Request a callback

Book an appointment

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Hall Smith Whittingham LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hall Smith Whittingham LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Hall Smith Whittingham LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 4%
About Right 96%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hall Smith Whittingham LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Hall Smith Whittingham LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hall Smith Whittingham LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Hall Smith Whittingham LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Hall Smith Whittingham LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    255
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Michael

Michael

May 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional Conveyancing From HSW

I recently had the pleasure of working with HSW for my conveyancing needs, and their service was truly exceptional. Martyn Measures stood out as an outstanding solicitor, transforming what could have been a complicated and stressful experience into a seamless journey. His professionalism, attention to detail, and warm demeanor made the entire process a joy. Martyn’s expertise and dedication ensured I was always informed and comfortable, while his proactive approach and exceptional communication skills provided peace of mind. The professionalism of the entire HSW team further contributed to the positive experience. I highly recommend HSW for top-notch conveyancing services, and Martyn Measures, in particular, is a solicitor par excellence. Thank you, HSW, for an exceptional experience!

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stephen

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Purchase

Immediately chose Martyn to act for us after using him for a previous house sale. His experience and professionalism ensured that this latest purchase completed promptly (6 weeks) without any problems. Backed up by an efficient team, I wouldn't hesitate to use HSW again. My daughter is now using Martyn for her house sale on my recommendation.

Was this review helpful?

Phyon

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Phyon

May 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property Purchase

I am an overseas owner buying the property remotely via Hall Smith's team. I am so glad I have a good team to help me through the process as I am not sure the steps by steps buying a property in UK.

Was this review helpful?

Susan

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Susan

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

COO316/3

During our time dealing with HS2 it was reassuring to have the specialist advise and know that we had the backing of Nick Playford to guide us through the process. Nick was professional and diligent in the way that he worked for us and dealt with the difficulty in liaising with various sections within HS2 to get the outcome that we needed. We cannot thank Nick enough and really appreciate everything he did, especially as he managed to get the full price originally agreed by HS2 when they backtracked on this. For what Nick achieved we are truly grateful.

Was this review helpful?

Roy

Matter Type:

Transfers of equity

Roy

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Another seamless transaction with Martyn!

This is my third time using Martyn Measures for the legal parts of house purchase, house sale, re-mortgage
On each occasion Martyn has been easy to deal with, professional and most importantly prompt and dilligent in order to 'get the job done'

I would have no hesitation recommending Martyn to anyone looking for a competent solicitor and I have no doubt we will be utilising his services again in the future when required.

Thanks again Martyn, great job!

Was this review helpful?

CRAIG

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

CRAIG

April 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

First Class!

Martyn and the team couldn`t have been more efficient and helpful. They made a stressful house buying situation into an incredibly smooth transaction, diligently following up where they had to, and proactively making things happen at every stage.........all the time keeping me informed and updated.
Can`t thank them enough!

Was this review helpful?

Dylan

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Dylan

April 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Every time

Martyn Measures and his team are the best in the business. We have purchased 3 properties over the years using Martyn and every time the experience has been seamless! Communication throughout the process is always on point and theres not woolly legal talk - just clear, concise, information!

We wouldn't use anyone else!

Was this review helpful?

Wendy

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Wendy

April 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent support selling a house

Hall, Smith Whittingham, especially Martyn Measures, provided excellent advice and support in the sale of our property

Was this review helpful?

Jodie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jodie

April 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

I recently used the conveyancing team to sell my house. From start to finish they were great, Michael, Emma and Samantha were professional, informative and always kept me in the loop. Easy to use and a good service provided, Thankyou!

Was this review helpful?

tony

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

tony

April 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant service

From start to finish I could not have asked for better handling of the sale of my property.
Thank you so much.
Will be back soon
Tony

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Allan

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Allan

May 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Allan

Thanks to martyn and the team for helping us buy our first home! Despite numerous enquiries from ourselves we always received a clear and prompt response. Exactly the support you need being a FTB

Was this review helpful?

Linda

Linda

May 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Linda

I have used this solicitor for conveyancing, and again for my divorce. They were excellent. Very professional and very prompt with replies to queries and advice. Ian Hamilton-Fey was very approachable and helpful, and this made things a lot easier for me during a difficult time in my life. Pat Carlisle has also been excellent and 'on the ball' every time that she has provided conveyancing services for me (3 times so far). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them for both divorce and conveyancing services. I can't rate them highly enough. I also found their fees to be very reasonable.

Was this review helpful?

Ken

Matter Type:

Wills

Ken

April 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ken

Handled my wife’s will with great professionalism, compassion and understanding. Thank you Angela and Janice.

Was this review helpful?

Glyn

Glyn

April 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Glyn

Unfortunately I wouldn't use these solicitors again I used them for my divorce process and unfortunately they didn't come up to my expectations I sometimes felt as my solicitor was working along side my ex wife's .every time I spoke to the solicitor he changed his mind I reckon I'm out of pocket by a fair amount as the outcome was a vast difference from the beginning. He just kept saying just give her more get it over with her appeared to me to not want to put up a fight . Also considering he employs a secretary the amount of faults that I had to let him know to rectify was appalling . Saying that it's now over and done with and time to move on

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Alan

March 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alan

Very helpful, informed and user-friendly service throughout our time as clients with professional advice we trusted and which proved invaluable to our case

Was this review helpful?

Hall Smith Whittingham LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

At Hall Smith Whittingham LLP we pride ourselves on providing an excellent service to our clients. Our reputation is illustrated by our being awarded the Law Society’s Lexcel Qualification for practice management standards. We are a member of The Legal 500 which recognises the top law firms in England and Wales. Our residential property team are accredited members of the Law Society Conveyancing Quality Scheme, showing their excellence not only as property law experts but also their high standards of client care. Several of our specialist lawyers hold panel memberships, including, Resolution (formerly the Solicitors Family Law Association), Family Law Panel and the Law Society Children’s Panel. We have the rights of audience to appear before judges in the Higher Courts for civil and family proceedings.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Corporate Law
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Tax
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
Book an appointment