Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Thompson Smith And Puxon Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Thompson Smith And Puxon on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thompson Smith And Puxon and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Thompson Smith And Puxon performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thompson Smith And Puxon and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Thompson Smith And Puxon compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Thompson Smith And Puxon offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    109
  • Very Good

    6
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    2

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Anonymous

May 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dispute Resolution

As always very professional, knowledgeable and helpful advice given.

Was this review helpful?

Jeremy & Jo

Jeremy & Jo

May 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Property

A truly amazing service from Richard Broadhead and the team at Thompson Smith & Puxon. Richard understood how important it was for us to be in our new house before we welcomed our first child. He was always on hand to answer questions and kept us both up to date throughout. Excellent service and a real credit to your firm. I will always recommend you to friends, family and colleagues for conveyancing. Many thanks from Jeremy Allen and Jo Higgins

Was this review helpful?

K.Hampson

K.Hampson

May 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills & Estates

I contacted TSP to help me write my Will, all my options were explained to me, the work was carried out in a very quick fashion. The staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful. I will definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?

Brian and Susan Ager

Brian and Susan Ager

May 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills & Estates

As we regard Fiona Ashworth as our family solicitor and has worked with our family for many years,it speaks for itself that we are very happy to be with this firm of solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

Milly Cooper

Milly Cooper

May 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Personal Injury

Joanna Jeavons was fantastic! I couldn’t recommend her enough! She was so friendly and helpful every step of the way and always made sure I understood everything going on. Couldn’t of asked for a better experience.

Was this review helpful?

Barbara

Barbara

April 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills & Estates

Can recommend this firm because of ability to deal with complex problems in many areas

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

April 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dispute Resolution

We needed the advice and help from a professional company and Thompson Smith and Puxon provided this in a friendly and proficient manner and we would not hesitate to use their services again.

Was this review helpful?

Kim, clacton

Kim, clacton

April 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Property

Thank you Thompson Smith and Puxton for the great service you provide, you have a fantastic supportive team of staff that understands what people need, you’ve supported me through a very what would have been stressful time buying and selling my property and made the whole process easy to understand and guided me through every step of the way.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

March 31, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills & Estates

Having chosen to return to this Company for a change in our Wills I am pleased and impressed with the solicitors thorough knowledge of the subject, the easy manner in which she advised and the quality of the end product.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

James

James

February 24, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

James

I realize that the covid situation and other factors played a role, and yes some things were handled well but it was over all not the level of service our initial meeting left us expecting.

Was this review helpful?

Cathy

Cathy

February 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Cathy

Georgia Bolton could not have been more helpful and professional when dealing with my Mums LPAs. We would have no hesitation in recommending TS and P to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

kelli

kelli

February 08, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

kelli

Excellent service

Was this review helpful?

sarah

sarah

January 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

sarah

Professional and personable, highly recommended .

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Richard

December 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Richard

The recipienist l went to the same School as I did.

Was this review helpful?

Thompson Smith And Puxon are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Established in 1879, TSP has grown to be one of the leading law firms in Essex, with 13 partners, some 70 employees, and offices in Colchester and Clacton. We offer a full range of legal advice to businesses and individual clients. Our specialist practice areas, with accredited lawyers and attentive support staff, ensure you receive the most professional and practical advice available. The partners and staff at TSP bring together local and regional knowledge with City firm experience, enabling us to compete effectively with large London practices. And with legislation constantly evolving, we make it our business to keep up to date with the latest developments.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Military
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Redundancy
    • TUPE
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Family Law
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Extending your Lease
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Residential Conveyancing
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Employment - business
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Small businesses
    • Tax
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment