Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Gard & Co Compares

Value for money

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gard & Co on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Gard & Co. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 15%
About Right 84%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gard & Co and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Gard & Co performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gard & Co and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Gard & Co compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Gard & Co offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    391
  • Very Good

    6
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Paula Mather

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Gard & Co.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Paula Mather

July 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Jodie has recently provided her assistance in the sale of my property under probate. Jodie was extremely helpful and provided legal advice in an extremely professional and supportive manner. I cannot recommend more highly the service from her throughout the whole process and her sensitivity in the matter.

Was this review helpful?

Kerry

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Kerry

July 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service!

Jim was extremely knowledgeable, understanding and empathetic throughout the five and a half years he worked on my personal injury claim. Jim was meticulous in his approach and was always available if I needed to talk to him. My claim ended up going to court. However, with Jim and an amazing barrister (also chosen by Jim) I won the day and the truth prevailed. I would highly recommend Jim to anybody looking for a great personal injury lawyer!

Was this review helpful?

BWestcott

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Gard & Co.

Matter Type:

Accidents In Public Places

BWestcott

July 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Personal injury claim

Made everything very clear and understandable, definitely would recommend and use again

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Matter Type:

Wills

Simon

June 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

My will

Llinos was professional, polite and friendly when assisting me with my will. The whole process was very straightforward. I would have no hesitation in recommending Gard & Co.

Was this review helpful?

Donna Carpenter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Gard & Co.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Donna Carpenter

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyance

Jodie is professional, quick, and just lovely.

Was this review helpful?

Sue O'Regan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Gard & Co.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sue O'Regan

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale

I have found Gard & Co to be efficient and fast in their dealings with selling my house. We have used this company before and would recommend them without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

Andrzej M Michalski

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Gard & Co.

Andrzej M Michalski

May 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Insurance

Really trustworthy and honest, good communication, highly recommended

Was this review helpful?

Simon A

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Gard & Co.

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Simon A

May 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Total professionalism, always updated, friendly and trustworthy service. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful?

Susanna

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Susanna

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Have always been helpful and on the ball!

After some stalled attempts to purchase a house Gard & Co have proven to be professional and helpful every step of the way. Despite having to start over with our mortgage and numerous other issues that came up, Karen McCormick and Charlotte Bonney at Gard & Co had our back and represented us very well.

We would certainly recommend them!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Gard & Co.

Matter Type:

Matrimonial finance

Anonymous

April 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Client Care

Claire Johnston. Listen and Communicated Well with Empathy.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Darren

Darren

July 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Darren

We couldn't have wished for a better local solicitor to handle our house move. We had Jodie deal with everything from start to finish. The whole situation was handled professionally and efficiently. All questions/issues/queries etc were answered promptly. If the answer was not forthcoming, Jodie kept us updated throughout and chased when needed. We highly recommend Gard & Co and would certainly use them again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Benjamin

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Benjamin

July 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Benjamin

Max and Charlie from the conveyancing team were absolutely brilliant and I couldn’t recommend them highly enough. Charlie was really persistent, going above and beyond to make sure the matter was resolved by the deadline. Thanks again for all the hard work and effort.

Was this review helpful?

LEGACY

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

LEGACY

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

LEGACY

Recently just went through the house buying process and Jodie was our point of contact who did everything along the way. She was amazing and really easy to talk. Kept us updated throughout the process and always explained things as simply as possible.
Thankyou very much 😊😊

Was this review helpful?

Sharon

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sharon

May 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sharon

I recently sold a property and Michelle Pepper acted for me. Michelle was lovely always efficient and professional. I was kept informed,had regular updates and advice along the process. I would highly recommend Michelle and her team and wouldn’t hesitate to use Gard and Co again.

Was this review helpful?

Francesca

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Francesca

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Francesca

I can’t recommend Gard & Co enough. Karen and Charlotte have been amazing and super efficient. The communication speed is incredible and Karen keeps you up to date throughout the process. We now have the keys to our new home after only 6 weeks 😃 My dad has used Karen to sell and now buy again, and I have recommended Karen to my daughter also for her purchase. Thank you so much we really appreciate all your hard work.

Was this review helpful?

Gard & Co are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Gard & Co.’s team of dedicated solicitors and lawyers are based in the centre of Plymouth. We provide clear legal solutions to both business and individual clients, specialising in: • accident compensation • dispute resolution • conveyancing • commercial services • business transfers • divorce • family law • wills and estate planning • personal injury • probate At Gard & Co. we take the time to build a relationship with our clients so that we can fully understand their legal needs. We aim to exceed your expectations, quickly getting to the root of your legal issues and resolving them with as little drama as possible. To help you we have produced a number of articles which you might find useful. To access them visit our website @ www.gardandco.com. They are free to download for personal use. Located opposite the Barcode Building (formerly Plymouth bus station) we are easily accessible by public or private transport, with free parking available outside the office. So, to arrange a free initial interview call Gard & Co. on 01752 668246 or email enquiries@gardandco.com. Alternatively you may wish to drop in at our offices at 4 Bretonside Plymouth PL4 0BY.

Practice areas

• accident compensation • dispute resolution • conveyancing • commercial services • business transfers • divorce • family law • wills and estate planning • personal injury • probate

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment