Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Thompson Smith And Puxon Compares

Value for money

This firm - 97%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Thompson Smith And Puxon on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thompson Smith And Puxon and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Thompson Smith And Puxon performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thompson Smith And Puxon and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Thompson Smith And Puxon compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Thompson Smith And Puxon offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    83
  • Very Good

    4
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    2

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Jade Johnston

Jade Johnston

September 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Medical Negligence

I could not fault Stacey's work on my case. From the first phone call I had with her she showed me so much compassion and empathy. Stacey always kept me in the know and I didn't feel as though I had to chase her at any point. I think it's fair to say Stacey was just as disappointed as I was when we didn't get the outcome we had hoped for. I felt very at ease knowing someone felt as strongly about this as I did as I was very wary and nervous going into it.

Was this review helpful?

John

John

September 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills & Estates

Aileen kept me informed through out. Was timely with her work and was approachable

Was this review helpful?

Mrs Margaret Chalmers

Mrs Margaret Chalmers

August 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Commercial Property

I am very pleased with the Service that I received

Was this review helpful?

Bill Wigglesworth

Bill Wigglesworth

July 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Property

I have no hesitation in recommending TSP's residential propery service for its professionalism and effectiveness, coupled with a friendly and sensible approach

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Robert

July 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Personal Injury

The service that I received from Jo Jeavons to deal with my PI claim was extremely professional. I always felt confident that Jo was acting in my best interests and always kept me informed of the progress of my case. She was always very sympathetic to the circumstances and I would highly recommend her.

Was this review helpful?

Keith Wright

Keith Wright

July 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Property

I am currently selling a number of properties using TSP and I am delighted with the service, communication, professionalism, and attitude of all the staff.

Was this review helpful?

Piers  Roberts

Piers Roberts

July 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment - Individual

Jolyon was very efficient in all aspects of the matter

Was this review helpful?

Paul C

Paul C

June 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Company Commercial

Claire Powell gave me a brilliant, accurate, timely, friendly and helpful service offering legal advice in the selling of my business.

Was this review helpful?

A G-K

A G-K

June 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Personal Injury

TSP acted for me following a road traffic accident when I was knocked off my bike by a car. They were very informative on our initial meeting; the case was handled with care and attention, and concluded with a very acceptable result.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

michael

michael

July 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

michael

Very nice lady travelled out to my mums home for a last will and testament consultation. She was there for approximately 20mins. It's not a complicated estate as there are two beneficiaries, one of which was to be written out completely leaving a single beneficiary. However when the hard copy of the will was received the full names of the two were completely incorrect, incorrect first names and surnames which caused my mother great distress due to the sensitive nature of having to exclude one beneficiary in the first place. She had also recently been diagnosed with cancer and was starting her treatment soon after the meeting with this lady and was advised that should she choose not to proceed with the will she would be entitled to a full refund which didn't happen. Small details are not only very important but getting them wrong can cause great distress as the back story might not be known. More care needs to be taken. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Vincenzo

Vincenzo

June 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Vincenzo

Would highly recommend them to anyone, Stacey Anderson is very professional & friendly

Was this review helpful?

colin

colin

May 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

colin

Great company, polite, helpful and friendly

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

September 24, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mark

Professional service at competive rates, particularly during a challenging climate with the Covid-19 pandemic & national lockdown. Good communication throughout the transaction, well located for parking & delivery / signing documents. I would recommend using both Laura Finnigan & Laura Patterson for any residential property matters.

Was this review helpful?

Barry

Barry

September 07, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Barry

Working with Jolyon Berry at Thompson Smith and Puxon was a very good experience. I found Jolyon knowledgeable, professional and personable and was pleased that the outcome for my case was positive. Jolyon was sensitive and practical to my situation, transparently weighing the pros and cons (risk and cost), and then advising me accordingly . I would highly recommend Jolyon for employee/employer challenges. Thank you Jolyon!

Was this review helpful?

Thompson Smith And Puxon are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Established in 1879, TSP has grown to be one of the leading law firms in Essex, with 13 partners, some 70 employees, and offices in Colchester and Clacton. We offer a full range of legal advice to businesses and individual clients. Our specialist practice areas, with accredited lawyers and attentive support staff, ensure you receive the most professional and practical advice available. The partners and staff at TSP bring together local and regional knowledge with City firm experience, enabling us to compete effectively with large London practices. And with legislation constantly evolving, we make it our business to keep up to date with the latest developments.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Military
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Redundancy
    • TUPE
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Family Law
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Extending your Lease
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Residential Conveyancing
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Employment - business
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Small businesses
    • Tax
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment