Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd

01606 487 77

Welcome to Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd, a Legal 500 leading law firm in Cheshire, also ‘acknowledged as a Recognised Practitioner for Family Law expertise’ by the Chambers & Partners directory 2020. We are a well-established firm specialising in Family Law, Child Care, Commercial & Residential Property, Wills, Trust & Probate and Care of the Elderly

4.8/5 189 Customer Reviews 189 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

189 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    169
  • Very Good
    11
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    6

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Lucinda
Lucinda Added 1 week ago Report to admin
July 01, 2020 20200701161329

Excellent Service

5

I was extremely impressed with the ease of communication, and the speed and accuracy of the service I received - particularly as this was achieved during the Covid-19 lockdown. Emma and Susan both worked for me, and were approachable, listening to my needs exactly and providing an accurate response very promptly. All information sent was easy to access and understand, and any questions were answered quickly. Overall an exceptional service in the circumstances.

Solicitor named in this review: Susan Howarth

Was this review helpful? Yes

Liz
Liz Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 02, 2020 20200402163038

Fantastic solicitor

5

Jeanette was an absolute pleasure to work with. The positive outcome of my case was more than i could hope for. Really cant thank her enough. Many many thanks.

Solicitor named in this review: Jeanette Birch

A representative from Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Dear Liz, Fantastic feedback and we really thank you for taking the time to leave this. We're so very pleased you got such a positive result and wish you the best of luck for your future. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
John Added 3 months ago Report to admin
April 01, 2020 20200401192847

Corrupt and Incompetent

1

I had a legal aid form, whilst in the middle-of an ICO
Statements came late, they were badly written, I was lied to. Overall a disgusting unprofessional approach to a sensitive subject. Just let me down at the last minute then lied through his teeth with excuses.

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Jones

A representative from Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 07 April, 2020

‘John’, In response, your review contains information we believe is not a true reflection of the matter and contains comments which are both inappropriate and defamatory. As solicitors, adhering in our practice and conduct to strict regulatory guidelines outlined and governed by The Law Society and the Solicitors Regulation Authority, we not only have a duty to our clients but also to the Court. As such, when we find ourselves in a position of being professionally compromised, we are unable to continue representing certain clients. It would be highly unethical for us to comment specifically on your case either online or within the wider public domain, not to mention a gross breach of client confidentiality. In the meantime, we ask that you remove this review and strongly recommend that you think carefully before posting such borderline libellous comments online again. SH&Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen & Susan
Verified Stephen & Susan Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 12, 2020 20200212204032

Will Service

5

Emma Stride was very professional and provided us with sound advice about making mirror Wills. The documentation was drawn up quickly following our meeting and reflected accurately our requirements. From our experience we have no hesitation in recommending Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors.

Solicitor named in this review: Emma Stride

A representative from Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Dear Stephen & Susan, we're so pleased to hear that your experience creating your wills was both simple and straightforward, and we really appreciate you taking the time and effort to leave us this feedback. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dr & Mrs
Verified Dr & Mrs Added 5 months ago Report to admin
February 04, 2020 20200204074216

Will Writing

5

Good efficient service. Good communication with us. Emma Stride was the solicitor who helped us and raised areas we were unaware of and had not considered. Pleased that we dealt directly with a solicitor. Price was reasonable.

Solicitor named in this review: Emma Stride

A representative from Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and review - we're very pleased that your experience drawing up wills was such a positive one. If we can be of any further help in the future, please don't hesitate to get back in touch. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gemma & Thomas
Verified Gemma & Thomas Added 5 months ago Report to admin
February 04, 2020 20200204064136

Straightforward service with knowledgeable and helpful staff.

5

Emma made setting up our Will a very straightforward process and was really helpful and accommodating when it came to arranging a time for my husband and I to sign things. Being able to contact our solicitor directly made raising any queries we had easy to resolve quickly. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and we were never made to feel a query we had was unescessary or wasting their time. We'll definitely be using Susan Howarth & Co again in the future.

A representative from Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Dear Gemma and Thomas, Thank you so much for your feedback , particularly as so many people don't realise how simple and straightforward setting a will up can be - your experience proves this! And we're so glad you felt comfortable raising your queries - we all have questions or just want some reassurance with these matters and it's important you feel you can ask them without feeling an inconvenience! If we can be of any further help or assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to get back in touch. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Philip
Verified Philip Added 5 months ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123162058

Will amendment

5

Very good quick simple and clear advice ... no messing and charming help

A representative from Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Short and sweet, covering all key points - we love feedback like this Philip and thank you for taking the time to leave it for us. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Deborah
Verified Deborah Added 5 months ago Report to admin
January 17, 2020 20200117165530

Highly Professional and Great Service

5

David Williams was able to navigate me through a less than straight forward purchase. He was very professional, quick to respond to enquiries and did his best to enable me to get into my new home as quickly as possible. He advised me as appropriate on all legal aspects and was a pleasant to deal with.

Solicitor named in this review: David Williams

A representative from Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Dear Deborah, Thank you so much for your feedback. It's often the case that issues crop up with property transactions that need resolving . It can be both frustrating and worrying, on top of what already is widely regarded as one of life's most stressful experiences, but it's fantastic to hear that David's management throughout the process resulted in a positive experience for you and we hope you're very happy in your new home. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michelle
Verified Michelle Added 5 months ago Report to admin
January 16, 2020 20200116000000

Family Law

5

Michelle recommends Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd

Solicitor named in this review: Victoria Poole

A representative from Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

sarah
sarah Added 7 months ago Report to admin
December 10, 2019 20191210132742

House Sale/Purchase

5

We sold and purchased a house with Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd. David & Julie provided a professional and personalised service with regular communication through out the journey. David is very knowledgeable and gave excellent advice that prevented us from losing money on the house we sold which we are very grateful for. They are both lovely people to speak to - friendly and helpful. We cannot recommend this company high enough. Most definitely our 'forever' solicitors for the future. Thank you again.

A representative from Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Dear Sarah, What wonderful glowing feedback - we are delighted you had such a positive experience as well as being both honoured and delighted to be your 'forever' solicitors :-) We'll be sure to pass your comments on to David and Julie, who will both be so pleased - as and when you need us again in the future, we'll be here ready to help. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your review. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Kris
Kris Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 15, 2020
Collected on
20200615145212

Kris

5

Used this solicitors for mine and my partner's wills. The service we received was excellent, Emma and Lisa were very friendly, professional and knowledgable. They made the process simple and explained everything every step of the way, thank you! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Dear Kris, We really appreciate the glowing feedback and are so pleased that Emma made the process both easy to understand and straightforward for you both. Many people can put off making a will because they think it will be time-consuming and difficult, but it needn't be - sadly, the Covid19 pandemic has really highlighted the importance of having a will so we hope your feedback helps other people decide to get their wills sorted sooner rather than later (or too late). If we can be of any further help, please don't hesitate to get back in touch. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 03, 2020
Collected on
20200603131252

Rebecca

5

We recently completed a house sale through susan Howarth and can recommend.They remained professional during the pandemic which made everything much more difficult. John was a pleasure to deal with, nicely spoken and very personal. Thanks very much :)

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Dear Rebecca We're so pleased to hear you had such a positive experience with John - despite the pandemic we're working hard to ensure that all clients' cases are running as smoothly as possible, whilst we continue to adhere to social distancing and government guidelines. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Kind Regards SH&Co.

D
D Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 18, 2020
Collected on
20200418173538

A client

5

A fantastic Family Solicitors who helped and supported me through my divorce. So glad I had their support at such a difficult time.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Wonderful feedback and we really thank you for taking the time to leave this - divorce cis frequently such a stressful and emotionally exhausting experience. To hear that we were able to offer you help and support at such a hard time means everything. Wishing you the best of luck for your future. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Chris
Chris Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 27, 2020
Collected on
20200227163505

Chris

5

We used Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors to complete the purchase of our freehold. John provided accurate pricing and timing information and processed the work in the timeframe he had quoted keeping us well informed throughout the process. We will be using them again and would highly recommend for a transparent and friendly experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Dear Chris, As far as the conveyancing process go, this is what we always aim for and to hear that your experience was so positive is music to our ears! Fantastic feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave it for us. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Steve
Steve Added 5 months ago Report to admin
February 06, 2020
Collected on
20200206101442

Steve

5

We needed to have our Wills updated, and found dealing with Emma Stride at Susan Howarth and Company, very easy. Emma was very approachable and gave us relevant advice in a friendly manner. We appreciated the home visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Dear Steve, we're so pleased to hear that your experience updating your will with us was both simple and straightforward, and we really appreciate you taking the time and effort to leave us this feedback. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Reviews collected on

Steve Clarke
Steve Clarke Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 11, 2020 20200611095619

Steve Clarke

5

We were attracted firstly because they are local and independent. The drop in, easy access session, was really useful and we were well received and quickly attended to. From introducing ourselves and explaining what we were looking for, right through to its conclusion we were well looked after. We found the staff to be friendly and professional, particularly our nominated solicitor, Emma Stride. We were listened to and the information given to us in return was clear and easy to understand. The progress of the work was well communicated despite challenges relating to the corona virus. We were treated fairly and after completing business I felt assured that we had done the right thing and seen the right company. So it is on that basis I can say we have been very satisfied with the overall service and I would have no hesitation in recommending Susan Howarth & Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Dear Steve, we're so pleased to hear that your experience updating your will with us was both simple and straightforward, and we really appreciate you taking the time and effort to leave us this feedback. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Jodie Ellen
Jodie Ellen Added 5 months ago Report to admin
February 08, 2020 20200208211237

Jodie Ellen

5

We used Susan Howarth and Co for our house move! David and the team were great! Kept us well informed, almost daily contact when we ran into some problems with our house sale!

Couldn't fault them so much so I recommend them to two friends who have also used them! And an added bonus their fees were more reasonable than some other local solicitors would definitely recommend!
Thankyou to the team!
Jodie and Craig

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Thank you so much for the fantastic glowing feedback - nothing trumps a recommendation. Oh wait, TWO recommendations does! 😅 Seriously though, thank you for taking the time and effort to leave your review - it's hugely appreciated. Hope you are both staying safe and sane. Best wishes SH&Co

Rob Thorpe
Rob Thorpe Added 7 months ago Report to admin
November 14, 2019 20191114115134

Rob Thorpe

5

John at Susan Howarth dealt with our recent house purchase, and we couldn't be happier with the outcome. Would thoroughly recommend using them for any conveyancing service!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Nick Tottman
Nick Tottman Added 9 months ago Report to admin
September 20, 2019 20190920130817

Nick Tottman

5

From start to finish I found my experience to be professional and efficient. Definitely would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Paula Hampson
Paula Hampson Added 10 months ago Report to admin
August 30, 2019 20190830125214

Paula Hampson

5

John Spittle has done all conveyancing for our properties over the last 25 years. We have recently sold our house and as always we received an excellent and professional service. Would recommend to anyone and in particular John Spittle!

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Additionally, we offer a range of FREE drop-in clinics every week: our Family Law clinics run 8-9am and 5-6pm every Tuesday and Thursday; our Wills & Probate and Senior Citizens clinics run 12-2pm every Wednesday. We pride ourselves on offering a first class service which is sensitive to our clients needs but is also efficient and cost effective. The firm is recognised by the Law Society as achieving high standards of practice management and client care and we have been awarded the prestigious Lexcel accreditation in recognition of this. We are recognised as one of the leading law firms the UK for our family law expertise in the Legal 500 which also ranks Susan Howarth as a Leading Individual for the North West. We have also recently been ‘acknowledged as a Recognised Practitioner for Family Law expertise’ by the Chambers & Partners directory 2020. Our highly experienced staff ensures you will receive the right advice from the right people at the right time. Please contact us and we will be happy to offer you the help and advice that you need.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000