Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ellisons Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ellisons Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Ellisons Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 6%
About Right 93%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ellisons Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    837
  • Very Good

    62
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    15

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Michael Lloyd

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Michael Lloyd

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Parental responsibility case

After starting with a bad solicitor's firm with the wrong directions , I was recommended Lisa Dawson by a good friend
Instantly Lisa corrected all the wrongs of past and got me to we’re I wanted to be very quickly and helped me threw the process not only in the courts and paper work wise but emotionally supported me allowing me not to use emotions in my case just the facts
I got more than I asked for with Lisa’s direction and will always be greatful

Was this review helpful?

Maureen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Maureen

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lasting power of attorney and making my will

I could not wish for better service from Lauren, she was very helpful and always available when I need to speak to her. She always managed to put my mind at rest.

Was this review helpful?

Robin

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

Robin

May 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Protective Professionals

Very friendly, very professional, very calming.

Safeguard over against overreaction with controlled advice and actions. Good people and pleasant to deal with

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Anonymous

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Lauren handled our late mothers estate with the utmost respect & professionalism. She was very understanding & approachable. Nothing was too much trouble & everything was explained in a way we could understand. Overall, excellent service for a sensitive and difficult time.

Was this review helpful?

Barbara

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Barbara

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will making

Complete satisfaction by all concerned as I am an 'old cluck', reviewed and altered my will. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Dave

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Dave

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will & Probate Response

My solicitor Lauren Hancock was so empathetic and very professional in the way I was treated. I could not have asked for a more sympathetic and helpful solicitor. She is an asset of great value to Ellisons. Many many thanks Lauren.

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Matter Type:

Family law

Chris

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional- Highly recommend

Lisa Dawson helped navigate me through a tough separation and access of my children.
Lisa is highly professional, sticks to facts and keeps what’s best for the children as the heart and focus for all involved.
Lisa’s knowledge on family law is impeccable and advice given throughout was always clear and understandable.
I highly recommend Ellisons with an extra special big thank you to Lisa Dawson plus team.

Was this review helpful?

Chitithoti

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Chitithoti

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Initial consultation

I had initial consultation with Anna. She is very professional, good listener,attentive and very knowledgeable. It's amazing how she gathered all the information from me regarding my case in short period and able to give best advice highlighting different areas of my case that needs attention.She has gone extra mile travelling extra mile,spending extra time, to know more about my case so she can give best advice. Her advice is very clear and detailed including directions and steps that can be taken.Value for money.Thank you very much Anna for the time and effort you have taken to give such a valuable advice.

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

April 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

After my mum passed away Lauren handled the probate.
Lauren showed empathy and appreciated it was a difficult time for me. Very professional, kind and explained the process in understandable language.
Communication was brilliant and kept me informed which is so important for a client.
A year later Lauren then made my Will.
Again, very professional and clearly explained the process and the legal details and language. All sorted quickly and easily.
Lauren is absolutely lovely, so nice and kind, so professional and knowledgeable in her area of expertise.
Would highly recommend and intend to avail myself again with Power of Attorney in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Debra and Anthony

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Debra and Anthony

March 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

POA

From making the initial appointment to signing the Power of Attorneys;, the service was fantastic. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful. Amy was very personable and explained every step. Mel made making all appointments easy and organised a parking space for my mum as she struggles to walk.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Jack

Jack

April 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jack

0 stars if I could, refuse to speak to me because they're told not to, although they want my money and said the only reason they pick up the phone is because its curtesy.
Rude people, horrible to talk to and Joe Brightman was my solicitor who refused to take phone calls from me but I'm trying to pay them.
I have 1 day or they're taking me to court, how am I suppose to pay?
Selfish, ignorant people who only care about a good paycheck

Was this review helpful?

Julie

Julie

September 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Julie

A very professional company, they dealt with a sale of property very efficiently and always returned calls or emails promptly. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Daniel

July 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Daniel

Terrible company that's prepared to ignore the law for their clients and cause unreasonable disruption, huge costs and prolonged, systematic delays are created so their bills to their clients rise, rise and continue to rise! I can't wait to see them held accountable for their actions and the actions of their clients!
Evidence is always the best form of attack!

Was this review helpful?

B

B

February 17, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

On a recommendation I engaged Matthew Preston-Bloom in the purchase of a holiday let property in Southwold.
Matthew was efficient timely and helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending Matthew and will be using his services again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Sandy

Sandy

November 11, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sandy

I am writing this review on behalf of a friend. My friend was put in a position where he had to sell his house because of a divorce and engaged the services of Matthew Preston-Bloom of Ellisons in Ipswich.
Matthew was very well informed on all matters pertaining to house sales and guided my friend smoothly through what was a very traumatic experience for him. A consummate professional in every way, Matthew showed empathy for my friend’s position and guided him through all the pitfalls that can arise in these situations.
He took charge of the situation and always had time to put my friend at ease when problems arose.
Matthew is a credit to Ellisons and my friend would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone selling or buying a property.

Was this review helpful?

Ellisons Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Ellisons Solicitors is a full service top 200 UK law firm, and one of the region’s oldest, most established and fastest growing firms. With a team of over 270 colleagues, the firm has offices located across Essex and Suffolk, alongside an office in London: Colchester, Chelmsford, Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Tendring. Ellisons offer comprehensive range of services to businesses and individuals across the UK and beyond - aided by our membership of the Alliott Global Alliance (a worldwide alliance of professional firms).

Practice areas

For you and your family: Wills, Trusts and Probate Family and Divorce Residential Conveyancing Insolvency Personal Injury Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution For your business: Corporate and Commercial Commercial Property Rural and Agriculture Insurance Litigation Insolvency Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution Construction and Regulatory

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing