Thompson Smith And Puxon

01206 574431

Established in 1879, TSP has grown to be one of the leading law firms in Essex with offices in Colchester and Clacton. We offer a full range of legal advice to businesses and individual clients. Our specialist practice areas, with accredited lawyers and attentive support staff, ensure you receive the most professional and practical advice available.

4.9/5 67 Client Reviews 67 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation

How Thompson Smith And Puxon compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Thompson Smith And Puxon on ReviewSolicitors

67 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    62
  • Very Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Tim
Tim Added 3 days ago Report to admin
April 16, 2021 20210416094705

Residential Property

5

TSP handles all our affairs efficiently and rekiably

Solicitor named in this review: Abbie Mckay

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr Nugent
Mr Nugent Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 10, 2021 20210410051610

Personal Injury

5

I honestly could not fault any of the service I received from you all. I am forever grateful, and will be sure to highly recommend you in the future.

I trusted in the advice, knowledge and expertise provided by Sam Welham, due to his calm and kind nature and who was always thorough and highly efficient. I also appreciated how Sam always represented with such dignity and respect even when the defence were sometimes brutish and difficult.

I reflect on the case and I would like to point out that my positive experience was not just because we had a good outcome. I am certain that even if we had lost the case, my overall view of the service I received would have been the same. Thank you ever so much.

Solicitor named in this review: Sam Welham

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris Bird
Chris Bird Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 07, 2021 20210407150017

Residential Property

5

TSP were fantastic with our house purchase, extremely thorough and kept us in the loop. We were recommended to use them and I thoroughly recommend to anyone else.

Solicitor named in this review: Laura Finnigan

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 26, 2021 20210326105539

Residential Property

5

This is the 3rd time we have used TSP for a house move and the 2nd time we have dealt with Laura F. She is absolutely fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble and she is extremely efficient, consistently - the rest of her team are fantastic too. Thank you.

Solicitor named in this review: Laura Finnigan

Was this review helpful? Yes

Olivia Howells
Olivia Howells Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 25, 2021 20210325202210

Personal Injury

5

A wonderful service, complete honesty and support throughout with the very best outcome we could have hoped for.

Solicitor named in this review: Joanna Jeavons

Was this review helpful? Yes

Keith Wright
Keith Wright Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 16, 2021 20210316104301

Personal Injury

5

Great team to work with. very helpful and professional. very patient and explain complex issues very well.

Solicitor named in this review: Joanna Jeavons

Was this review helpful? Yes

Trevor Snowling
Trevor Snowling Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 13, 2021 20210313144332

Residential Property

5

TSP handled the sale of my late father’s property in a professional and personable manner keeping me informed of all developments. I will happily use TSP for any future needs.

Solicitor named in this review: Abbie Mckay

Was this review helpful? Yes

Henry King and Erica Chaloner
Henry King and Erica Chaloner Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 12, 2021 20210312180031

Company Commercial

5

I (we) have full confidence in your efforts on our behalf. You will be aware that colleagues of yours are currently endeavouring to complete the sale of the premises on our behalf

Solicitor named in this review: Sharon Auton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Peter Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 12, 2021 20210312112740

Residential Property

5

TSP were always helpful, prompt and pleasant to deal with. This has been our family experience with our occasional dealings with them over the past years.

Solicitor named in this review: Abbie Mckay

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 04, 2021 20210304190912

Residential Property

5

Previously having dealt with the wonderful Robert Ashworth we were recommended to Richard Broadhead to do our sale/purchase of property.
Very professional and knowledgeable. Total protection of client and their needs with regular advice.

Solicitor named in this review: Richard Broadhead

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Mark
Mark Added 6 months ago Report to admin
September 24, 2020
Collected on
20200924105742

Mark

5

Professional service at competive rates, particularly during a challenging climate with the Covid-19 pandemic & national lockdown. Good communication throughout the transaction, well located for parking & delivery / signing documents. I would recommend using both Laura Finnigan & Laura Patterson for any residential property matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barry
Barry Added 7 months ago Report to admin
September 07, 2020
Collected on
20200907104029

Barry

4

Working with Jolyon Berry at Thompson Smith and Puxon was a very good experience. I found Jolyon knowledgeable, professional and personable and was pleased that the outcome for my case was positive. Jolyon was sensitive and practical to my situation, transparently weighing the pros and cons (risk and cost), and then advising me accordingly . I would highly recommend Jolyon for employee/employer challenges. Thank you Jolyon!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Simon
Simon Added 9 months ago Report to admin
July 23, 2020
Collected on
20200723094533

Simon

5

Excellent service throughout our case. Would recommend this firm without a doubt. Thanks again especially Sam Welham who dealt with our case.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gordon
Gordon Added 11 months ago Report to admin
May 20, 2020
Collected on
20200520071518

Gordon

5

I am delighted with the service I recieved from TSP and particulary Laura and Laura in their property team. Professional, available at all times and a pleasure to do business with. Will certainly recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Cara
Cara Added 11 months ago Report to admin
April 27, 2020
Collected on
20200427123109

Cara

5

I feel so fortunate for the support I received from Jolyon Berry during a stressful case with my employer. Jolyon and his team went way above and beyond in both fighting my case, and support during this time. Thank you so much for everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Established in 1879, TSP has grown to be one of the leading law firms in Essex, with 13 partners, some 70 employees, and offices in Colchester and Clacton. We offer a full range of legal advice to businesses and individual clients. Our specialist practice areas, with accredited lawyers and attentive support staff, ensure you receive the most professional and practical advice available. The partners and staff at TSP bring together local and regional knowledge with City firm experience, enabling us to compete effectively with large London practices. And with legislation constantly evolving, we make it our business to keep up to date with the latest developments.


Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000