA1 form submission. Very quick to chase for payment. Solicitor who was handling my case left in April and to date no one has contacted me to introduce who has taken over my case but instead chasing me for fees. I was unfairly dismissed in December 2019 and my case I believe is still with the courts which it should have never got to had Simpson Millar conducted my case in a timely manner. Due to the lack of urgency this has now costing me more in counselling fees.

Was this review helpful?

Elena

Elena

July 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Harassment

Graham Harris handled a financial mis-selling case with the Halifax. Halifax offered £220 but stipulates I was legally within my right to contact the Financial Ombudsman. I have done this, asked Harris NOT to keep phoning several times a day, multiple emails - am also dealing with illness and unwell mother - and that I will contact him when I receive a response.

Reaction? A letter with a bill. I am still legally within my right to wait for the Ombudsman’s response. This company is preempting it and as a result, am reporting Simpson Millar to the Legal Ombudsman.

Don’t touch this company.

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Matter Type:

Child contact

Joe

May 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Disappointing

Slow , vague and impersonal service .
I felt unless I was on my A - game things would be missed . I was misinformed and things completed last minute. I was not reassured , they did not have my back and consequently I could not not relax I did not have faith . My solicitor (Lorraine Harvey ) was defensive when I brought up issues. It was suggested the manager should call me to get my feedback , I did not get that call . Altogether a very expensive , stressful and disappointing experience . It made a bad situation worse .

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Matter Type:

Unfair Dismissal Claims

Mark

February 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Unfair dismissal

Mr Stephen Pinder represented me when I was let down by my union/solicitor...I had nowhere to turn after being unfairly dismissed from one of the largest companies in the country but mr Pinder took a look at my case and said that he would relish the challenge! He was very honest from the outset and gave me all of the pros and cons, he was very very thorough and meticulous in his approach...we went to court and I fell to bits a little but mr Pinder was excellent throughout...so professional! We won our case and I cleared my name which had been tarnished! I would recommend this man before anyone if you have any type of employment issues...thankyou again mr pinder

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Lisa

February 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very disappointed

12 months to contest a will to be told at the end I haven’t got a case. Solicitor wasn’t very approachable and didn’t listen when I did get to speak to him. Another company understood immediately and took away the last 12 months stress. Wish I’d have checked the reviews initially before parting with my money,

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

January 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Overpromised and underdelivered

Simpson Millar overpromise and underdeliver. It took 6-8 weeks from receipts and a complaint to a senior partner before my case assessed and work started. I understand from staff this approach is endorsed to win business knowing it can't be processed as expected. I would not recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Christopher

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Christopher

October 06, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good conveyancing - approachable conveyancer

I instructed this company to sell my property in Manchester and purchasea property in Southport and had Andrew Vincent appointed, he gave us great service, honest and approachable in what became an elongated process due to covid and the problems I encountered which lead to withdrawing from one property.
Despite all this I was more than satisfied with Andrews performance and would have no concerns in using Simpson Millar again. Thankyou.

Was this review helpful?

Elena

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Elena

October 02, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

AVOID SHAN SHAHRIAR from SIMPSON MILLAR

Guys, seriously STAY AWAY from Simpson Millar, and even if you do go for them to buy/sell a property avoid like the plague SHAN SHAHRIAR and CRAIG SHORT. My boyfriend instructed them in March with regards to the purchase of his house. The transaction was finalised in late September. 6 MONTHS LATER!!! We were quite lucky that the vendor was patient and we got the most responsive and professional real estate agent, thanks to whom we managed to pull off the transaction.

First, we needed to provide them with bank statements to show sufficient funds and also because of money laundering regulations, which we did. Over the phone SHAN SHAHRIAR told my boyfriend that the statements are fine, so we called the real estate agent to confirm that everything was ready on our side. One day later, SHAN SHAHRIAR emails my boyfriend to tell him that actually she needs more bank statements, you see. What apparently happened, was that as she had no clue what she was doing whatsoever, she asked her manager (CRAIG SHORT) if the bank statements were okay, to which he apparently said no and that he needed more bank statements. So there we were, calling the estate agent to apologise for the incompetency of our solicitors. Which would have been fine, provided that they didn't already confirm that everything was fine and so on our side we also confirmed that with the vendor. When my boyfriend asked if he could speak to SHAN SHAHRIARS' manager (CRAIG SHORT), she said no problem, yet he never called, neither did he answer his phone - he simply sent an email, saying if there is any issue just to write an email to him. As my boyfriend was abroad, it was a logistical nightmare to obtain further bank statements, so he had to specifically go back to the UK just for that. Anyway, he got the additional bank statements (dating about 7-8 years back) and sent them over to SHAN SHAHRIAR. Guess what? After taking her a proper few days to check them, she still said they are not satisfactory and that she needs more. WHAT?? You have the bank statements since 2012 and you are still not happy?? Something she did not have a clue about, was that I also did law, I also did my LPC at the Uni of Law years before her, and despite I specialised and currently work in M&As and banking law, I am very well aware of the money laundering regulations with regards to conveyancing. In my boyfriends' case there was no any suspicious transaction whatsoever, he earns quite a good salary (maybe, that simply annoyed her, who knows) and this had been the case for over 5 years - nothing there to raise any suspicion, let alone keep requesting bank statements for over 10 years back. But, let's just say, because she doesn't know the money laundering regulations, she prefers to be on the safe side and request everything since the bank account was open in 2007. That would also have been fine PROVIDED she said from the very beginning 'I need all the statements since the bank account was opened'. We would have had all of them within a week, instead of just spoon feeding her bank statements. Of course, each set of bank statements took a few days to review, making us look like we were dragging our feet and were no longer interested in the house. Our real estate agent sent her an email in the beginning of September, which she completely ignored, so he reverted to us to ask us what on earth was she doing. She threatened us that unless she is happy with the bank statements we would not proceed to completion.On top of that, she sent us the draft contract with the WRONG address and a clause with regards to vacant possession that should not have been there in the first place (again thanks I remember my LPC stuff so I could rectify her mistakes). So, I reminded myself, it's okay she doesn't have a clue what she is doing maybe she's just confused, but the ADDRESS?? You don't need an LPC for that, you don't even need a law degree to be able to write down the correct address of your client! It is sufficient to be able to read and copy paste!

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca

Rebecca

March 29, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

EHCP and law

I was ignored and let down by this firm who were meant to be experts in the complicated area of education law ..
if I was a paying client , would the advice be better ?
They let me down and I still haven’t had a reply about my complaint from a senior solicitor

Was this review helpful?

Michelle

Michelle

March 14, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Shcool education needs

Absolutely disgusting I was left out of my amendments by Daniel ross the case I brought to him was of high child abuse over three year period my complaints were never fully investigated took me a year to receive my paperwork package thought court I believe I should have been given this abuse to my child has been covered up to the point I'm moving home to expose all to our loved ones my child was kidnapped and beaten and lie about my all professionals involved it's a well known street for bullying I'm not the only one to be have been bullied it's sick that this abuse to my family was added in court to go against me I have no doubt when our family and childhood friendships see it all we will be coming back together I claim obstruction of the cause of justice against your firm

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum and Deportation
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Refugee Family Reunion
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety