Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ellisons Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ellisons Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Ellisons Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ellisons Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    868
  • Very Good

    64
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Chris

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Chris

July 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

The team were helpful from start to finish in handling the legal side of selling my late father's property was kept informed at all times

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Anonymous

July 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Late Wife's Estate

Everything went very smoothly with no bad issues.
Now all completed to my satisfaction

Was this review helpful?

David

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Immigration Law

David

June 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A Smooth and Informative Sponsorship Experience with Sohan Sidhu

I recently went through the process of becoming a sponsor, and I must say, the experience was incredibly smooth thanks to Sohan Sidhu and his team. Sohan's extensive knowledge of the process was evident from the start. He kept me informed every step of the way, providing clear and concise updates on the progress.

One of the aspects I appreciated most was Sohan's proactive approach to handling all the necessary paperwork. He ensured everything was completed in a timely manner, relieving me of much stress and anxiety. This allowed me to focus on other aspects of the process without worrying about deadlines or potential delays.

Beyond the efficient handling, the experience also proved to be highly educational. Sohan 's expertise and guidance provided me with valuable insights into the sponsorship process, empowering me with a greater understanding of the complexities involved.

I am truly grateful for the positive experience I had with Sohan Sidhu and his team. Their professionalism, knowledge, and commitment made the entire process stress-free and ultimately successful. I highly recommend Sohan to anyone looking for assistance with sponsorship matters.

Was this review helpful?

Bernadette

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Bernadette

June 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Experience - Smooth & Professional

Catherine did a fantastic job conveyancing the purchase of my first property. Communication was excellent with regular updates and any questions I had were answered quickly and clearly. Overall my buying experience was stress free, handled professionally and went smoothly. I am so happy with the service.

Was this review helpful?

Kirsty

Kirsty

June 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jessica Jacobs - Very impressed

My daughter wanted to change her surname after waiting patiently for 18 years to do so and she wanted to do it on her 18th birthday. Jessica wasn't due to be working that day, but changed her diary to accommodate the request. Both Jessica and her assistant were amazing and couldn't do any more to make the experience very special. Thank you so much and I will be considering using Ellison's for all of my legal matters.

Was this review helpful?

Asher

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Asher

May 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extremely Quick

Charlene was extremely quick and translated important points into layman's terms so that we understood the whole process; it was clear to see why Ellisons are rated one of the best solicitors in the country. The entire process went smoothly and culminated in completion around noon on the day. The only issue we had was knowing when to to pay. However, all in all, we were happy with the service we received.

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Chris

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate

At a time when you have lost a loved one, they made the process of probate a worry free concern. Many thanks to all who were involved, it took the pressure off in sorting matters out.

Was this review helpful?

paul

Matter Type:

Divorce

paul

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Caring & professional

From day one, Jessica has guided me through the various steps, with clear explanations. I have been kept up to date with all matters.For anyone who is sadly going through a divorce, i would highly recommend Jessica to help, advise & guide you through the process, with a caring & professional approach.

Was this review helpful?

Claire

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Claire

May 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of Property

Grace is always so professional and extremely helpful even under stressful circumstances of selling a house under probate. I can't thank her and her team enough for the help given and we will certainly be recommending them for other property work.

Was this review helpful?

Sandra

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Sandra

March 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Best solicitor I have dealt with

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

debs

Matter Type:

Family law

debs

July 15, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

debs

The Solicitor looking after my Mum's affairs is really good. Everyone is very professional and welcoming. I would definitely recommend Ellison's. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Alan

June 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alan

Friendly I was helping my partner to sort will out quite expensive but you do get quality service

Was this review helpful?

John

John

May 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

Audrey McKenna helped us with our recent property sale and purchase.
The purchase turned out to be a difficult affair mainly because the vendors had chosen a large conveyancing firm who frankly were not good at all.
Audrey handled everything with infinite patience and professionalism and helped get the case over the line in spite of the vendors side.
Her service was exceptional, and I wouldn't go anywhere else for my conveyancing needs.

Was this review helpful?

John

John

March 10, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

I worked with Robyn Reid recently and I would certainly recommend her. Robyn provided a professional and speedy service, keeping me advised at every stage of the transaction. A real credit to Ellisons.

Was this review helpful?

Sid

Sid

July 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sid

Very helpful and friendly nothing is to much trouble, can recommend to anybody Good value for money on

Was this review helpful?

Ellisons Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Established for more than 250 years. Ellisons Solicitors is a top 200 UK firm, and one of the region’s oldest, most established and fastest growing firms. With a team of over 250 colleagues – the firm has offices located across Essex and Suffolk, alongside an office in London: Colchester, Chelmsford, Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Tendring. Ellisons offer comprehensive range of services to businesses and individuals across the UK and beyond - aided by our membership of the Alliott Global Alliance (a worldwide alliance of professional firms).

Practice areas

For you and your family: Wills, Trusts and Probate Family Residential Conveyancing Insolvency Personal Injury Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution For your business: Corporate and Commercial Commercial Property Rural and Agriculture Insurance Litigation Insolvency Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution Construction and Regulatory

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing