Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd

01606 487 77

Welcome to Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd, one of Cheshire's leading law firms based in Northwich and serving clients throughout the North West. We are a well-established firm specialising in Family Law, Child Care, Commercial & Residential Property, Wills, Trust & Probate and Care of the Elderly A number of our solicitors have specialist accreditations in their areas of law and we are able to provide additional services such as Family Mediation, offered by our in-house Resolution-trained All Issues Family Mediation Council-accredited Mediator. We also offer a Fixed Fee Low Cost Divorce Service for those clients who are receiving Income Support, Income-Related Employment and Support Allowance, Income Based Job Seekers Allowance, Universal Credit or Guarantee Credit. While our normal office hours are 8.30am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday, flexible appointments to suit you outside these hours can be arranged with prior notice and for the less able, home or hospital visits are also available.

4.7/5 110 Customer Reviews 110
Recommended by
126 Verified Clients
like A M and Claire
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

110 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    95
  • Very Good
    8
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    5

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
A M
Verified A M Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 10, 2019 20190410212158

Professional service - Family Law

5

From start to finish, I received a professional service.
It was made clear how much my divorce could potentially cost, and with regular contact and information from my solicitor we made decisions together, which moved the process forward. I would without a doubt use this solicitor firm again if needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

What great comments AM, thank you so much. Family law and divorce can often be a stressful and difficult time for our clients, so to get such positive feedback in light of such an experience will hopefully provide comfort to those potentially facing a similar situation. Again, many thanks! Kind Regards SH&Co.

Claire
Verified Claire Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 09, 2019 20190409083045

Moving house

4

Overall the service was good but I think no it wa slower than it could have been due to my solicitor working 3 days a week and with holidays etc i think it could be improved by having someone else working on his cases when he’s not there. I also felt like I had make all the phone calls or emails to check where we were up to as oppposed to being informed with regular updates along the way.
John is very professional, knowledgable and friendly so no problem with his services when he’s there.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

Dear Claire, thank you so much for your feedback and constructive comments. We're sorry that you felt the process was potentially slower than it could have been on account of John Spittle's office hours. John's working week generally has no impact on conveyancing timings, particularly as we have another solicitor in the Conveyancing Department in addition to two Conveyancing legal secretaries who could have provided you with assistance at any point - we do apologise if this wasn't made clear to you but if you would like to further discuss this, please do contact Susan Howarth on 01606 48777. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Natalie
Verified Natalie Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 03, 2019 20190403160830

Great service and couldn’t be more helpful

5

Thanks for all your help with the purchase of the Leasehold on our property. It was a great help that you were pushing the other side for a quick resolution in order to help us avoid any further costs and it was clear throughout you were working to our best interests. We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending you and using your services in the future.

Many thanks

Mr and Mrs Herbert

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback and detail Natalie, which we feel helps prospective clients get a realistic idea of the service they can expect to receive at SH&Co. We very much look forward to being of assistance to you again in the future. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Phil
Phil Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 23, 2019 20190323152223

Great Service

5

Susan Howarth Solicitors really helped me with both of my cases. As I was representing myself at court they made me feel confident by giving me all the advice I needed and they also helped with typing up my statements. I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gary
Verified Gary Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 21, 2019 20190321182810

Helpful and available

5

My experience with Susan Howarth solicitors was exactly what I needed.
They were helpful and available at all times and they explained in plain English the technical law terms that were used so that they made sense to a layman like myself.
Victoria Poole kept me informed at all stages and helped me understand the process I was going through.
They are a solicitor's that I will have no difficulty recommending to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tricia
Tricia Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 19, 2019 20190319105540

Would 100% Recommend

5

We received a very high standard of service and pertinent advice from Emma Stride, which enabled us to make important decisions about our wills and POAs. We found Emma to be very approachable and, as a consequence, felt we could discuss matters with her, regardless of how trivial they seemed. All meetings were conducted in a very pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

What fabulous detailed feedback Tricia, thank you - we think this gives prospective clients a really good sense of how Emma works and the quality of service she delivers - she'll be delighted with your comments. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Keeley
Verified Keeley Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 13, 2019 20190313150825

Will writing service

5

Fantastic service from Emma. Quick appointments, great advice and a fast turnaround. You won’t be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback Keeley, clear, concise and to the point! We'll pass your comments on to Emma. Kind Regards SH&Co.

David
Verified David Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 05, 2019 20190305170703

Professional and Flexible

5

The Will and Probate department were very efficient, hugely helpful and gave sound advice on our options.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

Dear David, thank you so much for the feedback - we're so pleased to hear that your experience was such a positive one. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Michael
Michael Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 23, 2019 20190223110745

Fantastic service! Highly recommended

5

We did our house purchase conveyancing through Susan Howarth & Co, with John Spittle as the solicitor on the case. Things simply couldn't have gone any better. John is very communicative, approachable, efficient and right on the ball. The whole process took only 5 weeks from start to finish!

We can't give anything but fulsome praise for John and the company.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

Dear Michael, thank you so much for the high praise indeed - we're delighted to hear that our clients are pleased with the service we provide and will be sure to pass your comments on to John personally. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Hazel
Verified Hazel Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 15, 2019 20190115162000

Professional and personal service through probate

5

I would definitely recommend Susan Howarth again, they provided me with a very professional service whilst dealing with my husband's estate.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 23 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Reviews collected on

amy
amy Added 4 days ago Report to admin
April 13, 2019
Collected on
20190413223349

amy hunter

2

Ok

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

Dear Amy, We’re sorry you feel you’ve had a bad experience with our practice, particularly as we genuinely pride ourselves on how we personally interact with our clients and have built a strong reputation for providing realistic, accurate and professional legal advice, particularly in the field of family law. Without understanding your grievances, we would much prefer to discuss this with you in person and look to resolve those issues that are/were in our control. Please do get in touch by contacting Susan Howarth on 01606 48777 at your earliest convenience. Kind regards SH&Co.

Andrew
Andrew Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 06, 2019
Collected on
20190406112640

Andrew Howarth

5

Have used them for difficult and protracted commercial conveyancing amongst other things, but always been very happy with the service offered

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Natalie
Natalie Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 03, 2019
Collected on
20190403152810

Natalie Herbert

5

Thanks for all your help with the purchase of the Leasehold on our property. It was a great help that you were pushing the other side for a quick resolution in order to help us avoid any further costs and it was clear throughout you were working to our best interests. We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending you and using your services in the future.

Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback and detail, which we feel helps prospective clients get a realistic idea of the service they can expect to receive at SH&Co. We very much look forward to being of assistance to you again in the future. Kind Regards SH&Co.

George
George Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 03, 2019
Collected on
20190403132214

George Odia

5

Very good service and very professional

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 15 April, 2019

Dear George, Thank you for the positive feedback about the service you received at the practice - it's much appreciated. Kind Regards SH&Co.

Gary
Gary Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 26, 2019
Collected on
20190326131158

Gary White

5

My experience with Susan Howarth solicitors was exactly what I needed.
They were helpful and available at all times and they explained in plain English the technical law terms that were used so that they made sense to a layman like myself.
Victoria Poole kept me informed at all stages and helped me understand the process I was going through.
They are a solicitor's that I will have no difficulty recommending to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd responded to this review on 03 April, 2019

Many thanks for your feedback Gary - some of us at SH&Co. are laymen too, so we know exactly what you mean about the legal jargon! We're so glad that Victoria put you at ease and helped clarify the process for your case. With Kind Regards, SH&Co.

Solicitors who work at Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd

  • Susan Howarth

    Head of Family Department. Qualifying as a solicitor in 1993, Susan has over 25 years’ experience specialising in all aspects of Family Law, with a passion for family finances and expertise in divorce,domestic abuse and the Children’s Act cases. Susan established Susan Howarth & Company in 1997 and remains Director and Head of Family Law. Susan’s extensive knowledge, experience, understanding and compassion has been gained from her work in family law in addition to her prior work in the fields of probation, psychiatric and child abuse social work, and voluntarily with victims of domestic abuse spanning more than 20 years. Susan has always believed that everyone has the right to access justice and helping get client’s lives back on track is what matters most. Susan has been a member of the Law Society Family Law Panel since 1999 and is the practice Supervisor for WIQS accreditation.

  • Victoria Poole

    Victoria has worked in the legal sector since she was 16. Working initially as an office junior, she progressed through legal secretary and paralegal before qualifying as a member of the institute of Legal Executives in 1997 and being admitted as a fellow in 1999. Victoria specialises in all aspects of Family Law, including divorce, finances, domestic abuse, the Children’s Act and mediation. Victoria joined Susan Howarth & Company in January 2005 and was appointed a Director in 2017. Victoria is a Resolution-trained Mediator, a Resolution Accredited Specialist in Domestic Violence and Children Law (private), an FMC Accredited Family Mediator (all issues) and is the practice Supervisor for CQS accreditation. Committed, compassionate and honest is how clients frequently describe Victoria as she is incredibly dedicated and has an extraordinary work ethic, often ‘going that extra mile’ for her clients. For Victoria, it’s simple – her focus is on making a difference and helping her clients when they are often at their most vulnerable.

  • John Spittle

    John studied Law at Cambridge University and qualified in 1969. Throughout his career, John has gained broad experience in many areas of law, but for many years has specialised in Residential Conveyancing, Wills & Probate. After setting up his own practice in 1975, it grew through amalgamations and internal growth to become the largest legal practice in Warrington. John held the position of Senior Partner up until 2009, after which he practiced as a Consultant Solicitor until 2017. Joining Susan Howarth & Company in July 2017, John works alongside David Williams in further developing the Residential Property department.

  • Jeanette Birch

    Jeanette qualified as a solicitor in 1994 and has specialised in all aspects of Family Law including divorce, finances, domestic abuse and the Children’s Act, since 1997. A member of Resolution National Children’s Committee and the Law Society’s Advanced Family Panel, Jeanette joined the Family Law department at Susan Howarth & Company in 2016. Jeanette enjoys the variety of her work and that every day is different – genuinely enabling clients to move on with their lives by helping resolve difficulties gives her the greatest satisfaction. With an empathetic and patient approach, Jeanette’s dedication and kindness stands out, with her clients often making a point of highlighting their appreciation.

  • Stephen Jones

    Qualifying as a solicitor in 2002, Stephen specialises in all aspects of family law since, with particular expertise in child care and adoption. A member of Resolution National Children’s Committee and the Law Society’s Children’s Panel, Stephen joined the Family Law department at Susan Howarth & Company in 2017. Working alongside Lauren Martin in the child care and adoption department, Stephen represents children via their court-appointed guardian and in such cases, will represent parents, grandparents and wider family members. Stephen undertakes all advice and case preparation as well as conducting all of his own advocacy. Stephen adopts a pragmatic approach to his work, providing realistic advice to his clients – he enjoys the variety of his work and in particular the challenge of pursuing an argument when many around him think differently.

  • Lauren Martin

    After completing a first degree in Psychology and a second in Law, Lauren undertook legal executive exams followed by the Legal Practice Course whilst simultaneously gaining commercial legal experience and qualified as a solicitor in 2016. Lauren joined the Family Law department at Susan Howarth & Company in 2012, has specialised in Children Law since 2016 and is a member of Resolution. Working alongside Stephen Jones in the child care and adoption department, Lauren represents parents, grandparents and wider family members. Lauren undertakes all advice and case preparation as well as conducting the majority of her own advocacy. Offering a calm, sensible and balanced approach, Lauren enjoys working with a diverse range of clients and in particular, helping give more vulnerable clients a voice.

  • Emma Stride

    Emma qualified as a solicitor in 1990 and has always specialised in Wills and Probate (estate administration), Powers of Attorney and Court of Protection. Emma joined Susan Howarth & Company in January 2018 and heads up our private client department. Emma deals mainly in drafting Wills, Inheritance tax planning, Lasting Powers of Attorney, Court of Protection applications and estate administration. Emma is a long-standing member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners and of the Law Society’s Private Client Section. Emma is highly dedicated and methodical, and enjoys creating order out of chaos. However, her focus is always on her clients – she gets huge satisfaction from applying her legal knowledge to help and guide clients, particularly those she meets at our free weekly Wills & Probate drop-in clinic.

  • David Williams

    Qualifying as a solicitor in 2000, David specialises in all aspects of commercial and residential property. David joined Susan Howarth & Company in July 2018 and heads up our Property department. David offers a friendly and practical approach to property transactions. In his spare time David supports Manchester City (for his sins!) and plays badminton. His favourite film is a toss-up between The Good The Bad and The Ugly and Star Wars – it’s a lifetime’s debate! Expertise Commercial Property Freehold and Leasehold commercial property sales and acquisitions Development site acquisitions and sales Landlord and Tenant negotiations Secured lending Option agreements Overage agreements Pre-emption agreements Lock out agreements Residential Property Residential Sales Residential Purchase Transfer of equity Remortgages Purchase of shared ownership property and new builds First Registration Qualifications LLB Law Degree

About This Branch

Description

Additionally, we offer a range of FREE drop-in clinics every week: our Family Law clinics run 8-9am and 5-6pm every Tuesday and Thursday; our Wills & Probate and Senior Citizens clinics run 12-2pm every Wednesday. We pride ourselves on offering a first class service which is sensitive to our clients needs but is also efficient and cost effective. The firm is recognised by the Law Society as achieving high standards of practice management and client care and we have been awarded the prestigious Lexcel accreditation in recognition of this. We have also recently been recognised as one of the leading law firms the UK for our family law expertise in the Legal 500. Our highly experienced staff ensures you will receive the right advice from the right people at the right time. Please contact us and we will be happy to offer you the help and advice that you need.


Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000