Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Willans LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Willans LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Willans LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 12%
About Right 85%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Willans LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Willans LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Willans LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Willans LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Willans LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    274
  • Very Good

    5
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    10

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Jeremy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Willans LLP.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Jeremy

July 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

LPA made easy

At a recent home visit Janine Guthrie explained LPAs to my 81 year old Mother-in -Law in a clear and understanding way. At a difficult time for the family Janine made what could have been an arduous task very straightforward.

Was this review helpful?

Christian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Willans LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Christian

July 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Selling Your Home

Not often in this world do you have the chance to do business and enjoy the experience with a true professional. I would recommend Willans and "Steve Diamond."

Was this review helpful?

Lea

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Willans LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Lea

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simon has been excellent!

We have used Simon 3 times for conveyancing, he has been excellent & achieved everything we needed quickly & efficiently. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him.

Was this review helpful?

Robin

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Willans LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Robin

June 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Updating my Will

I wanted my new will to be as straightforward as possible, so assumed that the process would be quick and simple. During my first meeting to discuss it however, it was clear that there could be unexpected pitfalls. I was grateful for the patient and expert advice that I was given which could avoid possible complications in the future

Was this review helpful?

Penelope

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Willans LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Penelope

May 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simply excellent

Steve Diamond recently handled the purchase of our new home and I can't recommend him (and Willans as a whole) highly enough!

Was this review helpful?

Ashley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Willans LLP.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Ashley

May 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Purchase

I always go to Willans as they are thorough and always keep me in the loop, throughout the process.
Another smooth house purchase, Simon helpful as always and the whole process pretty stress free.
Can't recommend them enough!!

Was this review helpful?

Gail

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Gail

May 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Abysmal

Absolutely shocking and abysmal service from this company.

It’s taken me 6 months to actually bring myself to write this review. It’s important that I do so, not only to warn anyone looking for legal representation but for my own mental health so I can finally put it to rest. Unfortunately, this review can’t come close to representing the abominable service, or lack of it from Willans as I couldn’t possibly list every single error or insulting action from them so please just accept this summary as a very abbreviated warning to any potential client.

I had used Willans twice in the past; both for the sale and purchase of properties. Both these transactions were dealt with by Jamie Cook, who had come recommended. Jamie was easy to work with and the moves were without major issue. I therefore decided to employ Jamie once more on the sale of my home and purchase of an onward property.

Things on this occasion were rather different. Jamie was slow in responses and had to be chased up repeatedly, then a couple of weeks into our agreement, I was abruptly told he was moving departments (this turned out to be untrue) and I would be dealing with Jade Blackwell; not a solicitor but a ‘legal executive’, who would be taking over. I never received a welcome or an introduction from Jade, just a wall of silence to my emails asking for an update to matters that had been left unresolved by Jamie.

From day one, I faced a battle with Jade to perform the simplest of duties and keep me informed, and when I did ever get a reply it was full of excuses along the lines of being very busy without any sense of an understanding that what she was being asked to do was simply what she was being paid for. She was rude, discourteous and quite frankly, utterly incompetent. I see from their website she no longer works for Willans.

There were endless delays and an appalling disregard for keeping me informed resulting in me making a complaint and cc’ing it to one of the partners. I got absolutely NO reply from anybody, as if I was scotch mist. Every person in the chain, including my buyer’s and my solicitors were complaining about them and I was constantly having to placate my buyer to try to keep them on board.

I was asking almost daily to receive the T10 and TA6 forms but got absolutely nothing from Jade until just 10 days or so before completion and exchange were due. I then not only got the forms, which of course needed correcting, but was dumped over 250 pages of legal documentation to read through that I was asked to sign and return asap. When I raised a number questions from this, due to there being so many errors and omissions; rather than replying in plain English, she dumped another 50 pages of legally worded replies cut and pasted straight out of their law books to decipher as her response.

After a further official complaint, I eventually got a call from Suzanne O’Riordon, one of the partners. I didn’t image anyone could beat the arrogance I’d dealt with from Willans up to this point but this woman took the biscuit! She was patronising, insincere and totally lacked empathy, despite expressing how ‘difficult’ the experience must have been for me and that the service received ‘fell short of what it ought to have been’ - Staggering understatement!

So Suzanne, who came in at the eleventh hour did eventually manage to conclude the sale and purchase but expected praise and glory for doing so, despite never acknowledging that in fact, to date, all the work that had been urgently required to keep the sale and purchase on track had been taken on by myself and Treagust estate agents, who weren’t even MY agents but my buyer’s but who recognised the appalling mess that I’d been left in and went above and beyond to keep everything on track. To them I am extremely grateful.

In light of my complaint and demand for an apology and compensation, I was offered a staggering £150 - not even the equivalent of a solicitor’s hourly rate!

It was one of the most stressful times of my life and all completely unnecessary had they simply done their job. A job that they are paid an exorbitant and unwarranted fee for.
I have no doubt this will prompt a response from Willans with more glossing over of their incompetence and unprofessionalism but I’d expect nothing less.

Was this review helpful?

Mike

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Willans LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mike

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will and LPA

Excellent service provided with detailed explanations of all issues .
Very professional but friendly too.

Was this review helpful?

Roberto

Roberto

April 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very helpful

They are honest people and give good advice, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Jan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Willans LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jan

April 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Selling the apartment

I did use Willans LLP Solicitors many times in buying and selling properties. Every time they did excellent job. Especially Mr. Steve Diamond. I would highly recommend their services. Always helpful, always on hand and First class service.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Dodo

Dodo

June 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dodo

My case was handled by Katie and I can only recommend her. She was very responsive, professional and helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Prince

Prince

June 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Prince

The finest legal representatives i could have hoped for. Ms Bethen Abraham and James Melvin-Bath handled my vehicle dispute case with great professionalism and dedication. They fought and won to the case and got me back my needed money after 3yrs. Overall top class legal service from Willans LLP solicitors- Cheltenham. I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Michelle

Michelle

June 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Michelle

We have recently used Willans for a misrepresentation of sale case. Our particular case was very complicated and we appreciated the honesty that things may not go our way. Although we knew it would be a long road, I feel Bethen managed to get us a positive outcome quite quickly, considering. Having never been in this type of situation before, we had a lot of questions with some of the language used etc. But Bethen always helped us understand every step. Bethen remained proffesional the whole time and was easy to talk to when we met in person. We would definitely use Willans again if we needed to. Thankyou for everything.

Was this review helpful?

Kelsang

Kelsang

May 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kelsang

Very professional service provided.

Was this review helpful?

Becky

Becky

May 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Becky

Simon Hodges did the conveyancing on our sale and purchase and was excellent - thorough, responsive and a pleasure to work with. Thanks Simon!

Was this review helpful?

Willans LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

All law firms offer legal expertise – that’s a given. What makes us different from the others is: our distinctive mix of top-quality people (we have some of the best legal brains around), our emphasis on continuity & communication (you know who you are dealing with and we keep you updated), and our commitment to exceptional client care (the majority of our work is repeat business from satisfied clients). We are capable, responsive and do business with integrity – that’s why generations of private and commercial clients have chosen to use us as their trusted advisors.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs